Education

All About Teaching with Primary Documents

What are primary documents?

As they relate to the study of history, primary documents are records "created in the past, which have survived into the present." Letters, photos, drawings, and other records that were created at or near the time being studied bring a dimension to the subject that is not available through any other means.

How are they valuable in the study of history?

Primary documents provide a unique perspective on historic events and situations. Unlike textbooks which provide a retelling of the events from the perspective of the author, primary documents are treasures that have emerged from history intact. They are time-capsules that provide windows into the past that are not available any other way.

For further information visit these sources:

Defining Primary Documents

Primary documents are those records created in the past, at or close to the time under study, which have survived into the present. Historians have traditionally used a wide variety of written records, from personal diaries created by a child to statistical records kept by government departments, as the foundation for their historical investigation. More recently, historians have been drawing on non-document records, including photographs, moving pictures, the spoken word and even architectural plans or botanical (plant) inventories to find clues about how people lived in the past. 


Watercolour: Rice Lewis Warehouse, King and Victoria front elevation, 1886-1891
Rice Lewis Warehouse, King and Victoria front elevation, 1886-1891
William G. Storm
Watercolour on paper
J. C. B. & E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-757-0-1,(714)9
Archives of Ontario, I0005469

All of these primary documents are, in an important sense, the “raw materials” that historians work with as they attempt to figure out ‘what happened’ in the past, and what it all means to us in the present.



Primary Documents vs Textbooks

When you use primary documents to teach history, you are doing something quite different than when you teach history by asking students to read passages from a text book, and then answer questions. When you use a textbook, you know what the story is, you know what questions to ask, and you know the right answer.

Photograph of the book, Public School History of England & Canada

Public School History of England and Canada
Reference Code: Box H-B & E 1 (1886)
Archives of Ontario Library Collection

Using primary documents is different.

Certificate of Physical Training Instruction, 1918

Certificate of Physical Training Instruction, 1918
Grade B Public School Teacher
Alvin D. McCurdy fonds
Reference Code: F 2076-10-0-46

When you ask students to look at a primary document, you are asking them to do what a historian (or a detective, for that matter) does: to look at some left-overs from the past (i.e. the primary documents created in the past, and surviving into the present), and then decide how to best use the information, or insights, or point of view in the documents as evidence about the past.



It is not a simple process, as the answers are not provided in advance. You need to figure out what the document is, and what kind of evidence it contains, before you know what it can tell you about the past.



Turning the Past into History


Hand-written copy of the the Committee of Safety Minutes, 1866

Committee of Safety Minutes, 1866
Page1
Reference Code: F 4416
Archives of Ontario

The past is not the same as history. The past involves everything that ever happened since the beginning of time – every thought and action of each and every human being on the planet, every tree that fell in the forest, and every chemical transformation in this universe and others since the dawn of time.

History, by contrast, is an interpretation, or rather a process by which people interpret records left over from the past. Historians have always relied heavily on written records, but spoken, visual, archeological and botanical records have been investigated for what they can help us understand about human life on this planet.

People do their historical work of interpreting records from the past  in the context of other people’s (usually historians’) interpretations, and according to certain rules, particularly rules of evidence. But the process of historical interpretation also takes place in the context of certain assumptions (assumptions which are often challenged and argued about) concerning what is worth knowing about in the past. History concerns those issues, events, people and ideas that people, or at least some people,  think are important.

History is the process of turning the past into history. History is the narrative that gives meaning, sense and explanatory force to the past in the present.

Lessons


Here are two lessons that can be used to introduce your students to primary documents, or history as a process.

[Return to top of page]

L'éducation aux Archives

Enseigner avec des documents primaires - tout ce qu'il faut savoir !

Qu’entendons-nous par documents primaires ?


Pour ce qui de l’étude de l’histoire, les documents primaires sont des témoignages « du passé qui ont survécu et existent dans le présent ». Il s’agit de lettres, de photos et de dessins, ainsi que de tout autre document et témoignage produit pendant la période que nous étudions et qui apportent une toute autre dimension au sujet étudié et que les autres sources n’arrivent pas à apporter.

Quelle est la valeur de ces sources par rapport à l’étude de l’histoire ?


Les documents primaires nous fournissent une perspective unique des événements historiques et du contexte dans lequel ceux-ci se sont produits. Contrairement aux et manuels et aux livres d’histoire, ces documents sont de véritables « trésors » qui demeurent intacts et qui nous été transmis par les générations antérieures. Il s’agit des capsules historiques qui illustrent le passé et dont on ne disposerait pas autrement.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, prière de visiter les sources suivantes :

  • Pour vous initier à l’enseignement à l’aide des documents primaires, nous vous conseillons de lire le livre intitulé : Teaching History With Primary Documents - An Introduction By Ruth Sandwell.
  • Pour savoir comment consulter les archives et en quoi elles diffèrent des bibliothèques, voyez les Expositions en ligne : Les archives à boîte ouverte : pour mieux comprendre les archives.
  • Pour de plus amples renseignements sur les documents et les ressources disponibles à partir des Archives publiques de l’Ontario, visitez le lien suivant : Nos collections : Survol.

Définition des documents originaux


On appelle documents originaux les documents créés dans le passé, à l’époque ou autour de l’époque faisant l’objet de l’étude, et ayant survécu jusqu’à aujourd’hui. Les historiens s’appuyaient traditionnellement, pour leurs recherches, sur une grande variété d’écrits, des journaux intimes d’enfants aux registres statistiques tenus par les services gouvernementaux. Plus récemment, ils se sont mis à exploiter des documents non écrits, comme des photographies, des films, des textes oraux et même des plans d’architecte ou des nomenclatures botaniques (plantes) pour trouver des indices sur la façon de vivre des populations d’autrefois. 

Aquarelle : Entrepôt de Rice Lewis, King et Victoria : élévation avant, 1886-1891
Entrepôt de Rice Lewis, King et Victoria : élévation avant, 1886-1891
William G. Storm
Aquarelle sur papier
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-757-0-1,(714)9
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005469


Tous ces documents originaux sont ni plus ni moins que la « matière première » qu’utilisent les historiens pour essayer de découvrir « ce qui s’est produit » dans le passé et ce que cela signifie pour nous dans le présent.

Les documents originaux par rapport aux manuels




Public school history of England and Canada, 1886
Code de référence : boîte H-B & E 1 (1886)
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Enseigner l’histoire à partir de documents originaux est très différent de l’enseigner en demandant aux élèves de lire des passages d’un manuel, puis de répondre à des questions. Lorsque vous faites appel à un manuel, vous connaissez l’histoire, vous savez quelles questions poser et vous possédez la réponse juste.


L’utilisation de documents originaux est très différente.

Certificate of Physical Training Instruction, 1918

Certificat d'instructeur d'éducation physique, 1918
Enseignant d'école publique, catégorie B
Fonds Alvin D. McCurdy
Code de référence : F 2076-10-0-46
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Lorsque vous demandez aux élèves d’examiner ces pièces, vous attendez d’eux qu’ils fassent un travail d’historien (ou de détective, en l’occurrence) : rechercher des vestiges du passé (C'est-à-dire des documents originaux créés à l’époque et conservés jusqu’à nos jours), puis décider comment exploiter au mieux l’information, les perceptions ou les points de vue attachés à ces documents en tant que témoignages du passé.

Ce processus n’a rien de simple, car les réponses ne sont pas connues à l’avance. Vous devez déterminer la nature du document, puis le type d’indications qu’il contient avant de savoir ce que ce dernier peut vous apprendre du passé.

[Retour au haut de la page]

Du passé à l’histoire


Procès-verbal du comité de sécurité, 1866 Page 1
Procès-verbal du comité de sécurité, 1866 Page 1
Code de référence : F 4416
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Le passé et l’histoire sont deux choses différentes. Le passé englobe tout ce qui s’est produit depuis l’aube des temps - chaque pensée, chaque acte de chaque être humain sur la planète, chaque arbre de chaque forêt ainsi que chaque transformation chimique dans cet univers et dans les autres, depuis leur naissance.

L’histoire, en revanche, est une interprétation, ou plutôt un processus par lequel nous interprétons les traces du passé. Si les historiens se sont toujours largement appuyés sur les écrits, des éléments vocaux, visuels, archéologiques et botaniques font l’objet d’études car ils peuvent nous aider à en savoir davantage sur la vie humaine sur Terre.

Le travail historique d’interprétation des vestiges du passé s’effectue dans un contexte d’interprétations faites par d’autres et conformément à certaines règles, notamment en ce qui concerne la preuve. Ce processus s’inscrit toutefois également dans un contexte de postulats (lesquels sont souvent remis en question et débattus) relatifs à ce qu’il est ou non pertinent de connaître du passé. L’histoire traite des questions, événements, personnages et idées que les gens, ou tout au moins certaines personnes, considèrent comme importants.

L’histoire est le processus qui consiste à faire du passé une histoire. L’histoire est le récit de ce qui donne au passé une signification, une portée et une force explicative dans le présent.



Leçons


Les deux leçons qui suivent peuvent être mises à profit pour initier vos élèves aux documents originaux, ou à l’histoire vue comme un processus.

[Retour au haut de la page]