Until about 1930, hospitals existed mainly for the destitute sick, the mentally ill, and people with contagious disease. The first asylum in Ontario “for the reception of insane and lunatic persons” opened in 1841 and after many changes evolved into the present Queen Street site of the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health in Toronto. The Archives of Ontario holds records from this and many other provincial mental health institutions. The 19th century psychiatric hospitals were designed as large, imposing edifices of civic progress and prosperity. They were typically situated with a number of outbuildings and considerable acreage of farmland. The Kingston psychiatric hospital was opened in 1856.

Photo: Aerial view of the Kingston Asylum, [ca. 1919-1920]
Aerial view of the Kingston Asylum, [ca. 1919-1920]
McCarthy Aero Services fonds
Reference Code: C 285-1-0-0-332
Archives of Ontario, I0010254

Rough sketch, Kingston Asylum farm acreage, 1891

The sketch to the right shows that the Kingston psychiatric hospital was spread over 162 1/2 acres of which 83 1/2 were under cultivation.


Click to see a larger image (167K)
Rough sketch, Kingston Asylum farm acreage, 1891
Correspondence of the Architect for
the Department of Public Works
Reference Code:RG 15-18-1, Vol. 17-7
Archives of Ontario, I0012854




















Early patient records were transcribed by hand into large bound volumes called casebooks. Each patient was assigned a new page in the casebook, in order of admittance. Notes about the patient’s subsequent history were added to the page, which was cross-referenced to a second later page if additional space was needed.

Photo: Casebooks, London Psychiatric Hospital, 1877-1885
Casebooks, London Psychiatric Hospital, 1877-1885
London Psychiatric Hospital patients’ clinical casebooks
Reference Code: RG 10-279
Archives of Ontario

Most entries are somewhat idiosyncratic notations documenting direct observations of conditions and behaviours, written down as an aid to memory.

Treatments such as tonics or other medications were recorded, but the role of 19th century hospitals was mainly a custodial one. Most casebooks had a name index.

Patient admissions, discharges, “elopements” (escapes) and deaths were recorded in a register. The register shown here is in poor condition, possibly initiated by a spilled liquid that has caused further damage over time.

Photo: General [admission] register, Hamilton Psychiatric Hospital, 1876
Click to see a larger image (177K)
General [admission] register, Hamilton Psychiatric Hospital, 1876
Hamilton Psychiatric Hospital patient registers
Reference Code: RG 10-286
Archives of Ontario

The casebook volumes and registers were kept in a fixed location. By 1890, the number and complexity of registers had increased, and separate documents such as photographs, temperature charts, typewritten pathology reports and other machine-produced information were sometimes pasted into the casebooks.

The system depicted in the photograph below was almost universal in Ontario’s hospitals at the beginning of the 20th century. The ledgers on the stand at the back are from left to right: Application Book, Admission Register, Death Register, Discharge Register, Statistical Register, (gap,) and Casebook. A casebook is open on the stand. The Clerk is holding his pen over the General Register. The individual seated at the desk with the microscope box is a medical student.

Photo: Assistant Physician’s Office, Brockville Asylum for the Insane, [ca. 1903-1906]
Assistant Physician’s Office, Brockville Asylum for the Insane, [ca. 1903-1906]
Brockville Asylum for the Insane photograph album
Reference Code: RG 10-307, 13021-2
Archives of Ontario, I0021793

A 1907 regulation introduced a new system in all Ontario psychiatric hospitals in which basic patient information was noted on index cards and patient records were kept in case files. In the ensuing years, patient records became more standardized and form-based, and the number and types of records increased significantly.

The case files of loose documents allowed the clinical records created by the many different people involved in the patient’s care to be filed together. A patient case file might include case histories, progress notes, lab reports, reports of surgical procedures, temperature charts, treatment sheets, doctors’ orders, diet cards, conference reports, social service reports, x-ray positives, photographs, a discharge summary or death certificate, correspondence, clothing lists, and other documents. By the 1940s there were expert staff with specialized training to look after patient records, and new technologies such as microfilming for inactive files.

Electroshock Treatment Record from a patient case file, 1962-1967
Click to see a larger image (126K)
Electroshock Treatment Record from a
patient case file, 1962-1967
North Bay Psychiatric Hospital patients’ clinical case files
Reference Code: RG 10-337
Archives of Ontario
Temperature Chart from a patient case file, 1963
Click to see a larger image (150K)
Temperature Chart from a patient case file, 1963
North Bay Psychiatric Hospital patients’ clinical case files
Reference Code: RG 10-337
Archives of Ontario


Photo: Queen Street Mental Health Centre index cards
Queen Street Mental Health Centre index cards
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario, 2005

Index card systems were a momentous 19th century innovation that allowed an easily accessible and modifiable arrangement of data. Electronic systems have largely replaced index cards for tracking patients – although some card systems remain.

Tray of index cards and card for Grace Marks, admitted to the Provincial Lunatic Asylum in Toronto in 1852. Many index cards were created for former patients when card systems became universal in the psychiatric hospitals in 1907. Prior to this time patient information was tracked using registers with alphabetical indexes.

Queen Street Mental Health Centre index card
Queen Street Mental Health Centre index card
Reference Code: RG 10-322
Archives of Ontario

Charts and attendant notes were kept at the bedside, as shown here, but few have survived. Nurses’ notes were sometimes filed in a second patient case file, which was later destroyed.

Photo: Female infirmary at the Hospital for the Insane, Toronto, [ca. 1910]
Female infirmary at the Hospital for the Insane, Toronto, [ca. 1910]
Queen Street Mental Health Centre photographs
Reference Code: RG 10-276
Archives of Ontario, I0018987

Until about 1930, hospitals existed mainly for the destitute sick, the mentally ill, and people with contagious disease. The first asylum in Ontario “for the reception of insane and lunatic persons” opened in 1841 and after many changes evolved into the present Queen Street site of the Centre for Addiction and Mental Health in Toronto. The Archives of Ontario holds records from this and many other provincial mental health institutions. The 19th century psychiatric hospitals were designed as large, imposing edifices of civic progress and prosperity. They were typically situated with a number of outbuildings and considerable acreage of farmland. The Kingston psychiatric hospital was opened in 1856.Jusque vers 1930, les hôpitaux existaient surtout à l’intention des malades indigents, des malades mentaux et des gens atteints de maladies contagieuses. En Ontario, le premier asile « destiné à recevoir des personnes démentes et aliénées » a ouvert en 1841; après avoir subi de nombreux changements, il est devenu l’actuel emplacement du Centre de toxicomanie et de santé mentale, rue Queen à Toronto. Les Archives publiques de l’Ontario détiennent des dossiers relatifs à cet établissement de santé mentale et à bien d’autres dans la province. Les hôpitaux psychiatriques du 19e siècle étaient conçus comme de gros édifices imposants qui symbolisaient la prospérité et le progrès urbains. Ils s’accompagnaient typiquement d’un certain nombre de dépendances et d’une superficie considérable de terres agricoles. L’hôpital psychiatrique de Kingston (maintenant fermé) a ouvert en 1856.

Photo: Aerial view of the Kingston Asylum, [ca. 1919-1920]
Vue aérienne de l’asile de Kingston, [vers 1919-1920]
Fonds McCarthy Aero Services
Code de référence : C285-1-0-0-332
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0010254

Rough sketch, Kingston Asylum farm acreage, 1891

Le croquis à droite montre que l'hôpital psychiatrique de Kingston occupait plus de 162,5 acres, dont 83,5 étaient cultivés.


Cliquer pour un agrandissement (167ko)
Ébauche des terres agricoles de l’asile de Kingston, 1891
Correspondance de l’architecte du
ministère des Travaux puiblics
Code de référence : RG 15-18-1, Vol. 17-7
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0012854




















Les anciens dossiers des patients étaient transcrits à la main dans de gros volumes reliés appelés recueils. On attribuait à chaque patient une nouvelle page dans le recueil, selon l’ordre d’admission. Les notes sur l’histoire subséquente du patient étaient ajoutées à cette page, laquelle renvoyait plus tard à une deuxième page si on avait besoin d’espace supplémentaire.

Photo: Casebooks, London Psychiatric Hospital, 1877-1885
Recueils, hôpital psychiatrique de London, 1877 à 1885
Recueils cliniques des patients de l’hôpital
psychiatrique de London
Code de référence : RG 10-279
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

La plupart des inscriptions sont des notes quelque peu particulières qui documentent des observations directes quant à l’état et au comportement et qui servaient d’aide-mémoire.

Les traitements, comme les toniques et autres médicaments, sont inscrits, mais le rôle des hôpitaux du 19e siècle en était surtout un de garde. La plupart des recueils ont un répertoire nominatif. On notait dans un registre l’admission des patients, les congés, les « fugues » (évasions) et les décès.

Le registre montré ici est en mauvais état, cela ayant peut-être été causé par du liquide renversé qui a engendré des dommages supplémentaires au fil du temps.

Photo: General [admission] register, Hamilton Psychiatric Hospital, 1876
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (177ko)
Registre général [admission], hôpital psychiatrique de Hamilton, 1876
Registre des patients de l’hôpital psychiatrique de Hamilton
Code de référence : RG 10-286-7
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

On gardait dans un endroit fixe les volumes et les registres des recueils. Rendu en 1890, le nombre et la complexité des registres s’étaient accrus et des documents distincts comme des photographies, des tableaux de température, des rapports de pathologie dactylographiés et d’autres renseignements obtenus à l’aide de machines étaient parfois collés dans les recueils.

Le système représenté dans cette photographie-ci était presque universellement utilisé dans les hôpitaux de l’Ontario, au début du 20e siècle. Les grands livres, sur le support arrière, sont les suivants, de gauche à droite : livre des demandes, registre des admissions, registre des décès, registres des congés, registre statistique, (espace) et recueil. Un recueil est ouvert sur le support. Le commis tient sa plume sur le registre général. La personne assise au bureau, à côté de la boîte du microscope, est un étudiant en médecine.

Photo: Assistant Physician’s Office, Brockville Asylum for the Insane, [ca. 1903-1906]
Bureau du médecin adjoint, asile d’aliénés de Brockville [vers 1903-1906]
Album de photographies de l’asile d’aliénés de Brockville
Code de référence : RG 10-307, 13021-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0021793

Un règlement adopté en 1907 instaurait un nouveau régime dans tous les hôpitaux psychiatriques de l’Ontario, régime selon lequel on notait les renseignements de base quant à un patient sur des fiches et on gardait les dossiers des patients dans des dossiers individuels. Durant les années qui ont suivi, les dossiers des patients sont devenus plus standardisés et axés sur des formules, et le nombre ainsi que le genre de dossiers se sont accrus considérablement.

Les dossiers individuels formés de documents volants permettaient de classer ensemble les dossiers cliniques créés par les nombreux soignants. Un dossier individuel de patient pouvait inclure des antécédents médicaux, des notes sur les progrès réalisés, des rapports de laboratoire, des rapports chirurgicaux, des tableaux de température, des feuilles de traitement, des ordres donnés par les médecins, des fiches de régime alimentaire, des rapports de conférences, des rapports de services sociaux, des épreuves de radiographies, des photographies, un résumé du congé donné ou un certificat de décès, de la correspondance, des listes de vêtements et d’autres documents. Les années 1940 atteintes, des employés-experts ayant subi une formation spécialisée s’occupaient des dossiers des patients et on avait recours à de nouvelles technologies comme la copie des dossiers inactifs sur microfilms.

Electroshock Treatment Record from a patient case file, 1962-1967
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (126ko)
Dossier de traitements par électrochocs tiré du dossier individuel d’un
patient, 1962-1967
Dossiers cliniques individuels des patients de l’hôpital psychiatrique de North Bay
Code de référence : RG 10-337
Archives publiques de l'Ontario
Temperature Chart from a patient case file, 1963
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (150ko)
Tableau de température tiré du dossier individue d’un patient, 1963
Dossiers cliniques individuels des patients de l’hôpital psychiatrique de North Bay
Code de référence : RG 10-337
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Photo: Queen Street Mental Health Centre index cards
Fiches du Centre de santé mentale de la rue Queen
Photographiée par les Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Les systèmes de classement par fiches constituaient une importante innovation au 19e siècle, grâce à laquelle les données devenaient facilement accessibles et modifiables. Les systèmes électroniques ont en bonne partie remplacé les fiches pour ce qui est de suivre les patients, bien qu’il reste certains systèmes de fichiers.

Plateau de fiches et fiche relative à Grace Marks, qui a été admise à l’asile d’aliénés provincial de Toronto, en 1852. De nombreuses fiches ont été créées relativement à d’anciens patients quand le système des fichiers est devenu d’usage universel chez les hôpitaux psychiatriques, en 1907. Auparavant, les renseignements sur les patients étaient conservés dans des registres munis d’index alphabétiques

Queen Street Mental Health Centre index card
Fiche du Centre de santé mentale de la rue Queen
Code de référence : RG 10-322
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Les tableaux et les notes des soignants étaient gardés au chevet, tel que montré ici, mais il en reste peu. Les notes des infirmières étaient parfois classées dans un deuxième dossier individuel de patient, qu’on détruisait plus tard.

Photo: Female infirmary at the Hospital for the Insane, Toronto, [ca. 1910]
Infirmerie pour dames à l’asile d’aliénés de Toronto, [vers 1910]
Photographies du Centre de santé mentale de la rue Queen
Code de référence : RG 10-276
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0018987