The Archives of Ontario is pleased to introduce this anniversary exhibition, a joint project of the Archives of Ontario and the Law Society of Upper Canada (LSUC).
Photo: Osgoode Hall, 1952
Click to see a larger image (124K)
Osgoode Hall, 1952
Department of Travel and Publicity, Publicity Transparency
Reference Code: RG 65-35 -3, 11764-X2594
Archives of Ontario, I0005529

Osgoode Hall, a National Historic Site of Canada, is celebrating its 175th birthday in 2007. The building is both venerable and architecturally significant and one of the best-preserved, and best-documented historical structures in Ontario. It is home to the governing body of the lawyers of Ontario and the superior courts of the Province, both known for their love of records and their timeless purposes.

The text has been authored by the curator of Osgoode Hall, Elise Brunet. Technical and administrative support have been provided by the Archives of Ontario, and images are from the collections of the archives of the Law Society of Upper Canada and the Archives of Ontario.

Photo: Detail of Courtroom 4 (formerly Queen’s Bench), Osgoode Hall, 2006
Detail of Courtroom 4 (formerly Queen’s Bench), Osgoode Hall, 2006
The Law Society of Upper Canada
Drawing: Osgoode Hall, section on Line L-K
Click to see a larger image (63K)
Osgoode Hall, section on Line L-K
Division 1, Drawing 12
J. C. B. and E. C. Horwood Collection
Reference Code: C 11-702-13-25
Archives of Ontario

Unfortunately, there is not much to tell us about the early years of the building. The drawings from Cumberland & Storm, once a leading architectural firm in Canada, date from 1856 to 1861, not from the birth of Osgoode Hall in 1832. But, one could argue that Cumberland and Storm “made” Osgoode Hall. Their work on the expansion and reconstruction of the building has given us the façade and public spaces that truly define Osgoode Hall today.

So it is that period that is the focus of this exhibit which explores how Osgoode Hall was “born,” from the needs of its owners to its conception: starting with a spark in the mind of the architect, to its design and planning, and finally to its construction.

Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario sont heureuses de présenter cette exposition commémorant l'anniversaire d'Osgoode Hall. L'exposition est un projet conjoint des Archives publiques de l'Ontario et du Barreau du Haut-Canada.
Photographie : Osgoode Hall, 1952
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (124ko)
Osgoode Hall, 1952
Ministère du Tourisme et de la Publicité,
diapositive de promotion touristique
Code de référence : RG 65-35 -3, 11764-X2594
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005529

Osgoode Hall, lieu historique national du Canada, célèbre en 2007 son 175e anniversaire. Important sur le plan architectural, le vénérable édifice est une des constructions historiques les mieux préservées et documentées de l’Ontario. Il abrite le corps dirigeant des avocats de l’Ontario et les cours supérieures de la province, deux institutions connues pour leur amour des documents et leur mandat intemporel.

Le texte a été rédigé par en conservatrice (d'Osgoodes Hall), Élise Brunet. Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario ont apporté un soutien technique et administratif à cette exposition. Les images proviennent des collections des Archives publiques de l'Ontario et des Archives du Barreau du Haut-Canada.

Photographie : Détail de la salle d’audience 4 (appelée anciennement salle du Banc de la Reine), Osgoode Hall, 2006
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (295ko)
Détail de la salle d’audience 4 (appelée anciennement salle du Banc de la Reine), Osgoode Hall, 2006
Archives du Barreau du Haut-Canada
Dessin : Osgoode Hall, section sur la ligne du plan I-K [vers 1856-1859]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (63ko)
Osgoode Hall, section sur la ligne du
plan I-K [vers 1856-1859]
Division 1, dessin no 12
Collection J. C. B. et E. C. Horwood
Code de référence : C 11-702-13-25
Archives publiques de l’Ontario

Malheureusement, peu de choses nous renseignent sur les premières années de l’édifice. Les dessins de Cumberland and Storm, un cabinet d’architectes autrefois renommé au Canada, datent de 1856 à 1861 et non de la naissance d’Osgoode Hall en 1832. On pourrait dire que Cumberland et Storm ont « fait » Osgoode Hall. Leur travail sur le bâtiment nous a donné la façade et les aires publiques qui définissent vraiment Osgoode Hall aujourd’hui.

L’exposition anniversaire porte sur la « naissance » d’Osgoode Hall, des besoins de ses propriétaires à sa conception - de l’étincelle dans l’esprit de son architecte à sa planification et à sa construction.