Cumberland and Storm practiced during an architectural coming-of-age. For most of the 19th century the word “architect” was used very loosely and many of these individuals, including Cumberland and Storm, combined many activities, including surveying and engineering, to earn a living. However, despite their lack of a governing body, architects were beginning to see themselves as professionals.

William Storm’s letterhead, 1889
Click to see a larger image (206K)
William Storm’s letterhead, 1889
The Law Society of Upper Canada Archives, 25-1-10

Drawings evolved as architecture and the architectural profession advanced. When buildings were constructed following traditional models and methods, there was no call for complex explanations between the architect, the client, and the builder. In fact, there was a limited need for architects, and many design and detail decisions were left to builders or were made as construction proceeded. The first wing of Osgoode Hall, started in 1829, was likely built this way.

Drawing: Osgoode Hall, section on line E-F, [ca. 1856-1859]
Click to see a larger image (163K)
Osgoode Hall, section on line E-F, [ca. 1856-1859]
Cumberland and Storm
J. C. B. and E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-102-0-13(102)23
Archives of Ontario

Victorian architects revived numerous architectural styles of the past, sometimes combining them, and borrowed from other cultures. This was an architecture of scholars and artists and the traditional knowledge of builders could not keep pace with it.

Drawing: Detail of paterae at intersection of plaster ribs (ceiling of central hall), [ca. 1860]
Click to see a larger image (72K)
Detail of paterae at intersection of plaster
ribs (ceiling of central hall), [ca. 1860]
Cumberland and Storm
J. C. B. and E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-102-0-5, Dwg. No. 125 (K-54)
Archives of Ontario, AO9157

As buildings moved away from familiar conventions, both clients and contractors required more detailed renderings and instructions, leading to an increasing variety and complexity of drawings. Drawings eventually came to distinguish the professional architect from the craftsman. John Ewart, the “architect” of the first wing of Osgoode Hall, was a gifted builder and building designer, but he did not have the versatility of men such as Cumberland and Storm. He eventually decided to leave design to others to focus on his building activities.

The Osgoode Hall drawings clearly show that Cumberland and Storm had no intention of leaving design decisions to craftsmen. The architects specified plaster, stone cutting and joiner’s details, as well as interior furnishings, and finishes. Drawings referred contractors to the architects for additional information.

We know that Cumberland and Storm drew their inspiration for Osgoode Hall from their training and experience (in the case of Cumberland, with well-known British architect Sir Charles Barry) their travels, and published works of other architects. Both Cumberland and Storm had extensive libraries but in 1856 Cumberland asked the Law Society if he could borrow its five volumes of John Britton’s “The Architectural Antiquities of Great Britain” (1807), which included views, elevations, plans, sections and details of English buildings. The Law Society agreed to loan the books to assist him in the preparation of the drawings but apparently the books were never returned.

Architects sometimes find inspiration in their past work. There is a striking resemblance between the drawings of the Geological Museum at the University of Toronto (Cumberland & Storm ca. 1857-1858), the proposed interior of the Legislative Assembly for the Parliament buildings in Ottawa (not built, Cumberland & Storm, 1859) and Osgoode Hall’s Convocation Hall (W. G. Storm, 1882).

Drawing: Perspective of Geological museum interior, University College, [ca. 1856-1859]
Click to see a larger image (111K)
Perspective of Geological museum
interior, University College, [ca. 1856-1859]
Cumberland and Storm
J. C. B. and E. C Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-101-0-5 (107) 2
Archives of Ontario, AO4130
Drawing: Government House and Parliament Buildings; proposed interior of legislative assembly, 1859
Click to see a larger image (94K)
Government House and Parliament Buildings; proposed
interior of legislative assembly, 1859
Cumberland and Storm
Frederic William Cumberland William G. Storm
Drawing
Reference Code: C 11-108-0-3,(124)3
Archives of Ontario, I0005442
Photo: Convocation Hall, Osgoode Hall, looking south, [ca. 1918]
Convocation Hall, Osgoode Hall, looking south, [ca. 1918]
The Law Society of Upper Canada Archives, P87

The Osgoode Hall drawings are truly impressive. Also impressive is the fact that they were preserved as a group. Architectural drawings are normally created as sets. Buildings are three-dimensional objects; paper is two-dimensional. Techniques such as perspective and shading can give an illusion of depth on paper but traditionally, the three dimensions of a structure are represented separately through different views: plans, sections, and elevations. Architects and builders have also developed conventions – a common language – so that the intentions of the architect could be understood despite the limitations of drawings. The Osgoode Hall collection provides today's researchers with an unprecedented look at the building's evolution.

Drawing: Osgoode Hall, Upper Floor Plan, Div. 1, drawing 3, 1859
Click to see a larger image (80K)
Osgoode Hall, Upper Floor Plan,
Div. 1, drawing 3, 1859
Cumberland and Storm
J. C. B and E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-102-0-13 (102) 16
Archives of Ontario, AO9166
Drawing: Osgoode Hall, Section on Line C-D, Div. 1, drawing 9, 1859
Click to see a larger image (65K)
Osgoode Hall, Section on Line C-D, Div. 1,
drawing 9, 1859
Cumberland and Storm
J. C. B and E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-102-0-13-22[?]
Archives of Ontario

Architects rarely create drawings as an end in themselves. Drawings can be used to demonstrate to clients the merit of the architect’s design and convince them to spend their money on specific architectural details or design elements. They also convey the technical information necessary for the builder to translate the architect’s ideas into a building.

Drawing: Osgoode Hall; front elevation. Div.2 drawing 18, 1859
Click to see a larger image (237K)
Osgoode Hall; front elevation. Div.2 drawing 18, 1859
Cumberland and Storm Frederic William
Cumberland William G. Storm
Drawing
Reference Code: C 11-102-0-2,(102)36
Archives of Ontario, I0005451
Drawing: Osgoode Hall, detail of glass door main entrance, [ca. 1860]
Click to see a larger image (144K)
Osgoode Hall, detail of glass door
main entrance, [ca. 1860]
Cumberland and Storm
J. C. B and E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-101
Archives of Ontario, AO9160

The Osgoode Hall drawings include a range of drawing quality and detail, sometimes on the same sheet. Rough pencil sketches, trying out a concept; technical drawings showing measurements and details, including production and assembly instructions; and presentation drawings, proudly signed by the firm, and carefully inked and coloured to dazzle the governors of the Law Society. The strategy paid off; construction on the new Osgoode Hall started in 1856.

Drawing: [Pencil sketch of fireplace and clock detail of surface of clock case], [ca. 1860]
Click to see a larger image (61K)
[Pencil sketch of fireplace and clock detail of
surface of clock case], [ca. 1860]
Cumberland and Storm
J. C. B and E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-102
Archives of Ontario, AO9161
Photo: Great Library fireplace, Osgoode Hall, [ca. 1940]
Great Library fireplace, Osgoode Hall, [ca. 1940]
The Law Society of Upper Canada Archives, P924
Drawing: Perspective of Library, Osgoode Hall, looking east, [ca. 1855-1856]
Perspective of Library, Osgoode Hall,
looking east, [ca. 1855-1856]
Cumberland and Storm
J. C. B and E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-102-0-6(747)1
Archives of Ontario, AO3694
Photo: Great Library, Osgoode Hall, looking east, [between 1880 and 1900]
Great Library, Osgoode Hall, looking east,
[between 1880 and 1900]
The Law Society of Upper Canada Archives, P1136
Photo: Dome, Great Library, Osgoode Hall, 2000
Dome, Great Library, Osgoode Hall, 2000
Claude Noel Photographer
The Law Society of Upper Canada Archives, 2005012-03P

Cumberland et Storm ont exercé leur métier pendant une période de maturation de l’architecture. Pendant la plus grande partie du 19e siècle, on utilisait le titre « architecte » très librement et beaucoup de ces personnes, y compris Cumberland et Storm, combinaient plusieurs activités, comme l’arpentage et l’ingénierie, pour gagner leur pain. Malgré l’absence d’un corps dirigeant, l’architecte commençait à se considérer comme un professionnel.

En-tête de lettre de William Storm, 1889
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (206ko)
En-tête de lettre de William Storm, 1889
Archives du Barreau du Haut-Canada, 25-1-10

L’évolution du dessin a suivi celle de l’architecture et de la profession d’architecte. Lorsqu’on construisait un bâtiment selon une méthode ou un modèle traditionnel, le client, l’architecte et le constructeur n’échangeaient pas d’explications détaillées. En fait, l’architecte n’était pas souvent nécessaire et nombre de décisions touchant la conception et les détails étaient laissées au constructeur ou prises à mesure que la construction avançait. La première aile d’Osgoode Hall, commencée en 1829, a probablement été bâtie de cette façon.

Dessin : Osgoode Hall, section sur la ligne du plan E-F [vers 1856-1859] Dessin : Osgoode Hall, section sur la ligne du plan E-F [vers 1856-1859]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (163ko)
Osgoode Hall, section sur la ligne du plan E-F [vers 1856-1859]
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-102-0-13(102)23
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Les architectes de l’époque victorienne ont fait renaître beaucoup d’anciens styles architecturaux, parfois en les combinant, et ont emprunté à d’autres cultures. La connaissance traditionnelle des constructeurs se trouvait dépassée par cette architecture d’érudits et d’artistes.

Dessin : Détail de patère à l’intersection de nervures de plâtre (plafond du hall central) [vers 1860]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (72ko)
Détail de patère à l’intersection de nervures de
plâtre (plafond du hall central) [vers 1860]
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-102-0-5, Dwg. No. 125 (K-54)
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, AO9157

Plus les bâtiments s’éloignaient des conventions, plus les clients et les entrepreneurs avaient besoin de plans et d’instructions détaillées, ce qui a mené à la variété et à la complexité croissantes des dessins. Ceux-ci ont progressivement distingué l’architecte professionnel de l’artisan. John Ewart, « architecte » de la première aile d’Osgoode Hall, était un constructeur et un concepteur de bâtiments doué, mais il ne possédait pas la polyvalence d’hommes comme Cumberland et Storm. Il a finalement décidé de laisser la conception à d’autres pour se consacrer à la construction.

Les dessins d’Osgoode Hall montrent clairement que Cumberland et Storm ne voulaient pas laisser de décisions de conception aux artisans. Les architectes précisaient des détails concernant le plâtre, le taillage des pierres et la menuiserie, ainsi que l’aménagement et les finis intérieurs. Les dessins renvoyaient tout entrepreneur nécessitant plus de renseignements aux architectes.

On sait que pour Osgoode Hall, Cumberland et Storm se sont inspirés de leur formation, de leur expérience (dans le cas de Cumberland, avec Sir Charles Barry, architecte britannique reconnu), de leurs voyages et des travaux publiés d’autres architectes. Leurs bibliothèques étaient bien garnies, mais en 1856, Cumberland a demandé au Barreau de lui prêter son exemplaire en cinq volumes de The Architectural Antiquities of Great Britain (1807) de John Britton, qui comprenait des vues, des élévations, des plans, des sections et des détails de bâtiments anglais. Le Barreau a consenti à prêter les volumes pour aider à la préparation des dessins, mais apparemment, ils ont jamais été rétournés.

L’architecte s’inspire parfois de ses travaux antérieurs. Il y a une ressemblance frappante entre les dessins du Geological Museum de l’Université de Toronto (Cumberland and Storm, vers 1857-1858), l’intérieur proposé de la salle de l’Assemblée législative dans les édifices du Parlement d’Ottawa (non construite, Cumberland and Storm, 1859) et le Convocation Hall d’Osgoode Hall (W. G. Storm, 1882).

Dessin : Perspective intérieure du Geological Museum, Université de Toronto, [vers 1856-1859]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (111ko)
Perspective intérieure du Geological Museum,
Université de Toronto, [vers 1856-1859]
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-101-0-5 (107) 2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, AO4130
Dessin : Résidence du gouverneur général et édifices du Parlement : intérieur proposé de la salle de l’Assemblée législative, 1859
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (94ko)
Résidence du gouverneur général et édifices du
Parlement : intérieur proposé de la salle de
l’Assemblée législative, 1859
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Dessin
Code de référence : C 11-108-0-3,(124)3
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005442
Photographie : Convocation Hall, Osgoode Hall, vue vers le sud, [vers 1918]
Convocation Hall, Osgoode Hall, vue vers le sud, [vers 1918]
Archives du Barreau du Haut-Canada, P87

Les dessins d’Osgoode Hall sont vraiment impressionnants. Plus important encore, ils ont été préservés ensemble. Les dessins architecturaux sont normalement créés en groupes. Un bâtiment est un objet tridimensionnel, mais le papier a deux dimensions. Des techniques comme la perspective et l’ombrage peuvent donner l’illusion de la profondeur sur papier, mais depuis longtemps, les trois dimensions d’une construction sont représentées séparément par différentes vues : les plans, sections et élévations. Les architectes et les constructeurs ont aussi établi des conventions - un langage commun - pour que l’architecte puisse communiquer ses intentions malgré les limitations du dessin. La collection de dessins d'Osgoode Hall donne aux chercheurs d'aujourd'hui une vue sans précédent de l'évolution de l'édifice.

Dessin : Osgoode Hall, plan de l’étage supérieur, Division 1, dessin 3, 1859
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (80ko)
Osgoode Hall, plan de l’étage supérieur,
Division 1, dessin 3, 1859
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-102-0-13 (102) 16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, AO9166
Dessin : Osgoode Hall, section sur la ligne du plan C-D, Division 1, dessin 9, 1859
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (65ko)
Osgoode Hall, section sur la ligne du plan C-D,
Division 1, dessin 9, 1859
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-102-0-13-22[?]
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

L’architecte produit rarement un dessin sans autre but que le dessin même. Il peut l’utiliser pour montrer au client les mérites de sa conception et le convaincre d’investir son argent dans certains détails architecturaux ou éléments de conception. Le dessin transmet aussi les renseignements techniques que requiert le constructeur pour transformer les idées de l’architecte en édifice.

Drawing: Osgoode Hall; front elevation. Div.2 drawing 18, 1859
Click to see a larger image (237K)
Osgoode Hall; front elevation. Div.2 drawing 18, 1859
Cumberland and Storm Frederic William
Cumberland William G. Storm
Drawing
Reference Code: C 11-102-0-2,(102)36
Archives of Ontario, I0005451
Dessin : Osgoode Hall : élévation avant, division 2, dessin 18, 1859
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (237ko)
Osgoode Hall : élévation avant,
Division 2, dessin 18, 1859
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-102-0-2,(102)36
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005451

Les dessins d’Osgoode Hall présentent divers niveaux de qualité et de détail, parfois sur la même feuille. Il y a des croquis rapides au crayon où l’architecte essaie un concept, des dessins techniques précisant les mesures et les détails, y compris des instructions de production et d’assemblage, et des dessins de présentation, repassés à l’encre et colorés avec soin, qui portent la signature du cabinet et qui ont servi à éblouir les administrateurs du Barreau. La stratégie a porté fruit : la construction du nouveau Osgoode Hall a commencé en 1856.

Dessin : Osgoode Hall : croquis au crayon d’un foyer et d’une horloge [vers 1860]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (61ko)
Osgoode Hall : croquis au crayon d’un foyer
et d’une horloge [vers 1860]
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-102
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, AO9161
Photographie : Foyer de la Grande bibliothèque, Osgoode Hall, [vers 1940]
Foyer de la Grande bibliothèque, Osgoode Hall, [vers 1940]
TArchives du Barreau du Haut-Canada, P924
Drawing: Perspective of Library, Osgoode Hall, looking east, [ca. 1855-1856]
Perspective de la bibliothèque, Osgoode Hall,
vue vers l’est [vers 1855-vers 1856]
Cumberland and Storm
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-102-0-6(747)1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, AO3694
Dessin : Perspective de la bibliothèque, Osgoode Hall, vue vers l’est [vers 1855-vers 1856]
Grande bibliothèque, Osgoode Hall,
vue vers l’est [entre 1880 et 1900]
Archives du Barreau du Haut-Canada, P1136
Photographie : Grande bibliothèque, Osgoode Hall, vue vers l’est [entre 1880 et 1900]
Dôme, Grande bibliothèque, Osgoode Hall, 2000
Photographie de Claude Noel
Archives du Barreau du Haut-Canada, 2005012-03P