Ontario Society of Artists and the Government of Ontario Art Collection: The Founding of the Society and its First Exhibition - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Founded on June 25, 1872, the OSA is the oldest continuing art society in Ontario. The impetus for its establishment came from a small group of seven artists who held their first meeting at the home of John A. Fraser on Gould Street in Toronto. Present were noted marine watercolourist, Robert Ford Gagen, Marmaduke Matthews, best known for his watercolours of Rocky Mountain scenes, Thomas Mower Martin, Charles S. Millard who was born in Ontario but spent much of his life in Britain, James Hoch and portrait artist, J. W. Bridgman. Many of the founding members can be seen in the photograph from 1889 below.

Photo: Ontario Society of Artists Members, 1889
Click to see a larger image (366K)
Ontario Society of Artists Members, 1889
William Daniel Blatchly, Marmaduke M. Mathews, John Wycliffe Lowes Forster,
Thomas Mower Martin, Hamilton P. McCarthy, H. Hanniford, Robert Ford Gagen,
Hon. G. Allen, William Revell, William Albert Sherwood
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 1140-7-0-2.2
Archives of Ontario, I0010501

First Page of OSA Minute Book with entry for the inaugural meeting on June 25th, 1872.
Click to see a larger image (359K)
First Page of OSA Minute Book with entry for the inaugural meeting on June 25th, 1872
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Reference Code: F 1140-2254
Archives of Ontario

Photo: John Arthur Fraser, [ca. 1890]

A key figure in the early days of the OSA was John Fraser who was born in England and had come to Toronto from Montreal where he was an active member of the Society of Canadian Artists.

As a junior business partner in the Notman and Fraser photographic firm, it was Fraser’s skill in hand-tinting and colouring photographs that greatly contributed to the success and expansion of the Notman & Fraser business.

Click to see a larger image (195K)
John Arthur Fraser, [ca. 1875]
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 1140-7-0-1
Archives of Ontario, I0010387

The Society's second meeting was held in July, 1872. At that meeting a full slate of officers for the Society was proposed. Artist members were to serve as vice president and secretary and these positions were filled by Fraser himself as vice-president and Herbert Hancock as secretary. The role of president and treasurer were to be taken by non-artists.

Prominent businessman and future mayor of Toronto, William H. Howland accepted the invitation to become the OSA’s first President while local coal merchant, H. J. Morse accepted the role of treasurer. Morse’s tenure was somewhat short lived however, as he caused the Society financial embarrassment due to the misappropriation of funds to shore up his failing business.

During that second meeting, the Society's constitution was also unanimously adopted. It contained sixteen articles, the most important of which called for the establishment in Toronto of a permanent public art gallery and the holding of annual art exhibitions by the Society.

Robert Ford Gagen, [ca. 1900]
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 1140-7-0-1
Archives of Ontario, I0010389

Photo: Robert Ford Gagen, [ca. 1900]

The First Exhibition

The Society's first exhibition was scheduled to be held in April of 1873. Unfortunately, with little permanent gallery space available in the city, the Society had trouble locating a suitable facility. However, with the construction of the new Notman & Fraser premises on King Street East, Fraser was able to make these available at no cost to the Society.

Photo: First Exhibition, Fraser's Gallery, King St. West, Toronto, 1873
First Exhibition, Fraser's Gallery, King St. West, Toronto, 1873
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Black and white print
Reference Code: F 1140-7-0-3-3
Archives of Ontario, I0010326

A favourable description of the exhibition was reported by the Canadian Illustrated News. Selected paintings were reproduced in its edition of May 3 accompanied by a lengthy article and an interior view of the gallery which was featured on its cover:

“The Exhibition has since been open each day, and very fairly patronised by the public. For ourselves we were much gratified and somewhat surprised by the display made at this, the first effort of Ontario to get up a Fine Art Exhibition . . . The large room is well lighted from above in the most approved style, and gives all the pictures within a few feet of the spectator a chance of being seen . . .”

Twenty-eight artists entered 251 works in either oil or watercolour that were hung salon style in a space of approximately 9.14 x 15.24 metres (30 x 50 feet). The exhibition was a tremendous success and drew more than 4,000 interested visitors.

In addition, an ‘Art Union’ was held whereby subscribers could purchase tickets in advance for $5. Each ticket provided the chance for one of 50 artwork prizes ranging in value from $25 to $150, a chromo-lithograph of a well-known painting, and unlimited entry to the exhibition.

The organization of the annual Art Union was modelled on the practice of art societies in Britain and was intended to foster an appreciation for art amongst the public. However, it consumed much of the Executive’s time and, on more than one occasion, caused difficulty in the misuse of its funds.

Ontario Society of Artists Art Union Ticket, 1896 and Ticket Stub, 1892
Click to see a larger image (69K)
Ontario Society of Artists Art Union Ticket,
1896 and Ticket Stub, 1892
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Reference Code: F 1140-1
Archives of Ontario

Catalogue of the OSA First Annual Exhibition held at Notman & Fraser’s Art Galleries, 39, 41 & 43 King Street East, Toronto, April 1873
Click to see a larger image (158K)
Catalogue of the OSA First Annual Exhibition held at Notman & Fraser’s Art Galleries, 39, 41 & 43 King Street East, Toronto, April 1873
Ontario Society of Artists fonds
Reference Code: F 1140-2259
Archives of Ontario

The Government of Ontario purchased artworks from this first exhibition. Although no details have survived about the pieces acquired, the amount of $1065 is recorded for the purchase of paintings in both the records of the Society and the Public Accounts of the Province for 1873.

The records of the OSA, including details of members and meetings as well as photographs and catalogues, provide a fascinating account of the Society's activities since its founding in 1872. These records were acquired by the Archives from the Society beginning in 1965. Additional donations of records from the OSA were made to the Archives in 1972 and 1993.


Previous |Home | Next
The Recent OSA Donations to the Government Art Collection | The Founding of the
Society and its First Exhibition | Early Purchases and the Foundation of Art Education
The Ballot Pictures and the Provincial Art Gallery | The Final Purchases

L’Ontario Society of Artists et la Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario : 
Fondation de l’Ontario Society of Artists et sa première exposition - bannière

Table des matières


Fondée le 25 juin 1872, l’OSA est la plus ancienne société artistique permanente en Ontario. Sa constitution est née d’un petit groupe de sept artistes qui a tenu sa première réunion chez John A. Fraser dans la rue Gould, à Toronto. Parmi les personnes qui y ont assisté se trouvaient l’illustre aquarelliste des choses de la mer Robert Ford Gagen, Marmaduke Matthews, renommé pour ses aquarelles de scènes des montagnes Rocheuses, Thomas Mower Martin, Charles S. Millard qui est né en Ontario mais qui a passé une grande partie de sa vie en Angleterre, James Hoch et le portraitiste, J. W. Bridgman. Vous pouvez voir plusieurs des membres fondateurs sur la photo datant de 1889, ci-dessous.

Photographie : Membres de l'Ontario Society of Artists, 1889

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (366ko)
Membres de l'Ontario Society of Artists, 1889
William Daniel Blatchly, Marmaduke M. Mathews, John Wycliffe Lowes Forster,
Thomas Mower Martin, Hamilton P. McCarthy, H. Hanniford, Robert Ford Gagen,
Hon. G. Allen, William Revell, William Albert Sherwood
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1140-7-0-2.2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0010501

Première page du registre des procès-verbaux de l’OSA contenant le compte rendu de la réunion inaugurale du 25 juin 1872

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (359ko)
Première page du registre des procès-verbaux de l’OSA contenant le
compte rendu de la réunion inaugurale du 25 juin 1872
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Code de référence : F 1140-2254
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Photographie : John Arthur Fraser, [vers 1890]

Né en Angleterre et arrivé à Toronto en provenance de Montréal où il était membre actif de la Société des artistes canadiens, John Fraser a joué un grand rôle au commencement de l’OSA.

En tant qu’associé commercial, John Fraser a énormément contribué au succès et à l’expansion de l’entreprise photographique Notman & Fraser grâce à ses compétences en coloriage à la main des photos.

 

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (195ko)
John Arthur Fraser, [vers 1875]
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1140-7-0-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0010387

La seconde réunion de la société s’est tenue en juillet 1872. Au cours de cette réunion, on a proposé une liste complète de directeurs. Les artistes membres devaient remplir les fonctions de vice-président et de secrétaire. John Fraser remplit le poste de vice-président et Herbert Hancock celui de secrétaire. Le rôle de président et de trésorier furent remplis par des profanes.

Homme d’affaires important et futur maire de Toronto, William H. Howland a accepté l’invitation de devenir le premier président de l’OSA, tandis que le commerçant de charbon local, H. J. Morse, a occupé le poste de trésorier. Le mandat de M. Morse fut de courte durée, car il embarrassa l’OSA financièrement à la suite d’un détournement de fonds destiné à soutenir son entreprise en difficulté.

Au cours de cette seconde réunion, on adopta à l’unanimité la constitution de l’OSA. Elle comprenait seize statuts, dont le plus important demandait à l’OSA d’ouvrir une galerie d’art publique permanente à Toronto et d’organiser des expositions d’art annuelles.

 

Photographie : Robert Ford Gagen, [vers 1900]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (119ko)
Robert Ford Gagen, [vers 1900]
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1140-7-0-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0010389

La première exposition

La première exposition de l’OSA était prévue pour avril 1873. Malheureusement, vu le peu d’espace de galerie libre en permanence dans la ville, l’OSA a eu du mal à trouver un endroit convenable. Toutefois, avec la construction des nouveaux locaux Notman & Fraser dans la rue King Est, John Fraser a pu les mettre à la disposition de l’OSA gratuitement.

Photographie : En 1873, première exposition annuelle de l’Ontario Society of Artists, à la galerie Notman and Fraser de Toronto, 1873

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (572ko)
En 1873, première exposition annuelle de l’Ontario Society of Artists,
à la galerie Notman and Fraser de Toronto, 1873
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 1140-7-0-3-3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0010326

Le Canadian Illustrated News a fait un compte rendu favorable de l’exposition. Il a reproduit des peintures dans son numéro du 3 mai en les accompagnant d’un grand article et d’une vue de l’intérieur de la galerie sur sa page couverture :

« L’exposition a été ouverte tous les jours et le public l’a visitée régulièrement. Nous avons été très satisfaits et en quelque sorte surpris par la publicité qu’elle reçoit puisque c’est la première fois que se produit une exposition de beaux-arts en Ontario… La grande salle est bien éclairée du dessus, dans l’un des meilleurs styles, et elle donne au spectateur la possibilité de contempler les œuvres à moins de quelques pieds . . . »

   

Vingt-huit artistes ont présenté 251 peintures à l’huile ou aquarelles accrochées dans une ambiance de salon, dans un espace d’environ 9m x 15m (30 po. x 50 po.). L’exposition a été un franc succès et a attiré plus de 4 000 visiteurs.

En plus, un syndicat d’œuvres d’art s’est formé et les adhérents pouvaient acheter des billets à l’avance pour 5 $. Tous les billets donnaient la chance de gagner l’une des 50 œuvres d’une valeur de 25 à 150 $, une chromolithographie d’une peinture renommée et une entrée illimitée à l’exposition.

L’organisation du syndicat d’œuvres d’art annuel était fondée sur le modèle des sociétés artistiques d’Angleterre et visait à stimuler l’amour de l’art du public. Cependant, les membres du conseil ont dû y investir beaucoup de leur temps et elle a connu à maintes reprises des problèmes de mauvaise utilisation de ses fonds.

Billet du syndicat d’œuvres de l’Ontario Society of Artists de 1896 et talon de billet, 1892

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (69ko)
Billet du syndicat d’œuvres de l’Ontario
Society of Artists de 1896 et talon de billet de 1892
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Code de référence : F 1140-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Catalogue de la première exposition annuelle de l’OSA présentée dans les galeries d’art de Notman & Fraser, situées au 39, 41 et  43 de la rue King Est à Toronto, en avril 1873

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (158ko)
Catalogue de la première exposition annuelle
de l’OSA présentée dans les galeries d’art
de Notman & Fraser, situées au 39, 41 et
43 de la rue King Est à Toronto, en avril 1873
Fonds Ontario Society of Artists
Code de référence : F 1140-2259
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a acquis des œuvres d’art à cette première exposition. Bien qu’aucun renseignement sur les œuvres acquises ne subsiste, la somme de 1 065 $ pour l’acquisition de peintures a été consignée dans les registres de l’OSA et des comptes publics de la province en 1873.

Les registres de l’OSA, notamment les renseignements sur les membres et les réunions ainsi que les photos et les catalogues, présentent un compte rendu fascinant des activités de l’OSA depuis sa fondation en 1872. Les Archives publiques ont acquis les registres de l’OSA à partir de 1965. En 1972 et 1993, les Archives publiques ont reçu d’autres dons de registres de l’OSA.


Précédante | Page d'Acceuil | Suivante
Le don récent de l'OSA à la Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement
Fondation de l’Ontario Society of Artists et sa première exposition
Nouvelles acquisitions et Foundation of Art Education
Tableaux de scrutin et Galerie d’art provinciale | Les dernières acquisitions