d_day 60th Anniversary: The Archives of Ontario Remembers the Home Front - Page Banner
Normandie Jour J, le 6 juin 2004 - 60 - Normandy d_day June 6, 2004

Sixty years ago, on June 6, 1944, the liberation of Europe began with the d_day invasion, involving the combined forces of Great Britain, the United States, Canada and their allies. Several Ontario-based regiments participated in the landings and fighting on a section of the beach at Normandy code-named Juno.

Canada spent 4 years training and equipping its own armed forces and those of its allies in anticipation of participating in the liberation of Europe. During that time Canadian airmen and seamen fought in the Battle of Britain and the Battle of the Atlantic. Elements of the Canadian army helped defend Hong Kong in 1941 and led the Raid on Dieppe in 1942. The Canadian army played a significant role in the invasion of Sicily and the mainland of Italy in 1943, leading to battles at Ortona, the Liri Valley and the Gothic Line. But the main effort to defeat Germany by the Western Allies was always expected to come in northwestern Europe.

Photo: Soldiers marching in the War Savings Parade, Toronto, [ca. 1945]
Click to see a larger image (109K)

Soldiers marching in the War Savings Parade,
Toronto, [ca. 1945]
Gordon W. Powley fonds
Black and white negative
Reference Code: C 5-1-0-51-3
Archives of Ontario, I0011090

The Allied landings at Normandy on June 6th, and the subsequent break through of the German lines came at a high cost in lives and material destruction. 14,000 Canadians landed on the first day of the invasion. By the Fall of 1944, the First Canadian Army had more than 100,000 men in Europe as the long campaign to liberate France, Belgium and Holland continued.

The Archives of Ontario has many records from this period, but very few relating to the military campaigns in Europe. We are remembering the contribution of Ontario, its citizens and all Canadian soldiers on that day by exploring how the Home Front supported the war effort through the recruitment and training of soldiers, the production of arms and raising the financial resources needed to pay for it all.


Listen to four women war workers at the General Engineering munitions plant in Scarborough as they explain how they felt when they heard the invasion had begun. These clips were taken from the radio program Let's Visit (1945).

Image of speaker
To listen to the excerpt in "wav" format (3.72Mb) click
here
. It is also available
in "aif" format (3.72Mb).

Let's Visit (1945)
General Engineering Company (Canada) fonds
Radio transcription disk
Reference Code: F 2082-1-3-1

“…he told me not to worry. I feel that our job is so much more important now because we can see how the ammunition is being used. The sooner it is turned out, the sooner they will be home. I thought a little nervous at first, then remembered this is what he had waited for five years. I am sure he is happy, now that he can play his part in helping make this world at peace for his two sons.”

Mrs. Frieda White (who received a cable from her husband just prior to the invasion)

Note: This exhibit contains audio and video clips. To view them you will need Windows Media Player, Quicktime Player or Real Player. These players can all be downloaded for free from the respective web sites. If you wish to download a free player application, click on the appropriate graphic below.

Link to Windows Media Player Download Page

Link to QuickTime Player Download Page

Link to RealPlayer

60e anniversaire du Jour-J - Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario se souviennent du front intérieur - bannière

Table des matières


Normandie Jour J, le 6 juin 2004 - 60 - Normandy d_day 6 juin 2004

Le 6 juin marque le 60e anniversaire du Jour-J, le début de l'invasion de l'Europe, auquel ont participé les armées de la Grande-Bretagne, des États-Unis, du Canada et de leurs alliés. Plusieurs régiments de l'Ontario ont pris part aux débarquements et aux combats sur une plage normande qui avait reçu le nom de code Juno

Le Canada consacra quatre ans à l’entraînement et à l’équipement de ses propres forces armées et de celles de ses alliés en vue de leur participation à la libération de l’Europe. Durant cette période, les aviateurs et marins canadiens prirent part à la bataille de la Grande-Bretagne et à celle de l’Atlantique. Des unités de l’armée canadienne aidèrent à la défense de Hong Kong en 1941 et menèrent le raid sur Dieppe en 1942. L’armée canadienne joua un role significatif dans l’invasion de la Sicile et de la péninsule italienne en 1943, qui mena aux batailles d’Ortona, de la vallée de la Liri et de la ligne gothique. Mais on s’attendait à ce que le principal effort des alliés occidentaux afin de défaire les Allemands se produise dans le nord-ouest de l’Europe.

Les Alliés débarquèrent en Normandie le 6 juin, et la percée subséquente des lignes allemandes entraîna de lourdes pertes humaines et des destructions majeures. 14 000 Canadiens débarquèrent le premier jour de l’invasion. À l’automne 1944, la Première armée canadienne comptait plus de 100 000 hommes et la longue campagne pour la libération de la France, de la Belgique et des Pays-Bas se poursuivait.

Les dossiers relatifs à l’époque de la Deuxième Guerre mondiale que possèdent les Archives publiques de l'Ontario montrent surtout ce qui se passait en Ontario, plutôt qu’outre-mer. Les Archives se souviennent de la contribution apportée par l’Ontario, par ses citoyens et citoyennes et par tous les soldats canadiens ce jour-là, en examinant comment le front intérieur a soutenu l’effort de guerre grâce au recrutement et à l’entraînement des soldats, à la production d’armements et à la collecte de fonds.

Photographie : Soldiers marching in the War Savings Parade, Toronto, [vers 1945]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (109ko)
Soldiers marching in the War Savings Parade,
Toronto, [vers 1945]
Fonds Gordon W. Powley
Négatif noir et blanc
Code de référence : C 5-1-0-51-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0011090


Écoutez quatre ouvrières de l’usine de munitions General Engineering de Scarborough qui expliquent comment elles se sont senties en apprenant le début de l’invasion. Ces extraits sonores sont tirés de l’émission de radio Let's Visit (1945).

Image of speakerLet’s Visit (1945) - émission de radio traitant d’une visite à une usine de munitions de Scarborough.
Cliquez ici pour écouter cet extrait en format "wav" (3,72Mo). L'extrait peut également être écouté en format "aif" (3,72Mo).

Let's Visit (1945)
Fonds General Engineering Company
(Canada) (F 2082)
Disque par radio de transcription
Code de référence : F 2082-1-3-1

« … il me dit de ne pas m’inquiéter. Je sens que notre travail est tellement plus important maintenant que nous pouvons voir à quoi servent les munitions. Le plus vite nous les produisons, le plus vite nos hommes reviendront à la maison. Je me suis sentie un petit peu nerveuse au début, puis je me suis rappelé que c’est pour ça qu’il avait attendu cinq ans. Je suis sûre qu’il est content, maintenant qu’il peut faire sa part pour que ses deux fils vivent dans un monde en paix. »

Mme Frieda White (qui reçut un télégramme de son mari juste avant l’invasion)


Engagement Engagement

Collecte de fonds et efforts des civils

Collecte de fonds et efforts des civils

Entraînement militaire en OntarioEntraînement militaire en Ontario

Sources et renseignements additionnels

Sources et renseignements additionnels

Production de guerreProduction de guerre

 

Note: Cette exposition virtuelle contient un certain nombre des fichiers vidéo. Pour les visualiser vous aurez besoin de Windows Media Player, Quicktime Player ou Real Player. Ces lecteurs peuvent être téléchargés gratuitement. Si vous désirez télécharger une un lecteur gratuite, cliquez sur un des icones à droite ou sur un des liens ci-dessus pour aller au site web approprié.&

Lien à Windows Media Lien à QuickTime Lien à RealPlayer