The American Civil War and Fenian Raids: The Wolverton Family - Page Banner

The village of Wolverton in Blenheim Township, Oxford County is named after its founder, Enos Wolverton (1810-1893), who built up a successful milling enterprise there on the Nith River.

Enos came to Upper Canada with his parents from Cayuga County, New York state in 1826. He married Harriet Towl in 1834 and had two daughters, Roseltha (Rose) and Melissa (Lissa), and five sons, Alfred, Daniel, Alonzo, Jasper and Newton. Enos’ brother, Asa Wolverton, became a successful businessman in nearby Paris, Ontario.

The Crimean War (1854-1856) brought on an agricultural boom in Upper Canada and increased the Wolvertons’ fortunes.

Photo: Wolverton House, 1954
Click to see a larger image (154K)

Wolverton Hall, 1954
Lois Darroch fonds (F 4354)
Reference Code: F 4354-4-0-29
Archives of Ontario

Around 1855, Enos Wolverton built an impressive new three storey family home with a cupola which came to be known as Wolverton Hall.

The economy and the family’s business fortunes reversed a few years later forcing Enos to rent out Wolverton Hall and move to Walsingham in Norfolk County where he established a lumbering business. By this time, his first wife had died followed shortly after by his son Daniel who died in a lumbering accident at Walsingham.

The photograph to the right shows Wolverton Hall as it appeared in 1954. The cupola or belvedere has since been removed.

Photo: Alonzo Wolverton, date unknown

At the onset of the American Civil War in 1861, Enos's four sons (Alfred, Daniel, Alonzo, Jasper and Newton) were completing their education in Cleveland, Ohio. The four of them enlisted as teamsters in the Union Army in July 1861.

Jasper Wolverton died in an outbreak of typhoid in October 1861. The eldest brother, Alfred, died of smallpox in Washington, D.C. in April 1863.

Alonzo Wolverton (1841-1925) remained in the Army, but re-enlisted as a soldier in the 20th Battery Ohio Volunteer Artillery in January 1864. As a soldier he saw action on battlefields in Tennessee and, for a short time, was held as prisoner of war by the Confederate Army. In December, 1864 Alonzo was promoted from corporal to second lieutenant in the 9th U. S. Colored Artillery.

Click to see a larger image (225K)
Alonzo Wolverton, date unknown
Lois Darroch fonds (F 4354)
Reference Code: F 4354-4-0-12
Archives of Ontario
Alonzo Wolverton Discharge Certificate, 1865

After discharge from the Army in 1865, Alonzo returned to Ontario and Wolverton Hall where he married and continued the family milling business. He died at Wolverton in 1925.

The document to the right is an official certificate discharging Alonzo Wolverton from the U.S. Army. It was issued on August 2, 1865.  



Click to see a larger image (331K)
Alonzo Wolverton Discharge Certificate, 1865
Lois Darroch fonds (F 4354)
Reference Code F 4354-6-0-0
Archives of Ontario

The youngest Wolverton brother, Newton (1846-1932), was only 15 years old at the time of his enlistment as a teamster in the Union Army. He returned to Canada before the end of the war and in 1864 he joined the 22nd Oxford Rifles. Much of their duty was to ensure that Confederate soldiers in Canada did not attack Union targets from the north.  

Photo: Newton Wolverton, 1877
Newton Wolverton, 1877
Lois Darroch fonds (F 4354)
Reference Code: F 4354-4-0-24
Archives of Ontario

By 1866, following the end of the Civil War, Wolverton was serving in the militia guarding the border against the new threat of Fenian raids.

After graduating from the University of Toronto in 1877, he taught mathematics at Woodstock College (Baptist) until 1891, serving as principal from 1881 to 1886. He also set up the first manual training program for boys in Canada at the college and gained a reputation in the field of meteorology. Newton Wolverton continued a career in higher education in Texas, Manitoba and British Columbia. He died in Vancouver in 1932.

The photograph of Newton Wolverton, to the left is cropped from photograph of his graduating class at the University of Toronto.

Roseltha (Rose) Wolverton Goble (1835-1919), the eldest child of Enos and Harriet Wolverton married Jasper Goble in 1858. She raised a family and lived on the Goble family farm at Gobles Corners, near Woodstock.

Photo: Rose (Wolverton) Goble, date unknown



She was the chief correspondent with her brothers during the Civil War and keeper of family records. She died in Woodstock in 1919. Her sister Melissa (Lissa) (1837-1907) married Heman Fitch in 1856 and raised four children. Melissa Fitch was active in Baptist missionary work in Guatemala.

Wolverton Hall remained in the Wolverton family until 1949, when Misses Jennie and Eva Wolverton, daughters of Alonzo Wolverton, sold the house.



Rose (Wolverton) Goble, date unknown
Lois Darroch fonds (F 4354)
Reference Code: F 4354-4-0-10
Archives of Ontario

La guerre de Sécession et la riposte contre les invasions des Fenians : La famille Wolverton - bannière

Le village de Wolverton dans le canton de Blenheim du comté d’Oxford a été baptisé en l’honneur de son fondateur, Enos Wolverton (1810-1893), qui a établi un moulin prospère là-bas, sur la rivière Nith.

Enos a quitté le comté de Cayuga, dans l’État de New York, avec ses parents pour venir s’installer dans le Haut-Canada en 1826. Il a épousé Harriet Towl en 1834 et a eu deux filles, Roseltha (Rose) et Melissa (Lissa), et cinq fils, Alfred, Daniel, Alonzo, Jasper et Newton. Le frère d’Enos, Asa Wolverton, est devenu un homme d’affaires prospère près de Paris, en Ontario.

La guerre de Crimée (1854-1856) a provoqué l’essor de l’industrie agricole dans le Haut-Canada et a permis aux Wolverton de s’enrichir.

Vers 1855, Enos Wolverton a bâti une résidence familiale impressionnante de trois étages avec une coupole qu’on a fini par appeler Wolverton Hall.

Le déclin de l’économie et de la fortune de l’entreprise familiale quelques années plus tard a forcé Enos à louer Wolverton Hall et à déménager à Walsingham, dans le comté de Norfolk, où il a fondé une entreprise d’exploitation forestière. À cette époque, sa première femme était déjà décédée. Son fils Daniel n’avait pas tardé à mourir peu après dans un accident lié à l’exploitation forestière à Walsingham.

La photographie de droite montre Wolverton Hall tel qu’il était en 1954. La coupole (le belvédère) a depuis été enlevée.

Photographie : Wolverton House, 1954

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (154ko)
Wolverton Hall, 1954
Fonds Lois Darroch (F 4354)
Code de référence : F 4354-4-0-29
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Photographie : Alonzo Wolverton, date inconnue

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (225ko)
Alonzo Wolverton, date inconnue
Fonds Lois Darroch (F 4354)
Code de référence : F 4354-4-0-12
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Au début de la guerre de Sécession en 1861, les quatre fils d’Enos (Alfred, Alonzo, Jasper et Newton) terminaient leurs études à Cleveland, en Ohio. Tous les quatre se sont enrôlés comme conducteurs d’attelage dans l’armée de l’Union en juillet 1861.

Jasper Wolverton est mort de la typhoïde à la suite d’une épidémie en octobre 1861. L’aîné, Alfred, est mort de la variole à Washington, en avril 1863.

Alonzo Wolverton (1841-1925) est resté dans l’armée, mais s’est enrôlé de nouveau comme soldat dans la 20th Battery Ohio Volunteer Artillery en janvier 1864. En tant que soldat, il a combattu sur les champs de bataille du Tennessee et, pendant une courte période, a été fait prisonnier par l’armée des Confédérés. En décembre 1864, Alonzo a été promu de caporal au rang de sous-lieutenant dans la 9th U.S. Colored Artillery.

Une fois démobilisé en 1865, Alonzo est retourné en Ontario, à Wolverton Hall, où il s’est marié et a repris le moulin familial. Il est décédé à Wolverton en 1925.

Le document de droite est un certificat de démobilisation officiel de l’armée américaine d’Alonzo Wolverton. Il a été émis le 2 août 1865.

Certificat de démobilisation d’Alonzo Wolverton, 1865

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (331ko)
Certificat de démobilisation d’Alonzo Wolverton, 1865
Fonds Lois Darroch (F 4354)
Code de référence : F 4354-6-0-0
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Le benjamin des Wolverton, Newton (1846-1932), n’avait que 15 ans lorsqu’il s’est enrôlé comme conducteur d’attelage dans l’armée de l’Union. Il est retourné au Canada avant la fin de la guerre et, en 1864, s’est engagé dans la 22nd Oxford Rifles. Sa mission consistait principalement à s’assurer que les soldats confédérés qui se trouvaient au Canada n’attaquent pas les objectifs de l’Union en passant par le nord.

Photographie : Newton Wolverton, 1877

Newton Wolverton, 1877
Fonds Lois Darroch (F 4354)
Code de référence : F 4354-4-0-24
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Dès 1866, après la guerre de Sécession, Newton Wolverton servait dans la milice, protégeant la frontière contre la nouvelle menace des invasions des Fenians.

Après avoir obtenu son diplôme de l’université de Toronto en 1877, il a enseigné les mathématiques au collège Woodstock (baptiste) jusqu’en 1891, où il a été directeur de 1881 à 1886. Il a également élaboré le premier programme de formation des travailleurs manuels au Canada, programme destiné aux garçons du collège, et s’est fait une réputation dans le domaine de la météorologie. Newton Wolverton a poursuivi sa carrière dans l’enseignement supérieur au Texas, au Manitoba et en Colombie-Britannique. Il est décédé à Vancouver en 1932.

La photographie de Newton Wolverton, à gauche, est un recadrage de la photographie de sa promotion de l’université de Toronto.

Roseltha (Rose) Wolverton Goble (1835-1919), l’aînée d’Enos et d’Harriet Wolverton, a épousé Jasper Goble en 1858. Elle a élevé ses enfants et vécu à la ferme familiale des Goble à Gobles Corners, près de Woodstock.

C’est surtout elle qui correspondait avec ses frères au cours de la guerre de Sécession et qui conservait les dossiers de la famille. Elle est morte à Woodstock en 1919. Sa sœur Melissa (Lissa) (1837-1907) a épousé Heman Fitch en 1856 et a élevé quatre enfants. Melissa Fitch travaillait activement avec les missionnaires baptistes au Guatemala.

La famille Wolverton est demeurée propriétaire de Wolverton Hall jusqu’en 1949, année où Jennie et Eva Wolverton, filles d’Alonzo Wolverton, ont vendu la maison.

Photographie : Rose (Wolverton) Goble, date inconnue

Rose (Wolverton) Goble, date inconnue
Fonds Lois Darroch (F 4354)
Code de référence : F 4354-4-0-10
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Page d'accueil | L’Ontario à l’époque de la guerre de Sécession | La famille Wolverton
Exemples de lettres de la famille Wolverton qui font partie du don Darroch
Le comité de sécurité et son secrétaire, I. P. Willson