CFPL Timeline - 1957


“Amid the cheers and noisy toasts, another year has been sent to join history. Now, as the world faces an infant year, is the time for reflection…. Nineteen fifty seven: what sort of year was it? In Western Ontario, it mixed triumph with tragedy, achievement with nostalgia, and progress with destruction. The forces of nature played a major role in shaping the events of the past 12 months. So did human frailty. …. This is nineteen fifty seven – revisited through the eyes of the CFPL newsreel cameras – which recorded the mighty and the humble --- the humorous and the awesome.”

Excerpt from year end script.

Images from CFPL News 1957

National and International News Stories of 1957:


  • Lester B. Pearson is awarded the Nobel Peace Prize for his work in helping diffuse the Suez Canal Crisis.

  • The Hospital Insurance and Diagnostic Services Act is passed by Parliament. This represents the beginning of Public Health Care in Canada.

  • The 23rd session of the Canadian Parliament is opened by Queen Elizabeth II. She is the first monarch to open Canadian Parliament in person.

  • Theodor (“Ted”) Seuss Geisel writes and illustrates a primer that endeavours to both entertain children and introduce them to new-reader words. Schools are reluctant to use the book but it appeals to parents and children alike. The book, “The Cat in the Hat” launches the career of “Dr. Seuss” who will become one of the most popular children’s writers of all time.

  • Sputnik 1 is launched by the Soviet Union with the intention of demonstrating the viability of artificial satellites. It also effectively launches the space race. A month later Sputnik 2 is launched carrying Laika, a dog who becomes the first living creature to enter space.

View Other Years:


Previous | Home | Next
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Story Citations:


Film footage

This Was 1957 – Year End Show 1957 (excerpts)
black and white 16mm motion picture film, silent and sound
Reference Code: F 4396-2-1-4
Archives of Ontario



Scripts

This Was 1957 – Year End Show 1957 (excerpts)
news script
Reference Code: F 4396-2-2
Archives of Ontario

Ligne du temps de CFPL - 1957 :


« Une autre année vient de se terminer dans les cris de joie et les toasts bruyants. L'aube d'une nouvelle année est le moment idéal pour faire le point. . . L’année 1957, quel type d’année était-ce? Dans l’ouest de l’Ontario, triomphes et tragédies se sont côtoyés, de même que les réalisations et la nostalgie, ainsi que le progrès et la destruction. Les forces de la nature ont joué un rôle majeur quant aux événements des 12 derniers mois. Tout comme la fragilité humaine. Voici 1957, vue par les yeux des caméras de CFPL, qui ont enregistré les puissants de ce monde et le grand public, les situations humoristiques et extraordinaires. »

Citation du script de fin d’année

Montage d'images pour 1957

Nouvelles nationales et internationales de 1957 :


  • Lester B. Pearson reçoit le prix Nobel de la paix pour son travail quant à la crise du canal de Suez.

  • Le Parlement adopte la Loi sur l'assurance-hospitalisation et les services diagnostiques. Il s’agit du début des soins de santé publique au Canada.

  • La 23e séance du Parlement canadien est ouverte par la reine Élizabeth II. Elle est le premier monarque à ouvrir en personne une séance au Parlement canadien.

  • Theodor (« Ted ») Seuss Geisel rédige et illustre un abécédaire qui vise à amuser les enfants et à leur faire découvrir des mots faciles. Les écoles hésitent à utiliser le livre, mais ce dernier attire les parents comme les enfants. Ce livre, The Cat in The Hat (Le chat dans le chapeau), lance la carrière du « Dr. Seuss », qui devient l’un des écrivains pour enfants les plus populaires de tous les temps.

  • L’Union soviétique lance Sputnik 1 dans le but de démontrer la viabilité des satellites artificiels. C’est également le signal de départ de la course de l’espace. Un mois plus tard, Sputnik 2 est envoyé dans l’espace avec à son bord un chien, Laika, le premier être vivant à entrer dans l’espace.

Voyez d’autres années


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Citations des histoires :


Métrage

C'était 1957 - bulletin de fin d'année 1957
film 16 mm noir et blanc, muet et sonore
Code de référence : F 4396-2-1-4
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Textes

C'était 1957 - bulletin de fin d'année 1957
texte de bulletins de nouvelles
Code de référence : F 4396-2-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario