The Changing Shape of Ontario: a Guide to Boundaries, Names and Regional Governments - Page Banner
 

Early Districts and Counties 1788-1899


In 1788 the government of the Province of Quebec and its successors (Upper Canada, Province of Canada and Ontario) began creating districts and counties to serve administrative needs at the local level.

Districts


Districts formed the basis for local administration and courts. The first districts, created in 1788, were:

Map of Ontario Districts - 1788
Click to see a larger image (K)

Province of Ontario, 1788
  • Hesse (renamed Western in 1792), comprised of the Lake Erie and Windsor areas. (Southwestern Ontario).

  • Nassau (renamed Home in 1792), comprised of the western Lake Ontario and Niagara areas. (South-Central Ontario).

  • Mecklenburg (renamed Midland in 1792), comprised of the eastern Lake Ontario area.

  • Lunenburg (renamed Eastern in 1792), comprised of the St. Lawrence-Quebec border area. (Eastern Ontario).

Counties


Upper Canada created the first counties in 1792 for election and militia purposes; they were also the basis for the surveying and creation of townships, and for land registration. Counties existed within the districts.

 Map of Ontario Counties, 1792
Click to see a larger version (49K)

Province of Ontario, 1792

As the population grew the original districts were renamed, expanded and subdivided. The Province of Canada established District councils in 1841 for municipal administration purposes.

When districts were abolished in 1849, county governments took on the responsibilities formerly borne by the district governments. However, the construction of the new county courthouses and administrative quarters took time. As a result, the transfer of judicial and administrative duties took several years and varied for each county. Also, some counties were "united" for administrative purposes for short periods of time.

In 1869 the government of Ontario began dividing Northern Ontario into districts beginning with the District of Muskoka. Unlike the earlier districts, it did not have a centralized government and existed only for the delivery of administrative and judicial services.

The creation of new counties and townships within them was completed by 1899.

For More Information on Districts and Counties


Click here for a table listing the Pre-1850 districts, their years of creation, and the counties that existed within each one.

Click here for a table listing the Pre-1850 counties, their years of creation, the counties from which they were separated and the pre-1849 districts of which they were a part.

In 1953 regional municipalities started replacing some counties. Click here for information on that process.

Click on one of the dates below to see maps showing the evolution of the district and county system from 1788 to 1899.

Note the following when researching records of early southern Ontario districts and counties:

  • Many pre-1830 boundaries were very fluid, especially when dealing with Aboriginal or unsurveyed Crown Lands. As settlement patterns shifted over time, many surveyed townships moved between the different counties and districts.

  • Some administrative records created by district authorities, such as marriage registers, include post-1849 information. Others, such as estate files, are arranged by county. As well, records of a given county may include records of its predecessor.

  • The borders and sizes of many counties have changed radically over time. For example, two of the counties created in 1792, Ontario and Suffolk, had ceased to exist by the end of the 18th century. In 1792, Lincoln County consisted of four isolated electoral ridings. In 1798, Kent County consisted only of today's Raleigh Township but, by 1834, it comprised the County's current boundaries and all of Lambton County. York County's West Riding was divided once in 1816 to form Gore District (later Halton, Wentworth, Waterloo and Wellington Counties) and again in 1851 to form Peel County.

  • Counties, districts and townships in different areas of the province may have shared the same name. For example, Victoria County is different from the earlier Victoria District. As well, the first Ontario County (islands on the Saint-Lawrence River) was not the same as the second Ontario County (east of York County).

  • Ontario's judicial districts do not always have the same territorial boundaries as their similarly named administrative counties or districts. For example, while Lincoln and Welland Counties amalgamated to form the Regional Municipality of Niagara, their separate courts continued to exist as the Niagara North and Niagara South Judicial Districts (for Lincoln and Welland respectively). Until May 1980, the York Judicial District continued to encompass the original York County stretching from Lake Ontario to Lake Simcoe, despite the lower third of the county becoming the Municipality of Metropolitan Toronto in 1953 and the remaining territory becoming the Regional Municipality of York in January 1971.

[Return to top of page]

L'Ontario en évolution : Guide des limites, des noms et des administrations régionales de l'Ontario
 

Premiers districts et comtés 1788-1899


En 1788, le gouvernement de la Province de Québec et les entités qui l'ont suivi (Haut-Canada, Province du Canada et Ontario) ont commencé à créer des districts et des comtés pour combler les besoins administratifs au niveau local.

Districts


Les districts étaient la base de l'administration et des tribunaux locaux. Les premiers districts, créés en 1788, étaient les suivants :

Map of Ontario Districts - 1788
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (58ko)

Province de l'Ontario, 1788
  • Hesse (renommé Western (Ouest) in 1792) comprenait les régions du lac Érié et de Windsor. (Sud-ouest de l'Ontario).

  • Nassau (renommé Home en 1792) comprenait les régions de l'ouest du lac Ontario et du Niagara. (Centre-Sud de l'Ontario).

  • Mecklenburg (renommé Midland en 1792) comprenait la région de l'est du lac Ontario.

  • Lunenburg (renommé Eastern (Est)en 1792) comprenait la région frontalière avec le Québec et la région du Saint-Laurent. (Est de l'Ontario).

Comtés


Le Haut-Canada a créé les premiers comtés en 1792 aux fins d'administration des élections et de la milice. Ceux-ci ont servi de base à l'arpentage et à la création des cantons, de même qu'à l'enregistrement foncier. Les comtés faisaient partie des districts.

 Map of Ontario Counties, 1792
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (49ko)

Province de l'Ontario, 1792

À mesure que la population a augmenté, les districts originaux ont été renommés, agrandis et divisés. La Province du Canada a mis en place des conseils de district en 1841 aux fins d'administration municipale.

Lorsque les districts ont été abolis en 1849, les administrations de comté ont assumé les responsabilités des administrations de district. Cependant, la construction des nouveaux palais de justice et bureaux administratifs des comtés a pris du temps. Par conséquent, le transfert des fonctions judiciaires et administratives a pris plusieurs années et variait pour chaque comté. De plus, certains comtés ont été « unifiés » à des fins administratives pour de brèves périodes.

En 1869, le gouvernement de l'Ontario a créé le district de Muskoka. Contrairement aux premiers districts, ce district ne comportait pas d'administration centralisée et n'existait que pour la prestation des services judiciaires et administratifs.

La création des nouveaux comtés et des cantons au sein de ceux-ci a été complétée en 1899.

Pour obtenir de plus amples renseignements sur les districts et comtés


Cliquez ici pour consulter un tableau comportant une liste des districts d'avant 1850 (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement, de leur année de création et des comtés qu'ils comprenaient).

Cliquez ici pour consulter un tableau comportant une liste des comtés, (Cette page est disponible en anglais seulement, de leur année de création et des comtés qu'ils comprenaient) de leur année de création, des comtés dont ils ont été séparés et des districts d'avant 1850 dont ils faisaient partie.

En 1953, des municipalités régionales ont commencé à remplacer certains comtés. Cliquez ici pour obtenir de l'information à ce sujet.

Cliquez sur l'une des dates ci-dessous pour consulter des cartes présentant l'évolution du système de districts et de comtés de 1788 à 1899.

Si vous effectuez des recherches sur les documents concernant les premiers districts et comtés du Sud de l'Ontario, prenez note de ce qui suit :

  • Nombre des limites d'avant 1830 fluctuaient beaucoup, surtout lorsque des terres de la Couronne non arpentées et des terres des autochtones étaient concernées. À mesure que les tendances du peuplement évoluaient, de nombreux cantons arpentés ont été transférés d'un comté et d'un district à l'autre.

  • Certains documents administratifs créés par les administrations de district, comme les registres de mariage, comprennent des renseignements postérieurs à 1849. D'autres, comme les dossiers de succession, sont classés selon le comté. De plus, les documents d'un comté donné peuvent comprendre des documents du comté le précédant.

  • Les limites et la superficie d'un grand nombre de comtés ont drastiquement changé au fil du temps. Par exemple, deux des comtés constitués en 1792, Ontario et Suffolk, avaient cessé d'exister à la fin du XVIIIe siècle. En 1792, le comté de Lincoln se composait de quatre circonscriptions électorales isolées. En 1798, le comté de Kent ne comprenait que le canton de Raleigh d'aujourd'hui, mais en 1834, il avait les mêmes limites qu'il a de nos jours et comprenait tout le comté de Lambton. La circonscription Ouest du comté de York a été divisée une fois en 1816 pour former le district de Gore (plus tard les comtés de Halton, de Wentworth, de Waterloo et de Wellington) et encore une fois en 1851 pour former le comté de Peel.

  • Les comtés, districts et cantons dans différentes régions de la province pouvaient avoir le même nom. Par exemple, le comté de Victoria était différent de l'ancien district de Victoria. De plus, le premier comté d'Ontario (composé d'îles sur le fleuve Saint-Laurent) n'était pas le même que le deuxième comté d'Ontario (à l'est du comté de Yorko).

  • Les districts judiciaires de l'Ontario n'ont pas toujours les mêmes limites que les districts et comtés administratifs du même nom. Par exemple, bien que les comtés de Lincoln et de Welland aient fusionné pour former la municipalité régionale de Niagara, leurs tribunaux distincts ont continué d'exister sous le nom de districts judiciaires de Niagara Nord (Lincoln) et de Niagara Sud (Welland). Jusqu'en mai 1980, le district judiciaire de York comprenait toujours le comté original de York, s'étendant du lac Ontario jusqu'au lac Simcoe, malgré que le tiers du comté (au sud) soit devenu la Municipalité de la Communauté urbaine de Toronto en 1953 et le reste du territoire soit devenu la municipalité régionale de York en janvier 1971.

[Retour au haut de la page]