War Artists from the First World War: The Burlington House Exhibit - Page Banner
The War in the Air
Click to see a larger image (395K)

The War In the Air, 1917
After C. R. W. Nevinson
Reference Code: C 334-2-0-0-9
Archives of Ontario, I0013656

The Canadian War Memorials Fund fonds (C 334) held by the Archives of Ontario consists of an incomplete set of prints (one of each of a limited number printed) that were in the Canadian War Memorials Exhibition held on the 4th of January at Burlington House, Piccadilly, London in 1919.

The prints were created as part of a fund-raising effort on behalf of the CWMF and a limited edition of 100 proofs were for sale to visitors viewing the exhibition or could be purchased directly from the CWRO.

In addition to the etchings a number of the large paintings on view at the exhibition had been reproduced in sheet form and 300 signed artists proofs of each painting were on sale. Nine of these images are also included in this virtual exhibit.

The print to the right, War in the Air by C. R. W. Nevinson, portrays an aerial confrontation involving one of Canada’s most famous aviation heroes, Billy Bishop. The original is now in the Canadian War Museum.

A souvenir catalogue was produced featuring the work that was for sale. The artworks in question were etchings by Lieutenants Cyril H. Barraud, Gerard de Witt and Gyrth Russell as well as by the artist Caroline H. Armington.

View of the town of Meteren, south of Ypres, from the Canadian Bombing School, February, 1916
Click to see a larger image (186K)

View of the town of Meteren, south of Ypres,
from the Canadian Bombing School
February, 1916
Lieut. C. H. Barraud
Print
Reference Code: C 334-1-2-0-13
Archives of Ontario, I0003112

Lieutenant de Witt (6th Canadian Siege Battery) was one of the official war artists attached to the Canadian War Records Office as were Lieutenants Barraud and Russell; the artist Caroline Armington was born in Brampton, Ontario and had been resident in Paris since 1900 remaining in France until her death in 1939.

Meteren
By Lieut. C. H. Barraud

A delightful study of the picturesque village of Meteren (South of Ypres) from sketches made looking from the Canadian Bombing School. February, 1916.



Mine Crater on the Road to Mons
By Lieut. Gerard de Witt

The subject of this etching, familiar to every soldier who took part in the advance through the various towns on the way to Mons, is essentially typical. A huge crater extending almost the whole width of the narrow French street is depicted, showing also the partial ruins of the tall houses on either side. In this, as in many other cases, barely sufficient space remains between the walls of the buildings and the crumbing edge of the crater for the heavy guns to pass by. The artist has treated the subject in a most masterly manner.

Mine crater on the road to Mons(?)
Click to see a larger image (247K)

Mine crater on the road to Mons, [ca. 1918]
Gerard de Witt
Print
Reference Code: C 334-1-3-0-4
Archives of Ontario, I0013636

Also included in this exhibit are artworks by the Canadian artists Dorothy Stevens, C. W. Jefferys and others.

These particular images were not included in the 1919 souvenir package but were most probably created for the collection of the CWMF.

The Burlington House exhibit was by all accounts a great success. The major attraction of the exhibition was Augustus John’s ten-by-forty foot charcoal drawing “The Canadians Opposite Lens”. To observers at the exhibition, this massive drawing captured everything that could be imagined about war. Along with canvases, watercolours and sculpture were dry-points, etchings and lithographs.

Munitions Heavy Shells
Click to see a larger image (273K)

Munitions Heavy Shells, 1919
Dorothy Stevens
Print
Reference Code: C 334-1-5-0-18
Archives of Ontario, I0013281



The pre-exhibition publicity provided by the newspapers of Beaverbrook and the other press owners ensured that the exhibition was both a financial and critical success.

The Ramparts, Ypres - 1916
Click to see a larger image (269K)

The Ramparts, Ypres (used as Canadian
brigade headquarters), July, 1916
Lieut. C. H. Barraud
Print
Reference Code: C 334-1-2-0-1
Archives of Ontario, I0003103

Returned soldiers were eager to show their families and friends where they had served and with the relaxation of censorship in 1919, the public could also see, through the images displayed, scenes of war that had long been denied them.

The Ramparts, Ypres
By Lieut. C. H. Barraud

Situated about 300 yards from the Lille Gate, these Ramparts comprise great chambers about 30 feet wide and 16 feet high running through the thickness of the brick-revetted earthworks forming the ancient walls of Ypres. At this point the Ramparts are 150 feet wide. Outside, they present a wall solidly built of brick, rising from the moat to the height of 30 feet.

The Ramparts of Ypres have figured largely in recent Canadian history, and Mr. Barraud's fine etching records the entrance to one of the chambers in the Ramparts used as Brigade Headquarters.

This sketch was made in July 1916.

It should be noted that the number of British war artists whose work was displayed at the Burlington House exhibition far outnumbered the number of Canadian artists. But there is no doubt that the work of the Canadian artists such as Jackson with 35 oil panels and Varley's large canvases were well received and their standing as artists increased both within Britain and in Canada as a result of their efforts.

The exhibition consisting of art works solely representing action at the front was moved to New York where once again it was a success with large numbers coming to the Anderson Galleries to view the drawings, paintings and sculptures, even though none of the images reflected American involvement in the war.

From New York it moved to Toronto and in August 1919 was installed in an enlarged Canadian National Exhibition’s Fine Art Gallery. This was to be the first opportunity for the Canadian public to see the art that had been talked about and judge it for themselves.

The Toronto exhibition was a huge success with over 100,000 Canadians paying to enter the CNE to see the show.

The Cloth Hall Ypres after J. Kerr Lawson
Click to see a larger image (311K)

The Cloth Hall Ypres, [ca. 1918] (detail)
After J. Kerr Lawson
Reference Code: C 334-2-0-0-2
Archives of Ontario, I0013649

After Toronto the exhibition was moved to Montreal and from there to relative obscurity languishing in various storage vaults until finally arriving at the National War Museum in Ottawa. Another exhibition featuring work by 43 artists and concentrating on activities at the home front was also circulating and opened at the Art Gallery of Toronto (now the Art Gallery of Ontario) in Grange Park.

Wherever it travelled, the most popular image in the 1919 exhibition was John Byam Lister Shaw’s “The Flag”. Byam Shaw had chosen to represent the sacrifice of the Canadian soldier by placing the body draped with the Canadian red ensign between the paws of the British lion and surrounded by those for whom the sacrifice had been made.

Particularly poignant is the fact that two of the models in the painting were to die in World War II and that they were both Byam Shaw’s sons.

The Flag
Click to see a larger image (159K)

The Flag, [ca. 1918] (detail)
After Byam Shaw
Reference Code: C 334-2-0-0-8
Archives of Ontario, I0013655

The Canadian War Museum in Ottawa has an extensive collection of the original works created for the Canadian War Memorial Fund project. They also hold several complete sets of souvenir prints. In addition, Art at the Service of War by Maria Tippett contains a good history of the program.

War Artists from the First World War: The Burlington House Exhibit - Page Banner
The War in the Air
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (395ko)

The War In the Air, 1917
d'après C.R.W. Nevinson
Code de référence : C 334-2-0-0-9
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0013656

Le fonds d'archives du Fonds de souvenirs de guerre canadiens (C 334) préservé par les Archives publiques de l’Ontario comprend une série incomplète de reproductions (un exemplaire de chacune des reproductions limitées imprimées) qui ont été présentées à l’exposition Canadian War Memorials Exhibition le 4 janvier 1919 à Burlington House à Piccadilly, à Londres.

Ces reproductions ont été créées dans le cadre d’une campagne de financement au profit du FSGC, et une édition limitée de cent épreuves a été mise en vente, soit directement pour les visiteurs de l’exposition, soit par le biais du BCAG.

L'affiche à droite, War in the Air par C.R.W. Nevinson’s, représente un combat aerien auquel a pris part un des héros les plus célèbres de l'aviation canadienne, Billy Bishop. L'original se trouve maintenant au Musée canadien de la guerre.

Un catalogue de souvenirs a été produit, dans lequel figuraient les œuvres mises en vente. Les œuvres d’art en question étaient des gravures des lieutenants Cyril H. Barraud, Gerard De Witt et Gyrth Russell ainsi que de l’artiste Caroline H. Armington.

View of the town of Meteren, south of Ypres, from the Canadian Bombing School, February, 1916
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (186ko)

View of the town of Meteren, south of Ypres, from the Canadian Bombing School
février 1916
Le lieut. C. H. Barraud
gravure
Code de référence : C 334-1-2-0-13
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003112

Le lieutenant De Witt (6e régiment de la batterie de siège canadienne) était l’un des artistes de guerre officiels attachés au Bureau canadien des archives de guerre, tout comme les lieutenants Barraud et Russell. L’artiste Caroline Armington, née à Brampton, en Ontario, demeurait quant à elle à Paris depuis 1900 ; elle est restée en France jusqu’à sa mort, en 1939.

Meteren
Œuvre du lieutenant C. H. Barraud

Étude charmante du village pittoresque de Meteren (au sud d'Ypres) vu de l'école de bombardement canadienne, réalisée à partir de divers croquis. Février 1916.



Mine Crater on the Road to Mons
Œuvre du lieutenant Gerard De Witt

Le sujet de cette gravure, scène familière pour tous les soldats qui ont marché jusqu'à Mons en passant par de nombreuses villes, est essentiellement typique. Elle illustre un cratère gigantesque s'étendant sur presque toute la largeur de l'étroit chemin, révélant également les dommages partiels subis par les maisons de chaque côté. Dans ce cas comme dans de nombreux autres, l'espace entre les murs des maisons et les bords affaissés du cratère suffisait tout juste pour faire passer les lourds canons. L'artiste a su traiter ce sujet de main de maître.

Mine crater on the road to Mons(?)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (247ko)

Mine crater on the road to Mons, [vers 1918]
Gerard de Witt
gravure
Code de référence : C 334-1-3-0-4
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0013636

En plus de ces gravures, certains grands tableaux présentés à l’exposition avaient été reproduits sur papier, et 300 épreuves signées par les artistes de chaque tableau étaient en vente. Neuf de ces images sont également incluses à cette exposition virtuelle.

Cette exposition comprend aussi les œuvres d’artistes canadiens tels que Dorothy Stevens, C.W. Jefferys, etc.

Ces images n’étaient pas incluses dans la trousse commémorative de 1919, mais ont très probablement été créées pour la collection du CWMF.

L’exposition de Burlington House a remporté un franc succès en tous points. Le centre d’attraction de l’exposition a été le dessin au fusain de 10 x 40 pieds d’Augustus John intitulé Canadians Near Lens. Pour les observateurs, ce dessin gigantesque représentait tout ce qu’on peut imaginer de la guerre. En plus des toiles, des aquarelles et des sculptures, cette exposition comprenait des gravures, des lithographies et des gravures à sec.

Munitions Heavy Shells
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (273ko)

Munitions Heavy Shells, 1919
Dorothy Stevens
gravure
Code de référence : C 334-1-5-0-18
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0013281

La publicité préliminaire assurée par les journaux, dont ceux de Lord Beaverbrook, a permis à l’exposition de connaître un succès tant financier que critique.

The Ramparts, Ypres - 1916
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (269ko)

The Ramparts, Ypres (used as Canadian brigade headquarters), juillet 1916
Le lieut. C. H. Barraud
gravure
Code de référence : C 334-1-2-0-1
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003103

Les soldats de retour au pays montraient avec enthousiasme les endroits où ils avaient été postés à leurs parents et amis, et comme la censure était souple en 1919, le public pouvait également voir, par l’intermédiaire des images présentées, des scènes de la guerre qu’on leur avait longtemps refusées.

The Ramparts, Ypres
Œuvre du lieutenant C. H. Barraud

Situés à environ 300 verges de la porte de Lille, ces remparts renferment de grandes salles d’environ 30 pieds de large et 16 pieds de haut aménagées dans toute l’épaisseur des remblais rivés de briques qui forment les anciens murs d’Ypres. À cet endroit, les remparts mesurent 150 pieds de large. À l’extérieur, ils présentent un mur solide en briques qui s’élève 30 pieds dans les airs à partir d’une douve.

L’histoire récente du Canada accorde beaucoup d’importance aux remparts d’Ypres, et la superbe gravure de M. Barraud reproduit l’entrée d’une des salles des remparts qui sert de poste de commandement des brigades.

Ce croquis a été réalisé en juillet 1916.

Il est à remarquer que les artistes britanniques dont les œuvres faisaient partie de l’exposition de Burlington House étaient beaucoup plus nombreux que les artistes canadiens. Mais il ne fait aucun doute que les œuvres des artistes canadiens telles que les 35 peintures à l’huile de M. Jackson et les grandes toiles de M. Varley ont reçu un accueil chaleureux et ont aidé ces artistes à acquérir une certaine réputation en Grande-Bretagne et au Canada en raison de leurs efforts.

L’exposition composée des œuvres d’art représentant seulement l’action en première ligne a été déménagée aux galeries Anderson de New York, où elle a une fois de plus connu un grand succès, visitée par des foules désireuses de voir les fameux dessins, peintures et sculptures et ce, même si aucune image ne reflétait la participation des États-Unis à la guerre.

De New York, l’exposition est passée à Toronto, et c’est en août 1919 qu’elle a été installée dans une galerie des beaux-arts agrandie de l’Exposition nationale canadienne (CNE). C’était la première fois que le public canadien pouvait admirer les œuvres dont on avait tant parlé et les juger par lui-même.

L’exposition de Toronto à connu un succès spectaculaire… plus de 100 000 personnes ont payé un billet d’entrée à la CNE pour y assister.

The Cloth Hall Ypres after J. Kerr Lawson
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (311ko)

The Cloth Hall Ypres, [vers 1918] (détail),
d'après J. Kerr Lawson
Code de référence : C 334-2-0-0-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0013649

L’exposition a ensuite été déménagée à Montréal, pour ensuite plonger dans une certaine obscurité, languissant dans divers caveaux d’entreposage avant d’arriver enfin au Musée canadien de la guerre d’Ottawa. Une autre exposition mettant en vedette les œuvres de 43 artistes et axée sur les activités du front domestique était également en circulation, après sa présentation initiale au musée des beaux-arts de Toronto (maintenant le Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario) à Grange Park.

Peu importe où l’exposition de 1919 était présentée, l’image la plus populaire était The Flag, de John Byam Lister Shaw. Ce dernier avait choisi de reproduire le sacrifice d’un soldat canadien en plaçant son corps drapé du pavillon rouge du Canada entre les griffes du lion britannique et en l’entourant des personnes pour lesquelles il s’était sacrifié.

Fait particulièrement émouvant, deux des modèles de cette peinture, qui allaient mourir au cours de la Seconde Guerre mondiale, étaient les fils de Byam Shaw.

The Flag
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (159ko)

The Flag, [vers 1918] (détail),
d'après Byam Shaw
Code de référence : C 334-2-0-0-8
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0013655

Le Musée canadien de la guerre à Ottawa présente une collection étendue des œuvres originales créées pour le projet du Fonds de souvenirs de guerre canadiens. Il comprend aussi plusieurs séries complètes de reproductions commémoratives. De plus, le livre Art at the Service of War (L’art au service la guerre) par Maria Tippett décrit bien l’histoire du programme.