Travelling Exhibits at the Archives of Ontario

The Archives of Ontario maintains an exciting travelling exhibits loan program that showcases the Archives' holdings in a variety of subject-based exhibits. These exhibits are available free of charge to any institution that wishes to borrow them. The exhibits enable thousands of people from around the province to view selections from the Archives' holdings in an informative and accessible format.

There are currently 12 exhibits circulating among heritage, cultural, and educational institutions throughout Ontario. Current exhibits available for loan are shown below. Click on "PDF" to download a pdf version of the exhibit, or click on "Online Exhibit" to go to the companion online exhibit where available.

Family Ties: Ontario Turns 150

Family Ties: Ontario Turns 150

Discover how the lives of four family groups in Ontario during the Confederation Era intersected with larger historical forces, and how genealogy can bring you into intimate contact with the past!  This new travelling exhibit will be available to borrow starting in January 2017.

Agriculture in Ontario


Driving a Massey-Harris tractor, International Plowing Match
Whether living on a farm, enjoying a farmer’s market, or tasting delicious foods, Ontarians take great pride in their agricultural heritage. This new exhibit examines how farming in Ontario has transformed the land and created communities, and how food reaches our tables.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

Dear Sadie – Loves, Lives, and Remembrance from Ontario’s First World War


Photograph of a memorial statue of David Thompson and his wife

Telling the stories of four diverse Ontarians, this exhibit highlights the impact that the war had on individual lives. It features a love story told through letters between a soldier and his sweetheart, the heartwarming correspondence between a frontlines surgeon and the patients whose lives he saved, and the remembrances of a veteran who returned to the battlefields 20 years later.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

Ontario's Sporting Past


Detail of photograph showing people sailing on the ice
View images from the collection celebrating Ontario's athletic heritage, including those leading moments and personalities in Ontario sports history, and the citizenship of those businesses that supported and promoted sports and fitness for Ontario and Ontarians.


[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

Enslaved Africans in Upper Canada


Tintype photographic portrait of black couple with their young baby
Many people do not know that slavery existed in Canada. Produced in partnership with the Ministry of Citizenship and Immigration, Enslaved Africans in Upper Canada, touches on the lives of enslaved Africans, and focuses on the actions they took to resist their servitude.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

Medical Records in Ontario


Detail of a photograph of a hospital ward room, focussing on a nurse writing on a chart
Canadians and Ontarians take great pride and interest in their health care system, and the Archives of Ontario is proud to hold an important key to the province's heritage through the health-related records that it acquires, preserves, and makes accessible to the public. Medical Records at the Archives of Ontario is an exhibit that explores the variety and scope of medical records held by the Archives of Ontario.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

Ontario's Movie Theatres


Photograph of the stage, curtains and screen in an old movie theatre
Do you remember the excitement of that special night out at the movies? Was it your first evening show as a - Do you remember the excitement of that special night out at the movies? Was it your first evening show as a child, the first date with your future spouse, or maybe just the thrill of seeing the best movie ever? The theatre regulatory files held by the Archives of Ontario tell stories of the theatres, their owners, and sometimes even their patrons.

[PDF]

A Lifetime - Day by Day, Five Women and Their Diaries


Photograph of a stack of diaries, all written by women, telling of their lives in early Ontario
Diaries provide an immediacy and intimacy provided by very few types of records. A Lifetime - Day by Day, Five Women and Their Diaries provides important insights into the every day lives of early Ontario pioneers.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

Yours to Discover - Tourism in Ontario through Time


Detail of a photograph of a cruise boat motoring between islands
Ontario is one of the most popular travel destinations in the world. Yours to Discover - Tourism in Ontario through Time is an exhibit that explores tourism in Ontario from the early settlers to the travellers of the current day, using documents and images from the Archives' collection.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

The James Bay Treaty Turns 100


Scan of a detail of the front page of the James Bay Treaty
The James Bay Treaty Turns 100 - 2005 marked the centennial of The James Bay Treaty, also known as Treaty No.9. The James Bay Treaty Turns 100 is an exhibit outlining the main historical events leading to Treaty No.9.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

War of 1812


Detail of an oil painting of Major General, Sir Isaac Brock
The War of 1812 had long term effects on the economic, social and political life of the province. This exhibit showcases some of the personalities and locations that played a role in the war and explores the events of that conflict as told through the correspondence and diaries of those who lived it.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

The Promotion of Healthy Living in Ontario


Scan of a detail of the front page of the James Bay Treaty
The government of Ontario has always tried to help Ontarians live longer, healthier lives. This exhibit explores the history of health promotion in Ontario.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

David Thompson


Photograph of a memorial statue of David Thompson and his wife

David Thompson (1770-1857) fur trader, astronomer and surveyor, mapped more of North America than anyone else. His journals, letters, maps and autobiography provide detailed insights into the fur trade, the Native People he encountered, the lands he explored, and milestones in his life.

[PDF] [Online Exhibit]

All of the exhibits have been produced on easy to erect panels that are approximately 2' by 7' in size. The exhibits range from three to five panels.

The length of time the exhibits can be borrowed can range from one to three months. The Archives of Ontario, however, will consider longer or shorter loan periods depending on the needs of the host institution or event.

For more information:

Tel: (416) 327-1557
Toll free: 1-800-668-9933 (Ontario residents)
Email: reference@ontario.ca

Expositions ittinérantes

Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario offrent un programme emballant de prêt d’expositions itinérantes qui présentent les collections des Archives dans une variété d’expositions thématiques. Toute institution voulant les emprunter peut le faire gratuitement. Ces expositions permettent à des milliers de personnes de partout en Ontario de voir certains éléments des fonds d’archives de façon informative et accessible.

Il y a actuellement 12 expositions en circulation dans des institutions patrimoniales, culturelles et éducatives partout en Ontario. Les expositions que nous prêtons actuellement sont décrites ci-dessous. Cliquez sur « PDF » pour télécharger une version PDF de l’exposition, le cas échéant, ou cliquez sur « Exposition en ligne » pour afficher l’exposition en ligne.

Les liens familiaux : l’Ontario a 150 ans

Family Ties: Ontario Turns 150

Découvrez comment la vie des quatre groupes de la famille en Ontario au cours de l'ère de la Confédération ont été touchés par les forces historiques, et comment la généalogie peut vous mettre en contact intime avec le passé! Cette nouvelle exposition itinérante sera disponible à emprunter à partir de janvier 2017.

Une nouvelle exposition itinérante célèbre le passé agricole de l’Ontario


Au volant d’un tracteur Massey-Harris, Championnat international
Qu’ils habitent sur une ferme, se plaisent à visiter les marchés fermiers ou aiment goûter à des aliments délicieux, les Ontariens sont très fiers de leur patrimoine agricole. Cette nouvelle exposition se penche sur la façon dont l’agriculture en Ontario a transformé la terre et créé les collectivités, et sur la façon dont les aliments se rendent jusqu’à notre table.

[PDF]

Chère Sadie – amours, vies et souvenirs ontariens de la Premier Guerre mondiale


Cette exposition souligne l’impact que la guerre a eu sur quatre Ontariens de divers horizons. Elle propose une histoire d’amour racontée à travers les lettres qu’ont échangées un soldat et sa bien-aimée, la correspondance entre un chirurgien au front et ses patients, et les souvenirs d’un vétéran qui est retourné sur le champs de bataille 20 ans plus tard.

[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

L’histoire des sports en Ontario


Detail of photograph showing people sailing on the ice
Visionnez des images tirées de nos collections qui célèbrent notre patrimoine sportif, notamment les événements marquants et les personnalités inoubliables qui ont fait l’histoire du sport en Ontario et l’esprit civique des entreprises qui ont soutenu et appuyé le sport et la forme physique pour l’Ontario et sa population.


[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

Les esclaves africains au Haut-Canada


Bien des gens ignorent que l’esclavage a existé au Canada. Produite en collaboration avec le ministère des Affaires civiques et de l’Immigration, l’exposition « Les esclaves africains au Haut-Canada » traite de la vie des esclaves africains et met l’accent sur les gestes qu’ils ont posés pour résister à leur asservissement.

[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

Dossiers médicaux gardés chez les Archives publiques de l’Ontario


Le système de santé est une source de grande fierté pour la population canadienne et ontarienne, qui s’y intéresse beaucoup. Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario sont fières de détenir un élément important du patrimoine provincial : les dossiers de santé qu’elles acquièrent, préservent et rendent accessibles au public. Cette exposition décrit les dossiers médicaux que détiennent les Archives publiques de l’Ontario dans toute leur diversité et leur ampleur.

[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

Histoires des salles de cinéma ontariennes


Vous souvenez-vous d’un moment d’euphorie que vous avez vécu au cinéma? Était-ce lors de la première soirée que vous y avez passée pendant votre enfance, de votre premier rendez-vous avec votre futur conjoint, ou simplement de la projection d’un film exceptionnel? Les dossiers de réglementation des cinémas des Archives publiques de l’Ontario gardent la mémoire de leurs propriétaires et parfois même de leurs clients.

[PDF]

L’histoire d’une vie – jour après jour : cinq femmes et leurs journaux intimes


Les journaux intimes ont un caractère immédiat et personnel que très peu d’autres documents possèdent. L’exposition « L’histoire d’une vie – jour après jour : cinq femmes et leurs journaux intimes » donne un aperçu important sur la vie quotidienne des premières pionnières ontariennes.

[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

« Tant à découvrir » : Le tourisme en Ontario au fil du temps


L’Ontario est l’une des destinations touristiques les plus populaires du monde. L’exposition « Tant à découvrir » : Le tourisme en Ontario au fil du temps jette un regard sur le tourisme dans la province depuis les premiers colons jusqu’aux voyageurs d’aujourd’hui, au moyen d’images et de documents tirés des collections des Archives.

[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

Le Traité de la Baie James a 100 ans


Le Traité de la Baie James a 100 ans – L’année 2005 a marqué le centenaire du Traité de la Baie James, appelé aussi Traité n° 9. Cette exposition résume les principaux événements historiques qui ont mené à la signature du Traité n° 9.

[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

La guerre de 1812


La guerre de 1812 a eu des effets à long terme sur la vie économique, sociale et politique de la province. Cette exposition met en vedette certains des personnages et des lieux qui ont joué un rôle dans le conflit et explore ces événements à travers la correspondance et les journaux des personnes qui les ont vécus.

[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

La promotion de modes de vie sains en Ontario


Le gouvernement de l’Ontario s’est toujours soucié d’aider les Ontariennes et les Ontariens à vivre plus longtemps et à mener une vie saine. Cette exposition porte sur l’histoire de la promotion de la santé en Ontario.

[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

David Thompson


David Thompson (1770-1857), marchand de fourrures, astronome et arpenteur, a cartographié l’Amérique du Nord plus que quiconque. Les journaux, les lettres, les cartes et l’autobiographie de Thompson contiennent des détails sur le commerce des fourrures, les Autochtones qu’il a rencontrés, les terres qu’il a explorées et les événements marquants de son existence.

[PDF] [Exposition en ligne]

Toutes les expositions ont été produites sur des panneaux faciles à assembler, mesurant environ 2’ par 7’. Chaque exposition compte de trois à cinq panneaux, et comprend un éclairage.

Les expositions peuvent être empruntées pour une période d’un à trois mois. Toutefois, les Archives publiques de l’Ontario peuvent envisager des périodes de prêt plus longues ou plus courtes, selon les besoins de l’institution ou de l’événement hôte.

Renseignements :

Tél. : (416) 327-1557
Sans frais : 1 800 668-9933 (résidents de l’Ontario)

Courriel: reference@ontario.ca