Archives Unboxed and Revealed: A Guide to Understanding Archives - How do you find materials? - Page Banner

Archives are organized by the organizational body or person who created or accumulated the records. This is much different than in a library where materials are organized by subject. Libraries have materials that are about something. Archives have materials that are from someone.

Photo: Two researchers viewing David Thompson's 'Great Map'
Two researchers viewing David Thompson's 'Great Map'
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario


In doing research in archives, you work from the perspective of the creator, entering into what that person observed, recorded and thought.

Records created by a single individual or a group is referred to as a fonds, pronounced as "pho" – without the "ds". The Archives of Ontario holds the T. Eaton Co fonds -- being textual records, photographs and audio-video created by the T Eaton Company Limited. It also has the David Thompson fonds comprised of notebooks, journals, field books and other material from David Thompson the mapmaker. The archivist studies the body of work of the records’ creator – noting relationships between records and changes over time.

The source of the fonds matters. This is the provenance or archival origins. In order to understand a group of records, their significance and value, the archivist must learn the origins, or the "Provenance" of the records: get to "know" the person, family, group or company that created, used and accumulated the records, and the circumstances in which they were created.

Archivists will try to preserve the original order used by the creator. Filing structure and organization can tell a lot about the individuals, relationships and events that created the materials. 

Photo: Archivist standing with newly received boxes
Archivist standing with newly received boxes
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario
Photo: Archival Storage
Archival Storage
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario

Together, the principles of provenance and of original order preserve the context of the records and contribute to a more complete understanding of the creator and situation.

Photo: Box of unprocessed archival records
Box of unprocessed archival records
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario


In reality, however, few records arrive at the archives nicely labelled and neatly filed. Archivists must attempt to establish an order sensitive to the origins of the material, but practical for researcher access.

Often it is not possible to physically maintain collections in the order they arrived . Many groups of records contain different types of media – paper records, film/video, photographic material or sound recordings – which have different storage and preservation requirements. In this instance, the original order is maintained on paper – carefully documented and described.

What tools are available?


Archivists have developed finding aids that describe the holdings and serve as guides.

Screen Shot of David Thompson fonds in Achives Descriptive Database


Further they try to describe items in a consistent way. Archival descriptions divide groups of records into different levels – fonds, (a group of records produced by a single creator), series (record type or the purpose for which they were created), and occasionally, individual items. A description done according to Rules for Archival Description will include a brief biography of the records creator, a description of contents (including physical measurements) and some relevant footnotes.

An archival description is designed to answer important questions about a group of records so that you can decide whether it relates to the topic that you are researching. These questions include:

  • When was this material created?

    Here you will find a date or range of dates that tell you when this group of materials was created.

  • What type of material is it and how much of it is there?

    Here you will find information about the format and amount of material in this group of records. Does it contain maps, photographs, or sound recordings? If so, how many?

  • How did this group of material come about and what information does it contain?

    Here you will find information about the personal or organizational activities that led to these records being created as well as information about the subject matter and content of the records.

  • What person or group created the records?

    Here you will find biographical information about the person who created the records or a history of the group that created the records. Knowing what a person did in their lifetime or what a group did in the conduct of its business can help to explain why these records exist and what they are about.

  • Are there any restrictions on viewing, using or copying these records?

    Here you will find information about any restrictions that may affect whether you can view these records, have copies made or use them in a publication, broadcast or website. You may need to seek permission to use or publish records from a donor or copyright holder.

  • How do I access this material?

    There are a number of ways that archival records can be viewed. This part of the description may:

    • direct you to look at a detailed online or paper list to identify specific items that you wish to view

    • give instruction on how to order records to one of our reading rooms

    • direct you to contact an archivist or the Information and Privacy Unit of the archives for more information

    • link you to images in the Visual Database

    • direct you to our microfilm Interloan service which allows you to borrow microfilmed copies of records through your local library.

The Archives of Ontario describes government records based on function rather creator, because the creators - ministries, commissions, agencies and boards are constantly changing roles and responsibilities. All government record descriptions are tied to "agency histories" – brief sketches outlining responsibility changes over time.

For example, from 1869 to 1874 the Ontario. Dept. of the Commissioner of Agriculture and Public Works was responsible for immigration. To find information about immigration during that time period it would be necessary to search records based on function rather than by agency.

Descriptive tools at the Archives of Ontario


The Archives of Ontario maintains several databases.

  1. The online Archives Descriptive Database (ADD) provides information about many of the holdings and how to search for them. Use it to look up records and find out how much material is available, what the holdings include, and how to access the records.
  2. The Visual Database provides access to thousands of scanned images of photographs and documentary art held by the Archives of Ontario.

Customer Service and Research Guides have information on policies and procedures for using the Archives of Ontario, and offer further guidance on finding and using particular kinds of records.

Keep in mind, though, that not all holdings have been described yet. If you don’t find what you’re looking for, call, e-mail, or visit the Archives in person. Our reference staff will be happy to help you navigate our reading rooms and the resources you’ll find there.

Les archives à boîte ouverte : pour mieux comprendre les archives : Comment trouver des documents? - bannière

Les documents d'archives sont classées selon la personne ou l’autorité qui a créé organise les documents ou accumulé. Cela est bien différent dans une bibliothèque, où les documents sont classés par sujet. Les bibliothèques offrent des documents qui ont un sujet donné. Les archives offrent des documents qui proviennent de quelqu’un. Lorsque vous faites des recherches dans les archives, vous travaillez du point de vue du créateur, en pénétrant dans ce que cette personne a observé, enregistré et pensé.

Photographie : Deux chercheurs admirent la « grand carte » de David Thompson
Deux chercheurs admirent la « grand carte »
de David Thompson
Photographie des Archives plubliques de l'Ontario


Les documents créés par un seul individu ou par un groupe sont appelés des fonds. Les Archives de l’Ontario possèdent le fonds T. Eaton Co,(en anglais seulement) qui renferme des documents textuels, photographiques et audio-vidéo créés par la T. Eaton Company Limited. Elles possèdent aussi le fonds David Thompson,(en anglais seulement) fonds composé de carnets, de journaux personnels, de carnets de campagne et d’autres documents du cartographe David Thompson. À la lumière de l’ensemble du travail du créateur des documents, l’archiviste étudie les relations qui existent entre les documents et l’évolution du temps.

La source du fonds est importante. Il s’agit de la provenance ou de l’origine des archives. Dans le but de comprendre un groupe de documents, leur intérêt et leur valeur, l’archiviste doit connaître l’origine ou la « provenance » de ces documents : « faire connaissance » avec la personne, la famille, le groupe ou l’entreprise qui a créé, utilisé et accumulé les documents ainsi que connaître les circonstances dans lesquelles ces documents ont été créés.

Les archivistes tenteront de préserver l’état primitif utilisé par le créateur. La structure de classement en dit long sur les individus, les relations et les événements qui ont produit les documents.

Photographie : Une archiviste pose devant des boîtes récemment arrivées
Une archiviste pose devant des boîtes
récemment arrivées
Photographie des Archives plubliques de l'Ontario
Photographie : Rayonnages
Rayonnages
Photographie des Archives plubliques de l'Ontario

Ensemble, les principes de la provenance et de ondre original préservent le contexte des documents et permettent de mieux comprendre le créateur et la situation.

Photographie : Boîtes de documents non-traités
Boîtes de documents non-traités
Photographie des Archives plubliques de l'Ontario


Pourtant, dans les faits, peu de documents arrivent aux Archives publiques bien étiquetés et classés. Les archivistes doivent tenter d’établir un ordre qui respecte les origines du document tout en donnant un accès facile aux chercheurs.

Il est souvent impossible d’entretenir physiquement des collections dans l’état dans lequel elles arrivent. Bon nombre de groupes de documents renferment des types de médias différents (imprimés, film ou vidéo, photos et enregistrements sonores) qui doivent être entreposés et préservés de façon différente. Dans ce cas, l'ordre original est entretenu sur papier en le documentant et en le décrivant attentivement.

De quels outils dispose-t-on?


Les archivistes ont créé des instruments de recherche qui décrivent les collections et qui servent de guides.

Screen Shot of David Thompson fonds in Achives Descriptive Database


Ensuite, ils tentent de décrire les documents de la même manière. Les descriptions archivistiques mettent les groupes de documents par catégorie à divers niveaux : fonds (groupe de documents produits par un seul créateur), séries (type de document ou objet de leur création) et parfois des documents individuels. Une description faite selon les Règles pour la description des documents d’archives comprendra une brève biographie du créateur des documents, une description du contenu (y compris les dimensions physiques) et des notes de bas de page pertinentes.

Le but d’une description archivistique est de répondre à des questions importantes au sujet d’un groupe de documents, permettant aux chercheurs de déterminer s’ils ont un lien avec le sujet de leur recherche. Ces questions comprennent :

  • Qand les documents ont-ils été créés ?

    La description inclut une ou des dates qui indiquent quand le groupe de documents a été créé.

  • Quels sont le type et les volumes de documents ?

    La description contient des renseignements sur le format et le volume des documents qui composent le groupe de documents. Le groupe contient-il des cartes, des photographies, des enregistrements sonores ? Et si c’est le cas, combien y en a t’il ?

  • Comment ce groupe de document a t’il été formé, et quels renseignements contient-il ?

    La description contient des renseignements sur les activités personnelles ou professionnelles qui ont mené à la création des documents. Ces renseignements portent aussi sur les sujets et le contenu des documents.

  • Quelle personne ou groupe a créé les documents ?

    La description comprend la biographie de la personne, ou l’historique du groupe, qui a créé les documents. Savoir ce qu’une personne a accompli durant sa vie ou ce qu’un groupe a fait dans la conduite de ses activités permet de comprendre pourquoi ces documents existent ainsi que leurs sujets.

  • Il y a t’il des restrictions à la consultation, l’utilisation ou la reproduction de ces documents ?

    La description comprend des renseignements sur toutes restriction quand à l’accès aux documents, leur reproduction, ou leur utilisation dans une publication, une émission un sur un site Web. La permission du donneur des documents ou du détenteur du droit d’auteur peut être requise pour leur utilisation ou leur publication.

  • Comment peut-on consulter ces documents ?

    Les documents peuvent être consultés de diverses façons. Selon le cas, cette partie de la description :

    • vous dirige vers une liste de documents ou des dossiers; cette liste, sur papier ou en ligne, permet l’identification de documents ou dossiers spécifiques;

    • vous explique comment commander les documents dans une de nos salles de lecture;

    • vous indique que vous devez contacter un archiviste ou l’Unité de l’accès à l’information et de la protection de la vie privée des Archives pour de plus amples renseignements;

    • vous dirige vers des images dans la base de données des documents visuels; ou

    • vous dirige vers notre service interprêt de microfilm, ce service vous permet d’emprunter une copie de microfilms de certains de nos documents, et ce depuis votre bibliothèque locale.

Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario décrivent les documents gouvernementaux en s’appuyant sur leur fonction plutôt que sur leur créateur. En effet, le rôle et les responsabilités des créateurs, c’est-à-dire des ministères, des commissions, des agences et des conseils, changent constamment. Toutes les descriptions de documents gouvernementaux sont associées à des « histoires d’agence », c’est-à-dire de brèves notices résumant les changements de responsabilités au fil du temps.

Par exemple, le ministère du Commissaire à l'Agriculture et aux Travaux publics a été responsable de l'immigration de 1869 à 1874. Pour trouver des renseignements sur l'immigration durant cette période, il est nécessaire de baser ses recherches sur la fonction plutôt que sur l'agence responsable.

Descriptive tools at the Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario entretiennent plusieurs bases de données.

  1. La Base de données des descriptions des archives fournit des renseignements en ligne sur de nombreux fonds et sur la façon d’y faire des recherches. Servez-vous-en pour chercher des documents et vérifier ce qui est disponible, pour voir ce que les fonds contiennent et découvrir comment vous pouvez accéder aux documents.
  2. La Base de données de documents visuels permet l’accès à des milliers d'images numérisées de photographies et œuvres d'art documentaire déteneus par les Archives publiques de l’Ontario.

Les guides de recherches et des services à la clientèle contiennent des renseignements sur les politiques et les procédures d’utilisation des Archives publiques de l’Ontario, et offrent des conseils pour trouver et utiliser des types particuliers de documents.

Malgré tout, n’oubliez pas que toutes les collections n’ont pas encore été décrites. Si vous ne trouvez pas ce que vous cherchez, téléphonez, envoyez un courriel ou rendez-vous en personne aux Archives publiques. Notre personnel de référence se fera un plaisir de vous aider à naviguer dans nos salles de lecture et les ressources que vous y trouverez.