CFPL Timeline - 1965


“ It’s the well-established custom of Channel Ten News to present a look back at each year as it ends. Tonight we’ll show you Western Ontario as it looked through the lenses of our news cameras in…. 1965…. Our editors have de-emphasized the steady, unhappy procession of fires and accidents that charred and scarred throughout the year. These events were vital when they happened, now, many would only be personal reminders of grief and tragedy. The emphasis accordingly, is on events that had wide effects….”

Images from CFPL News 1965

National and International News Stories of 1965:


  • The Canada-United States Automotive Agreement is signed. It removes tariffs between the two countries on cars, trucks, buses, tires, and automotive parts. The big three car makers (General Motors, Ford, and Chrysler) agree that automobile production in Canada will not fall below 1964 levels and that for every five new cars sold in Canada three will be made there.

  • The Shinkansen (bullet train) running between Tokyo and Osaka is the world's first high speed train. It reaches speeds of up to 200 km/h.

  • When a black driver is pulled over by white police officers in Watts, a black ghetto in South Central Los Angeles, spectators take exception. Onlookers hurl stones and insults at the police and these actions turn into full-scale riots. Known as the Watts Riots, the result was massive looting, vandalism and fires that burn for days.

  • The entire Northeast area of the United States and large parts of Canada lost power due an electrical transmission line relay failure. Some areas would be without power for days.

  • The first U.S. combat troops arrive in Vietnam as 3,500 Marines land at China Beach to defend the American air base at Da Nang. They join 23,000 American military advisors already in Vietnam.

View Other Years:


Previous | Home | Next
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Story Citations:


Film footage

This Was 1965 – Year End Show 1965 (excerpts)
black and white 16mm motion picture film, silent and sound
Reference Code: F 4396-2-1-12
Archives of Ontario



Scripts

This Was 1965 – Year End Show 1965 (excerpts)
news script
Reference Code: F 4396-2-2
Archives of Ontario

Ligne du temps de CFPL - 1965 :


« L’équipe des nouvelles du Canal 10 a pour coutume de présenter une récapitulation de chaque année qui se termine. Ce soir, nous vous montrerons l’Ouest ontarien tel que filmé par nos caméras en 1965. . .. Nos directeurs de l’information ne voulaient pas mettre l’accent sur la longue et triste suite d’incendies et d’accidents qui ont eu lieu tout au long de l’année. Ces événements étaient de grande importance quand ils se sont produits, mais ne feraient que ramener des souvenirs personnels de deuil et de tragédie. L’accent sera donc mis sur des événements qui ont eu des effets de grande portée. . . »
Montage d'images pour 1965

Nouvelles nationales et internationales de 1965 :


  • L’Accord sur l'automobile est signé par le Canada et les États-Unis. Il annule les tarifs entre les deux pays sur les voitures, les camions, les autobus, les pneus et les pièces automobiles. Les trois grands fabricants de voiture (General Motors, Ford et Chrysler) affirment que la production automobile au Canada ne diminuera pas sous les niveaux de 1964, et que pour chaque lot de cinq voitures vendues au Canada, trois seront fabriquées ici.

  • >Le Shinkansen (train à grande vitesse) reliant Tokyo à Osaka est le premier train à grande vitesse au monde. Il peut atteindre 200 km/h.

  • Lorsqu’un conducteur noir est arrêté par des policiers blancs à Watts, un ghetto de noirs du centre-sud de Los Angeles, les spectateurs en font cas et se mettent à lancer des pierres et des injures à la police. La situation donne lieu à une émeute massive, surnommée émeute de Watts. On y voit du pillage et du vandalisme de masse, de même que des incendies qui brûlent pendant des jours.

  • Tout le nord-est des États-Unis et une grande partie du Canada sont privés d’électricité lors d’une panne d’un relais de ligne électrique. Certaines régions sont privées d’électricité pendant des jours.

  • La première unité de combat des États-Unis arrive au Vietnam lorsque 3 500 marines débarquent sur une plage au bord de la mer de Chine pour défendre la base aérienne américaine à Da Nang. Ils rejoignent les 23 000 conseillers militaires américains déjà sur place.

Voyez d’autres années


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
1953 | 1954 | 1955 | 1956 | 1957 | 1958 | 1959 | 1960
1961 | 1962 | 1963 | 1964 | 1965 | 1966 | 1967 | 1968


Citations des histoires :


Métrage

C'était 1965 - bulletin de fin d'année 1965
film 16 mm noir et blanc, muet et sonore
Code de référence : F 4396-2-1-12
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Textes

C'était 1965 - bulletin de fin d'année 1965
texte de bulletins de nouvelles
Code de référence : F 4396-2-2
Archives publiques de l'Ontario