Click to see a larger image

Canadian soldier bidding farewell to a
gentleman departing on a train, [ca. 1918]
Unknown photographer
Canadian Expeditionary Force albums
Reference Code: C 224-0-0-11-23
Archives of Ontario, I0004871

During the First World War, Canada’s army was organized into battalions consisting of between 300 and 1000 men, and regiments which were comprised of three battalions. It was common practice, at the time, to take panoramic photographs of the units before they left for England or France.

There are many military panoramas in the Archives' collection. The three shown below are representative samples. By clicking on the links you will be able to explore the photographs in detail.

In total, over 600,000 Canadians enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force and nearly 70,000 of those were killed. For those who didn't return, the regimental panorama might be the last photograph ever taken of them.


Click to see a larger image
134th Overseas Battalion, C.E.F., (48th Highlanders), Toronto March 19th, 1916
Panoramic Camera Company
Reference Code: Pan 109
Archives of Ontario, I0030633
If you do not have Flash Player click here to see a larger image


Click to see a larger image
"176" Battalion CEF at Niagara, April 1917
Blakemore Studio, Toronto
Reference Code: Pan 129
Archives of Ontario, I0030635
If you do not have Flash Player click here to see a larger image


Click to see a larger image
Canadian Expeditionary Force, Depot Regiment D.P.R., Hamilton, Ontario, Oct. 17, 1917
Reference Code: Pan 81
Archives of Ontario, I0030634
If you do not have Flash Player click here to see a larger image grande

To create the panoramic photographs above, the soldiers would be arranged in a large arc-shaped line around a specialized camera. While making the exposure, the camera would start at one end of the line and rotate to the other end at a fixed rate. It was important to find a location where all the soldiers could be positioned in similar light with few harsh shadows. Cloudy or bright overcast days would produce the best results. If you examine the pictures above you will see that, in two of them, the shadows on the faces at one end of the line are on the right and are on the left at the other end of the line.

Like many panoramas, those seen above had originally been stored rolled, prior to becoming part of the Archives' collection.  In order to better preserve the photographs and make them more accessible to researchers, the Archives embarked on a panorama-flattening project in 2003. Approximately 160 photographs were exposed to a controlled-humidity environment that consisted of wet blotters in a covered photographic tray, until they relaxed and could be unrolled. Then, they were placed under weighted blotters for a period of 32 hours to ensure that they were completely dry and flat. Once that process was complete the panoramas were encapsulated for further support and housed on archival corrugated board.


Click to see a larger version
Field kitchen - presented to 95th Batt. C.E.F.
by Riverdale Business Men's Ass'n., 1915
A. W. Barton
Glass plate negative
Reference Code: C 121-1-0-13-1
Archives of Ontario, I0019309

One of the photos above was taken by the Panoramic Camera Company, the same company responsible for the Wm. Thomson Freeland panoramas of Niagara Falls.

Over the years, there have numerous designs for panoramic cameras. One important concept was patented in 1887 by Canadian John R. Connon.

Prêts pour le départ – Photos panoramiques de la Première Guerre mondiale

Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Un soldat canadien dit adieu à un homme [v.1918]
Photographe inconnu
Albums du Corps expéditionnaire Canadian
Code de référence :  C 224-0-0-11-23
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0004871

Pendant la Première Guerre mondiale, l’armée canadienne était divisée en bataillons de 300 à 1 000 hommes, et en régiments de trois bataillons. À l’époque, il était coutume de prendre des photographies panoramiques de ces unités avant leur départ pour l’Angleterre ou la France.

La collection des Archives publiques renferme de nombreux panoramas militaires. Les trois qui sont illustrés ci-dessous en sont des exemples représentatifs. Cliquez sur les liens pour explorer ces photographies en détail.

Au total, plus de 600 000 Canadiens s’enrôlèrent dans le Corps expéditionnaire canadien. Pour les plus de 60 000 d’entre eux qui périrent, ce panorama fut peut-être leur dernière photo.


Cliquer pour un agrandissement

134th Overseas Battalion, C.E.F., (48th Highlanders), Toronto March 19th, 1916
Panoramic Camera Company
Code de référence :  Pan 109
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0030633
Si vous n'avez pas Flash Player, cliquez ici pour voir une image plus grande


Cliquer pour un agrandissemente

"176" Battalion CEF at Niagara, April 1917
Blakemore Studio, Toronto
Code de référence : Pan 129
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0030635
Si vous n'avez pas Flash Player, cliquez ici pour voir une image plus grande


Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Canadian Expeditionary Force, Depot Regiment D.P.R., Hamilton, Ontario, Oct. 17, 1917
Code de référence :  Pan 81
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0030634
Si vous n'avez pas Flash Player, cliquez ici pour voir une image plus grande

Pour créer ces photographies panoramiques, les soldats se disposaient en arc autour d’un appareil-photo spécial. Pendant l’exposition, l’appareil-photo commençait à une extrémité de l’arc et tournait sur lui-même à une vitesse stable jusqu’à l’autre extrémité. Il importait de choisir un endroit où tous les soldats se trouvaient sous une lumière semblable, avec peu de fortes ombres. Les meilleurs résultats étaient obtenus par temps nuageux ou couvert mais clair. Si vous regardez bien les photos, vous verrez que dans deux d’entre elles, les ombres sur les visages à l’une des extrémités de l’arc sont à droite, alors qu’elles sont à gauche à l’autre extrémité.

Comme bien des panoramas, ceux que vous voyez ci-dessus avaient été enroulés avant d’être ajoutés à la collection des Archives publiques. Afin de mieux les préserver et de les rendre plus accessibles aux chercheurs, les Archives publiques ont entrepris en 2003 un projet visant à les aplanir. Environ 160 photographies ont été placées dans un environnement à humidité contrôlée composé de buvards humides dans un plateau photographique, jusqu’à ce qu’elles deviennent assez souples pour être déroulées. Ensuite, elles ont été placées sous des buvards sur lesquels ont été mis des poids pendant une période de 32 heures pour les sécher et les aplanir complètement. Enfin, les panoramas ont été encapsulés pour assurer un bon soutien, puis déposés sur du carton ondulé pour archives.

L’une des photos ci-dessus fut prise par la Panoramic Camera Company, qui assure la préservation des panoramas de William Thomson Freeland.

Au fil des ans, une foule d’appareils-photo panoramiques furent mis au point. L’un des modèles marquants fut breveté en 1887 par le Canadien John R. Connon.