Black History, Alvin McCurdy Collection: From Slavery to Settlement - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Slavery to Emancipation - Section Banner

Early historical accounts describe black fur traders operating out of Detroit, Niagara and Michilimackinac in the 1740s and 1750s, when the region was still part of New France. In the 1780s, following the end of the American Revolution, Loyalists migrated to the region now known as Ontario, where they settled along the St. Lawrence, the Niagara, and Detroit Rivers. Some of these loyalists brought slaves with them.

The Province of Upper Canada introduced one of the first prohibitions on slavery in North America in 1793, outlawing the importation of slaves and freeing the children of slaves on reaching the age of 21.

An Act to Prevent the further Introduction of Slaves and to limit the Term of Contracts for Servitude

Click to see a larger image (739K)
An Act to Prevent the further Introduction of Slaves and
to limit the Term of Contracts for Servitude
Statutes of Upper Canada
33 George III, Cap. 7, 1793
Archives of Ontario

An order issued by the Attorney General, John Beverley Robinson, in 1819, declared that all black residents of Upper Canada were free and protected by British law.

Emancipation Day commemorates the 1833 abolition of slavery throughout the British Empire – freeing nearly one million enslaved people. Today, it is celebrated annually in Amherstburg and other communities in Ontario and throughout North America on the first of August with festivities that typically include parades and picnics.

 

Click to see a larger image (185K)
Program of PROGRESS, Oldest Negro
Publication in Canada, [ca. 1901]
Alvin D. McCurdy fonds
Reference Code: F 2076-3-0-32
Archives of Ontario

Program of PROGRESS, Oldest Negro, Publication in Canada, [ca. 1901]

Settlement - Section Banner

While human slavery withered in Upper Canada, it continued to flourish in portions of the United States. As early as the 1780s, those who succeeded in escaping slavery were smuggled into territory controlled by the British.

Many enlisted in Loyalist units and eventually moved to British North America. After the American Revolution, an informal network developed that helped these escaped slaves move north. As time passed, this network became known as the Underground Railway. Amherstburg, at the western tip of Upper Canada, became one of the key entry points for the passage of escaped slaves to freedom.

This view of Amherstburg shows how the community looked in the last days of the Underground railway.

 

Photo: Main Street, Amherstburg, 1865
Click to see a larger image (97K)
Main Street, Amherstburg, 1865
Alvin D. McCurdy fonds
Reference Code: F 2076-16-6-2-44
Archives of Ontario, I0024850

The various Fugitive Slave Acts passed by the Government of the United States made it a crime in any state or territory of the U.S. for an individual or group to aid the escape of slaves. As the penalties and risks increased, the railway became more secret. However, once the refugees reached Canada, they were beyond the power of American courts.

Masthead of Voice of the Fugitive

Click to see a larger image (195K)
Masthead of Voice of the Fugitive
Alvin D. McCurdy fonds
Reference Code: F 2076-16-9-35
Archives of Ontario

Finding documentation on the Underground Railway is difficult. It operated in secret within the United States and had to operate quietly within Canada to avoid border incidents. Most of the material available shows some of the people involved, and where they might have lived or sought shelter.

One of the few direct sources of information on the activities of the members of the Underground Railway was contemporary newspapers, such as the Voice of the Fugitive, which was the first black-owned and -operated newspaper in Ontario. It was founded and published in Sandwich and Windsor by Henry Bibb, who escaped, first to Detroit and then to Canada, after the passage of the Fugitive Slave Act. The newspaper first appeared on January 1, 1851, and ceased publication in 1854.

 

Levi Veney was one of the former slaves who made his way to Upper Canada. He found refuge in one of the houses established to provide shelter and immediate relief to those crossing the border. The Park House in Colchester South was an important way station for those entering the province.

 

Click to see a larger image (146K)
Levi Veney, ex-slave who lived in Amherstburg,
taken at J. D. Burkes’ store, 1898
Alvin D. McCurdy fonds
Reference Code: F 2076-16-3-5
Archives of Ontario, I0024830

Photo: Levi Veney, ex-slave who lived in Amherstburg, taken at J. D. Burkes' store


Photo: Park House, Colchester South, a slave refuge during the 1800s, [ca. 1950]
Park House, Colchester South, a slave refuge during the 1800s, [ca. 1950]
Alvin D. McCurdy fonds
Reference Code: F 2076-16-6-1
Archives of Ontario, I0024851

The black community in Upper Canada supported the Crown in times of crisis. During the War of 1812, black militiamen served at Queenston Heights. During the Rebellion of 1837, fear of annexation to the United States and a possible return to slavery reinforced the already strong Loyalism of the black community and its willingness to serve in the militia. Part of Alvin McCurdy’s interest in history was driven by the failure of historians to record the participation of black people in these conflicts.


Home | Next
From Slavery to Settlement | Economy and Education | Community and Social Life
Genealogy in the McCurdy Collection | The Enduring Value of the McCurdy Collection

Images de l’histoire des Noirs : une exploration de la collection McCurdy - De l’esclavage à l’établissement - bannière

Table des matières


De l’esclavage à l’émancipation - bannière

Les premiers récits historiques brossent un tableau des commerçonts de fourrures de race noire basés à Détroit, Niagara et Michilimackinac dans les années 1740 et 1750, à l’époque où la région faisait encore partie de la Nouvelle-France. Dans les années 1780, à la fin de la Révolution américaine, les loyalistes ont immigré dans la région, aujourd’hui l’Ontario, où ils se sont établis le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent et des rivières Niagara et Détroit. Certains d’entre eux avaient amené des esclaves avec eux.

La province du Haut-Canada a adopté l’une des premières prohibitions de l’esclavage en Amérique du Nord, en 1793, qui interdisait l’importation d’esclaves et qui libérait les enfants d’esclaves quand ils atteignaient l’âge de 21 ans.

Loi pour emêcher l'entrée d'autres esclaves et pour limiter la durée des contrats de servitude Cap. 7, 33 George III, 1793

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (739ko)
Loi pour emêcher l'entrée d'autres esclaves et pour limiter la durée des contrats de servitude
Cap. 7, 33 George III, 1793
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

En 1819, le procureur général, John Beverley Robinson a formulé une ordonnance déclarant que tous les résidents de race noire du Haut-Canada étaient libres et protégés par la loi britannique.

Le jour de l’Émancipation commémore l’abolition de l’esclavage de 1833 dans tout l’Empire britannique qui a libéré presque un million d’esclaves. Aujourd’hui, on le célèbre tous les ans le 1er août à Amherstburg et dans d’autres collectivités ontariennes ainsi que dans toute l’Amérique du Nord avec des festivités comprenant d’habitude des défilés et des pique-niques.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (185ko)
Programme publié par Progress : the Oldest Negro publication in Canada, [vers 1901]
Fonds Alvin D. McCurdy
Code de référence : F 2076-3-0-32
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Programme publié par Progress : the Oldest Negro publication in Canada, [vers 1901]

Établissement - bannière

Alors que l’esclavage humain disparaissait dans le Haut-Canada, il continuait à sévir dans certaines parties des États-Unis. Dès les années 1780, les esclaves qui avaient réussi à fuir sont passés illégalement dans le territoire contrôlé par les Britanniques.

Bon nombre se sont enrôlés dans les unités loyalistes et ont fini par déménager en Amérique du Nord britannique. Après la Révolution américaine, un réseau non officiel s’est formé dans le but d’aider ces fugitifs à aller vers le nord. Avec le temps, on a désigné ce réseau sous le nom de chemin de fer clandestin. Située à l’extrémité ouest du Haut-Canada, la ville d’Amherstburg est devenue l’un des points d’entrée principaux pour le passage des fugitifs vers la liberté.

Cette vue d’Amherstburg montre la ville à la fin de l’époque du chemin de fer clandestin.

Photographie : Rue Main, Amherstburg, 1865

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (97ko)
Rue Main, Amherstburg, 1865
Fonds Alvin D. McCurdy
Code de référence : F 2076-16-6-2-44
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0024850

Le gouvernement des États-Unis a adopté diverses lois sur les esclaves fugitifs qui ont criminalisé la participation d’un individu ou d’un groupe à l’évasion d’esclaves dans tous les états ou les territoires des États-Unis. Vu l’augmentation des amendes et des risques, le chemin de fer a gagné une plus grande clandestinité. Toutefois, une fois rendus au Canada, les fugitifs étaient sortis du territoire de compétence des cours américaines.


Générique du Voice of the Fugitive

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (195ko)
Générique du Voice of the Fugitive
Fonds Alvin D. McCurdy
Code de référence : F 2076-16-9-35
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Il est difficile de trouver des documents sur le chemin de fer clandestin. Il était exploité clandestinement aux États-Unis et en sourdine au Canada afin d’éviter tout incident à la frontière. La plupart des documents trouvés présentent quelques personnes qui s’en occupaient et les endroits où elles auraient vécu ou cherché refuge.

L’une des rares sources d’information directes sur les activités des membres du chemin de fer clandestin était les journaux contemporains tels que le Voice of the Fugitive qui fut le premier journal à appartenir et à être exploité par des personnes de race noire en Ontario. Il a été fondé et publié à Sandwich et à Windsor par Henry Bibb qui s’était réfugié d’abord à Détroit et ensuite au Canada après l’adoption de la Loi sur les esclaves fugitifs. Le journal a été publié du 1er janvier 1851 jusqu’en 1854.


Ancien esclave passé au Haut-Canada, Levi Veney a trouvé refuge dans l’une des maisons ouvertes dans le but d’offrir un abri et du repos à ceux qui traversaient la frontière. Située à Colchester South, la Park House était une étape importante pour ceux qui entraient dans la province.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (146ko)
Levi Veney, ancien esclave qui vivait à Amherstburg,
photo prise au magasin de J. D. Burkes, 1898
Fonds Alvin D. McCurdy
Code de référence : F 2076-16-3-5
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0024830

Photographie : Levi Veney, ancien esclave qui vivait à Amherstburg, photo prise au magasin de J. D. Burkes, 1898

vspace="16" width="100%" height="1" />
Photographie : Park House, Colchester South, un refuge pour les esclaves dans les années 1800, [vers 1950]

Park House, Colchester South, un refuge pour les esclaves dans les années 1800, [vers 1950]
Fonds Alvin D. McCurdy
Code de référence : F 2076-16-6-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0024851

La communauté noire du Haut-Canada a appuyé la Couronne en temps de crise. Pendant la guerre de 1812, les miliciens de race noire ont servi à Queenston Heights. Pendant la rébellion de 1837, la crainte de l’annexion aux États-Unis et le retour éventuel à l’esclavage renforcèrent le loyalisme déjà puissant de la communauté noire et sa volonté de servir dans la milice. Alvin McCurdy s’est intéressé en partie à l’histoire parce que les historiens ne mentionnaient pas la participation de personnes de race noire dans ces conflits.



Page d'acceuil | Suivante
De l’esclavage à l’établissement | Économie et éducation | Communauté et vie sociale
La généalogie dans la collection McCurdy | La valeur durable de la collection McCurdy