Photo: Walnut farm, home of Judah Lundy and  his family
Click to see a larger image (136K)
Walnut farm, the home of prosperous Children of Peace member,
Judah Lundy and his family.
Sharon Temple Museum Archives

The Children of Peace built a House of Affliction in Hope sometime before 1832, which administered relief according to the principles of “Christian charity.”

This shelter must be viewed in the context of their local economic system, geared as it was to helping members maintain their economic and political independence. All the poor were housed and fed when in need, but those the Lt. Governor considered the “undeserving poor,” the able-bodied unemployed, were then provided with the means of achieving their economic independence.

The Children of Peace were not communal, but through land sharing, co-operative marketing and their credit union, spurred members to individual achievement.

These economic innovations were developed to address poverty’s root cause. Their co-operative economy proved so successful that by 1851, when the first complete census is available, Hope was the most prosperous community in Ontario.

Photo: Oldest known image of the Sharon Temple
This glass negative photograph is the oldest known
image of the Sharon Temple
Sharon Temple Museum Archives

We can contrast the House of Affliction they built with the House of Industry proposed by Sir Francis Bond Head, a former Assistant Poor Law Commissioner, and the province’s first civilian Lt. Governor. The Poor Law Amendment Act had been the product of a lengthy and rancorous debate on the most appropriate means of relieving the English poor.

The House of Industry was based on the principal that the conditions within it should always be worse than the worst conditions outside its walls to discourage people from seeking welfare there.

These were the workhouses described by Dickens in David Copperfield. To create these Houses of Industry here, Bond Head passed legislation in 1837 in the midst of a widespread depression which empowered any two magistrates to indefinitely jail any unemployed worker in one.

It is only by placing their economic system in context that we can come to understand why the Children of Peace devoted so much of their efforts to constructing their ornate and expensive temple;

this building symbolized their aim to “to sacrifice to God, feed the hungry, and clothe the naked.” - From an untitled pamphlet by David Willson, quoted in manuscript, (Archives of Ontario: Ms 188, June 24, 1831.)

Under continual legal and political attack by the province’s elite, they justified their co-operative economy in religious terms. In building the Temple they demonstrated to their neighbours that they were God’s chosen people, and that their alternative values had sacred legitimacy.

Giving to the poor was not a simple economic act to be regulated by poor laws, but a moral requirement mandated by God. It is this moral mandate that moved reformers like them to create the Farmers Store House, and the Bank of the People. In each case, reformers sought to create a specific kind of economic institution to address the problems of debt; and the poor thereby found themselves participating in institutions that fostered oppositional democratic values and skills.

Photo: Walnut farm, home of Judah Lundy and  his family
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (136ko)
Walton Farm, la maison de Judah Lundy et
de sa famille, des membres prospères des Enfants de la paix
Archives du Sharon Temple Museum

Un peu avant 1832, les Enfants de la paix ont bâti une « Maison des affligés » où l’on offrait de l’aide conformément aux principes de la « charité chrétienne ».

Il faut examiner ce refuge dans le contexte de leur système économique local dont l’objectif était d’aider les membres de la collectivité à maintenir leur autonomie économique et politique. On accueillait et on nourrissait toute personne pauvre dans le besoin, mais on fournissait à celles physiquement en mesure de travailler, mais sans emploi que le lieutenant-gouverneur aimait décrire comme des « pauvres non-méritants » les moyens de devenir économiquement autonome.

Les Enfants de la paix n’étaient pas une commune, mais le partage des terres, la coopérative et la caisse de crédit encourageaient chaque membre à la réussite personnelle.

Ces méthodes économiques innovatrices ont été élaborées afin de régler le problème de la pauvreté à sa source. Leur formule d’économie coopérative était si efficace qu’en 1851, année du premier recensement complet, Hope était la collectivité la plus prospère en Ontario.

Photo: Oldest known image of the Sharon Temple
This glass negative photograph is the oldest known
image of the Sharon Temple
Sharon Temple Museum Archives

Nous pouvons examiner les différences entre la Maison des affligés qu’ils avaient construite et la Maison de l’industrie proposée par Sir Francis Bond Head, ancien commissaire adjoint de l'Assistance publique, et le premier lieutenant-gouverneur civil de la province. La loi amendant la loi sur les pauvres (Poor Law Amendment Act) était le résultat d’un long et rancunier débat sur les moyens appropriés de soulager les Anglais pauvres.

La Maison de l’industrie était fondée sur le principe que les conditions à l’intérieur de la Maison devaient être pires que les conditions à l’extérieur de ses murs afin de décourager les gens d’y demander de l’aide.

Ce sont les asiles des pauvres décrites par Dickens dans David Copperfield. Pour être en mesure d’établir ces maisons de l’industrie ici, Bond Head avait passé une loi en 1837, en plein milieu d’une dépression économique générale, qui permettait à deux juges de paix d’incarcérer indéfiniment toute personne capable de travailler, mais sans emploi.

Ce n’est qu’en plaçant leur système économique en contexte que l’on peut comprendre pourquoi les Enfants de la paix ont consacré tant de leurs efforts à construire leur temple très orné et dispendieux.

Cet immeuble symbolisait leur désir « d’offrir un sacrifice à Dieu, de nourrir ceux qui ont faim et de vêtir ceux qui sont nus ». - Tiré d’une brochure sans titre de David Willson, cité dans le manuscrit (AO Ms 188, le 24 juin 1831.)

Constamment attaqués par l’élite de la province sur le plan juridique et politique, ils justifiaient leur économie coopérative dans des termes religieux. En construisant le temple, ils avaient montré à leurs voisins qu’ils étaient le peuple élu de Dieu et que les mesures de rechange qu’ils préconisaient avaient une valeur légitime sacrée.

Donner aux pauvres ne constituait pas simplement un geste qui devait être réglementé par des lois sur les pauvres, mais constituait une obligation morale ordonnée par Dieu. C’est cette même obligation morale qui a poussé les réformistes comme eux à établir le Magasin de l’agriculteur et la Banque du Peuple. Dans chaque cas, les réformistes cherchaient à créer une sorte d’organisation économique particulière afin de répondre aux problèmes de dette. Par conséquent, les pauvres ont fini par participer à des organisations qui favorisaient des valeurs et des compétences démocratiques différentes.