Art at Queen's Park: The Macdonald Block - Untitled - Franklin Arbuckle Title Banner

Table of Contents

Previous | Home | Next

Franklin Arbuckle was born in Toronto in 1909 and died in 2001. He studied at the Ontario College of Art from 1938 to 1940. His travels to the Northwest Territories, the Mackenzie River and the Arctic strongly influenced his work.

Photo: Franklin Arbuckle, March, 1939 (detail)

Click to see a larger image (159K)
Franklin Arbuckle, March, 1939 (detail)
Black and white photograph
Photographer unknown
Reference Code: F 1066-6
Archives of Ontario, I0010290

The artist was a member of the Ontario Society of Artists and the Royal Canadian Academy of Arts (Pres., 1960-64). He executed major murals and tapestries for the Hamilton City Hall; the Royal Bank of Canada, Toronto; and the Chateau Champlain, Montreal. The recipient of several awards, Arbuckle was, for many years, an instructor at the Ontario College of Art.

The acrylic on canvas mural displayed here, characteristically figurative in style, has been described as a fantastic representation of a northern forest. In this forest suspended in space, the viewer will note the highly stylized leaves of the trees and the wonderful collection of imaginary birds. 

Untitled, 1968 - Franklin Arbuckle

Click to see a larger image (540K)
Untitled, 1968
Franklin Arbuckle
acrylic on canvas
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 619783

Previous | Home | Next

Les arts à Queens Park : l'édifice Macdonald - Untitled [Sans titre] - Franklin Arbuckle bannière

Table des matières

Précédente | Page d'accueil | Suivante


Arbuckle est né en 1909 à Toronto et il est mort en 2001. De 1938 à 1940, il a étudié à l’Ontario College of Art. Ses voyages dans les territoires du Nord-Ouest, dans la région de la rivière Mackenzie et dans l’Arctique ont fortement influencé son œuvre.

Photographie : Franklin Arbuckle, William Colgate, Archibald Barnes, et Allan Barr March [De gauche à droite], 1939 (détail)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (159ko)
Franklin Arbuckle, William Colgate, Archibald Barnes, et
Allan Barr March [De gauche à droite], 1939 (détail)
Photographie noir et blanc
Photographe inconnu
Code de référence : F 1066-6
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0010290

Il était membre de l’Ontario Society of Artists et de l’Académie royale des arts du Canada (dont il fut président de 1960 à 1964). Il a créé de grandes murales et tapisseries pour l’hôtel de ville d’Hamilton, la Banque royale du Canada à Toronto, et le Château Champlain à Montréal. Lauréat de plusieurs prix et distinctions, Arbuckle a enseigné à l’Ontario College of Art pendant de nombreuses années.

Cette murale à l’acrylique sur toile, d’un style figuratif caractéristique de l’ensemble de son œuvre, peut être décrite comme une représentation fantastique de la forêt nordique. Dans cette forêt suspendue dans l’espace, on remarque les feuilles très stylisées des arbres et une merveilleuse collection d’oiseaux imaginaires.

Untitled [Sans titre], 1968 - Franklin Arbuckle

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (540ko)
Untitled [Sans titre], 1968
Franklin Arbuckle
acrylique sur toile
Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario, 619783


Précédente | Page d'accueil | Suivante