Archives Unboxed and Revealed: A Guide to Understanding Archives: What does an archivist do? - Page Banner

Archivists set the criteria for acquiring records according to the “enduring value” to their organization. For example, archivists at the Archives of Ontario decide to accept records according to their significance to the Province of Ontario.

Photo: An archivist retrieving glass plate negatives from the special collections stacks
An archivist retrieving glass plate negatives
from the special collections stacks
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario



Archivists arrange and describe the records so that people can find and use them more easily. At the Archives of Ontario, the main tool for locating records is the online Archives Descriptive Database, which is continually added to as new records are accepted.

Archivists also do whatever is necessary to see that records are properly maintained and preserved.

Lastly, it is the archivist who helps people identify and locate the materials they need to answer their research questions.

Photo: A reference archivist conducting a reference interview with a researcher
A reference archivist conducting a
reference interview with a researcher
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario
Photo: An archivist measuring a map
An archivist measuring a map
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario

Where do archives get their stuff?


Photo: Raymond Moriyama and his mother Elsie Nobuko at the Slocan Internment Camp, Spring 1943
Click to see a larger image (124K)

Raymond Moriyama and his mother Elsie Nobuko
at the Slocan Internment Camp, Spring 1943
Raymond Moriyama fonds
Reference Code: F 4449-1-16
Archives of Ontario, I0020990

Archives will develop an acquisition mandate that will serve the interests of their particular organization. The records in Public Archives come from many different places. The primary sources are government bodies, but other sources include corporations, community groups and private individuals.

An acquisition mandate outlines the parameters of what an archives will and will not collect. The mandate acts as a guiding principle in all the archives’ acquisition-related business.

At the Archives of Ontario, the acquisition mandate is to “acquire recorded information of provincial significance” that provides the best documentary evidence of the decisions and activities of the Ontario government and of the development of Ontario society.

The Raymond Moriyama fonds and Moriyama and Teshima fonds include both records from Mr. Moriyama's early family life including time spent in Japanese internment camps during World War 2 and many examples of architectural plans from Mr. Moriyama's illustrious career as one of Canada's foremost architects.

Proposed design for the Markham Civic Centre : perspective drawing, [ca. 1986]
Click to see a larger image (363K)

Proposed design for the Markham Civic Centre : perspective drawing, [ca. 1986]
Moriyama and Teshima, Architects
Watercolour painting
Reference Code: F 2187-1-95, D-279
Archives of Ontario, I0026565


How do archivists decide what to keep?


Photo: Records from the Mitchell F. Hepburn fonds, 1893-1945
Click to see a larger image (69K)
Records from the Mitchell F. Hepburn fonds, 1893-1945
Reference Code: F 10
Archives of Ontario


Unfortunately, archives can’t keep everything. Even with an acquisition mandate in place, it is still necessary for the archivist to evaluate all potential acquisitions for suitability. After all, if an archives is going to preserve records for eternity, they’d better be worth it!

The process by which archives determine what they will and will not acquire is referred to as archival appraisal. Appraisal is not an exact science, but archivists do follow guidelines and practices to help determine how to capture the best documentary record possible.

Photo: Premier of Ontario, Mitch Hepburn, [between 1934 and 1942]
Premier of Ontario, Mitch Hepburn, [between 1934 and 1942]
Photographer unknown
Black and White Print
Reference Code: F 10-2-3-8.1
Archives of Ontario, I0005418

The guiding principle in the Archives of Ontario’s appraisal work is that of provincial significance. Archivists appraise how well records document key government functions as well as the activities and experiences of Ontario’s citizens and organizations.

Preservation and Conservation


Photo: A conservator disbanding a 19th century journal
A conservator disbanding a 19th century journal
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario


Preservation and conservation go hand in hand. Archivists and conservators work together to preserve the records in their original format. Conservation acts to reverse or arrest damage, and preservation works to prolong the life of the records as much as possible.

Conservators work with damaged and fragile materials to repair, preserve and protect them. They also work with archivists in deciding the best storage and housing requirements for records. Often records will require new housing such as acid-free conservation quality boxes, folders and envelopes according to the media type. Type will also make a difference in storage arrangements; for example, it is best to store maps and architectural plans flat. Preservation may also involve creating alternate formats for viewing and thereby protecting the original record from use.

Photo: A conservator remounting photographs
A conservator remounting photographs
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario


Archival institutions normally have specially designed storage areas where temperature and humidity is controlled to minimize physical deterioration of the holdings. The new storage facility in Bolton for the Archives of Ontario has state-of-the-art climate control, including cool and cold (freezer) storage for sensitive film and photographic material.

Les archives à boîte ouverte :	pour mieux comprendre les archivest : Qu'est-ce que fait un archiviste? - bannière

Les archivistes établissent les critères d’acquisition de documents selon la « valeur durable » estimée pour leur organisme. Par exemple, les archivistes des Archives publiques de l’Ontario décident d’accepter les documents selon l’intérêt que ces derniers ont pour la province de l’Ontario.

Photographie : Unarchiviste retire des négatifs en plaque de verre des raponnages des collectinos spéciales
Unarchiviste retire des négatifs en plaque
de verre des raponnages des collectinos spéciales
Photographié par les
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Les archivistes classent et décrivent les documents de sorte que les gens peuvent les trouver et les utiliser plus facilement. Aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario, l’outil principal de recherche de documents est la base de données des descriptions des documents d'archives à laquelle s’ajoutent sans cesse de nouveaux documents qui arrivent aux Archives.

D’autre part, les archivistes font tout ce qu’il faut pour entretenir et préserver les documents.

En dernier lieu, c’est l’archiviste qui aide les gens à déterminer et à trouver les documents nécessaires pour répondre à leurs questions dans le cadre de leurs recherches.

Photographie : Une chercheuse consulte un archivviste de référence
Une chercheuse consulte un archivviste de référence
Photographié par les Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Photographie : Une archiviste mesure une carte
Une archiviste mesure une carte
Photographié par les Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Où les Archives publiques vont-elles chercher leurs documents?


Photographie : Raymond Moriyama and his mother Elsie Nobuko at the Slocan Internment Camp, printemps 1943
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (124ko)

Raymond Moriyama et sa mère, Elsie Nobuko, au camp d’internement de Slocan, printemps 1943
Fonds Raymond Moriyama
Code de référence : F 4449-1-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0020990

Les archives rempliront un mandat d’acquisition qui servira les intérêts particuliers de leur organisme. Les documents qui se trouvent aux Archives publiques proviennent de plusieurs endroits. Les principales sources sont les autorités gouvernementales, mais elles comprennent aussi les sociétés, les groupes communautaires et les particuliers.

Un mandat d’acquisition donne les grandes lignes des paramètres de ce que les archives collectionneront ou pas. Le mandat agit comme principe directeur dans toutes les affaires relatives aux acquisitions d’archives.

Aux Archives publiques de l’Ontario, le mandat d’acquisition est « d’acquérir des documents qui présentent un intérêt provincial » et qui procurent la meilleure évidence documentaire des décisions et des activités du gouvernement de l’Ontario et de l’évolution de la société ontarienne.

Les fonds Raymond Moriyama et Moriyama and Teshima comprennent des documents datant des premières années de la vie familiale de monsieur Moriyama, y compris ses années dans un camp d’internement pour les Japonais pendant la Deuxième Guerre mondiale. Ils contiennent également plusieurs exemples de plans d’architecte produits par Moriyama au cours de son illustre carrière en tant qu’un des plus éminents archivtectes au Canada.

Aquarelle : Design proposé pour le centre civique de Markahm - perspective [vers 1986]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (363ko)

Design proposé pour le centre civique de Markahm - perspective [vers 1986]
Moriyama and Teshima, Architects
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 2187-1-95, D-279
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0026565


Comment les archivistes décident-ils de ce qu’il faut garder?


Photographie : Documents du fonds Mitchell F. Hepburn, 1893-1945
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (69ko)

Documents du fonds Mitchell F. Hepburn, 1893-1945
Code de référence : F 10
Photographié par les Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Malheureusement, les Archives publiques ne peuvent pas tout garder. Même avec un mandat d’acquisition en place, il faut que les archivistes analysent toutes les acquisitions potentielles afin de voir si elles conviennent. Après tout, si les archives vont les conserver, les documents ont intérêt à avoir de la valeur !

La méthode utilisée par les Archives publiques pour décider ce qu’elles doivent ou ne doivent pas acquérir s’appelle l’évaluation archivistique. Cette évaluation n’est pas une science exacte, mais les archivistes suivent des lignes directrices et des pratiques afin de mieux décider comment saisir le meilleur matériel documentaire possible.



Photographie : Premier ministre de l'Ontario, Mitch Hepburn, [entre 1934 et 1942]
Premier ministre de l'Ontario, Mitch Hepburn, [entre 1934 et 1942]
Photographe inconnu
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 10-2-3-8.1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005418

Le principe directeur du travail d’évaluation des Archives publiques de l’Ontario est celui de l’intérêt provincial. Les archivistes évaluent si le document témoigne bien des grandes fonctions du gouvernement ainsi que des activités et de la vie des citoyens et des organismes ontariens.

Préservation et conservation - bannière


Photographie : Une conservatrice retirer la reliure d'un journal du 19e siècle
Une conservatrice retirer la reliure d'un
journal du 19e siècle
Photographié par les Archives publiques de l'Ontario


La préservation et la conservation vont de pair. Les archivistes et les conservateurs travaillent étroitement à la préservation des documents dans leur forme originale. La conservation sert à renverser ou à arrêter les dommages, et la préservation sert à prolonger la vie des documents autant que possible.

Les conservateurs s’occupent de réparer, préserver et protéger des documents qui sont endommagés et fragiles. Avec les archivistes, ils décident quelles sont les meilleures conditions d’entreposage et de logement pour les documents. Souvent, les documents ont besoin d’un nouveau logement tel que des boîtes, des chemises et des enveloppes de qualité conservation, sans acide, selon le type de médium. L’aménagement des moyens d’entreposage variera aussi selon le type de médium. Par exemple, il vaut mieux entreposer les cartes et les plans architecturaux à plat. La préservation peut aussi dire créer d’autres formats de présentation et donc protéger le document original de toute utilisation.

Photographie : Une conservatrice replace une photographie dans un album
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (70ko)
Une conservatrice replace une photographie
dans un album
Photographié par les Archives publiques de l'Ontario


D’ordinaire, les dépôts d’archives possèdent des entrepôts spécialement conçus et équipés de contrôle de température et d’humidité qui minimisent la détérioration physique de ce qu’ils contiennent. Les nouvelles installations d’entreposage de Bolton pour les Archives publiques de l’Ontario sont équipées d’un contrôle du milieu à la fine pointe de la technologie, y compris un entrepôt frais et froid (congélateur) pour les films et les photos.