War Artists from the First World War: The Canadian War Memorials Fund - Page Banner

Sir Max Aitken (who would become Lord Beaverbrook), a 39 year old Canadian had been serving as a British Member of Parliament since 1910. He returned to Canada in 1914 and offered his service to the Canadian government. Beaverbrook secured for himself the position of “Canadian Eye Witness” with the responsibility of reporting the activities of the Canadian Expeditionary Force.

The Canadian War Records Office (CWRO) was established by Beaverbrook in London as a way of documenting Canadian activities during the war and bringing those activities to the attention of the Canadian and British public.

Primarily the CWRO’s purpose was to garner support for the war and to encourage volunteers to join the Canadian forces. This was considered an important task as conscription did not occur in Canada until 1917.

In November 1916, Beaverbrook also established the Canadian War Memorials Fund (CWMF) to be administered by the CWRO. He recognized the importance of films and photographs for use in propaganda but felt that they couldn't capture the full truth about the war.

He wrote “only paintings could provide the most permanent and vital form in which the great deeds of the Canadian Nation in the war could be enshrined for posterity”. (pg 23, Tippett)

St. Jacques, Ypres
By Lieut. C. H. Barraud

A powerful etching of Ypres in the days of transition (May 4, 1916), after the early bombardments and before the entire city was reduced to a succession of rubble heaps with only a solitary wall a few feet high standing here and there. Nothing now remains of St. Jacques.

Remains of St. Jacques, Ypres - May 4, 1916
Click to see a larger image (163K)

Remains of St. Jacques, Ypres, May 4, 1916
Lieut. C. H. Barraud
Print
Reference Code: C 334-1-2-0-16
Archives of Ontario, I0003114

The CWMF became a system of patronage with Beaverbrook turning to artists and illustrators to document Canadian subjects. Artists that participated were deemed to be the “King’s Guests” and were given honorary commissions in the Canadian Corps and salaries from the Canadian Government. Expenses were covered by the CWRO.

This eventually led to the hiring of more than one hundred artists of many different nationalities and to the creation of hundreds of oil paintings, sketches, etchings, sculptures and watercolours depicting activities at the front as well as war related activities at home.

Third Canadian Stationary Hospital, France
Click to see a larger image (175K)

Third Canadian Stationary Hospital, France, 1918
After Gerald E. Moira
Reference Code: C 334-2-0-0-6
Archives of Ontario, I0013653

Beaverbrook’s initial expectation was that the contracted artists would all be British. He soon realized that there were Canadian artists with significant talent and they were soon contributing to the CWMF’s collection. Though Canadian artists were in the minority they acquitted themselves well with many memorable images being created by artists such as A. Y. Jackson, David Milne, Maurice Cullen, F. H. Varley and Arthur Lismer.

Beaverbrook wanted eyewitness records that were created spontaneously from sketches drawn on the spot; he therefore encouraged his artists to roam the front lines with freedom to go almost wherever they wanted. However, much to his frustration, only 4 artists were allowed at the front at any given time. This restriction remained in place until the beginning of 1918 when the number was raised to six.

The Road to Ypres Through Vlamertinghe
Click to see a larger image (263K)

The Road to Ypres through Vlamertinghe, [ca 1915]
Lieut. C.H. Barraud
Reference Code: C 334-1-2-0-20
Archives of Ontario, I0013633

This meant that many artists were held back and had to reconcile themselves to sketching behind the lines where they could be arrested as spies, bombed by German aircraft or experience the German artillerie's interest in a particular area they had chosen to sketch.

The Road to Ypres Through Vlamertinghe
By Lieut. C. H. Barraud

This village lies on the main Ypres-Poperinghe road about midway between the desert of Ypres and the half inhabited town of Poperinghe. Night and day traffic of war rumbled through it. This is a fine strong composition etched on a zinc plate, and somewhat suggestive in quality of the rich wood cuts of past ages.

The creation of CWMF was not the beginning of war artistry as many artists from the fighting armies sketched for reconnaissance purposes or just to while away the time. They designed honour rolls and war posters and donated pictures to worthy causes.

However the CWMF did offer the opportunity for many artists to complete work in different mediums when to do so might have been considered an unsuitable way of spending time and resources.

The Barrier, Mont St. Eloy
By Lieut. C. H. Barraud

Up to the date of the capture of Vimy Ridge, April 9th, 1917, the "Barrier" was the furthest point to which troops were allowed to go in daylight.

The Barrier, Mont St. Eloy, near Vimy Ridge - April 9, 1917
Click to see a larger image (230K)

The Barrier, Mont St. Eloy, near Vimy
Ridge, April 9, 1917
Lieut. C. H. Barraud
Print
Reference Code: C 334-1-2-0-11
Archives of Ontario, I0003110



Vlamertinghe, from the south west, August 1917
Click to see a larger image (231K)

Vlamertinghe, from the south west, August, 1917
Lieut. C. H. Barraud
Print
Reference Code: C 334-1-2-0-15
Archives of Ontario, I0003102

Vlamertinghe
By Lieut. C. H. Barraud

This is a delightfully delicate etching giving a view of Vlamertinghe from the South-West. The sketch for this etching was made in August, 1917, and the artist has faithfully recorded the beauty of the scene.

War Artists from the First World War: The Canadian War Memorials Fund - Page Banner

Sir Max Aitken (qui est devenu plus tard Lord Beaverbrook), un Canadien âgé de 39 ans, membre du parlement britannique depuis 1910, est revenu au Canada en 1914 pour offrir ses services au gouvernement canadien. On lui a alors assigné le mandat de « témoin canadien », sa responsabilité étant de rapporter les activités du Corps expéditionnaire canadien.

Le Bureau canadien des archives de guerre (BCAG) a été établi par Lord Beaverbrook à Londres pour documenter les activités canadiennes au cours de la guerre et rapporter ces activités aux publics canadien et britannique.

L’objectif du BCAG était principalement de solliciter l’appui des efforts de guerre et d’encourager des volontaires à se joindre aux rangs des forces canadiennes. Cette tâche était importante, car la conscription n’est apparue au Canada qu’en 1917.

En novembre 1916, Lord Beaverbrook a également fondé le Fonds de souvenirs de guerre canadiens (FSGC), qui était géré par le BCAG. Quoiqu’il reconnaissait leur importance aux fins de propagande, il savait que les films et les photographies ne disaient pas toute la vérité sur la guerre.

Voici ce qu’il a écrit : « les tableaux sont le format permanent et essentiell pour le rappel à la postérité des grands exploits de la nation canadienne au cours de la guerre »
(p. 27, Tippett - traduction libre).

St. Jacques, Ypres
Œuvre du lieutenant C.H. Barraud

Gravure saisissante d'Ypres durant la transition (4 mai 1916), après les premiers bombardements et avant que toute la ville soit réduite à un amas de décombres, reproduisant des murs solitaires de quelques pieds de haut s'élevant ici et là. Il ne subsiste rien de l'église St-Jacques.

Remains of St. Jacques, Ypres - May 4, 1916
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (163ko)

Remains of St. Jacques, Ypres
4 mai 1916
Le lieut. C. H. Barraud
gravure
Code de référence : C 334-1-2-0-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003114

Le FSGC est devenu un système de parrainage à mesure que Lord Beaverbrook demandait à des artistes et à des illustrateurs de documenter certains sujets canadiens. Les artistes participants étaient considérés comme des « invités du roi » et recevaient une charge honoraire au sein du Corps canadien ainsi qu’un salaire du gouvernement du Canada. Ces dépenses étaient remboursées par le BCAG.

Cette pratique a éventuellement mené à l’embauche de plus de cent artistes de nombreuses nationalités différentes ainsi qu’à la création de centaines de peintures à l’huile, de croquis, de gravures, de sculptures et d’aquarelles dépeignant les activités de guerre, tant à l’étranger que sur le front domestique.

Third Canadian Stationary Hospital, France, 1918
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (175ko)

Third Canadian Stationary Hospital, France, 1918 (détail)
d'apès Gerald E. Moira
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0013653

Lord Beaverbrook s’attendait d’abord à ne recruter que des artistes britanniques. Il s’est vite rendu compte que certains artistes canadiens avaient des talents considérables, et les a bientôt embauchés pour contribuer à la collection du FSGC. Quoique les artistes canadiens étaient en minorité, ils se sont démarqués en créant de nombreuses images mémorables. Parmi eux, notons A. Y. Jackson, David Milne, Maurice Cullen, F. H. Varley et Arthur Lismer.

Désirant des œuvres-témoins créées spontanément à partir de croquis pris sur le vif, Lord Beaverbrook encourageait ses artistes à se promener en première ligne et leur donnait la liberté d’aller presque partout où ils voulaient. Cependant, à sa plus grande frustration, seuls quatre artistes avaient la permission d’être en première ligne en tout temps. Cette restriction a été modifiée au début de 1918 pour permettre à six artistes plutôt qu’à quatre d’aller à leur guise en première ligne.

The Road to Ypres Through Vlamertinghe
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (263ko)

The Road to Ypres through Vlamertinghe, [vers 1915]
Le lieut. C.H. Barraud
Code de référence : C 334-1-2-0-20
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0013633

De nombreux artistes ont donc dû se résigner à faire leurs croquis derrière les lignes, où ils pouvaient être arrêtés et accusés d’être des espions, être bombardés par un avion allemand ou encore devenir la cible des artilleries allemandes à tout endroit qu’ils choisissaient de reproduire.

The Road to Ypres Through Vlamertinghe
Œuvre du lieutenant C. H. Barraud

Vlamertinghe se trouve sur le chemin principal d'Ypres-Poperinghe, à peu près à mi-chemin entre le désert d'Ypres et la ville à moitié désertée de Poperinghe. Ce village a vu défiler de nombreux guerriers, de jour comme de nuit. Cette œuvre superbe gravée sur une plaque de zinc rappelle quelque peu la qualité des anciennes gravures sur bois.

La création du FSGC ne marquait par le début des arts de la guerre, car de nombreux soldats des armées impliquées faisaient déjà des croquis à des fins de reconnaissance ou simplement pour tuer le temps. Ils ont créé des tableaux d’honneur et des affiches de guerre, et ont fait don de leurs images à des œuvres importantes.

Le FSGC a toutefois donné la chance à de nombreux artistes de travailler par l’entremise de médias différents, à un moment où de telles activités auraient pu être considérées comme inappropriées en matière de temps et de ressources.

The Barrier, Mont St. Eloy
Œuvre du lieutenant C. H. Barraud

Jusqu'à la prise de la crête de Vimy le 9 avril 1917, les troupes n'avaient pas la permission d'aller au-delà d'un certain point en plein jour. Cette barrière marquait le point à ne pas dépasser.

The Barrier, Mont St. Eloy, near Vimy Ridge - April 9, 1917
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (230ko)

The Barrier, Mont St. Eloy, near Vimy Ridge
9 avril 1917
Le lieut. C. H. Barraud
gravure
Code de référence : C 334-1-2-0-11
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003110



Vlamertinghe, from the south west, August 1917
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (231ko)

Vlamertinghe, from the south west, août 1917
Le lieut. C. H. Barraud
gravure
Code de référence : C 334-1-2-0-15
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003102

Vlamertinghe
Œuvre du lieutenant C. H. Barraud

Cette gravure délicate représente Vlamertinghe vue du sud-ouest. Le croquis qui a inspiré cette gravure a été réalisé en août 1917, et l'artiste a su recréer fidèlement tous les charmes de l'endroit.