Microfilm Interloan Service  

What is the Microfilm Interloan Service?


The Microfilm Interloan Service allows you to borrow microfilmed archival records through a library or another institution belonging to the interlibrary loan network. This international network, established through collaboration agreements, allows an institution to borrow materials from another participating institution. Contact your public library for information about their interlibrary loan policies.

About 32,000 of our most popular microfilm reels are available through interloan. As a result, you may be able to do extensive research without coming to the Archives of Ontario. The material available through interloan will be most useful to people doing genealogical research about their family, but it will undoubtedly be of interest to other researchers as well. Use the links below to access the main categories of records available through interloan.

What Microfilm is Available on Interloan?


Government Records


Vital Statistics (Birth, Marriage & Death Records)

Vital statistics are records pertaining to births, marriages and deaths within the province of Ontario. The Archives holds a significant number of these records. Births ranging from 1869-1916 are available, as are marriages ca. 1801-1931, although there are many gaps in pre-1869 marriage records. Death records available range from 1869-1941.

Court Records

The Archives has extensive records from courts around the province. These records deal with everything from minor criminal charges to district administration to wills and probate.

Municipal Records

This microfilm contains records created or collected by local government while performing their duties. Primarily created between 1845 and 1900, these records include: assessment and collector's rolls; local census records (pre-1851); voters lists and poll books; and local Town and Township council records.

Crown Lands Records

This microfilm contains documents relating to the grant, sale or lease of Crown Lands. Most of these records originated in the Office of the Surveyor General or the Crown Lands Department. Land patent indexes created by Provincial Secretary's Official Documents section are also included here, as are the records of the First and Second Heir and Devisee Commission (1805-1911), which heard and ruled on claims to land made by the heirs, devisees, and assignees of original nominees for land.

Ontario Land Records Index on Microfiche (1780-1920) provides access to Crown Land records and some land-related material found in the Canada Company and Peter Robinson fonds. Also, please see Research Guide 205: Using the Ontario Land Records Index ca. 1780-ca. 1920 - [Word, PDF].

Records Of The Department Of Immigration (RG 11)

This microfilm contains the surviving records of the Immigration Branch of the Ontario Department of Agriculture and Public Works (1869-1873) and its successor, the Department of Immigration (1873-1901). Large proportions of these records in Records Group 11 (RG 11) are of genealogical interest.

Microfilms of records from Columbia University (formerly called the "Toronto Emigration Office Records" or "Hawke Papers") are now available for loan. These records form part of the Records of the Department of Immigration (RG 11) and date from 1831-1892.

Education Records

This microfilm consists of both the annual school financial and staffing reports by local superintendents and boards of trustees, and the pension records of the Teacher Superannuation Fund.

Schools and Teachers

This microfilm consists of listings of schools and teachers in the province of Ontario between 1911 and 1966. It also consists of listings of the staffs of collegiate institutes, high schools, continuation schools and normal schools in 1911, and between 1923 and 1966. For a full microfilm reel list, consult the Archives of Ontario Library's catalogue, BIBLiON.

Records Of The Department Of the Provincial Secretary (RG 8)

This microfilm consists of a case book and record of offenses and punishments for the Victoria Industrial School and prisoner's histories from the Ontario Reformatory for Boys in Penetanguishene, Ontario.

Indexes to Company charters

These indexes document charters of incorporations issued to Ontario corporations. From 1868 to 1971, incorporation of businesses in Ontario was usually done through a company charter (also known as letter patents). The charter included the name of the corporation, the names of the main officers of the new corporation, and information about the share structure and initial value and the purpose of the corporation. A copy of the charter was kept in charter books. [Word, PDF]

Non-Government Records


Canada Company fonds

The Canada Company was incorporated by the British Parliament on 27 July 1825 and was dissolved on 18 December 1953. The aim of the company was to obtain land in Canada and to promote its sale to prospective settlers. This fonds documents all activities of the Canada Company, including administrative records such as minutes of committees, court of directors minutes, and proceedings of the general court. Other records, which relate to the administration of the company, include reports, agreement with the Crown, and registers and schedules of lands. Fonds also contain several series of correspondence, relating to land held by the company, sales, and shareholders.

Cartwright Family fonds (F 24)

This fonds consists of documents created or received by various members of the Cartwright family, relating to their genealogy, land holdings and political and business activities in the Kingston, Ontario area.

Women's Christian Temperance Union fonds (F 885)

The first temperance organization in Canada, the "Prohibition Women's League", was formed in Owen Sound, Ontario 24 May 1874. A year later the first W.C.T.U. in Toronto was organized. The Ontario Union modelled itself after the U.S.A. Union, promoting the causes of temperance, social purity and the enfranchisement of women. Other local and immediate issues were also promoted such as dress reform, Christian socialism, Christianity and labour reform for children. It was one of the unions which was very active from coast to coast advocating social reform and in expanding the role of women in society by pushing for woman's suffrage.

Cemetery Transcriptions

This microfilm contains the Ontario Genealogical Society's Cemetery Transcriptions completed up until December 2000. A cemetery transcription is a systematic survey of the wording and location of each tombstone and memorial within a specific cemetery.

Solomon Y. Chesley Fonds (F 451)

This microfilm consist of 5 journals written by Solomon Y. Chesley, who was at various points in his career, Superintendent of the Department of Indian Affairs, Member of the House of Assembly and Mayor of Cornwall. The journals emphasize Chesley's career as an Indian agent. They document his travels to various reserves in Ontario, negotiations and mediation with the aboriginal leaders, ceremonies and customs. They also document Chesley's opinions on various significant events in mid 19th century Canadian and international history, including the debates on the Clergy Reserves, Representation by Population, the Fenian Raids, and the movement of the Canadian capital.

Church Records

The Church Records Collection consists of original and copied records for more than 60 Ontario churches which existed at some time in our history. The records within the collection include sessional minutes, annual reports, deeds and financial records, communion rolls, birth/baptismal records, marriage and burial records. Some newspaper clippings are also included.

T. Eaton Company Records (F 229)

One of the most widely recognized companies in Ontario and Canada for over a century, the T. Eaton Company at one time touched on many aspects of the lives of Ontarians and Canadians, both through its retail outlets and its contribution to the community. Fonds consists of catalogues, newspaper advertisements, office correspondence, and other records relating to the operation of the company.

Ford Family Fonds (F 483)

Nathan Ford was an agent for Colonel Samuel Ogden, and resided in Ogdensburgh, New York. He built a mill in the town in 1797, and maintained a correspondence with his brother, David Ford of Morristown, New Jersey. Fonds consists of correspondence among various Ford family members. Letters refer to local events and politics, family news, business activities, European events (especially the progress of the Napoleonic wars), the War of 1812, the Fenian Raids, and other subjects.

Genealogies

In the Archives of Ontario's early years, it actively collected genealogies and family histories. These records have been gathered together for the convenience of family historians.

Historical County Atlases

This microfilm contain atlases of southern Ontario published primarily in the late 1870's. Two types of atlases are included: County atlases documenting a single county or adjacent counties, and Dominion of Canada atlases containing a supplement of specific counties.

City of Toronto Directories

This microfilm consists of the directories for the Cities of Toronto (1834-1954, 1998-present) and Metropolitan Toronto (1954-1998) covering the 150 years between 1833-1983. The earliest directories often contained numerous details promoting the city, ranging from buildings constricted, import/export totals, and prominent events of the previous year. 

Sir Aemilius Irving Papers (F 1027)

Sir Aemilius Irving was born at Leamington, England in 1823, educated at Upper Canada College, Toronto. He became a barrister in 1849 and was appointed Queen's Council in 1863. He represented Hamilton in the House of Commons, 1874-1878; was Treasurer of the Upper Canada law society, 1893-1913. He was knighted in 1906 and died in Toronto on November 27th, 1913.

Marriage Records Collection (F 982)

The Marriage Records Collection is an artificial creation of the Archives of Ontario designed to assemble in one place miscellaneous marriage certificates, licenses and registers which cannot be assigned to any one specific church.

Multicultural Newspapers

This group of microfilm contains one hundred newspapers published by various cultural communities across Ontario from 1930 to 1987. The filming of these newspapers was a joint project of the Archives of Ontario and the Multicultural History Society of Ontario.

Order Sons of Italy of Canada fonds (F 4378)

The Archives has acquired the records of the Order Sons of Italy of Canada, a fraternal organization for Italian-Canadians. The records, which date from 1915 to the 1990s, document the experiences of Italian Canadians in the 20th century. They are also an excellent genealogical resource.

Phenix Family Fonds (F 1255)

The John Phenix family were farmers in Mono Township, Dufferin County, Ontario during the nineteenth and early twentieth century. Fonds consists primarily of diaries of two generations of the John Phenix family. The fonds also includes a will and other legal documents of the Phenix family.

The Provincial Freeman

The Provincial Freeman was published weekly from 1853 to 1857, first in Windsor, then in Toronto and Chatham. Published weekly, it It advocated equality, integration and self-education for black people in Canada and the United States.

Records Relating to Aboriginal Peoples

The Archives of Ontario holds many records relating to Aboriginal Peoples. Only a small amount of these records are available through our Microfilm Interloan Service.

Jean Baptiste Rousseau family fonds (F 493)

Jean Baptiste Rousseau (1758-1812), a fur trader, merchant, landowner and mill owner, was a founder of Ancaster, Ontario. The Jean Baptiste Rousseau family fonds (F 493,) consisting of business and personal records of the Rousseau family, recently has been microfilmed and is available on interlibrary loan.

Conn Smythe fonds (F 223)

Conn Smythe, M.C. (1895-1980) was an Ontario sportsman best known for his interests in ice hockey, horse racing and promoting the cause of disabled children. The Conn Smythe hockey files (Series F 223-3) consists of hockey files documenting Conn Smythe’s involvement in the game of hockey in Canada including Maple Leaf Gardens, the Toronto Maple Leafs hockey club and the National Hockey League.

David Thompson fonds

David Thompson (1770-1857) was an explorer, surveyor, and astronomer for the Hudson Bay Company and the Northwest Company who also completed survey work of the Canada-United States border for the British Government. Fonds includes notebooks and journals which document Thompson's journeys into what is now the interior of Canada and the northwest United States, the mapping and surveying of Canada, and relations between fur traders and aboriginal peoples. The fonds also contains field books of boundary surveys conducted by Thompson, miscellaneous outgoing correspondence relating to maps and boundary surveys, and hand-drawn copies of boundary surveys.

John White Fonds (F 4448)

John White was a lawyer and the first Attorney-General of Upper Canada. The John White fonds (F 4448), consisting of a personal notebook kept by White between 1792 and 1797, recently has been microfilmed and is available on interlibrary loan.

A. E. Williams/ United Indian Bands of Chippewas and Mississaugas Fonds (F 4337)

This microfilm consist of documents collected by A. E. Williams, a collector and researcher of Canadian aboriginal history. The vast majority were created by or collected on behalf of the United Indian Bands of the Chippewas and Mississaugas, an ad-hoc grass roots movement of Ontario First Nations to assert their claims regarding land, monies owed under the 1850 Robinson Treaties, and unceded hunting and fishing rights. The most active bands were the Chippewas of Christian Island, Georgina Island and Rama, and the Mississaugas of Rice Lake, Mud Lake and Scugog, and the Hiawatha. There is evidence that bands from the North Shore of Lake Huron and even as far as Fort William participated in this movement. The movement was operative from 1903 to sometime around 1920.

[Return to top of page]

Qu'est-ce que le Service interprêt de microfilms?

Qu'est-ce que le Service interprêt de microfilms?


Le Service interprêt de microfilms vous permet d'emprunter des documents d'archives sur microfilm par l'entremise d'une bibliothèque ou d'un autre établissement qui fait partie du système de prêt entre bibliothèques. Ce système international, mis sur pied grâce à des accords de collaboration, permet à un établissement d'emprunter du matériel auprès d'un autre établissement participant. Adressez-vous à votre bibliothèque publique pour en apprendre davantage sur leurs politiques de prêt entre bibliothèques.

Environ 32 000 bobines de nos microfilms les plus populaires sont disponibles par interprêt. Vous pouvez donc effectuer des recherches exhaustives sans même vous rendre aux Archives publiques de l'Ontario. La collection disponible par interprêt sera des plus utiles aux personnes qui effectuent des recherches généalogiques sur leurs familles, mais elle ne manquera pas d'intéresser également d'autres chercheurs. Servez-vous des liens ci-dessous pour accéder aux catégories principales de dossiers disponibles par interprêt.


La plupart des liens ci-dessous mènent à des pages en anglais.

Quels sont les microfilms disponibles par interprêt?


Dossiers du gouvernement de l'Ontario


Dossiers de l'état civil (enregistrements de naissance, de mariage et de décès)

Les dossiers de l’état civil contiennent les enregistrements relatifs aux naissances, aux mariages et aux décès dans la province de l’Ontario. Un nombre important de ces enregistrements figurent aux Archives publiques. On dispose des enregistrements de naissance de 1869 à 1917 et des enregistrements de mariage de 1801 environ à 1932; toutefois, il y a de nombreuses données manquantes dans les enregistrements de mariage d’avant 1869. Les enregistrements des décès vont de 1869 à 1942.

Dossiers judiciaires (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Les Archives publiques contiennent une part considérable des dossiers des tribunaux de la province. Ces dossiers portent sur des affaires aussi variées que les inculpations criminelles mineures, l’administration des districts, les testaments et les homologations.

Dossiers municipaux (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent les dossiers créés ou recueillis par les administrations locales dans le cadre de leur mandat. Les dossiers, qui ont surtout été créés entre 1845 et 1900, comprennent : les rôles d’évaluation et de perception; les données des recensements locaux d’avant 1851; les listes électorales et les registres du scrutin; et les dossiers des conseils municipaux et de cantons.

Dossiers des terres de la Couronne (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent des documents relatifs à la concession, à la vente ou à la location des terres de la Couronne. La plupart de ces dossiers proviennent du Bureau de l’arpenteur général ou du Service des terres de la Couronne. Ces dossiers comprennent également les répertoires des concessions de propriété établis par le Service des documents officiels du secrétaire de la province; on y trouve aussi les dossiers de la Première et de la Seconde Commission des héritiers et légataires (1805-1911) qui ont entendu les demandes relatives aux terres déposées par les héritiers, légataires ou cessionnaires des propriétaires apparents initiaux et ont rendu les décisions en la matière.

L’Index sur microfilm des documents relatifs aux terres de l’Ontario (1780-1920) donne accès aux dossiers des terres de la Couronne et à certains documents fonciers qui figurent aux Fonds Canada Company et Peter Robinson. (Veuillez consulter le guide de recherche no 205 intitulé Comment se servir de l'Index des documents relatifs aux terres de l'Ontario vers 1780 - vers 1920. [ Word, PDF]).

Dossiers du ministère de l’Immigration (RG 11) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent les documents préservés de la Direction de l’immigration du Service de l’agriculture et des travaux publics de l’Ontario (1869-1873) ainsi que ceux de l’organisme qui lui a succédé, le Service de l’immigration (1873-1901). Une part importante des dossiers RG 11 comporte un intérêt sur le plan de la généalogie.

Les copies sur microfilm des dossiers reçus de l'Université de la Columbia (auparavant appelés les « Toronto Emigration Office Records » ou les « Hawke Papers ») peuvent maintenant être empruntés.Ces documents, qui datent de 1831 à 1892, font partie des dossiers du Service de l’immigration (RG 11).

Dossiers sur l’éducation (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent les rapports financiers annuels des écoles et les rapports de dotation présentés par les directeurs et les conseils d’administration locaux, de même que les dossiers relatifs aux retraites de la Caisse de retraite des enseignants.

Schools and Teachers (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent la liste des écoles et des enseignants dans la province de l’Ontario entre 1911 et 1966. Elles contiennent également la liste des membres du personnel des écoles secondaires supérieures (collegiate institutes), des écoles secondaires, des écoles complémentaires et des écoles normales en 1911 et de 1923 à 1966.

Dossiers du ministère du Secrétaire provincial (RG 8) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent le recueil de textes jurisprudentiels et le registre des infractions et des punitions de l'école industrielle; on y trouve également les renseignements personnels des prisonniers de l’Ontario Reformatory for Boys de Penetanguishene.

Index des chartes de compagnies (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces index servent de points d’accès aux chartes d’incorporation émises pour les corporations ontariennes. De 1868 à 1971, l’incorporation des compagnies ontariennes se faisait habituellement par l’émission d’une charte (aussi connue sous le nom de lettres patentes). La charte comprenait le nom de la corporation et de ses principaux officiers, et des renseignements au sujet de la structure et de la valeur initiale des actions ainsi que l’objet de la corporation. Une copie de la charte était incluses dans un registre. [Word, PDF]

Dossiers non gouvernementaux


Fonds Canada Company (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

La Canada Company a été constituée en société au Parlement britannique le 27 juillet 1825 et a été dissoute le 18 décembre 1953. La compagnie visait à acquérir des terres au Canada et à en promouvoir la vente auprès d’immigrants potentiels. Le fonds documente l’ensemble des activités de la Canada Company; il comprend des documents administratifs, comme les procès-verbaux des comités et de l’assemblée des administrateurs, et des délibérations de la Cour. On y trouve aussi des documents associés à l’administration de la compagnie, notamment des rapports, des accords avec la Couronne et des registres et inventaires de terres. Le fonds se compose également de plusieurs éléments de correspondance relatifs aux terres détenues par la compagnie, aux ventes et aux actionnaires.

Fonds Famille Cartwright (F 24) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ce fonds consiste en documents créés ou reçus par les membres de la famille Cartwright. Ces documents portent sur la généalogie de la famille, ses biens fonciers et ses activités commerciales et politiques dans la région de Kingston, en Ontario.

Fonds Women’s Christian Temperance Union (F 885) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

C’est à Owen Sound (Ontario) le 24 mai 1874 qu’a été créée la Prohibition Women's League, la première association en faveur de la tempérance au Canada. L’année suivante, la Women's Christian Temperance Union a démarré ses activités à Toronto. Fondée sur le modèle de celle existant aux États-Unis, l’association militait en faveur de causes comme la tempérance, la pureté dans les relations sociales et l’émancipation des femmes. On faisait également la promotion de certaines questions locales d'intérêt immédiat, comme la réforme vestimentaire, le socialisme chrétien, les valeurs chrétiennes et la réforme relative au travail des enfants. Une de ces associations a contribué activement, et ce, d’un océan à l’autre, à l’introduction de réformes sociales et à l’élargissement du rôle des femmes au sein de la société en faisant la promotion du droit de vote pour les femmes.

Transcriptions de données de cimetières (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent les transcriptions de données de cimetières de la Société généalogique de l'Ontario jusqu’à décembre 2000. Les transcriptions de données de cimetières consistent en un inventaire complet, au sein de certains cimetières, de l’emplacement de chaque pierre tombale et monument funéraire et des textes qu’ils comportent.

Fonds Solomon Y. Chesley (F 451) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent cinq journaux rédigés par Solomon Y. Chesley, qui a été tour à tour surintendant du ministère des Affaires indiennes, membre de la Chambre d’assemblée et maire de Cornwall. Les journaux portent particulièrement sur les activités professionnelles de Chesley en tant qu'agent auprès des Indiens. Ils documentent ses voyages dans les diverses réserves de l’Ontario, les processus de négociation et de médiation entrepris avec les chefs autochtones, ainsi que certaines cérémonies et coutumes autochtones. Dans ses journaux, Chelsey se prononce également sur divers sujets importants de l’histoire canadienne et internationale au milieu du 19e siècle; parmi ceux-ci figurent la représentation selon la population, les réserves ou clergé, l’invasion des Fenians et le déplacemont de la capitale nationale.

Dossiers des églises (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

La collection de dossiers des églises est constituée d’originaux et de copies de documents de plus de 60 églises qui ont existé en Ontario à un moment ou un autre de l’histoire de la province. Ces dossiers comprennent des procès-verbaux d’assemblées, des rapports annuels, des actes, des documents financiers, ainsi que des registres des communions, des naissances ou des baptêmes, des mariages et des enterrements. On y trouve aussi un certain nombre de coupures de journaux.

Dossiers de la T. Eaton Company (F 229) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Pendant plus d’un siècle, la T. Eaton Company a été l’une des compagnies les plus en vue en Ontario, et même au Canada; grâce à ses points de vente et à sa contribution dans la communauté, elle a, à un moment donné, touché de nombreux aspects de la vie des Ontariens et de l’ensemble des Canadiens. Le fonds consiste en catalogues, en publicités publiées dans les journaux, en correspondance de bureau et en d’autres documents relatant les activités de la compagnie.

Fonds Famille Ford (F 483) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Nathan Ford, qui résidait à Ogdensburgh dans l’État de New York, était le mandataire du colonel Samuel Ogden. Il a bâti un moulin dans sa ville en 1797; il a également entretenu une correspondance avec David Ford, son frère établi à Morristown, au New Jersey. Le fonds est composé de pièces de correspondance échangés entre les membres de la famille Ford. Leurs lettres portent sur certains événements locaux ou politiques; elles fournissent également des nouvelles sur la famille et portent sur les activités commerciales, certains événements en Europe (en particulier la progression des guerres napoléoniennes), la guerre de 1812, l’invasion des Fenians et divers autres sujets.

Dossiers généalogiques (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Aux premiers temps des Archives publiques de l’Ontario, on recueillait activement les données généalogiques et les histoires des familles. Ces documents ont étéregroupés a fin de faciliter la tâche des historiens familiaux.

Atlas historiques des comtés (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent les atlas du Sud de l’Ontario publiés surtout à la fin des années 1870. On y trouve les deux types d’atlas suivants : les atlas de comtés illustrant un seul comté ou des comtés adjacents, et les atlas du Dominion du Canada contenant un supplément qui présente certains comtés particuliers.

Annuaires de la ville de Toronto (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent les annuaires de la ville de Toronto (1833-1953 ) et ceux de la communauté urbaine de Toronto (y compris East York, Etobicoke, North York, Scarborough et York) (1954-1983). Les annuaires les plus anciens contiennent souvent de nombreux détails faisant la promotion de la ville; on mentionne notamment les édifices qu’on vient de construire, la quantité totale d’importations et d’exportations ou les événements marquants de l’année précédente.

Fonds Sir Aemilius Irving (F 1027) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Sir Aemilius Irving est né en 1823 à Leamington, en Angleterre, et a étudié au Upper Canada College à Toronto. Il est devenu avocat en 1849 et a été nommé conseiller de la Reine en 1863. Il a représenté Hamilton à la Chambre des communes de 1874 à 1878; il a également été le trésorier du Barreau du Haut-Canada de 1893 à 1913. Il a reçu le titre de chevalier en 1906 et est mort à Toronto le 27 novembre 1913.

Collection de documents de mariage (F 982) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

La collection de documents de mariage a été créée de toutes pièces par les Archives publiques de l’Ontario; elle vise à regrouper en un seul lieu divers certificats, licences et registres de mariage qui ne relèvent d’aucune église particulière.

Journaux multiculturels (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ce groupe de microfilms contient une centaine de journaux publiés par diverses communautés culturelles en Ontario de 1930 à 1987. Le transfert de ces journaux sur microfilm a été effectué dans le cadre d’un projet conjoint des Archives publiques de l’Ontario et de la Société d’histoire multiculturelle de l’Ontario.

Fonds Ordre des fils de l’Italie au Canada (F 4378) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Les Archives publiques ont fait l’acquisition des dossiers de l’Ordre des fils de l’Italie au Canada, un organisme d’assistance mutuelle à l’intention des Italio-Canadiens. Les dossiers du Fonds, qui vont de 1915 aux années 1990, documentent l’expérience des Italio-Canadiens au 20e siècle. Ces dossiers représentent également une excellente ressource en matière de généalogie.

Fonds Famille Phenix (F 1255) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

John Phenix et sa famille étaient fermiers dans le canton de Mono (comté de Dufferin) en Ontario au 19e siècle et au début de 20e siècle. Le fonds consiste surtout en journaux rédigés sur deux générations par des membres de la famille John Phenix. Le fonds comprend également un testament et d’autres documents légaux associés à la famille Phenix.

The Provincial Freeman (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Le journal hebdomadaire The Provincial Freeman a été publié de 1853 à 1857, d’abord à Windsor, puis à Toronto et à Chatham. Au sein de cette publication, on œuvrait semaine après semaine à renforcer l’égalité, l’intégration et l’auto-apprentissage des Noirs au Canada et aux États-Unis.

Documents relatifs aux peuples autochtones (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario comportent de nombreux documents relatifs aux peuples autochtones. Seule une petite partie de ces dossiers est accessible par l’entremise de notre Service interprêt de microfilms.

Fonds Famille Jean-Baptiste Rousseau (F 493) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Fondateur de l’Ancaster en Ontario, Jean-Baptiste Rousseau (1758-1812) a été commerçant de fourrures, négociant, propriétaire foncier et propriétaire d’un moulin. Le fonds Famille Jean-Baptiste Rousseau (F 493), qui consiste en documents personnels et d’affaires de la famille Rousseau, a récemment été transféré sur microfilm et est accessible par l’entremise du Service interprêt de microfilms.

Fonds Conn Smythe (F 223) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Décoré de la Croix militaire, le sportif ontarien Conn Smythe (1895-1980) s’est fait particulièrement remarqué pour sa passion du hockey et des courses hippiques ainsi que pour son action en faveur de la cause des enfants handicapés. Les dossiers sur le hockey de Conn Smythe (F 223-3) documentent l’engagement de ce sportif dans le monde du hockey au Canada, notamment au sein du Maple Leaf Gardens, du club de hockey les Maple Leafs de Toronto et de la Ligue nationale de hockey.

Fonds David Thompson (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

David Thompson (1770-1857) a été explorateur, arpenteur et astronome pour les Compagnies de la Baie d’Hudson et du Nord-Ouest. Il a également effectué des levés à la frontière du Canada et des États-Unis pour le gouvernement britannique. Le fonds comprend les cahiers de notes et les journaux où Thompson documente ses voyages dans ce qui constitue maintenant l’intérieur du Canada et le nord-ouest des États-Unis; ces documents traitent également de la cartographie et de l’arpentage au Canada et des relations entre les commerçants de fourrures et les peuples autochtones. Le fonds est aussi constitué des carnets de notes associés aux levés effectués par Thompson à la frontière, diverses lettres qu’il a rédigées en rapport aux cartes et aux levés et des croquis des levés.

Fonds John White (F 4448) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

L’avocat John White fut le premier procureur général du Haut-Canada. Le fonds John White (F 4448) a récemment été transféré sur microfilm et est accessible par l’entremise du Service interprêt de microfilms; il comprend les cahiers de notes personnels de John White rédigés entre 1792 et 1797.

Fonds A. E. Williams/United Indian Bands of the Chippewas and Mississaugas (F 4337) (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement.)

Ces microfilms contiennent des documents recueillis par A. E. Williams, un collectionneur et chercheur dans le domaine de l’histoire des Autochtones au Canada. La vaste majorité de ces documents a été créée ou recueillie au nom des United Indian Bands of the Chippewas and Mississaugas, un mouvement ponctuel formé de militants membres des Premières Nations de l’Ontario; le groupe visait à revendiquer des terres, les sommes dues en vertu du Traité Robinson de 1850 et les droits non cédés en matière de chasse et de pêche. Les bandes les plus actives étaient les Chippewas de Christian Island, de Georgina Island et de Rama, les Mississaugas de Rice Lake, de Mud Lake et de Scugog et les Hiawathas. Il semble également que des bandes de la rive nord du lac Huron, et même d’aussi loin que Fort William, se sont engagées dans ce mouvement. Le mouvement a été actif de 1903 à 1920 environ.

[Retour au haut de la page]