Images of Black History, Exploring the Alvin McCurdy Collection

Images of Black History, Exploring the Alvin McCurdy Collection

Alvin D. McCurdy was born in 1916 in Amherstburg, Essex County, Ontario, where he lived throughout his life. He worked professionally as a carpenter and was a long-time member of the Carpenters and Joiners Union, as well as a Freemason and active member of the Baptist church. In addition, McCurdy was involved with anti-discrimination groups such as the Amherstburg Community Club and the Amherstburg Progressive Association of Coloured People.

He was also an historian, genealogist, and collector of black history material. During his lifetime, he amassed dozens of newspaper clippings and postcards relating to southern Ontario and the northern United States, as well as a variety of textual records such as minutes, research files, scrapbooks, and correspondence. He also collected approximately 3000 photographs of church activities, social and cultural events, and friends and family members.

Photo: Alvin D. McCurdy and Thomas Kilgolen, Town Administrator and Clerk, 1974
Alvin D. McCurdy and Thomas Kilgallin, an Amherstburg
official [later Town Administrator and Clerk], 1974
Alvin D. McCurdy fonds
Reference Code: F 2076-16-1-3-1
Archives of Ontario, I0024813

Alvin McCurdy passed away in 1989 and his records were purchased by the Archives from his estate in 1990. His collection is the Archives' largest and most important source of information about the history of the black community in Ontario. The Collection includes materials that pre-date the founding of the province in 1791, and extends through the mid-20th century. This exhibit illustrates some of the key events and trends in Ontario black history with pictures and documents drawn from the McCurdy Collection.

Photo: Portrait of George McCurdy, [ca. 1975]
Portrait of George McCurdy, [ca. 1975]
Alvin D. McCurdy fonds
Reference Code: F 2076-16-1-2
Archives of Ontario, I0026083

"Friends . . . you or I cannot build a bridge back over the years to retrace certain instances of life, but a bridge of memory can be constructed within our minds and souls, to span the years and grasp, out of the past, certain accomplishments that may be utilized for the betterment of ourselves and for all mankind as a whole . . ."

Alvin D. McCurdy

| Home | Next

In this Exhibit -

Images de l’histoire des Noirs : une exploration de la collection McCurdy - bannière

Table des matières


Alvin D. McCurdy est né en 1916 à Amherstburg, comté d’Essex, Ontario, où il passa toute sa vie. Il a travaillé comme charpentier et a été pendant longtemps membre de la Carpenters and Joiners Union, ainsi que franc-maçon et membre actif de l’Église baptiste. En plus, M. McCurdy a fait partie de groupes contre la discrimination tels que l’Amherstburg Community Club et l’Amherstburg Progressive Association of Coloured People.

Par ailleurs, il était historien, généalogiste et collectionneur de documents sur l’histoire des Noirs. Au cours de sa vie, il a amassé des douzaines de coupures de journaux et de cartes postales se rapportant au Sud de l’Ontario et au Nord des États-Unis ainsi qu’une variété de documents textuels comme des procès-verbaux, des dossiers de recherche, des albums de coupures et de la correspondance. Il a aussi amassé environ 3000 photos d’activités organisées par les églises, d’événements culturels et sociaux, et d’amis et de membres de sa famille.

Photographie :  Alvin D. McCurdy et Thomas Kilgolen, administrateur et secrétaire de mairie, 1974

Alvin D. McCurdy et Thomas Kilgallin, un
fonctionnaire de la ville d'Amherstburg [plus tard
administrateur et secretaire de mairie], 1974
Fonds Alvin D. McCurdy
Code de référence : F 2076-16-1-3-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0024813

Alvin McCurdy est mort en 1989 et les Archives publiques ont acheté sa collection de documents de ses héritiers en 1990. Sa collection constitue la plus vaste et la plus importante source de renseignements des Archives publiques sur l’histoire de la communauté noire en Ontario. Elle renferme des documents qui datent d’avant la fondation de la province, en 1791, et s’étend jusqu’au milieu du 20e siècle. Accompagnée de photos et de documents puisés dans la collection de M. McCurdy, cette présentation illustre certains des grands événements et mouvements de l’histoire des Noirs en Ontario.


Photographie : Portrait de George McCurdy, [vers 1975]

Portrait de George McCurdy, [vers 1975]
Fonds Alvin D. McCurdy
Code de référence : F 2076-16-1-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0026083

Allez à : De l’esclavage à l’établissementDe l’esclavage à l’établissement


Allez à : Économie et éducationÉconomie et éducation


Allez à : Communauté et vie socialeCommunauté et vie sociale


Allez à : La généalogie dans la collection McCurdyLa généalogie dans la collection McCurdy


Allez à : La valeur durable de la collection McCurdyLa valeur durable de la collection McCurdy

« Chers amis . . . vous ne pouvez pas, et moi non plus, bâtir un pont sur les années et revivre des moments de vie. Mais nous pouvons bâtir, dans notre esprit et notre âme, un pont de souvenirs pour étaler les années et saisir certaines de nos réalisations du passé qui peuvent servir à nous perfectionner ainsi qu’à améliorer l’humanité dans l’ensemble . . . »

Alvin D. McCurdy

Suivante