Industry - Page Title

Making Dreams Come True


Watercolour: Hon.ble Tho.s McKay's Mills, Distillery, etc. and part of New Edinburgh, Rideau Falls, 1845

Click to see a larger image (357K)
Hon.ble Tho.s McKay's Mills, Distillery, etc. and part of New Edinburgh, Rideau Falls, 1845
Watercolour
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-4
Archives of Ontario, I0002121


Despite the disappointing realities of the Rideau Canal, people did made fortunes from it, notably four men with Montreal roots who provided the masons, stonecutters and labourers who excavated and built many of the locks and dams. While local contractors tended to go bankrupt during the difficult construction, Thomas McKay, John Redpath (later of Redpath Sugar), Thomas Phillips and Andrew White had had experience building locks in Montreal and were shrewd businessmen. After canal construction was completed in 1832, McKay stayed on in Bytown while his partners returned to their Montreal businesses. He invested part of his earnings in mill sites around Rideau Falls, which eventually boasted a brewery, sawmill, gristmill, bakery and cloth factory. He owned hundreds of acres along the Ottawa River and later built Rideau Hall (now the Governor General’s residence) for his family.

As a partner in the Ottawa and Rideau Fowarding Company, McKay was also active in the shipping of goods and people through the stone locks that he helped build. He brought farmers’ grain up to Bytown for milling (27,000 bushels in 1835) and shipped his flour both to the Ottawa Valley lumber camps and down the Rideau to Kingston and beyond. McKay is arguably the industrialist who profited most from the Rideau Canal.

The chances for similar success further down the canal were limited. As commandant of the canal works and the Rideau’s chief architect, Lieutenant-Colonel John By had predicted a booming economy for settlements along the Rideau. However, after By’s return to England in 1832, the British government’s vision for the canal dimmed, and  By’s military successors were more interested in the canal as a defence route than as an industrial artery. Although official plans suggested that 23 dam sites along the route could be used for milling, only five were fully developed, and some of those mills had been established before the canal was built. Mill and warehouse owners could not negotiate long-term leases on military land, and few took advantage of the available sites. Ironically, By had bought and torn down a number of established mills during construction of the canal. Despite By’s prediction that 100,000 barrels of flour would travel the Rideau each year, records show that no more than 12,000 were ever shipped annually.


Watercolour: Lower Kingston Mills, Grand Trunk Railway bridge completed, 1856

Click to see a larger image (328K)
Lower Kingston Mills, Grand Trunk Railway bridge completed, 1856
Watercolour
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-074
Archives of Ontario, I0002193

What By had not predicted was the success of the lumber trade. His canal opened up rich virgin forests that were quickly leased and cut. By the mid-1830s, the Rideau was choked with floating log booms heading both to the mills of Bytown and to the United States by way of Kingston. In 16 years (1834 to 1850), the locks at The Narrows collected tolls on 382 barrels of flour, 22,000 bushels of wheat, 1.5 million feet of oak and 10,000 sawlogs. Thomas Burrowes showed some of the effects of logging in an 1856 painting of Kingston Mills, where the artist lived after his retirement. In it, he illustrated logs floating on the river near a mill, while others are piled beside the road that runs between Montreal and Kingston.

Industrie - bannière
Du rêve à la réalité - bannière
Aquarelle: Hon.ble Tho.s McKay's Mills, Distillery, etc. and part of New Edinburgh, Rideau Falls, 1845

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (357ko)
Hon.ble Tho.s McKay's Mills, Distillery, etc. and part of New Edinburgh, Rideau Falls, 1845
Aquarelle
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-4
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002121

Malgré les déceptions associées au canal Rideau, il a permis à certains de faire fortune, notamment quatre Montréalais qui ont fourni les maçons, les tailleurs de pierres et les ouvriers qui ont effectué les travaux d’excavation et de construction de nombre des écluses et des barrages. Alors que la plupart des entrepreneurs locaux faisaient faillite pendant les difficiles travaux, Thomas McKay, John Redpath (par la suite lié à Redpath Sugar), Thomas Phillips et Andrew White avaient acquis de l’expérience en construisant des écluses à Montréal et étaient des hommes d’affaires astucieux. Après l’achèvement du canal en 1832, trois de ces associés sont retournés à leurs entreprises de Montréal, mais McKay est demeuré à Bytown. Il a investi une partie de ses gains dans des moulins du secteur des chutes Rideau, où se sont établis une brasserie, un moulin à bois, un moulin à grain, une boulangerie et une usine de tissu. Il possédait des centaines d’acres le long de la rivière des Outaouais et il a bâti Rideau Hall (aujourd’hui la résidence du Gouverneur général) pour sa famille.

À titre d’associé de la Ottawa and Rideau Forwarding Company, McKay participait aussi au transport des marchandises et des voyageurs par les écluses de pierre qu’il avait contribué à construire. Il amenait le grain des agriculteurs à Bytown pour le faire moudre (27 000 boisseaux en 1835) et expédiait sa farine aux camps de bûcherons de la vallée de l’Outaouais et, par le canal Rideau, à Kingston et au-delà. On peut dire que McKay est l’industriel qui a profité le plus du canal.

Le reste du canal Rideau offrait peu de possibilités d’avoir autant de succès. Le lieutenant-colonel John By, commandant et architecte en chef du projet du canal, avait prédit une économie prospère pour les colonies établies le long du canal. Toutefois, après son retour en Angleterre, en 1832, l’intérêt du gouvernement britannique à l’égard du canal a décliné et les successeurs militaires de By l’ont considéré davantage comme un élément de la défense que comme un axe industriel. Les plans officiels suggéraient que les sites de 23 barrages pouvaient servir à la mouture, mais seulement cinq ont été pleinement développés; de plus, certains de ces moulins avaient été établis avant la construction du canal. Comme les propriétaires de moulins et d’entrepôts ne pouvaient pas négocier de baux à long terme à l’égard des terres militaires, peu d’entre eux ont tiré parti des sites disponibles. Ironiquement, By avait acheté et démoli, pendant la construction du canal, plusieurs moulins bien établis. Malgré ses prévisions selon lesquelles 100 000 barils de farine emprunteraient le canal Rideau chaque année, la documentation indique que le nombre annuel n’a jamais dépassé 12 000.

Aquarelle: Lower Kingston Mills, Grand Trunk Railway bridge completed, 1856

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (328ko)
Lower Kingston Mills, Grand Trunk Railway bridge completed, 1856
Aquarelle
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-074
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002193

By n’avais pas prédit une chose : le succès du commerce du bois d’oeuvre. Son canal a permis d’accéder à de riches forêts vierges qu’on a rapidement louées à bail et coupées. Au milieu des années 1830, le canal était engorgé de billots flottant vers les moulins de Bytown et, via Kingston, vers les États-Unis. En 16 ans (de 1834 à 1850), les écluses des Narrows ont permis de percevoir des droits de péage sur 382 barils de farine, 22 000 boisseaux de blé, 1,5 million de pieds de chêne et 10 000 billots de sciage. Thomas Burrowes a montré certains effets de l’exploitation forestière dans un tableau de 1856 représentant Kingston Mills, où l’artiste a vécu après avoir pris sa retraite. Il y illustre des billots flottant sur la rivière près d’un moulin et d’autres empilés à côté de la route qui reliait Montréal et Kingston.

Précédente | Page d'accueil | Suivante