Accessing Our Collections

Information for university students and professors: Planning a visit to the Archives of Ontario?


The Archives of Ontario holds the documentary heritage of the province. Our holdings include a wide range of records, from photographs and architectural drawings to court documents, from government policies and programs documentation to records of individuals and corporations.

This document includes information on what you need to do before your visit to prepare to do research at the Archives. It also gives you information on what resources are available to help you, and how you can access our records.

For information about visiting the archives, including hours of operations, registration, and ordering records, click here. For information about doing research at a distance click here.

For professors: Classroom orientations


The Archives of Ontario offers orientations for university classes. These 90-minute sessions include information on conducting research at the Archives, available resources, and conclude with an orientation of the reading room. Professors interested in arranging for a session, please e-mail us at reference@ontario.ca or phone Linda Murphy-Boyer, Supervisor, Customer Services, at 416-327-1580. Please note that we need a 3-week notice to prepare for your tour.

For professors and students: Preparing to do research at the Archives of Ontario

Before doing research at the Archives, you should prepare by doing the following:

  • Determine what you will be researching and narrow your research topic – the more precise it is, the better the chances are that you will find the records you need.

  • Consult secondary sources about your topic, such as books, periodicals or e-articles. They will help you understand what you are looking for, and they may include references to relevant archival materials. Your university library is the best place to look for these sources.

  • Think about who may have created the records you need, why they would have created them and how they would have created them.

  • Find what archival repository has the records you need. Many municipalities, the federal government and your own university have their own archives. Some may be more suitable for your needs than others.

Also, keep the following in mind:
  • Archival records are records OF, not ABOUT, governments, organizations and people. They are arranged by creator (who created them), not by subject.

  • Most archival records are not available online. See below for information about accessing and retrieving records.

Available resources


The following resources are available on this Website.

  • The Archives Descriptive Database. This database includes descriptions and lists for groups of records within our holdings, and information about records creators. For help using the database, just click on the “Help” button for instructions.

    TIP: Some entries include links to larger groups of records. By clicking on those links, you will get contextual information about a file, item or group of records.

  • BIBLiON, our library database.

  • Research and Customer Services guides: These provide information on some widely-used records, as well as our policies and services.

  • The Visual Database: It contains approximately 30000 images from our collections in digital format.

  • The Microfilm Interloan Catalogue: It lists about 40000 microfilm reels you can borrow through your university or local library.

Various finding aids are available for consultation in the reading room. They provide additional information for some groups of records described in the Archives Descriptive Database. Some finding aids are available in electronic formats.

Accessing and using archival records


Ordering records and getting copies: Once you have identified records (or groups of records) you want to view, you can arrange to view the records and to get copies of them. For more information, click here.

Using the records: Our staff will show you how to handle the records, and provide you with gloves, weights, supports and other tools to help you use the records safely. Make sure to note carefully what you see and will be using, its reference code, title and container. You will need this information to order copies and to provide citations for your project report or paper.

Access to some records may be restricted under privacy legislation or donor agreement, or because of preservation issues. These records take longer to access. Please give yourself enough time to access these records, especially if you have a deadline to complete a project or paper. You can consult our reference staff for more information.

PLEASE NOTE: Publication, broadcast or display of records is governed by the Copyright Act. You must read our copyright policy before copying any records held by the archives of Ontario. You also need to obtain permission from the Archives of Ontario to use our records. See Guide 108, Copyright and Your research [Word, PDF] for more information; to view the permission request form, click here.

Your university may also offer resources to help you with copyright-related issues.

Accessing Our Collections

 

Information à l’intention des étudiants universitaires et de leurs professeurs : Vous souhaitez organiser une visite des Archives publiques de l’Ontario?


Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario conservent le patrimoine documentaire de la province. Nos collections sont constituées d'archives diverses : photographies, dessins architecturaux, documents judiciaires, documents de politiques et de programmes du gouvernement, fiches d’état civil et documents relatifs aux personnes physiques et morales.

Ce document contient des renseignements utiles sur ce que vous devez faire avant votre visite aux Archives publiques pour effectuer une recherche sur place. Il vous fournit également des informations sur les ressources qui sont à votre disposition pour vous aider et sur la façon d’accéder à nos collections.

Pour plus de détails sur les visites aux Archives, dont les heures d’ouverture, l’inscription et la commande des documents d’archives,. Pour plus de détails sur la recherche à distance, cliquez ici.

À l’intention des professeurs : séances d’orientation en groupe


Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario offrent des séances d’orientation pour groupes universitaires. Ces séances de 90 minutes expliquent en détail comment effectuer des recherches dans les Archives publiques, présentent les ressources disponibles et se terminent par une visite guidée de la salle de lecture. Les professeurs qui souhaitent organiser une séance d’orientation sont priés de nous contacter par courriel à reference@ontario.ca. Ils peuvent également communiquer avec Linda Murphy-Boyer, superviseure des services à la clientèle, au 416 327-1580. Prévoyez un délai de trois semaines pour nous permettre de préparer votre visite.

À l’intention des professeurs et des étudiants : Préparation pour effectuer des recherches aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Avant d’effectuer des recherches aux Archives publiques, vous devez vous préparer de la manière suivante :

  • Déterminez le sujet de vos recherches et limitez votre recherche au thème qui vous intéresse – plus votre recherche sera précise, plus vous aurez de chances de trouver les documents dont vous avez besoin.

  • Consultez des sources secondaires sur votre thème, tels que livres, périodiques ou articles en ligne. Elles vous aideront à comprendre ce que vous cherchez, et elles peuvent contenir des références vers des documents d’archives pertinents. Votre bibliothèque universitaire est le meilleur endroit pour chercher ces sources.

  • Demandez-vous qui aurait pu créer les documents que vous cherchez, et pour quelle raison et comment ils les auraient créés.

  • Essayez de savoir dans quel dépôt d’archives se trouvent les documents que vous cherchez. De nombreuses municipalités, le gouvernement fédéral et votre propre université conservent leurs propres archives. Certaines de ces archives conviendront peut-être mieux à vos besoins que d’autres.

Gardez également ceci à l’esprit :
  • Les documents d’archives sont LES documents des gouvernements, des entreprises et des particuliers, et non des documents À LEUR SUJET. Ils sont classés par auteur (la personne ou l’organisation qui les a créés) et non pas par sujet.

  • La majorité des documents d’archives ne sont pas disponibles en ligne. Lisez ce qui suit pour plus de détails sur l’accès et la consultation des documents d’archives.

Ressources disponibles


Les ressources suivantes sont disponibles sur ce site Web.

  • La base de données des descriptions des documents d’archives (en anglais seulement). Cette base de données inclut des descriptions et des listes pour les groupes de documents d’archives dans nos fonds, ainsi que des renseignements sur les créateurs des documents d’archives. Si vous avez besoin d’aide pour utiliser la base de données, cliquez simplement sur le bouton « Help » pour consulter les directives d’utilisation.

    ASTUCE : Certaines entrées contiennent des liens vers des groupes de documents plus volumineux. En cliquant sur ces liens, vous obtiendrez des renseignements contextuels sur un fichier, un article ou un groupe de documents.

  • Biblion, la base de données de notre bibliothèque.

  • Guides de recherche et guides des services à la clientèle : Ils fournissent des renseignements sur les documents les plus souvent consultés ainsi que nos politiques et nos services.

  • La base de données visuelle : Elle contient environ 30 000 images numérisées provenant de nos collections.

  • Le Catalogue du Service interprêt de microfilm : Il contient une liste de 40 000 microfilms que vous pouvez emprunter par l'entremise de votre université ou bibliothèque locale..

Vous trouverez divers instruments de recherche dans la salle de lecture. Ils contiennent des renseignements supplémentaires sur certains groupes de documents d’archives décrits dans la Base de données des descriptions des documents d’archives. Certains instruments de recherche sont disponibles en format électronique

Accès et utilisation des documents d’archives


Commandes et photocopies de documents et demandes de copies : Lorsque vous avez trouvé les documents (ou groupes de documents) qui vous intéressent, vous pouvez demander à les consulter et en obtenir des copies. Pour plus de détails, cliquez ici.

Veuillez noter que l’accès à certains documents peut être restreint en raison de la législation sur la protection de la vie privée ou d’ententes avec les donateurs, ou simplement pour des raisons liées à leur conservation. L’accès à ces documents demande plus de temps. Prévoyez suffisamment de temps pour accéder à ces documents, surtout si vous avez une échéance à respecter pour votre projet ou votre article. Vous pouvez vous adresser à notre personnel pour plus de détails.

Utilisation des documents : Notre personnel vous montrera comment manipuler les documents, et vous fournira des gants, des poids, des soutiens et autres outils pour vous aider à les utiliser en toute sécurité. Notez soigneusement tout que vous voyez, le code de référence, le titre et le contenant. Vous aurez besoin de cette information pour commander des copies et inclure des citations dans votre article ou compte rendu de projet.

IMPORTANT :La publication, la diffusion et la présentation des documents d’archives sont régies par la Loi sur le droit d’auteur. Vous devez lire notre politique sur le droit d'auteur avant de faire des copies de documents conservés par les Archives publiques de l’Ontario. Vous devez également obtenir la permission des Archives publiques de l’Ontario pour utiliser nos documents. Voir le Guide 108, Le droit d’auteur et vos recherches [Word, PDF] pour plus de détails; pour obtenir un formulaire de demande de permission, cliquez ici.

Votre université peut également vous offrir des ressources pour vous aider avec toutes les questions liées aux droits d’auteur.