War Artists from the First World War: Resources - Page Banner

Major Battles in which the Canadian Expeditionary Force Participated




Ypres – May 1915

Festubert and Givenchy – June 1915

St Eloi Craters – April 1916

Mount Sorrel – June 1916

Somme – July – November 1916

Vimy Ridge – April 1917

The Scarpe – April- May 1917

Passchendaele – October – November 1917

Amiens – August 1918

Arras – September 1918

Cambrai – September 1918

Capture of Valenciennes – November 1918

Sources

Dean F. Oliver, Laura Brandon. Canvas of War: Painting the Canadian Experience 1914 to 1945, Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2000.

The Canadian Who's Who, vol. ll. London: Times Publishing Co., 1936.

Colin S. Macdonald. A Dictionary of Canadian Artists, vols. 1-7, Ottawa: Canadian Paperbacks Publishing Ltd., various publication dates.

Maria Tippett. Art at the Service of War - Canada, Art, and the Great War, Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1984.

Rosemarie L. Tovell. A New Class of Art, The Artist's Print in Canada, 1877-1920, Ottawa: National Gallery of Canada, 1996.

The Artists

Caroline H. Armington (1875-1939)

Caroline Armington and her artist husband, Frank Armington (1876-1941) spent the majority of their working lives in France. Originally from Brampton, Ontario, the young artist made her living teaching art before training to be a nurse. In 1900 she made her first visit to Paris, returning there to live in 1905. With her husband’s encouragement she began making etchings in 1908. During WWI Armington put her nursing skills to good use for the American Ambulance Service; however, always entrepreneurial about promoting her work, she sought a commission from the Canadian War Memorials Fund. Following her appointment, she subsequently produced a full edition of prints, many of which reflected her skill with architectural subject matter.

Cyril H. Barraud (1877-1965)

British born Cyril Barraud arrived in Manitoba in 1913 and became a leading figure in the Winnipeg arts community. He served as President of the Manitoba Society of Artists and Craftsmen and in 1915 was a founder of the Winnipeg Art Club. An experienced artist and printmaker, Barraud’s skills were utilized at the front after his posting overseas in 1915 as a lieutenant with the 43rd Battalion of the Canadian Expeditionary Forces. Throughout 1916 and 1917 Barraud made sketches of the war-torn French countryside and when, in August of 1917, he was appointed to the Canadian War Memorials Fund, many of these sketches were executed as full print editions.

Edgar Bundy A.R.A. (1862-1922)

Edgar Bundy was one of the English artists commissioned to produce works for the Canadian War Memorials Fund. Around 1918 Bundy produced a large painting of the landing of the 3rd Canadian Infantry Brigade at St. Nazaire, France in 1915. Bundy’s print reproduces this stirring figurative work, which records the colourful entry of the band of the Black Watch overseen by Canadian generals and dignitaries and crowds of onlookers. Tied up at dock in the background is the steamship Novian.

Gerard de Witt

Originally from South Africa, Gerard de Witt enlisted in the Canadian Expeditionary Force in Halifax and travelled to France as a lieutenant in the 6th Canadian Siege Battery. Although not well known as a printmaker, de Witt’s etchings dramatically capture some of the most memorable scenes of the Canadian advance through Cambrai to Mons in the Fall of 1918.

Richard Jack A. R. A. (1866-1952)

Richard Jack was born in Sunderland, England in 1866. A trained artist, he soon established a reputation for his portraits, including those of the English and European monarchy. In November of 1916 Jack, who would not settle in Canada until 1930, received the first commission of the Canadian War Memorials Fund. Assigned the rank of major he left England for France where he recorded scenes of some of the most famous action undertaken by Canadian troops. The prints of the Second Battle of Ypres and Battle of Vimy Ridge reproduced his vast canvases, the latter being over 19 feet long.

C. W. Jefferys (1869-1951)

Charles William Jefferys is perhaps best known for his historical illustrations in school textbooks, magazines and newspapers. However, he was also an accomplished landscape painter, achieving particular renown for his prairie canvases. Born in England in 1869, Jefferys’ family came to Canada via Philadelphia in 1881. While ill health prevented Jefferys from going overseas as an official war artist, both he and Dorothy Stevens received commissions to document war preparations on the home front. Jefferys’ work focused on training camp activities in Petawawa, Niagara and Toronto. Although the artist had shown little interest in printmaking, his early experience as an apprentice at the Toronto Lithographic Company would prove useful in the execution of the transfer lithographs he made for the Canadian War Memorials Fund in 1919. Today, the life and work of this prolific artist is commemorated by an historic plaque located on the site of Jefferys’ house and studio in North York, Ontario.

C. R. W. Nevinson (1889-1946)

British artist C. R. W. Nevinson was born in London and studied at the Slade School of Art. In 1912 he moved to Paris to study at the Académie Julian, and is reputed to have shared a studio there with Modigliani. Nevinson’s early encounter with the war occurred in 1914-16 when he served with the Royal Army Medical Corps and the Red Cross as an ambulance driver. Later, in 1917, he was appointed an official war artist and returned to France where he creatively approached his subjects by making sketches from the air in planes and observation balloons. The print of Nevinson’s War in the Air reproduces his painting, now in the Canadian War Museum, of an aerial confrontation involving one of Canada’s most famous aviation heroes, Billy Bishop.

Gyrth Russell (1892-1970)

Dartmouth born Gyrth Russell attended the Victoria School of Art and Design in Halifax, Nova Scotia. Early on he demonstrated a strong interest and technical facility in printmaking. Further study in Boston and then Paris confirmed his stylistic affinity with the Impressionists which is particularly apparent in his coloured aquatints. In 1917, Russell was appointed to the Canadian War Memorials Fund along with fellow Canadian artists, A. Y. Jackson, Cyril Barraud and James Kerr Lawson. Assigned the rank of Lieutenant, Russell completed a full set of drypoint etchings for the Fund. On his discharge from the army, he settled permanently in England where he continued to paint and exhibit his work until his death in Penarth, Wales at the age of 78.

Dorothy Stevens (1888-1966)

Between 1904 and 1911 Toronto native Dorothy Stevens received her art training in some of the most prestigious schools of London and Paris. By the time of her return to Canada in 1911 she was well travelled and demonstrated a high level of skill in printmaking. In Toronto the artist continued to develop her reputation, garnering excellent exhibition reviews and a Silver medal at the Panama-Pacific International Exhibition in San Francisco for the 19 etchings she displayed there. In addition to her etchings, Stevens also acquired a reputation as a fine portrait artist and many of her works can be found today in the collections of the National Gallery of Canada and the Art Gallery of Ontario. In 1919, Stevens solicited a commission from the Canadian War Memorials Fund. This resulted in a set of etchings documenting the home front activities of the Toronto shipbuilding yards and the munitions workers at the British Forgings plant. At the close of the war, she returned again to Europe on a travelling scholarship to continue her art. Stevens died in Toronto in 1966 at the age of 78.

War Artists from the First World War: Resources - Page Banner

Les principales batailles auxquelles le Corps expéditionnaire canadien a pris part


Ypres – mai 1915

Festubert et Givenchy – juin 1915

Les cratères de St Éloi – avril 1916

Mont Sorrel – juin 1916

La Somme – juillet – novembre 1916

La crête de Vimy – avril 1917

La Scarpe – avril - mai 1917

Passchendaele – octobre – novembre 1917

Amiens – août 1918

Arras – septembre 1918

Cambrai – septembre 1918

La capture de Valenciennes – novembre 1918

Sources

Dean F. Oliver, Laura Brandon. Canvas of War: Painting the Canadian Experience 1914 to 1945, Vancouver: Douglas & McIntyre, 2000.

The Canadian Who's Who, vol. ll. London: Times Publishing Co., 1936.

Colin S. Macdonald. A Dictionary of Canadian Artists, vols. 1-7, Ottawa: Canadian Paperbacks Publishing Ltd., various publication dates.

Maria Tippett. Art at the Service of War - Canada, Art, and the Great War, Toronto, University of Toronto Press, 1984.

Rosemarie L. Tovell. A New Class of Art, The Artist's Print in Canada, 1877-1920, Ottawa: National Gallery of Canada, 1996.

 


Biographies des artistes

Caroline H. Armington (1875-1939)

Caroline Armington et son mari, l’artiste Frank Armington (1876-1941), ont passé la plus grande partie de leur vie professionnelle en France. Originaire de Brampton en Ontario, la jeune artiste Caroline Armington a enseigné les beaux-arts avant de suivre une formation en soins infirmiers. Elle a visité Paris pour la première fois en l’an 1900, et y est retournée en 1905 pour y vivre. Encouragée par son mari, elle s’est mise à faire des gravures en 1908. Elle a également su tirer parti de ses aptitudes en soins infirmiers en travaillant pour le service ambulancier américain durant la Première Guerre mondiale. Cependant, toujours désireuse de promouvoir son oeuvre, elle a offert ses services au Fonds de souvenirs guerre candiens. Suivant sa nomination, elle a produit une édition complète de reproductions, parmi lesquelles plusieurs révélaient une aptitude certaine pour les sujets architecturaux.

Cyril H. Barraud (1877-1965)

Né en Grande-Bretagne, Cyril Barraud est arrivé au Manitoba en 1913 et est progressivement devenu un personnage influent au sein de la communauté artistique de Winnipeg. Il a occupé le poste de président de la Manitoba Society of Artists and Craftsmen et a fondé le Winnipeg Art Club en 1915. Les talents de ce graveur artistique expérimenté ont été exploités sur le front en 1915 pendant son service à titre de lieutenant au sein du 43e bataillon du Corps expéditionnaire canadien. En 1916 et en 1917, M. Barraud a fait des croquis de la campagne française dévastée par la guerre. Lorsque ses services ont été retenus par le Fonds de souvenirs guerre candiens en août 1917, bon nombre de ses croquis ont été reproduits en éditions complètes.

Edgar Bundy A.R.A. (1862-1922)

Edgar Bundy est l’un des artistes anglais qui ont été embauchés par le Fonds de souvenirs guerre candiens. Vers 1918, M. Bundy a réalisé un grand tableau illustrant l’arrivée de la 3e brigade d’infanterie canadienne à St-Nazaire, en France, en 1915. La reproduction de cette œuvre figurative émouvante de M. Bundy recrée de façon colorée l’arrivée du régiment Black Watch sous les yeux de généraux et de dignitaires canadiens ainsi que d’une foule d’observateurs. On y peut voir le navire à vapeur Novian amarré à l’arrière-plan.

Gerard de Witt

Originaire d’Afrique du Sud, Gerard de Witt a servi dans les rangs du Corps expéditionnaire canadien à Halifax et a été lieutenant de la 6e batterie de siège canadienne en France. Malgré des talents artistiques peu connus, M. De Witt, par le biais de ses gravures, a su illustrer de façon spectaculaire certaines des scènes les plus mémorables de la marche des Canadiens de Cambrai à Mons à l’automne de 1918.

Richard Jack A. R. A. (1866-1952)

Richard Jack est né à Sunderland, en Angleterre, en 1866. Cet artiste aguerri a rapidement acquis une certaine notoriété pour ses portraits, y compris ceux qu’il a faits des membres de la monarchie anglaise et européenne. M. Jack, qui ne s’est établi au Canada qu’en 1930, a été en novembre 1916 le premier artiste embauché par le Fonds de souvenirs guerre candiens. Après avoir été nommé major, il a quitté l’Angleterre pour la France, où il a recréé certaines des campagnes les plus célèbres jamais entreprises par les troupes canadiennes. Les scènes de la seconde bataille d’Ypres et de la prise de la crête de Vimy, celle-ci mesurant plus de 19 pieds de long, constituent une reproduction de ses grands tableaux.

C. W. Jefferys (1869-1951)

Charles William Jefferys est probablement mieux connu pour ses illustrations historiques dans les manuels scolaires, les magazines et les journaux. Cependant, il était aussi un peintre paysagiste accompli, et ses toiles sur les prairies ont joui d’une certaine renommée. M. Jefferys est né en Angleterre en 1869, et a suivi sa famille jusqu’au Canada, en passant par Philadelphie, en 1881. Bien que sa mauvaise santé l’ait empêché de traverser l’océan pour devenir artiste de guerre officiel, les services de M. Jefferys, de même que ceux de Dorothy Stevens, ont été retenus pour reproduire les préparatifs de guerre sur le front domestique. Le travail de M. Jefferys était axé sur les activités des camps d’entraînement de Petawawa, de Niagara et de Toronto. Quoique cet artiste ne faisait preuve d’aucun intérêt marqué pour la gravure de reproduction, son expérience passée comme apprenti à la Toronto Lithographic Company s’est avérée utile lorsqu’il a dû transférer des lithographies pour le Fonds de souvenirs guerre candiens en 1919. Aujourd’hui, une plaque historique située à l’endroit où étaient érigés sa maison et son studio à North York, en Ontario, rappelle la vie et l’œuvre de cet artiste.

C. R. W. Nevinson (1889-1946)

L’artiste britannique C. R. W. Nevinson est né à Londres et a étudié à l’école des beaux-arts Slade School of Art. Il est déménagé à Paris en 1912 pour poursuivre ses études à l’Académie Julian, et on dit qu’il a partagé un studio avec Modigliani à cette époque. M. Nevinson a rapidement plongé dans le monde de la guerre en 1914-16 lorsqu’il a exercé les fonctions de conducteur d’ambulance pour le Royal Army Medical Corps et la Croix-Rouge. Plus tard, soit en 1917, il a été nommé artiste de guerre officiel et est retourné en France, où il a adopté une approche originale en effectuant ses croquis dans les airs, à partir d’avions et de ballons d’observation. L’œuvre intitulée War in the Air, qui se retrouve maintenant au Musée canadien de la guerre, est une reproduction de la peinture de M. Nevinson d’une bataille aérienne à laquelle a participé Billy Bishop, l’un des héros les plus populaires de l’aviation canadienne.

Gyrth Russell (1892-1970)

Né à Dartmouth, Gyrth Russell a étudié à l’école des beaux-arts Victoria School of Art and Design de Halifax, en Nouvelle-Écosse. Il n’a pas tardé à faire preuve d’un intérêt marqué pour la gravure de reproduction ainsi que d’une grande facilité technique dans ce domaine. Les autres études qu’il a entreprises à Boston puis à Paris ont confirmé ses affinités impressionnistes, qui sont particulièrement apparentes dans ses œuvres colorées à l’aquatinte. En 1917, M. Russell a été nommé membre du Fonds de souvenirs guerre candiens (FSGC) en compagnie des artistes canadiens A. Y. Jackson, Cyril Barraud et James Kerr Lawson. Promu au rang de lieutenant, M. Russell a effectué une série complète de gravures à sec pour le FSGC. Après avoir été démobilisé, il s’est établi en permanence en Angleterre, où il a continué à peindre et à exposer ses œuvres jusqu’à sa mort à Penarth, au pays de Galles, à l’âge de 78 ans.

Dorothy Stevens (1888-1966)

Native de Toronto, Dorothy Stevens a reçu sa formation artistique dans certaines des écoles les plus prestigieuses de Londres et de Paris entre 1904 et 1911. À son retour au Canada en 1911, elle avait déjà beaucoup voyagé et démontrait un niveau d’aptitude supérieur dans le domaine de la gravure de reproduction. C’est à Toronto que cette artiste a continué à soutenir sa réputation et à charmer la critique lors de ses expositions. Elle a d’ailleurs remporté la médaille d’argent à l’exposition internationale Panama-Pacific de San Francisco pour les 19 gravures qu’elle y avait exposées. En plus d’être reconnue pour ses gravures, Mme Stevens jouissait également d’une excellente réputation pour ses portraits, et l’on retrouve aujourd’hui bon nombre de ses œuvres au Musée des beaux-arts du Canada ainsi qu’au Musée des beaux-arts de l’Ontario. En 1919, Mme Stevens s’est adressée au Fonds de souvenirs guerre candiens, qui a retenu ses services pour une série de gravures reproduisant les activités des employés des chantiers navals de Toronto ainsi que celles des ouvrières de la fabrique de munitions British Forgings. À la fin de la guerre, elle a obtenu une bourse de voyage d’étude pour poursuivre son œuvre en Europe. Mme Stevens est décédée à Toronto en 1966, à l’âge de 78 ans.