The Great Toronto Fire: How Could it Happen - Page Banner


It would be understandable to question how such a fire could take place, but in many ways it's a wonder it hadn't happened sooner.

Photo: Dominion Bank Building, S.W. Corner King and Yonge, Toronto, [ca. 1890]
Click to see a larger image (219K)

Dominion Bank Building, S. W.
Corner King and Yonge, Toronto, [ca. 1890]
Josiah Bruce
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 1125-1-0-0-98
Archives of Ontario, I0001862

On April 12,1904, one week before the fire, Toronto Fire Chief John Thompson had attended a meeting of the Board of Control to request additional funding to improve city fire-fighting services. In his presentation he had stated, "We are taking more and more risks every year; we are running in wonderful luck". His concerns were legitimate and a week later the luck ran out.

The late nineteenth century had seen dramatic advances in building design and construction. Perhaps none was more significant than that which took place in 1857 in New York City. In that year Elisha Graves Otis installed the first passenger elevator which, combined with the increased use of cast iron for structural purposes, meant both literally and figuratively that the sky was the limit, as far as the height of buildings was concerned.

Constructors were now free to design taller and taller buildings making better use of valuable urban real estate.

While these changes didn't increase the risk of fire, they did make fires dramatically more difficult to contain. As buildings grew in height open elevator shafts and stairways made it easy for fire to travel between floors.

Many of the buildings in the fire area predated the elevator but most were still three or four stories high. The illustration below from 1897 details planned renovations to one of the buildings that ultimately burned. This particular building doesn't have an elevator but the illustration shows the open staircases and the wooden joist construction of the floors that was prevalent at the time. Any fire that took hold could quickly spread between levels.

Drawing: No. 75 Bay Street, Proposed alterations for Mr. Charles Walker, February 22, 1897
Click to see a larger image (250K)
No. 75 Bay Street, Proposed alterations for Mr. Charles Walker, February 22, 1897
D. B. Dick Architect
Drawing
J. C. B. & E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-349-0-1 (360) 2
Archives of Ontario

Many buildings had mansard roofs, dormers and wooden windows that quickly caught fire if a burning ember landed on them. Most contained large quantities of combustible materials.

Only three of the buildings were equipped with sprinkler systems.

Photo: Confederation Life Building (Yonge and Richmond Sts.), Toronto, [ca. 1890]
Click to see a larger image (216K)
Confederation Life Building
(Yonge and Richmond Sts.), Toronto, [ca. 1890]
Josiah Bruce
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 1125-1-0-0-26
Archives of Ontario, I0001812

There were other factors that worked against the firefighters, as well.

The use of electricity, telegraphs and telephones had recently become widespread and the entire area was a maze of overhead wires. This made it difficult, if not impossible, to use ladders to reach higher floors. And, to exacerbate the problem, the low pressure water system employed by the city at the time simply put upper floors out of reach.

In addition, the brisk wind that night helped the fire to spread between buildings and across streets. It also meant much of the water didn't reach its target and because of the cold temperature the spray often turned to ice making working conditions even more difficult.

Many lessons were learned as a result of the fire and changes were made to ensure that a similar fire never occurred again.

A high pressure water system was constructed and went into service in 1909. Changes were made to the way buildings were constructed, as well. The drawing below, dated May 7, 1904, two and a half weeks after the fire, shows details of planned renovations to the Kilgour Building. The Kilgour Building survived the fire and was one of the few equipped with a sprinkler system. In their planned renovations, fire doors and fire walls were included as further protection.

Drawing: Messrs Kilgour Bros. Premises, 21 Wellington St. W., Toronto, May 7, 1904 (Detail)
Messrs Kilgour Bros. Premises,
21 Wellington St. W., Toronto, May 7, 1904 (detail)
Burke & Horwood Architects
Drawing
J. C. B. & E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-1102 (883) 15
Archives of Ontario

Overhead wiring would continue to pose a threat to firefighters until the mid 1920s when much of the grid was placed underground.

Le grand incendie de Toronto, Comment cela-a t'il se produire? - bannière

Il serait naturel de se demander comment un tel incendie a pu éclater, mais il est remarquable qu’il n’ait pas eu lieu plus tôt, et ce pour plusieurs raisons.

Le 12 avril 1904, une semaine avant l’incendie, le chef des pompiers de Toronto, John Thompson, avait pris part à une réunion du conseil de contrôle et demandé des fonds additionnels afin d’améliorer les services de lutte contre les incendies de la ville. Dans présentation, il avait déclaré : « Nous prenons de plus en plus de risques chaque année, nous avons vraiment de la chance. » Ses inquiétudes étaient fondées et bientôt sa chance l’abandonnerait.

La fin du dix-neuvième siècle avait connu d’immenses progrès dans la conception et la construction des immeubles. L’innovation la plus importante avait eu lieu en 1857 à New York. Cette année-là, Elisha Graves Otis installa le premier ascenseur de passagers. L’ascenseur, combiné avec l’usage accru de la fonte dans les structures, permettait une plus grande marge de manœuvre quant à la hauteur des édifices, dans la pratique comme en théorie.

Les constructeurs pouvaient dorénavant concevoir des immeubles de plus en plus haut, faisant ainsi un meilleur usage de précieuses zones immobilières urbaines.

Ces changements en eux-mêmes ne représentaient pas un risque accru d’incendies, mais ils les rendaient plus difficiles à contenir. Avec la hauteur croissante des immeubles, les cages d’ascenseurs et les escaliers ouverts facilitaient la progression des flammes entre les étages.

Photographie : Dominion Bank Building, S.W. Corner King and Yonge, Toronto, [vers 1890]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (219ko)

Dominion Bank Building, S. W.
Corner King and Yonge, Toronto, [vers 1890]
Josiah Bruce
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1125-1-0-0-98
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0001862

Plusieurs immeubles situés dans la zone détruite par l’incendie avaient été construits avant l’apparition de l’ascenseur, mais la plupart avaient toujours trois ou quatre étages. L’illustration ci-dessous, qui date de 1897, montre en détail les travaux de rénovation prévus pour un des immeubles qui allait être détruit dans l’incendie. L’édifice en question n’avait pas d’ascenseur mais l’illustration montre la cage d’escalier ouverte et les solives de bois des étages. Un incendie à peu près n’importe où dans l’immeuble pouvait s’étendre rapidement.

Dessin : No. 75 Bay Street, Proposed alterations for Mr. Charles Walker, 22 février 1897
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (250ko)

No. 75 Bay Street, Proposed alterations for Mr. Charles Walker, 22 février 1897
D. B. Dick, architecte
Dessin
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-349-0-1 (360) 2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

La plupart des édifices qui ont brûlé étaient construits de solives de bois ouvertes et avaient des toits à mansardes, des lucarnes et des cadres de fenêtres en bois qui prirent feu rapidement. La majorité possédaient de vastes quantités de matériel combustible. Seulement trois des immeubles étaient équipés d’un système de gicleurs.

Photographie : Confederation Life Building (Yonge and Richmond Sts.), Toronto, [vers 1890]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (216ko)

Confederation Life Building
(Yonge and Richmond Sts.), Toronto, [vers 1890]
Josiah Bruce
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1125-1-0-0-26
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0001812

Les conditions à l’extérieur des immeubles rendaient elles aussi les conditions de travail des pompiers difficiles.

L’utilisation de l’électricité se répandait et l’ensemble du quartier était un labyrinthe de fils aériens. Cela rendait difficile, voire même impossible, l’utilisation d’échelles pour atteindre les étages supérieurs. La faible pression dans le réseau d’alimentation en eau que possédait la ville à l’époque rendait les étages supérieurs hors de portée des lances à incendies, ce qui exacerbait le problème.

De plus, une bonne partie de l’eau n’atteignit pas la cible en raison des forts vents ou gela du fait de la basse température.

La plupart des sociétés qui avaient perdu leurs locaux ne tardèrent pas à trouver des locaux temporaires et à reprendre leurs opérations.

Bien des leçons avaient été tirées de l'incendie et on institua des changements afin d'en prévenir la répétition. Un système d'alimentation en eau à haute pression fut construit et entra en service en 1909. On changea aussi la façon de construire les immeubles. Le dessin ci-dessous, en date du 7 mai 1904, montre des détails des rénovations prévues à l'immeuble Kilgour. L'immeuble Kilgour, un des seuls à survivre à l'incendie, était l'un des seuls immeubles équipés d'un système de gigleurs. Des portes et des murs coupe-feu étaient prévus dans les plans de rénovations, dans le but d'assurer une plus grande protection.

Dessin : Messrs Kilgour Bros. Premises, 21 Wellington St. W., Toronto, 7 mai 1904 (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (190ko)

Messrs Kilgour Bros. Premises, 21 Wellington St. W., Toronto, 7 mai 1904 (détail)
Burke et Horwood Architects
Dessin
Collection J. C. B. & E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-1102 (883) 15
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Les fils aériens continuèrent à poser un risque pour les pompiers jusqu'au milieu des années '20, alors que l'on enfouit la plus grande partie du réseau d'alimentation électrique.