Collecting, Preserving and Making Available - Page Banner

Into the Public Domain


The Thomas Burrowes collection at the Archives of Ontario includes 115 watercolours bound together in albums. Some of these works show scenes from the St. Lawrence River and Lake Ontario. Most relate to the Rideau Canal.

In his paintings, Burrowes sketches the landscape as it was during the building of the canal and positions within it buildings and equipment (winches and lock mechanisms), men at work (excavating soil with shovels and wheelbarrows) and boats (large, eight-man transport canoes, smaller skills, rowboats and rafts of logs and, after completion of the waterway, steamboats with the barges attached behind them). He occasionally provided a sequence of views at a particular site, showing different stages of construction.

Montage of Burrowes Collection

The paintings were discovered in 1907 in the attic of one of Burrowes’s daughters who was living in Detroit, Michigan at the time. They were donated to the Archives of Ontario in 1948 by Burrowes’s grandson, A. H. D. Ross, the author of an early history of Ottawa.

A Private, Precious Gift


Watercolour: View on the Cataraqui Creek, Brewer's Upper Mills in the background, 1830

Click to see a larger image (334K)
View on the Cataraqui Creek, Brewer's Upper Mills in the background, 1830
Watercolour
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-64
Archives of Ontario, I0002183

Ontario history buffs can generally recognize the work of Thomas Burrowes at a glance. A collection of 115 watercolours by Thomas Burrowes passed from private to public hands nearly 60 years ago, one of the most important ever private donations to the Archives of Ontario. Since then, these paintings have become some of the most famous images in Ontario history, and they are in constant heavy demand among writers and researchers. It is the Archives’ responsibility to balance preservation of these precious documents with accessibility to the public. The development of conservation science and electronic communications technology makes that balancing act much easier today.

Watercolour: Falls of the Rideau River, at the Ottawa River, 1826

Click to see a larger image (326K)
Falls of the Rideau River, at the Ottawa River, 1826
Watercolour
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-01
Archives of Ontario, I0002118

Discovery and Donationt


From attic to archives

After the death of Thomas Burrowes in 1866, his watercolours went into hiding for many years in the attic of one of his daughters in Detroit, Michigan. In time, however, they were presented to a grandson, A.H.D. Ross, who in 1927 described the gift:

“Twenty years ago some of the original field-notes, maps, plans and copies of official correspondence relating to the construction of the Rideau Canal and the founding of Bytown were presented to the author by an aunt living in Detroit, Michigan…. [including] 115 accurately drawn and artistically finished water-colour paintings done by Thomas Burrowes….”

In 1948, A.H.D. Ross presented this treasure trove to the Archives of Ontario.

Conservation


The gradual darkening of varnish over time has obscured some details in this work.

Watercolour: Locks under construction, at the Saw Mill at Kingston Mills, 1830

Click to see a larger image (86K)
Locks under construction, at the Saw Mill at
Kingston Mills, 1830
Watercolour
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-71
Archives of Ontario, I0002190



Caring for the collection

There were no conservators on staff in 1948, when A.H.D. Ross donated these paintings to the Archives of Ontario, and there is thus no record of how the collection was stored or treated in those early years. Today, however, the job of highly trained conservators is to assess condition, plan remediation if possible, and recommend storage methods that will keep the documents in safe and stable condition. In the case of the Burrowes paintings, each work is kept in an individual folder with a tissue sleeve and stored with 20 to 30 other paintings in a protective box in conditions of controlled temperature and humidity.

A recent review found that most of the paintings are in fair to good condition, with only minor tears and abrasions. The most serious damage, in the form of steadily darkening varnish, affects only a few images. Sadly, the damage is impossible to repair, given the fragile nature of paper and the solubility of watercolours.

Assessment


Filing a full report

As a result of a recent comprehensive survey, important information has now been collected on every Burrowes painting. The record includes the physical dimensions of each painting, along with notations on media (paint and ink), the existence of copy negatives and details of current housing. Finally, and most importantly, the documents are rated for condition and, if necessary, treatment is recommended. The review concluded that the paintings were mostly in “fair” condition, with only a few rated “poor” (with tears, stains, varnish or remnants of paper from the album still adhering to the back). No emergency treatment was deemed necessary.

Observation


Important clues

Many of the conservator’s observations are technical – size, medium, condition, etc. However, careful assessment of a document sometimes yields other valuable information. Conservators note, for example, that the Burrowes paintings were originally bound into two albums. The album covers have been preserved, and some paintings have linen tape along one edge, possibly part of the old binding. Also, at some time long ago, most of the paintings were pasted on to thick paper backings and framed with black ink borders and titles carefully written on in a typical 19th-century hand. There are also pin holes in some of the images. These holes were made before the paintings were mounted and labeled: this suggests that once upon a time the paintings were casually pinned up, as though for reference. Did Burrowes use these paintings as visual references when writing his Rideau Canal inspection reports? We can only guess. A couple of the works have been varnished, on the other hand, as though to enhance their brightness for display.

Public Access


Online Form

More and more available

Whereas maintaining the good physical condition of the collection is the work of the conservator, its use is governed by archivists. It is their job to describe the records and index them in a way that makes them available to the widest possible constituency.

The success of the Archives of Ontario in making the paintings available to the public over the years is demonstrated by the popularity of the images by historians. This is a very heavily used collection, and the paintings are familiar to everyone who is interested in Ontario history or the Rideau Canal.

Technology

The effect of technology is to broaden the marketplace. All of the paintings have been digitized, and today they are available online, so that anyone wishing to see the paintings need only visit the Archives’ website. The fact that such documents can be made available electronically is more than convenient for researchers in Ontario and Canada and the world. Digitization is also a means of preserving the original documents from overuse and gradual degradation.

La collection Thomas Burrowes - bannière

La collection Thomas Burrowes des Archives publiques de l’Ontario comprend 115 aquarelles reliées en albums. Certaines de ces oeuvres représentent des scènes du fleuve Saint-Laurent et du lac Ontario. La plupart se rapportent au canal Rideau.

Dans ses tableaux, Burrowes croquait le paysage tel qu’il existait lors de la construction du canal et y plaçait des bâtiments et du matériel (des treuils et des mécanismes d’écluse), des hommes au travail (creusant le sol à la pelle et à la brouette) et des bateaux (de grands canots de transport à huit places, de petites embarcations telles que barques ou radeaux et, après l’achèvement de la voie navigable, des bateaux à vapeur tirant des barges). Il produisait à l’occasion des séries de vues d’un site particulier montrant les diverses étapes des travaux.

Montage of Burrowes Collection

On a découvert les tableaux en 1907 dans le grenier d’une des filles de Burrowes qui habitait Detroit (Michigan) à l’époque. Le petit-fils de Burrowes, A. H. D. Ross, auteur d’un livre sur les débuts d’Ottawa, en a fait don aux Archives en 1948.

A private, precious gift - bannière
Aquarelle : View on the Cataraqui Creek, Brewer's Upper Mills in the background, 1830

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (334ko)
View on the Cataraqui Creek, Brewer's Upper Mills in the background, 1830
Aquarelle
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-64
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002183

En général, les mordus de l’histoire de l’Ontario savent reconnaître en un clin d’oeil l’oeuvre de Thomas Burrowes. Une collection de 115 de ses aquarelles est passée du domaine privé au domaine public il y a presque 60 ans – un des plus importants dons privés jamais faits aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario. Depuis, ces tableaux sont parmi les images les plus célèbres de l’histoire de l’Ontario et les rédacteurs et chercheurs les demandent constamment. Les Archives sont chargées d’équilibrer la préservation de ces précieux documents et leur accessibilité auprès du public. Le développement de la science de la conservation et de la technologie des communications électroniques rend cet exercice de compromis beaucoup plus facile aujourd’hui.

Aquarelle : Falls of the Rideau River, at the Ottawa River, 1826

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (334ko)
Falls of the Rideau River, at the Ottawa River, 1826
Aquarelle
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-01
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002118

Découverte et don
Du grenier aux archives
Après le décès de Thomas Burrowes en 1866, ses aquarelles sont restées cachées de nombreuses années dans le grenier d’une de ses filles, à Détroit (Michigan). On les a ensuite remises à un petit-fils, A. H. D. Ross, qui a décrit le don en 1927 :

« Il y a 20 ans, une partie des notes de travail, des cartes et des plans originaux ainsi que des copies de lettres officielles concernant la construction du canal Rideau et la fondation de Bytown m’ont été remises par une tante qui habitait Détroit (Michigan) (...) [y compris] 115 aquarelles de Thomas Burrowes dessinées avec exactitude et présentant un fini artistique (...) »

En 1948, A. H. D. Ross a présenté ce trésor aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario.

Conservation - bannire

Le noircissement graduel du vernis a obscurci certains détails de ce tableau.

Aquarelle : Locks under construction, at the Saw Mill at Kingston Mills, 1830

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (86ko)
Locks under construction, at the Saw Mill at
Kingston Mills, 1830
Aquarelle
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-71
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002190

Prendre soin de la collection

Le personnel n’incluait pas de restaurateur en 1948, lorsque A.H.D. Ross a donné ces tableaux aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario. Il n’y a donc pas de documentation sur l’entreposage ou le traitement de la collection pendant ces premières années. Aujourd’hui, toutefois, des restaurateurs professionnels ont pour tâche d’évaluer l’état des documents, de planifier leur restauration, dans la mesure du possible, et de recommander des méthodes d’entreposage qui les maintiendront dans un état sûr et stable. Dans le cas des tableaux de Burrowes, chaque oeuvre est conservée dans une chemise distincte, à l’intérieur d’une enveloppe de papier, et est entreposée avec 20 à 30 autres tableaux dans une boîte protectrice gardée dans des conditions de température et d’humidité contrôlées.

Un examen récent a permis de déterminer que l’état de la plupart des tableaux varie de moyen à bon et qu’ils n’ont subi que des déchirures et une usure mineures. Le plus grave dommage, soit l’assombrissement progressif du vernis, ne touche que quelques images. Malheureusement, ce dommage est irréparable en raison de la fragilité du papier et de la solubilité de l’aquarelle.

Évaluation - bannière

Un rapport complet

Grâce à un récent examen complet, on dispose maintenant de renseignements importants sur chaque tableau de Burrowes. L’information comprend les dimensions de chaque tableau et des notes sur la technique (peinture et encre), toute copie négative existante et le lieu de conservation actuel. Enfin et surtout, on évalue l’état des documents et on recommande un traitement au besoin. L’examen a permis de conclure que la plupart des tableaux sont dans un état moyen et que quelques-uns sont en mauvais état (déchirures, taches, vernis ou résidus du papier de l’album collés au dos). Aucun traitement urgent n’a été jugé nécessaire.

Observation - bannière

Indices importants

Nombre des observations des restaurateurs sont de nature technique – taille, technique, état, etc. Cependant, l’évaluation soignée d’un document révèle parfois d’autres renseignements précieux. Les restaurateurs ont remarqué, par exemple, que les tableaux de Burrowes étaient à l’origine reliés en deux albums. On a conservé les couvertures des albums et il y a du ruban de tissu – peut-être un vestige de l’ancienne reliure – le long d’un des bords de certains tableaux. En outre, il y a longtemps, on a collé la plupart des tableaux sur un fond de papier épais, on les a encadrés de bordures à l’encre noire et on a soigneusement inscrit les titres avec une écriture typique du 19e siècle. Certaines images présentent également des trous d’épingle. Ces trous précèdent le montage et l’inscription des titres, ce qui suggère qu’on a autrefois épinglé les tableaux au mur avec désinvolture, comme pour s’y référer. Burrowes les utilisait-il comme références visuelles lorsqu’il rédigeait ses rapports d’inspection sur le canal Rideau? On ne peut que deviner. En revanche, quelques oeuvres ont été vernies, comme si on avait voulu accroître leur éclat pour les exposer.

Accèss Public - bannière

De plus en plus accessibles

Tandis que le maintien en bon état de la collection relève du restaurateur, son utilisation est régie par les archivistes. Il leur incombe de décrire les documents et de les classer de manière à les mettre à la disposition du plus grand nombre possible d’intéressés.

Le succès que remportent les Archives publiques de l’Ontario depuis des années dans la diffusion des tableaux auprès du public est illustré par la popularité des images parmi les historiens. Cette collection fait l’objet d’une forte demande et les tableaux sont connus de quiconque s’intéresse à l’histoire de l’Ontario ou au canal Rideau.

Technologie

La technologie a pour effet d’élargir les marchés. Tous les tableaux ont été numérisés et ils sont aujourd’hui disponibles en ligne; quiconque souhaite les voir n’a donc qu’à visiter le site Web des Archives. L’accessibilité électronique de tels documents est plus que pratique pour les chercheurs de l’Ontario, du Canada et du monde entier : la numérisation permet aussi de protéger les documents originaux contre l’utilisation abusive et la détérioration progressive.

Online Form

Précédente | Page d'accueil