Ontario Society of Artists (OSA) and the Government of Ontario Art Collection: The Final Purchases - Page Banner

Table of Contents


By 1912, several of the initiatives with which the OSA had for so long concerned itself began to bear fruit. The establishment of a permanent art gallery had become possible with the bequest by Mrs. Goldwin Smith, on her death in 1909, of her home, The Grange, which became the Art Museum of Toronto.

Photo: The Grange, Toronto, [ca. 1908]
The Grange, Toronto, [ca. 1908]
C. G. Begg
William H. Hammond fonds
Lantern Slide
Reference Code: F 4436-0-0-0-125
Archives of Ontario, I0021929

The addition of new galleries to the north of the old house further expanded the Museum. They officially opened on April 4, 1918 with many OSA members in attendance.

Newspaper: Ontario Society Members at the Opening of the Art Museum of Toronto, April 4, 1918
Click to see a larger image (428K)
Ontario Society Members at the Opening of the Art Museum of Toronto, April 4, 1918
The Toronto Star Weekly, April 20, 1918
Reference Code: F 1140-8
Archives of Ontario


Interior Gallery of the Art Museum of Toronto opened April 4, 1918
Click to see a larger image (85K)
Interior Gallery of the Art Museum of
Toronto opened April 4, 1918
The Toronto Star Weekly, April 20, 1918
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Reference Code: F 1140-8
Archives of Ontario

Also in 1912, the Central Ontario School of Art and Design was granted a charter by the provincial government for the establishment of an art college.

With the endowment of a large grant, the school was totally reorganized and renamed the Ontario College of Art. Classes at the new college were held in the Normal School Building on Gould Street and George Reid was appointed its first Principal.

While all these positive initiatives were taking place, however, the OSA received an unexpected communication from Ontario’s Deputy Minister of Education concerning the annual grant. The Society was told that the agreement governing the display of member works in the Provincial Art Gallery in the Educational Museum was to be annulled before the end of the year. This annulment would also apply to the $800 grant which would no longer be provided by the government. Although no particular reason was given for this sudden decision, the closing paragraph of the government’s letter to the Society revealed that:

“The minister intends to reconsider the whole question of recognizing the works of the artists of the Province; but, before coming to a conclusion, he will consult representatives of your Society, as well as of others that are specially interested in the subject.”

Photo: George A. Reid at home, October 25, 1907
Click to see a larger image (118K)
George A. Reid at home, October 25, 1907
M. O. Hammond
Black and white negative
Reference Code: F 1075-16-0-0-9
Archives of Ontario, I0014432

In the meantime, the government had also made the decision to close the picture galleries in the Educational Museum. With the closure the OSA purchases (along with the artworks amassed by Egerton Ryerson over 50 years before) were distributed among the province’s six Normal Schools (for teacher training). A number of factors could have influenced the minister in making this decision, not the least of which may have been the ongoing discord that seemed to mark the relationship between the government and the Society. Another factor may have been the government’s support for new institutions that broadened the opportunity for the public display of artwork with the establishment of the new Art Museum of Toronto and the Royal Ontario Museum in 1912.

The cancellation of the government’s arrangement with the Society did not end the art purchases however. For the years 1913 and 1914 an additional twenty-three paintings were selected by a special committee struck by the Minister of Education. The paintings were chosen from the OSA annual exhibitions of 1913 and 1914 and from the Canadian Art Club exhibition of 1913. These works were also distributed among the province’s Normal Schools.

Although only six of these paintings remain in the collection today, they include a very fine winter scene, The River Magog by Marc A. Suzor-Côté, Arthur Lismer’s, The Clearing and Florence Carlyle’s, The Threshold.

Watercolour: Bonsecours Church and Market, 1913
Click to see a larger image (195K)
Bonsecours Church and Market, 1913
William Brymner, OSA
Watercolour on cardboard
This work was purchased by the Government of Ontario
from the 41st annual OSA Exhibition, 1913
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 622084


Oil on canvas: The River Magog, 1913
Click to see a larger image (187K)
The River Magog, 1913
Marc-Aurele de Foy Suzor-Côté, OSA
Oil on canvas
This work was purchased by the Government of Ontario
from the 42nd annual OSA Exhibition, 1914
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 622109

Oil on canvas: The Clearing, 1913
Click to see a larger image (101K)
The Clearing, 1913
Arthur Lismer, OSA
Oil on canvas
This work was purchased by the Government of Ontario
from the 41st annual OSA Exhibition, 1913
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 622110

Oil on canvas: The Threshold, 1913
Click to see a larger image (131K)
The Threshold, 1913
Florence Carlyle, OSA
Oil on canvas
This work was purchased by the Government of Ontario
from the 41st annual OSA Exhibition, 1913
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 623839


Oil on canvas: The Old Town, Brittany, Night Effect, 1913
Click to see a larger image (110K)
The Old Town, Brittany, Night Effect, 1913
William Edwin Atkinson, OSA
Oil on canvas
This work was purchased by the Government of Ontario
from the 41st annual OSA Exhibition, 1913
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 622038

Oil on canvas: Roses, [n.d.]
Click to see a larger image (86K)
Roses, [n.d.]
Mary Augusta Hiester Reid, OSA
Oil on canvas
This work was purchased by the Government of Ontario
from the 42nd annual OSA Exhibition, 1914
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 623358

With the purchases of 1914, the government’s program of art acquisitions from the OSA came to an end. While it may have been motivated by the changing priorities of the war years, the reason for the cessation of the purchasing program is unknown. Nevertheless, a total of 167 works by over 60 artists had been acquired by the government.

Unfortunately, with the distribution to the Normal Schools, few records were kept and over the ensuing years the whereabouts of many of the works has become unknown. Some paintings were no doubt lost or discarded. Some were known to have been destroyed, including many at the Hamilton Normal School which suffered a fire in 1953.





Click to see a larger image (115K)
Catalogue frontispiece for the OSA 42nd Annual Exhibition held at the Art Museum of Toronto, Public Reference Library, College Street, Toronto
March 14 – April 11, 1914
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Reference Code: F 1140-2260
Archives of Ontario

Catalogue frontispiece for the OSA 42nd Annual Exhibition held at the Art Museum of Toronto

The Normal Schools were renamed teachers’ colleges in 1953 and in the late 1970s these colleges were absorbed by university faculties of education. While some of the existing artworks were returned to the government at this time, others were donated to the province’s public institutions. Beneficiaries included Nipissing University College (now University) in North Bay and the Art Gallery of Peterborough. In 1972 a particularly significant gift of artworks was made by the Ontario government to the Art Gallery of Ontario. Of the twenty-one works donated, eight had been purchased from the OSA exhibitions. These included Northern Lake by Tom Thomson, Lords of the Forest by Lucius O’Brien, Morning Shadows by J. E. H. MacDonald and The Tiff by Florence Carlyle.

Only 43 of the original OSA purchases are known to be in the collection today. The majority of these are hanging on public display in the halls of the Ontario Legislature at Queen’s Park.

Photo: A Contemporary View of the Ontario Legislature, Queen's Park, Toronto showing a selection of the artworks, 2003
Click to see a larger image (378K)
A Contemporary View of the Ontario Legislature, Queen's Park, Toronto showing a selection of the artworks purchased by the Government of Ontario from the Ontario Society of Artists, 1875 -1914.
Photographed by the Archives of Ontario, 2003

 

Taken as a whole, the artworks acquired by the government during this period span almost 40 years of Canadian art history. They reflect the evolving nature and growing sophistication of the province’s cultural activity. They reveal also the role women artists came to play in Ontario’s artistic life. Beginning around the turn of the 20th century women sought the same level of training and experience in European schools and capitals as their male counterparts. Although admitted to the Society from its early days (but not allowed to vote at meetings), participation by women artists gradually increased and between 1875 and 1914 membership by female artists had risen from two to nine.

Photo: Florence Carlyle, [before 1924]
Florence Carlyle, [before 1924]
M. O. Hammond
Black and white
Reference Code: F 1075-12-0-0-65
Archives of Ontario, I0007832

Photo: Mary Augusta Hiester Reid, [ca. 1900]
Mary Augusta Hiester Reid, [ca. 1900]
Photographer unknown
Black and white print
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Reference Code: F 1140-7-0-1
Archives of Ontario, I0010411

A number of works by future members of the Group of Seven were also acquired. Had the program not ceased it is quite possible that works exemplifying a Canadian rather than a European tradition would have come to dominate the collection.

Today, the Ontario Society of Artists has a membership of almost 200 artists. It continues to hold open juried exhibitions at the John B. Aird Gallery in Toronto as well as a full slate of member exhibitions in different venues throughout the province. The Society publishes a regular newsletter and also maintains a web site to promote its history and current activities.


Sources of Quotations

The Canadian Illustrated News, May 3, 1873.
Radford, J. A. "Canadian Art and Its Critics". The Canadian Magazine, vol. 24, no. 6 (Oct. 1907).
OSA Correspondence, 1911 – 1912. F 1140 - 1
OSA Minute Books and Vice President’s and Presidents Reports, 1872-1914. F 1140 - 3 and F 1140 - 4
Ontario Art Chronicle, ca. 1918, Robert Ford Gagen (OSA Secretary 1889 -1926) typed manuscript. F 1140 - 1


Previous | Home
The Recent OSA Donations to the Government Art Collection | The Founding of the
Society and its First Exhibition
| Early Purchases and the Foundation of Art Education
The Ballot Pictures and the Provincial Art Gallery | The Final Purchases

L’Ontario Society of Artists et la Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario : Les dernières acquisitions - bannière

Table des matières


En 1912, plusieurs des projets qui tracassaient l’OSA depuis longtemps commencèrent à porter leurs fruits. C’est grâce à Mme Goldwin Smith qui a légué sa maison, The Grange, à son décès en 1909, qu’on a pu ouvrir une galerie d’art permanente, aujourd’hui l’Art Museum of Toronto.

Photographie : The Grange, Toronto,  [vers 1908]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (231ko)
The Grange, Toronto, [vers 1908]
C. G. Begg
Fonds William H. Hammond
Diapositive sur verre
Code de référence : F 4436-0-0-0-125
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0021929

L’ajout de nouvelles galeries au nord de la vieille maison a donc agrandi le musée. Ces galeries ouvrirent officiellement le 4 avril 1918 en présence de nombreux membres de l’OSA.

Newspaper: Ontario Society Members at the Opening of the Art Museum of Toronto, April 4, 1918

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (428ko)
Ontario Society Members at the Opening of the Art Museum of Toronto, 4 avril 1918
The Toronto Star Weekly, 20 avril 1918
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Code de référence : F 1140-8
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Interior Gallery of the Art Museum of Toronto opened April 4, 1918

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (85ko)
Interior Gallery of the Art Museum of
Toronto opened 4 avril 1918
The Toronto Star Weekly, 20 avril 1918
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Code de référence : F 1140-8
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

D’autre part, en 1912, le gouvernement provincial accorda une charte à la Central Ontario School of Art and Design afin d’ouvrir un collège des arts.

Grâce à une subvention importante, l’école fut entièrement réorganisée et renommée l’Ontario College of Art (École des Arts de l'Ontario). Les classes du nouveau collège se déroulaient dans le bâtiment de l’école normale située dans la rue Gould. George Reid en fut le premier directeur.

Alors que tous ces projets se mettaient en place, le sous-ministre de l’Éducation de l’Ontario envoya à l’OSA un message inattendu au sujet de la subvention annuelle. Il annonçait que l’entente gérant l’exposition des œuvres des membres dans la Galerie d’art provinciale de l’Educational Museum (musée didactique) allait être annulée avant la fin de l’année. Cette annulation s’appliquera aussi à la subvention de 800 $ que le gouvernement n’attribuera plus. Bien que cette décision soudaine n’était accompagnée d’aucun motif, le dernier paragraphe de la lettre envoyée par le gouvernement stipulait :

« Le ministre a l’intention de réexaminer toute la question de la reconnaissance des œuvres des artistes de la province, mais avant d’en tirer une conclusion, il consultera les représentants de l’OSA ainsi que d’autres personnes qui portent un intérêt particulier à ce sujet. »

Photographie : George A. Reid chez lui, 25 octobre 1907

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (118ko)
George A. Reid chez lui, 25 octobre 1907
M. O. Hammond
Négatif noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1075-16-0-0-9
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0014432

Entre-temps, le gouvernement avait aussi pris la décision de fermer les galeries de tableaux du musée didactique. À la suite de ces fermetures, les acquisitions de l’OSA (ainsi que les œuvres d’art amassées par Egerton Ryerson pendant plus de 50 ans) furent réparties entre les six écoles normales (pour la formation des enseignants). Il se peut qu’un certain nombre de facteurs ait influencé le ministre dans sa décision. La dispute permanente qui a semblé marquer les relations entre le gouvernement et l’OSA n’en est sûrement pas le moindre. Un autre facteur plausible est le soutien du gouvernement aux nouvelles institutions qui offraient d’autres possibilités d’exposer publiquement des œuvres d’art avec l’ouverture de l’Art Museum of Toronto et du Musée royal de l'Ontario en 1912.

L’annulation de l’entente gouvernementale avec l’OSA n’a pourtant pas mis fin aux acquisitions d’œuvres d’art. En 1913 et 1914, un comité spécial mis sur pied par le ministre de l’Éducation a sélectionné vingt-trois autres peintures présentées aux expositions annuelles de l’OSA de 1913 et de 1914 et à l’exposition du Canadian Art Club de 1913. Ces œuvres furent également réparties entre les écoles normales provinciales.

Même s’il ne reste que six de ces peintures dans la collection actuelle, elles comprennent une très belle scène hivernale, La rivière Magog de Marc-A. Suzor-Côté, La clairière d’Arthur Lismer et Le seuil de Florence Carlyle.

Aquarelle sur le carton : Bonsecours Church and Market [Marché et Église Bonsecours], 1913

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (195ko)
Bonsecours Church and Market
[Marché et Église Bonsecours], 1913
William Brymner, OSA
aquarelle sur le carton
Cette oeuvre a été achetée par le
gouvernement de l'Ontario lors de
la 41ère exposition annuelle de l'OSA, 1913
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 622084

Huile sur toile : The River Magog [La rivière Magog], 1913

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (187ko)
The River Magog [La rivière Magog], 1913
Marc-Aurele de Foy Suzor-Côté, OSA
huile sur toile
Cette oeuvre a été achetée par le
gouvernement de l'Ontario lors de
la 42e exposition annuelle de l'OSA, 1914
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 622109


Huile sur toile :  The Clearing [La clairière], 1913

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (101ko)
The Clearing [La clairière], 1913
Arthur Lismer, OSA
huile sur toile
Cette oeuvre a été achetée par le
gouvernement de l'Ontario lors de
la 41ère exposition annuelle de l'OSA, 1913
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 622110

Huile sur toile : The Threshold [Le seuil], 1913

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (131ko)
The Threshold [Le seuil], 1913
Florence Carlyle, OSA
huile sur toile
Cette oeuvre a été achetée par le
gouvernement de l'Ontario lors de
la 41ère exposition annuelle de l'OSA, 1913
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 623839

Huile sur toile : The Old Town, Brittany, Night Effect [La vieille ville, Bretagne, Effet nocturne], 1913

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (110ko)
The Old Town, Brittany, Night Effect
[La vieille ville, Bretagne, Effet nocturne], 1913
William Edwin Atkinson, OSA
huile sur toile
Cette oeuvre a été achetée par le
gouvernement de l'Ontario lors de
la 41ère exposition annuelle de l'OSA, 1913
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 622038



Huile sur toile : Roses, [s.d.]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (86ko)
Roses, [s.d.]
Mary Augusta Hiester Reid, OSA
huile sur toile
Cette oeuvre a été achetée par le
gouvernement de l'Ontario lors de
la 41e exposition annuelle de l'OSA, 1914
Collection d'œuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 623358

Le programme d’acquisition d’art du gouvernement avec l’OSA prit fin après les acquisitions faites en 1914. Même si l’annulation du programme d’acquisition a pu être causée par le changement des priorités pendant les années de guerre, on n’en connaît pas vraiment la raison. Néanmoins, le gouvernement a acquis un total de 167 œuvres réalisées par 60 artistes.

Malheureusement, en raison de la répartition faite dans les écoles normales, on n’a peu d’archives et on n’a pas d’information sur les allées et venues de nombreuses œuvres au fil des années consécutives. Des peintures ont sans doute étaient perdues ou jetées. On en connaît qui ont été détruites, notamment une grande quantité de celles qui se trouvaient à l’école normale d’Hamilton qui fut la proie d’un incendie en 1953.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (115ko)
Frontispice du catalogue de la 42e exposition annuelle de l’OSA tenue à l’Art Museum of Toronto, Public Reference Library, rue College, Toronto
14 mars – 11 avril 1914
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Code de référence : F 1140-2260
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Frontispice du catalogue de la 42e exposition annuelle de l’OSA tenue à l’Art Museum of Toronto, Public Reference Library, rue College, Toronto

Les écoles normales furent renommées collèges des enseignants en 1953 et, à la fin des années 1970, ces collèges furent absorbés par les facultés d’éducation universitaires. Certaines des œuvres d’art existantes furent renvoyées au gouvernement à ce moment-là, d’autres furent données aux institutions publiques provinciales. Les bénéficiaires incluaient le Collège Nipissing (aujourd’hui université) de North Bay et la galerie d’art de Peterborough. En 1972, le gouvernement de l’Ontario a fait un cadeau particulièrement important aux Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario en lui remettant des œuvres d’art. Parmi les vingt et une œuvres remises, huit avaient été acquises aux expositions de l’OSA. Elles comprenaient Lac du Nord de Tom Thomson, Seigneurs de la forêt de Lucius O’Brien, Ombres matinales de J. E. H. MacDonald et The Tiff de Florence Carlyle.

On sait que seulement 43 des acquisitions initiales de l’OSA se trouvent encore dans la collection actuelle. La majorité d’entre elles sont exposées publiquement dans les couloirs de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario à Queen’s Park.

Photographie : Une vue contemporaine de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, Queen's Park, Toronto, présentant une sélection d’œuvres d’art acquises par le gouvernement de l’Ontario auprès de l’Ontario Society of Artists, 1875 -1914.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (378ko)
Une vue contemporaine de l’Assemblée législative de l’Ontario, Queen's Park, Toronto, présentant une sélection d’œuvres d’art acquises par le gouvernement de l’Ontario auprès de l’Ontario Society of Artists, 1875 -1914.
Photo des Archives publiques de l’Ontario, 2003

Dans leur ensemble, l’acquisition d’œuvres d’art par le gouvernement s’est étalée sur presque 40 ans d’histoire de l’art canadien. Elles représentent l’évolution de la nature et la sophistication grandissante de l’activité culturelle de la province. Elles montrent aussi le rôle qu’ont joué les femmes artistes dans la vie artistique de l’Ontario. Au début du 20e siècle, les femmes ont recherché le même niveau de formation et d’expérience dans les écoles et les capitales européennes que leurs homologues masculins. Même si elles avaient été admises à l’OSA depuis le début (mais n’avaient pas le droit de voter aux réunions), les femmes artistes y participaient de plus en plus. Entre 1875 et 1914, leur adhésion est passée de deux à neuf.

 

Photographie : Florence Carlyle, [avant 1924]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (76ko)
Florence Carlyle, [avant 1924]
M. O. Hammond
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1075-12-0-0-65
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007832


Photographie : Mary Augusta Hiester Reid, [vers 1900]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (162ko)
Mary Augusta Hiester Reid, [vers 1900]
Photographe inconnu
Photographie noir et blanc
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Code de référence : F 1140-7-0-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0010411

On acquit aussi des œuvres des futurs membres du Groupe des Sept. Si le programme n’avait pas pris fin, il est tout à fait possible que les œuvres illustrant la tradition canadienne plutôt qu’européenne auraient dominé la collection.

Aujourd’hui, l’Ontario Society of Artists comprend presque 200 artistes. Elle continue à organiser des expositions-concours à la Galerie John B. Aird de Toronto ainsi que des expositions de tous ses membres dans divers endroits de la province. L’OSA publie un bulletin de nouvelles régulièrement et maintient aussi un site Web qui prône son histoire et ses activités courantes.


Origine des citations

The Canadian Illustrated News, 3 mai 1873.
Radford, J.A.. "Canadian Art and Its Critics". The Canadian Magazine, vol. XXIX, octobre 1907.
Correspondance de l’OSA, 1911-1912. F 1140 - 1
Registres des procès-verbaux de l’OSA et rapports du président et du vice-président, 1872-1914. F 1140 - 3 et F 1140 - 4
Ontario Art Chronicle, vers 1918, Robert Ford Gagen (Secrétaire de l’OSA de 1889 à 1926) document dactylographié. F 1140 - 1


Précédante | Page d'accueil
Le don récent de l'OSA à la Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement
Fondation de l’Ontario Society of Artists et sa première exposition
Nouvelles acquisitions et Foundation of Art Education
Tableaux de scrutin et Galerie d’art provinciale | Les dernières acquisitions