James Bay Treaty Turns 100: Peoples and Events Shaping Treaty No. 9 - Page Banner
Photo: View of a hillside river, [ca. 1915] - Banner


Photo: Dancing and feasting lodge, Sandy Lake, 1956
Click to see a larger image (117K
)
Dancing and feasting lodge, Sandy Lake, 1956
John Macfie
Transparency
Reference Code: C 330-14-0-0-66
Archives of Ontario, I0012447


The ancestors of the present-day Nishnawbe Aski-Nation occupied what is now northern Ontario for thousands of years before Europeans. The Aboriginal peoples in the region are mainly Cree and Ojibway. Historically, the Cree lived mainly in the Hudson Bay and James Bay lowlands, while the Ojibway lived mainly in the interior.

Cree and Ojibway societies were well adapted to the ecological conditions on the lands they occupied. Traditional life followed yearly cycles of population dispersal and regrouping. In summer, people lived in larger camps located near shorelines, to access fisheries, waterfowl, and game.

Collecting wild fruits and plants supplemented dietary needs. In summer months, Ojibway and Cree leaders held political councils, and people travelled for trade, social and ceremonial purposes.

At the coming of winter, people dispersed into smaller groups of extended families and removed to hunting grounds in the interior.

Indian pictograph site in Ferris Lake, Mond Township between Mattagami Lake and Matachewan, September 26, 1958

In addition to archaeological sites, rock paintings provide visually striking evidence of Aboriginal occupation. Aboriginal pictographs depict various aspects of life, and of spiritual relationships to animals and places.

Indian pictograph site in Ferris Lake,
Mond Township between Mattagami Lake
and Matachewan, September 26, 1958
John Macfie
Transparency
Reference Code: C 330-14-0-0-189b
Archives of Ontario, I0012818
Photograph of a drawing entitled, A fur trade canoe on the Mattawa River, Ontario, pictured by Frances Hopkins
Click to see a larger image (80K)

Photograph of a drawing entitled, A fur trade
canoe on the Mattawa River, Ontario,
pictured by Frances Hopkins
Photographer unknown
Black and white negative
Reference Code: S 18096
Archives of Ontario, I0014668

Between about 1670 and 1880, the fur trade defined the main basis of Aboriginal contact with Euro-Canadians. After 1821, the Hudson’s Bay Company gained a near trade monopoly in northern Ontario. This led the Company to play a key practical role in the making of Treaty No.9.

Moose Factory was one of the oldest and most important centres of the fur trade in what is now northern Ontario. Originally founded in 1673, Moose Factory acted as a regional administrative, supply and shipping centre for other posts built on the tributaries of the Moose River.

Photo: View of the old Factory House in Moose Factory, [ca. 1867]
View of the old Factory House in Moose Factory, [ca. 1867]
Photographer unknown, possibly Bernard Rogan Ross or Charles G. Horetzky
Captain Traill Smith photograph collection
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 2179-2-0-0-22
Archives of Ontario, I0005078

The construction of the Canadian Pacific Railway in 1885 near the highest point of land defining the Hudson and James Bay watershed (and the southern boundary of Treaty No.9) signalled the beginning of a new phase of contact. Aboriginal people began to press the government for a treaty. Many of these people had relatives south of this boundary, who were signatories to the Robinson Treaties of 1850. The Ojibway and Cree north of the height of land wished to obtain economic security in the advent of impending Euro-Canadian settlement and development.

Photo: The Village of Haileybury, September 6, 1905
Click to see a larger image (243K)

The Village of Haileybury, September 6, 1905
Photographer unknown
Duncan Campbell Scott fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: C 275-1-0-3 (S 7587)
Archives of Ontario, I0010739

By the early 1900s, several hamlets and small villages had been built along the rail line and in other areas near the height of land.

In the late 1890s, plans were made to extend railways and hydro-electric stations north of the James Bay watershed. At this time, the Dominion government began consultations with Ontario concerning a potential treaty agreement with the Aboriginal inhabitants of the region.

Le Traité de la Baie James a 100 ans : Personnes et événements marquants de l’histoire du Traité no 9 - bannière
Photographie : Rivière au pied d'une colline [vers 1915] - bannière


Photographie : Hutte de danse et de fête, lac Sandy, 1956
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (117ko
)
Hutte de danse et de fête, lac Sandy, 1956
fonds John Macfie
Diapositives couleur
Code de référence : C 330-14-0-0-66
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0012447


Les ancêtres de la nation Nishnawbe Aski actuelle ont occupé le Nord de l’Ontario pendant des millénaires avant l’arrivée des Européens. Les nations autochtones de la région sont en grande partie Cries et Ojibway. À l’époque, les Cris habitaient principalement les basses terres de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James; les Ojibway occupaient plutôt l’intérieur.

Les sociétés Cries et Ojibway étaient bien adaptées aux conditions écologiques des terres qu’elles occupaient. La vie traditionnelle suivait le cycle annuel de dispersion et de réunion de la population. L’été, on vivait dans de grands camps près des rives pour avoir accès au poisson, à la sauvagine et au gibier.

La collecte de fruits et de plantes sauvages remplissait les autres besoins nutritionnels. Pendant l'été les chefs Cris et Ojibway tenaient des conseils politiques et on se déplaçait à des fins commerciales, sociales et cérémonielles.

À l’arrivée de l’hiver, la population se divisait en petits groupes de familles élargies qui se retiraient dans les territoires de chasse intérieurs

Photographie : Site de pictogrammes indiens au lac Ferris, canton deMond, entre le lac Mattagami et Matachewan, le 26 septembre 1958

Outre les sites archéologiques, la peinture rupestre offre des preuves visuelles saisissantes de l’occupation autochtone. Les pictogrammes autochtones décrivent divers aspects de la vie et les rapports spirituels avec les animaux et les lieux.

Site de pictogrammes indiens au lac Ferris, canton de Mond, entre le lac Mattagami et Matachewan, le 26 septembre 1958
fonds John Macfie
Code de référence : C 330-14-0-0-189b
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0021818
Photographie d’un dessin intitulé A fur trade canoe on the Mattawa River, Ontario, pictured by Frances Hopkins [vers 1900]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (80ko)

Photographie d’un dessin intitulé A fur trade
canoe on the Mattawa River, Ontario, pictured
by Frances Hopkins [vers 1900]
Collection de photographies
des Archives publiques de l’Ontario
Code de référence : S 18096
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0014668

De 1670 à 1880 environ, la traite des fourrures a défini la base des rapports entre Autochtones et Euro-Canadiens. Après 1821, la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson a obtenu le quasi-monopole du commerce dans le Nord de l’Ontario. C’est pourquoi elle a joué un rôle logistique clé dans la conclusion du Traité no 9.

Moose Factory était un des plus anciens et des plus importants centres de traite des fourrures de ce qui est aujourd’hui le Nord de l’Ontario. Fondée en 1673, elle a servi de centre régional d’administration, d’approvisionnement et d’expédition aux autres postes établis sur les affluents de la rivière Moose.

Photographie : La vieille « Factory House », à Moose Factory [vers 1867]
La vieille « Factory House », à Moose Factory [vers 1867]
Collection de photographies Capitaine Traill Smith
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 2179-2-0-0-22
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005078

En 1885, l’arrivée du chemin de fer du Canadien Pacifique près du point le plus élevé définissant le bassin de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James – et la limite sud du Traité no 9 – a marqué le début d’une nouvelle période de contact. Les Autochtones ont commencé à exiger un traité auprès du gouvernement. Des membres des familles de bon nombre d’entre eux vivaient au sud de cette limite et étaient visés par les Traités Robinson de 1850. Les Ojibway et les Cris habitant au nord de ce point voulaient obtenir la sécurité économique en prévision de la colonisation et du développement imminents de la région par les Euro-Canadiens.

Photographie : Le village de Haileybury, le 6 septembre 1905
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (243ko)

Le village de Haileybury, le 6 septembre 1905
fonds Duncan Campbell Scott
Code de référence : C 275-1-0-3 (S 7587)
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0010739

Au début des années 1900, plusieurs hameaux et petits villages avaient déjà été érigés le long du chemin de fer et ailleurs près du point le plus élevé.

À la fin des années 1890, on a planifié l’aménagement de chemins de fer et de centrales hydroélectriques au nord du bassin de la baie James. Le gouvernement du Dominion a alors commencé à consulter l’Ontario sur un traité éventuel avec les Autochtones de la région.