The Konkles’ Christmas Displays  banner

Introduction

The T. Eaton Company Ltd. helped set the tone for the Yuletide season for many Canadians throughout the twentieth century, with their seasonal catalogue, Santa Claus parade, holiday advertisements and Christmas window displays.

Every year in late autumn, Eaton's display windows assumed a festive air in the days leading up to Christmas. The tradition of holiday décor was well established by the mid-1920s, and seasonal store windows became a staple of Christmas in Toronto and other Canadian cities and towns for the next seven decades.

For four or five weeks each year, families would crowd around the fantasy windows, moving eagerly from one to the next, savouring the three-dimensional stories featuring toys, humanistic animals, workshop elves or Santa Claus. At first, the emphasis was on fun, but by the mid-1940s, Biblical nativity scenes joined the mix.

This exhibit explores the records of Ted and Eleanor Konkle at the Archives of Ontario. The Konkles were a married couple who designed and produced the annual Christmas windows for the T. Eaton Company's College Street store in Toronto from 1953 to 1963.

Christmas doll circus, 1930
Click to see a larger image

Christmas doll circus, 1930
Black and white print
T. Eaton Company fonds
Reference Code: F 229
Archives of Ontario, I0029055

Nativity scene, Toronto, [between 1961 and 1968]
Click to see a larger image

Nativity scene, Toronto, [between 1961 and 1968]
Black and white print
T. Eaton Company fonds
Reference Code: F 229
Archives of Ontario, I0028580

Post office scene, 1955
Click to see a larger image

Post office scene, 1955
Black and white print
T. Eaton Company fonds
Reference Code: F 229
Archives of Ontario, I0028558

Fantasia display, 1962
Click to see a larger image

Fantasia display, 1962
Colour print
Ted and Eleanor Konkle fonds
Reference Code: F 4610
Archives of Ontario, I0052185

| Home | Next

In this Exhibit -

décors de Noël réalisés par les Konkle pour la T. Eaton Company

Introduction

La T. Eaton Company Ltd. a contribué à donner le ton à la saison des Fêtes pour de nombreux Canadiens tout au long du XXe siècle, grâce à son catalogue saisonnier, au défilé du Père Noël, à ses publicités des Fêtes et à ses vitrines de Noël.

Chaque année, tard en automne, les vitrines de chez Eaton affichaient un air festif durant les jours précédant Noël. La tradition des décorations des Fêtes était bien établie au milieu des années 1920, et les vitrines saisonnières du magasin devinrent un incontournable de Noël à Toronto et dans d’autres villes et municipalités canadiennes durant les sept décennies qui suivirent.

Pendant quatre à cinq semaines chaque année, les familles se rassemblaient devant les vitrines fantaisistes, se déplaçant avec enthousiasme de l’une à l’autre pour se délecter des histoires tridimensionnelles mettant en vedette des jouets, des animaux aux caractéristiques humanistes, des lutins de l’atelier ou le Père Noël. Au début, les vitrines mettaient l’accent sur le plaisir, mais au milieu des années 1940, des scènes religieuses de la nativité se sont ajoutées.

Cette exposition explore les documents de Ted et Eleanor Konkle aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario. Les Konkle étaient un couple marié qui conçut et réalisa les vitrines de Noël annuelles pour le magasin de la T. Eaton Company situé sur la rue College à Toronto de 1953 à 1963.

Le Cirque des poupées de Noël, 1930
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Le Cirque des poupées de Noël, 1930
Photographie noir et blanc
Fonds T. Eatons Co.
Code de référence : F 229
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0029055

Scène de la nativité, Toronto [entre1961et 1968]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Scène de la nativité, Toronto [entre1961et 1968]
Photographie noir et blanc
Fonds T. Eatons Co.
Code de référence : F 229
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0028580

Scène d’un bureau de poste, 1955
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Scène d’un bureau de poste, 1955
Photographie noir et blanc
Fonds T. Eatons Co.
Code de référence : F 229
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0028558

Vitrine fantaisiste, 1962
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Vitrine fantaisiste, 1962
Photographie couleur
Fonds Ted et Eleanor Konkle
Code de référence : F 4610
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0052185

Dans cette exposition -