Towns - Page Banner

Urban Plans


Watercolour: Perth, the Capital of the District of Dalhousie; from the N-East bank of the River Tay, 1828

Click to see a larger image (324K)
Perth, the Capital of the District of Dalhousie; from the N-East bank of the River Tay, 1828
Watercolour
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-22
Archives of Ontario, I0002141


Lieutenant-Colonel John By and his fellow planners were not the only visionaries who predicted that their canal would become a commercial success. Certainly the residents of Perth, a military settlement 13 kilometres (8 miles) from Rideau Lake, shared the dream and decided to link their future to that of the Rideau Canal.

Thomas Burrowes visited the small community in 1828, painting it when it had fewer than 900 residents. The town had been established in 1816 by disbanded members of four British regiments who received land grants in reward for their military service during the War of 1812, but Perth had struggled to survive due to its isolation from the rest of Upper Canada. A connection with the Rideau Canal seemed an opportunity to gain access to the outside world.

Construction of the Tay Canal began as a private enterprise in 1831 and was completed in 1834. Without government investment, the canal was not built or maintained as well as the Rideau. Nevertheless, in the early years of the Tay Canal, trade flourished and the town of Perth grew. Barges with farm produce were sent down to Oliver’s Ferry (now Rideau Ferry) on Big Rideau Lake and exchanged for barges filled with commercial goods from Montreal, Bytown and Kingston. But as the Tay silted up, steam tug service ended and the barges had to be poled along by crew members or towed by horse and oxen along canal towpaths. By 1849, when Perth’s population had grown to about 1,900, commercial traffic was abandoned, and the canal was used thereafter only to float squared timber and logs.


Watercolour: Oliver’s Ferry - Rideau Lake; looking towards Bytown, 1834

Click to see a larger image (338K)
Oliver's Ferry - Rideau Lake; looking towards Bytown, 1834
Watercolour
Thomas Burrowes fonds
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-25
Archives of Ontario, I0002144

In the hinterland, Smiths Falls became the busiest, most successful town on the banks of the Rideau Canal, growing from virtually nothing to a town of about 600 in 1851 and 1,137 in 1861. By 1845, it boasted a sawmill, a grist mill, a tannery, two stores, stables and a blacksmith.

Of course, the biggest towns on the waterway were the two that anchored it at both ends. Kingston, once the province’s largest town, was a bustling Great Lakes port handling traffic from Montreal, York and the United States and was not reliant on the Rideau for its good fortune. Bytown, meanwhile, which had no permanent inhabitants before the start of canal construction in 1826, had grown to 7,800 in 1851 and almost 15,000 in 1861. While the Rideau Canal was at the root of its early success, its later prosperity had more to do with the wealth of the Ottawa Valley lumber barons who floated their harvest down the Ottawa River to mills in Bytown and Hull.

Villes  - bannière

Plans urbains  - bannière

Aquarelle: Perth, the Capital of the District of Dalhousie; from the N-East bank of the River Tay, 1828

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (324ko)
Perth, the Capital of the District of Dalhousie; from the N-East bank of the River Tay, 1828
Aquarelle
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-22
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002141

Le lieutenant-colonel John By et ses collègues planificateurs n’étaient pas les seuls visionnaires à prédire que leur canal aurait beaucoup de succès commercial. Les résidents de Perth, une colonie militaire située à 13 kilomètres (8 miles) du lac Rideau, partageaient ce rêve et ont décidé de lier leur avenir à celui du canal Rideau.

Thomas Burrowes a visité et peint la petite collectivité en 1828, lorsqu’elle comptait moins de 900 résidents. La ville avait été fondée en 1816 par des membres libérés de quatre régiments anglais qui avaient reçu des terres en récompense de leur service militaire au cours de la guerre de 1812. Toutefois, Perth avait du mal à survivre à cause de son éloignement du reste du Haut-Canada. Le lien avec le canal Rideau semblait être une occasion d’accéder au monde extérieur.

La construction du canal Tay, une entreprise privée, a commencé en 1831 et a pris fin en 1834. En l’absence d’investissements du gouvernement, ce canal n’a pas été aussi bien construit et entretenu que le canal Rideau. Néanmoins, dans les premières années du canal Tay, le commerce a prospéré et Perth a grandi. On envoyait des barges chargées de produits agricoles à Oliver’s Ferry (appelée aujourd’hui Rideau Ferry), sur le lac Big Rideau, et on les échangeait contre des barges remplies de marchandises provenant de Montréal, de Bytown et de Kingston. Cependant, l’envasement de ce canal a mis fin au service de remorquage à la vapeur et il a fallu que les membres des équipages utilisent des pôles pour les pousser ou que des chevaux ou des bœufs les halent le long de chemins de halage. En 1849, lorsque Perth comptait environ 1 900 habitants, on avait déjà abandonné la navigation commerciale et le canal Tay n’a servi par la suite qu’au flottage du bois d’oeuvre équarri et des billots.

Aquarelle: Oliver’s Ferry - Rideau Lake; looking towards Bytown, 1834

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (338ko)
Oliver's Ferry - Rideau Lake; looking towards Bytown, 1834
Aquarelle
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-25
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002144

Dans l’arrière-pays, Smiths Falls est devenue la ville la plus animée et la plus prospère des rives du canal Rideau. À partir de presque rien, elle s’est transformée en une ville d’environ 600 habitants en 1851 et de 1 137 habitants en 1861. En 1845, elle était dotée d’un moulin à bois, d’un moulin à grain, d’une tannerie, de deux magasins, d’étables et d’un forgeron.

Bien sûr, les plus grandes villes bordant la voie navigable étaient celles qui l’ancraient à ses deux extrémités. Kingston, autrefois la ville la plus importante de la province, était un port trépidant des Grands Lacs qui recevait les bateaux de Montréal, de York et des États-Unis et dont la prospérité ne dépendait pas du canal Rideau. Bytown, pour sa part, n’avait aucun habitant permanent avant le début de la construction du canal en 1826, mais elle en comptait 7 800 en 1851 et presque 15 000 en 1861. Le canal Rideau est à l’origine de son essor initial, mais son succès subséquent est davantage lié à la richesse des barons de l’industrie du bois d’oeuvre de la vallée de l’Outaouais, qui flottaient leur récolte sur la rivière des Outaouais jusqu’aux moulins de Bytown et de Hull.

Précédente | Page d'accueil | Suivante