Toronto Emigrant Office Assisted Immigration Registers Database - Page Banner

A Brief History of the Toronto Emigrant Office


In the 1780s, well before the existence of the emigrant office, the British Army played a role in assisting Loyalist refugees from the United States.

Watercolour: Encampment of the Loyalists in Johnstown, a new settlement on the banks of the River St. Lawrence, in Canada West, August 12, 1925

Click to see a larger image (194K)
Encampment of the Loyalists in Johnstown, a new settlement on the
banks of the River St. Lawrence, in Canada West, August 12, 1925
J. R. Simpson James Peachey (after)
Watercolour
Reference Code: RG 2-344-0-0-89
Archives of Ontario, I0003081

In the nineteenth century, the Military Settling Department at Quebec, under British orders, assisted new immigrants until it was disbanded in 1822. Assistance was also given under the authority of the Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada (Ontario), and, after the Office of the Commissioner of Crown Lands was established in 1827, crown land agents helped new immigrants as one aspect of their work. As specialized emigration agents were appointed, they took over these responsibilities.

Photo: Yachts at Camp Headlaw, [ca. 1875]
Click to see a larger image (152K)
Yachts at Camp Headlaw, [ca. 1875]
William Barrow
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 4398-0-0-0-36
Archives of Ontario, I0009587

From 1828, the emigrant agent at Quebec, Alexander Carlisle Buchanan Sr., acted on behalf of Upper Canada in that port. Sir John Colborne, Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada, was convinced, however, that Buchanan could not single-handedly provide sufficient services for Upper Canada from his office in distant Quebec. He gave his instructions for the reception of immigrants within Upper Canada to the Commissioner of Crown Lands. During the heavy immigration of 1831 and 1832, the needs of immigrants took up much of the attention of crown land agents.

The first emigrant office in Upper Canada was opened in 1833 in Toronto, headed by AB Hawke. Hawke reported to Colborne's Civil Secretary and, as Chief Agent, had the authority to appoint and instruct agents under him.

It is not totally clear which communities other than Toronto, Kingston, and Hamilton had proper "offices" as such, but Hawke received reports from agents in Ottawa, Port Hope, Peterborough, Cobourg, Prescott, and other locations at various times.

At first, the connections between the Emigrant Office and the Office of the Commissioner of Crown Lands were fairly close, as indicated by financial and other records. In later times, the two offices seem to have been less closely associated, though the Crown Lands Department continued to play a limited role in the promotion of immigration for many years.

Print: Governor General Lord Sydenham
Click to see a larger image (196K)
Lord Sydenham, [ca. 1850]
Engraver Unknown. Ontario Legislative
Library print collection.
Print
Reference Code: RG 49-33-0-0-29
Archives of Ontario, I0009132

In 1838, Governor General Lord Sydenham placed another A. C. Buchanan (the nephew of the first) above Hawke in the chain of command, thus uniting the agents for Lower and Upper Canada under his control. While such a structure was theoretically in place, Hawke in fact continued to report almost exclusively to the Lieutenant-Governor's Civil Secretary for the next few years. It appears that the agents for Lower and Upper Canada still operated rather independently.

After the union of Upper and Lower Canada into the province of Canada in 1841, a single immigrant agency was created, and Buchanan at last presided over Hawke and the other agents of Canada West in practice as well as theory. Hawke reported to and took orders from Buchanan (though he also continued to report to the Civil Secretary and later the Provincial Secretary until the early 1850s).

As Buchanan was based in Canada East, Hawke still maintained a leadership role among Canada West agents. Accounts for all agents were submitted to Buchanan and paid by the provincial government. The Quebec office was made the official headquarters for the agency in 1842.

Until the mid-nineteenth century, the imperial government played a major role in matters relating to immigration. The province of Canada gained substantial autonomy in establishing its own immigration policy from about 1848, but the imperial ties persisted. Buchanan's annual report was sent to the Colonial Office in London until 1854. In that year, the British government made its last grant to supplement the province's spending on immigrants.

In 1852 or 1853, the Emigrant Office (also referred to as the "Emigration Office") was placed under the Bureau of Agriculture, but during this decade, the bureau relied on Buchanan to administer the agency to a large degree. Hawke continued to take orders from and report to Buchanan, though he also consulted occasionally with the Minister of Agriculture on matters such as approval of staff appointments and budgets.

Emigrant Passage Ticket
Emigrant Passage Ticket
Reference Code: RG 11-3-0-3
Archives of Ontario

The Bureau of Agriculture became a full-fledged department in 1862, and the Emigration Office was now better integrated as part of the Department of Agriculture and Statistics. Hawke's letterbooks show, however, that Buchanan was still influential in the running of day-to-day operations. Hawke and his successor, J. A. Donaldson, still continued to report to Buchanan as well as to the Minister of Agriculture.

With the passage of the British North America Act of 1867, the provinces of Canada, New Brunswick, and Nova Scotia were united to form the Dominion of Canada. Under this Act, the federal and provincial governments shared responsibility for immigration. At both levels of government, the agencies responsible for immigration were placed under the respective departments of agriculture. Ontario's Immigration Branch was established as part of the Department of the Commissioner of Agriculture and Public Works in 1869.

Photo: Steamer "Maude" at dock, [ca. 1875]
Click to see a larger image (160K)

Steamer "Maud." at dock, [ca. 1875]
William Barrow
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 4398-0-0-0-25
Archives of Ontario, I0009576

In 1874 a new Department of Immigration under a Commissioner of Immigration replaced the Immigration Branch. This department was responsible for promoting emigration to Ontario from offices established in Europe, as well as aiding newly-arrived immigrants. The last report submitted by the Department of Immigration to the Legislative Assembly was for the year 1899. By 1900, the department had been replaced by the Bureau of Colonization (part of the Department of Crown Lands).

Base de données contenant les registres compilés par le bureau d’immigration de Toronto (Toronto Emigrant Office) quant aux immigrants et immigrantes bénéficiaires d’aide financière - bannière

Bref historique du bureau d'immigration


Dans les années 1780, bien avant l’existence du bureau de l’émigration, l’armée britannique s’occupait d’aider les réfugiés loyalistes qui arrivaient des États-Unis..

Watercolour: Encampment of the Loyalists in Johnstown, a new settlement on the banks of the River St. Lawrence, in Canada West, August 12, 1925

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (194ko)
Encampment of the Loyalists in Johnstown, a new settlement on the
banks of the River St. Lawrence, in Canada West, 12 août 1925
J.R. Simpson James Peachey (d'après)
Aquarelle
Code de référence : RG 2-344-0-0-89
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003081

Au cours du 19e siècle, le ministère du peuplement militaire de Québec, sous les ordres des Britanniques, aidait les nouveaux immigrants, jusqu’à son démantèlement en 1822. De l’aide était également offerte au nom du lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada (Ontario) puis, après la création du bureau du commissaire des terres de la Couronne en 1827, des agents des terres de la Couronne aidaient les nouveaux immigrants dans le cadre de leur travail. Lorsque des agents d’émigration spécialisés ont été nommés, ils ont hérité de ces responsabilités..

Photo: Yachts at Camp Headlaw, [ca. 1875]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (152ko)

Yachts at Camp Headlaw, [vers 1875]
William Barrow
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 4398-0-0-0-36
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0009587

À compter de 1828, l’agent d’émigration à Québec, Alexander Carlisle Buchanan Sr., agissait au nom du Haut-Canada dans ce port. Sir John Colborne, le lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada, était cependant convaincu que Buchanan ne pourrait pas fournir à lui seul tous les services pour le Haut-Canada à partir de son bureau dans la ville éloignée de Québec. Il a donc donné des instructions pour la réception des immigrants dans le Haut-Canada au commissaire des terres de la couronne. Lors de la période d’immigration massive de 1831 à 1832, les besoins des immigrants ont accaparé une bonne partie de l’attention des agents des terres de la Couronne..

Le premier bureau d’immigration du Haut-Canada a été ouvert à Toronto en 1833 et était dirigé par A. B Hawke. Hawke relevait du secrétaire civil Colborne et, en tant qu’agent principal, il avait le pouvoir de nommer et de donner des instructions aux agents sous ses ordres.

Hormis celles de Toronto, de Kingston et d’Hamilton, on ne sait pas avec certitude quelles collectivités avaient de véritables « bureaux », mais Hawke recevait des rapports provenant d’agents d’Ottawa, de Port Hope, de Peterborough, de Cobourg, de Prescott et d’autres endroits à divers moments.

Au départ, les liens entre le bureau de l’immigration et le bureau du commissaire des terres de la Couronne étaient très étroits, comment l’indiquent les dossiers financiers et autres. Plus tard, les 2 bureaux semblent avoir été moins étroitement associés, même si le département des terres de la Couronne (le « Crown Lands Department ») a continué à jouer un rôle limité dans la promotion de l’immigration pendant plusieurs années..

Print: Governor General Lord Sydenham
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (196K)

Lord Sydenham, [ca. 1850]
Engraver Unknown. Ontario Legislative
Library print collection.
Print
Reference Code: RG 49-33-0-0-29
Archives of Ontario, I0009132

En 1838, le gouverneur général Lord Sydenham a placé un autre A.C. Buchanan (le neveu du premier) au-dessus de Hawke dans la voie hiérarchique, réunissant ainsi les agents du Bas et du Haut-Canada sous ses ordres. Alors même qu’une telle structure était théoriquement en place, Hawke a continué dans les faits à relever presque exclusivement du secrétaire civil du lieutenant-gouverneur au cours des années qui ont suivi. Il semble que les agents du Bas et du Haut-Canada travaillaient plutôt de manière indépendante. 

Après la réunion du Haut et du Bas-Canada dans la province du Canada en 1841, un organisme d’immigration unique a été créé. Buchanan en assurait la présidence et agissait comme supérieur de Hawke et des autres agents de l’Ouest canadien, tant en pratique qu’en théorie. Hawke recevait ses ordres de Buchanan et relevait de lui (même s’il a continué de rendre des comptes au secrétaire civil et plus tard au secrétaire provincial, jusqu’au début des années 1850).

Comme Buchanan était basé dans le Canada-Est, Hawke continuait à exercer un rôle de chef de file parmi les agents de l’Ouest canadien. Les comptes de tous les agents étaient présentés à Buchanan et payés par le gouvernement provincial. Le bureau de Québec est devenu le bureau principal de l’organisme en 1842..

Jusqu’au milieu du 19e siècle, le gouvernement impérial a joué un rôle important dans les questions liées à l’immigration. La province du Canada est devenue plus autonome grâce à la création de sa propre politique en matière d’immigration à partir d’environ 1848, mais les liens avec l’empire persistaient. Jusqu’en 1854, le rapport annuel de Buchanan était envoyé au ministère des Colonies à Londres. C’est cette année-là que le gouvernement britannique a accordé sa dernière subvention pour compléter les dépenses de la province relatives aux immigrants.

En 1852 ou en 1853, le bureau des émigrants (aussi appelé « bureau de l’émigration ») a été placé sous la responsabilité du ministère de l’Agriculture, mais au cours de cette décennie, le bureau comptait sur Buchanan pour gérer l’organisme à une échelle plus importante. Hawke continuait de recevoir des ordres de Buchanan et à lui faire rapport, même s’il lui arrivait également de consulter le ministre de l’Agriculture sur des questions comme l’approbation des nominations du personnel et les budgets..

Emigrant Passage Ticket
Emigrant Passage Ticket
Code de référence : RG 11-3-0-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontarioo

Le ministère de l’Agriculture est devenu un ministère dans le plein sens du terme en 1862, et le bureau de l’émigration était désormais mieux intégré dans le bureau de l’agriculture et de la statistique. La copie des lettres de Hawke montre cependant que Buchanan avait toujours de l’influence dans les opérations quotidiennes. Hawke et son successeur, J.A. Donaldson, continuaient à relever de Buchanan ainsi que du ministre de l’Agriculture.

Avec l’adoption de l’Acte de l’Amérique du Nord britannique de 1867, les provinces du Canada, du Nouveau-Brunswick et de la Nouvelle-Écosse ont été réunies afin de constituer le Dominion du Canada. Aux termes de cet Acte, les gouvernements fédéral et provinciaux se partageaient la responsabilité en matière d’immigration. Dans les deux ordres de gouvernement, les organismes responsables de l’immigration ont été inclus dans les ministères de l’Agriculture respectifs. La Direction de l’immigration de l’Ontario a été créée au sein du ministère du Commissaire à l’Agriculture et aux Travaux publics en 1869.

Photo: Steamer "Maude" at dock, [ca. 1875]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (160ko)

Steamer "Maud." at dock, [ca. 1875]
Steamer "Maud." at dock, [vers 1875]
William Barrow
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 4398-0-0-0-25
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0009576

En 1874, un nouveau ministère de l’Immigration, sous la responsabilité d’un commissaire à l’immigration, a remplacé la Direction de l’immigration. Ce ministère était responsable de promouvoir l’émigration vers l’Ontario à partir de bureaux situés en Europe, en plus d’aider les nouveaux immigrants qui arrivaient dans la province. Le dernier rapport présenté par le ministère de l’Immigration à l’Assemblée législative concernait l’année 1899. En 1900, le ministère a été remplacé par le bureau de la colonisation de l’Ontario (qui faisait partie du département des Terres de la couronne).