The Ontario Society of Artists and the Government of Ontario Art Collection - Page Banner

Table of Contents


In July of 2005, eighteen members of the Ontario Society of Artists (OSA) each donated a piece of their own work to the Government of Ontario Art Collection. Diverse in style and subject matter all the works however share a commonality in representing some aspect of Ontario as reflected through the eyes of its talented artists.

Works by Debra Archibald, Leon Belsky (his City Portrait is seen to the right), Gil Caldwell, Susan Clark, Shirray Langley, Lillian Michiko Blakey and Nancy De Boni focus on the urban and suburban environment, while those of Jean Eng, Judy Finch, Janet Hendershot, Sonia Tarantour Pearl, Bev Rodin, Janice Mason Steeves, Ernestine Tahedl, Darryl Thorogood and Arlene Turkington take their inspiration from the natural landscape.

Oil on canvas: City Portrait, 1996
Click to see a larger image (83K)
City Portrait, 1996
Leon Belsky, OSA
Oil on canvas
Donated by the artist, 2005
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 100343

Monoprint: Containing Water, 2003
Click to see a larger image (223K)
Containing Water, 2003
Michael Mills, OSA
Monoprint, oil, oil bar, charcoal, mylar
Donated by the artist, 2005
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 100316


Oil on canvas: Witness, 2004

Individual and personal themes also find expression in these paintings. The commercialization of water, one of our most important natural resources, is the subject of the multi-media work, Containing Water, by former OSA President, Michael Mills while the ambiguity of confronting the familiar in an unfamiliar setting is explored in Anne-Marie Kornachuk’s Witness.

Click to see a larger image (81K)
Witness, 2004
Anne-Marie Kornachuk, OSA
Oil on canvas
Donated by the artist, 2005
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 100317

From its inception the OSA has enjoyed a particularly rich history and has made an outstanding and enduring contribution to the artistic life of Ontario and Canada. Its aim of “fostering Original Art in the province” led to its involvement in the establishment of a provincial school of art, an art museum, and the founding of the Royal Canadian Academy. It also established the annual exhibitions held at both the Industrial Exhibition (now the CNE) and in its own galleries.

Between 1873 and 1914, the Ontario government purchased almost 200 works of art from the annual exhibitions of the OSA. This proved to be an important initiative for the collection today, as well as precedent setting support for Ontario’s visual artists.

The significance of the current donation lies not only in the welcome addition of new contemporary artworks to the collection but also serves to re-establish the historic ties between the Government of Ontario Art Collection and the Society.

Go to: Ontario Society of Artists (OSA)

Oil on canvas: A Harmony in Grey and Yellow, 1897
Click to see a larger image (156K)
A Harmony in Grey and Yellow, 1897
Mary Augusta Hiester Reid , OSA
Oil on canvas
Purchased by the Government of Ontario
from the 25th annual OSA Exhibition, 1897
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 619739


Go to: The Recent OSA Donations to the Gvoernment Art Collection

The Recent OSA Donations to the Government Art Collection

Go to: The Ballot Pictures and the Provincial Art Gallery - detail of oil painting

The Ballot Pictures and the Provincial Art Gallery

Go to: The Founding of the Society and its First Exhibition

The Founding of the Society and its First Exhibition

Go to: The Final Purchases

The Final Purchases

Go to: Early Purchases and the Foundation of Art Education

Early Purchases and the Foundation of Art Education

Next

L’Ontario Society of Artists et la Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario - bannière

Table des matières


En juillet 2005, dix-huit membres de l’Ontario Society of Artists (OSA) ont fait don chacun d’une de leurs œuvres à la Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Malgré la diversité de leur style et de leur sujet, toutes les œuvres présentaient un certain aspect de l’Ontario tel que vu par ces artistes de grand talent.

Les œuvres de Debra Archibald, Leon Belsky (son œuvre Portrait de ville, à droite), Gil Caldwell, Susan Clark, Shirray Langley, Lillian Michiko Blakey et Nancy De Boni mettent l’accent sur le milieu urbain et suburbain, tandis que celles de Jean Eng, Judy Finch, Janet Hendershot, Sonia Tarantour Pearl, Bev Rodin, Janice Mason Steeves, Ernestine Tahedl, Darryl Thorogood et Arlene Turkington s’inspirent des paysages naturels.

Huile sur toile : City Portrait [Portrait de ville], 1996

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (83ko)
City Portrait [Portrait de ville], 1996
Leon Belsky, OSA
huile sur toile
Don de l'artiste, 2005
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 100343

Monotype : Containing Water [Eau de rétention], 2003

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (223ko)
Containing Water [Eau de rétention], 2003
Michael Mills, OSA
Monotype, huile, peinture à l'huile, charbon de bois, mylar
Don de l'artiste, 2005
Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario, 100316

Huile sur toile : Witness [Témoin], 2004

Ces peintures évoquent aussi des thèmes individuels et personnels. La réification de l’eau, l’une de nos richesses naturelles les plus importantes, est l’objet d’une œuvre multimédia, Eau de rétention, de l’ancien président de l’OSA, Michael Mills, alors que, dans Témoin, Anne-Marie Kornachuk explore l’ambigüité qui existe dans la confrontation du connu en milieu inconnu.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (81ko)
Witness [Témoin], 2004
Anne-Marie Kornachuk, OSA
Oil on canvas
Don de l'artiste, 2005
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 100317

Depuis sa création, l’OSA a toujours joui d’une histoire captivante. Elle a participé de façon exceptionnelle et constante à la vie artistique ontarienne et canadienne. Son objectif de « favoriser l’art original dans la province » l’a incité à ouvrir une école des beaux-arts provinciale, un musée des beaux-arts, à fonder l’Académie royale des arts et les expositions annuelles présentées dans le cadre de l’Industrial Exhibition (maintenant l’Exposition nationale canadienne) et dans ses propres galeries.

Entre 1873 et 1914, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a acquis presque 200 œuvres d’art aux expositions annuelles de l’OSA. Il s’agit là d’une initiative qui a joué un rôle important pour la collection d’aujourd’hui et qui a créé un précédent quant au soutien du milieu aux artistes visuels ontariens.

La portée des dons actuels ne réside pas seulement dans le fait que de nouvelles œuvres d’art contemporaines viennent enrichir la collection, elle sert aussi à rétablir les liens historiques existant entre la Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario et l’Ontario Society of Artists.

Allez à : l’Ontario Society of Artists (OSA)
Oil on canvas: A Harmony in Grey and Yellow, 1897

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (156ko)
A Harmony in Grey and Yellow [Une harmonie en gris et jaune], 1897
Mary Augusta Hiester Reid , OSA
huile sur toile
Cette oeuvre a été achetée par le gouvernement de l'Ontario lors de
la 25e exposition annuelle de l'OSA, 1897
Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario, 619739

 
Allez à : Le don récent de l'OSA à la Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement Le don récent de l'OSA à la Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement Allez à : Tableaux de scrutin et Galerie d’art provinciale Tableaux de scrutin et Galerie d’art provinciale
Allez à : Fondation de l’Ontario Society of Artists et sa première exposition Fondation de l’Ontario Society of Artists et sa première exposition Allez à : Les dernières acquisitions Les dernières acquisitions
Allez à : Nouvelles acquisitions et Foundation of Art Education Nouvelles acquisitions et Foundation of Art Education  

Suivante