Photo: David Wilson, founder of the Children of the Peace, 1866

David Willson was a radical democrat who sought to protect the poor.

The temple was built four square, symmetrical on each side, to symbolize the equality of all people who entered.

Willson attracted large crowds wherever he preached, and obviously struck a responsive cord in his audience, whether recent British emigrants or those born in North America. But Willson was not only a preacher; he was also an innovative political and business organizer.

Few images of David Willson, founder of the Children of Peace exist.
This photograph was taken in old age, shortly before his death in 1866.
Sharon Temple Museum Archives

Many early first hand accounts of the Children of Peace mention their cooperative marketing of wheat The Children of Peace were not distinctive here, but the lead in a much wider movement, the Farmers Storehouse, Canada’s first marketing co-operative. The Farmers’ Storehouse was one of those means by which the farmers of the Home District creatively sought to evade the problem of debt to merchants which deprived them of their economic and political freedoms.

Photograph of a painting showing a Toronto harbour scene at the foot of Church Street, 1850
Click to see a larger image (40K)
Photograph of a painting showing a Toronto harbour
scene at the foot of Church Street, 1850
William H. Hammond fonds
Reference Code: F 4436-0-0-0-8
Archives of Ontario, I0021811
Lithograph: Whitefield's original views of North American cities, no. 30, Toronto, Canada West, 1854
Click to see a larger image (92K)
Whitefield's original views of North American cities, no. 30: Toronto,
Canada West: from the top of the jail, 1854.
Miscellaneous Map collection
Reference Code: C 279-0-0-042
Archives of Ontario, I0004748

The Farmers’ Storehouse was organized in 1824. It built a large warehouse on the shoreline of Toronto where the St Lawrence market building now stands. The Store collectively marketed farmers’ wheat in Montreal, and sold them finished goods at reduced rates.

Importantly, the members of the company were allowed to take goods and cash to the value of their stock from the store; the company thus became a loan office of first resort for the farmers of the district who needed to borrow small sums. It is this telling innovation which in large part explains the draw of the company; not only did members of the concern earn their own profits from the wheat trade, circumventing the Toronto merchants to whom they would otherwise fall in debt, but they also, in fact, established a bank of their own.

Photo: Portrait of Ebenezer Doan
Click to see a larger image (284K)
Ebenezer Doan
Sharon Temple Museum Archives
Photo: Ebenezer Doan Farm House
Click to see larger image (124K) 4K)
Ebenezer Doan Farm House
Sharon Temple Museum Archives
Photo: Ebenezer Doan Barn
Click to see larger image (124K)
Ebenezer Doan Barn
Sharon Temple Museum Archives

Ebenezer Doan was a “master builder”, an architectural contractor/builder who would oversee the complex process of building construction from design to execution.

Doan was also a farmer, and these photographs show his original home and farm buildings on their original site. They have now been preserved at the Temple museum site.

Promisory note for £6.5 from E. Doan June 28, 1827 Verso Promisory note for £6.5 from E. Doan June 28, 1827, Recto
Click to see a larger image (284K)
Promissory note for £6/5 from Ebenezer Doan, 1827
Doan family fonds
Reference Code: F 2145-4-0-1-2
Archives of Ontario

Although a business, the Farmers’ Storehouse became involved in politics. The company organized several petitioning campaigns to the Lt. Governor and the legislature to meet its economic goals. And it also produced leaders like Samuel Hughes, a member of the Children of Peace, who assumed prominent positions in the larger reform movement.

They were however, fought every step of the way by the merchants of Toronto who continued to use debt as a political weapon. All the bills to incorporate the Farmers Storehouse were successfully blocked in the legislature.

Photo: David Wilson, founder of the Children of the Peace, 1866

David Willson était un démocrate radical qui voulait protéger les pauvres.

Le Temple était une structure de forme carrée symétrique de chaque côté symbolisant l’égalité de toutes les personnes qui y entraient.

David Willson attirait de grandes foules partout où il prêchait et, il va sans dire, réussissait à toucher une corde sensible chez ses auditeurs, que ce fussent des Anglais récemment immigrés ou ceux nés en Amérique du Nord. Toutefois, David Willson n’était pas seulement un prédicateur, il était également un organisateur politique et un homme d’affaire innovateur.

Il existe peu de représentations de David Willson, fondateur des
Enfants de la paix. Cette photographie a été prise alors qu’il était déjà
âgé, peu avant sa mort en 1866
Archives du Sharon Temple Museum

Dans beaucoup de récits directs relatifs aux Enfants de la paix, on parle de leur système de vente coopérative de blé. En cela, les Enfants de la paix ne se démarquaient pas, mais ils le firent lorsqu’ils créèrent une organisation beaucoup plus vaste, le Magasin de l’agriculteur, la première entreprise de vente coopérative au Canada. Le Magasin de l’agriculteur était un de ces moyens par lesquels les agriculteurs du district de Home tentaient de régler les problèmes de dettes envers les marchands qui leur faisaient perdre leurs libertés économique et politique.

Photograph of a painting showing a Toronto harbour scene at the foot of Church Street, 1850
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (40ko)
Photographie d’une peinture d’une scène portuaire
de Toronto au pied de la rue de l’église en 1850
Fonds William H. Hammond
Code de référence : F 4436-0-0-0-8
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0021811
Lithograph: Whitefield's original views of North American cities, no. 30, Toronto, Canada West, 1854
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (92ko)
(Visions originales des villes d’Amérique du Nord
par Whitefield, no 30 :
Toronto, Canada Ouest : vue du toit de la prison, 1854. )
Collection de cartes diverses
Code de référence : C 279-0-0-042
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0004748

Le Magasin de l’agriculteur a été établi en 1824. On avait construit un grand entrepôt sur la côte de Toronto où se trouve maintenant l’édifice du marché Saint-Laurent. Le magasin vendait collectivement le blé récolté par les agriculteurs à Montréal et vendait à ces derniers des produits finis à des prix réduits.

Il est important de souligner que les membres de la compagnie pouvaient prendre des produits et de l’argent comptant pour la valeur de leur part dans le magasin. L’entreprise devint ainsi un bureau de prêt de premier recours pour les agriculteurs du district qui devaient emprunter de petites sommes d’argent. C’est cette innovation révélatrice qui explique en grande partie l’attrait de l’entreprise, non seulement les membres visés faisaient leur propre profit sur la vente du blé, contournant les marchands de Toronto envers qui ils auraient été débiteurs, mais ils ont également établi une banque pour eux.

Photo: Portrait of Ebenezer Doan
Cliquer pour un agrandissement
Ebenezer Doan
Archives du Sharon Temple Museum
Photo: Ebenezer Doan Farm House
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (124ko)

La maison de la ferme d'Ebenezer Doan
Archives du Sharon Temple Museum
Photo: Ebenezer Doan Barn
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (124ko)
La grange de Ebenezer Doan
Archives du Sharon Temple Museum

Ebenezer Doan était "un constructeur principal", un entrepreneur/constructeur architectural qui surveillerait le processus complexe de la construction des édifices de la conception à l'exécution.

Doan était également un fermier, et ces photographies montrent sa maison originale et ses bâtiments de ferme originaux sur leur emplacement original. Elles sont maintenant préservées au site de musée du Temple.

Promisory note for £6.5 from E. Doan June 28, 1827 Verso Promisory note for £6.5 from E. Doan June 28, 1827, Recto
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (284ko)
Billet à ordre de 6/5 £ d’Ebenezer Doan, 1827
Fonds Famille Doan
Code de référence : F 2145-4-0-1-2
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Bien qu’il se soit agit d’une entreprise, le Magasin de l’agriculteur toucha à la politique. L’entreprise organisa plusieurs campagnes de pétition à l’endroit du lieutenant-gouverneur et de la législature afin d’atteindre ses objectifs économiques. Des Enfants de la paix sont issus des leaders tels que Samuel Hughes, qui a occupé des postes importants dans le mouvement de réforme élargi.

Cependant, il fallait lutter chaque jour contre les marchands de Toronto qui continuaient d’utiliser la dette comme arme politique. Toutes les lois visant à incorporer le Magasin de l’agriculteur ont été bloquées à l’Assemblée législative.