French Ontario in the 17th and 18th Centuries: Making Contact - Page Banner

Table of Contents


North America had been inhabited for thousands of years when the first Europeans arrived. Contact between the First Nations and the newcomers would have a profound impact on both cultures. The fur trade fuelled trans-atlantic trade, and the Europeans learned techniques that helped them adapt to the new land.

To the first inhabitants, contact brought goods previously unknown, but European diseases and the impact of ever-expanding white settlement dislocated and in some cases dispersed their societies. European attempts at converting First Nations to Christianity also changed their world.

For Europeans and First Nations alike, the mutual encounter meant meeting with the unknown. How they viewed each other greatly influenced their relations.

Champlain, Samuel de. Œuvres de Champlain / 2nd edition. - page 513
Click to see a larger image (196K)
Champlain, Samuel de.
Œuvres de Champlain / 2nd edition. Quebec : G.-É.
Desbarats, 1870. vol. 4, facing page 25.
Archives of Ontario Library, 971.011 CHB

Champlain, Samuel de. Œuvres de Champlain / 2nd edition. - page 569
Click to see a larger image (164K)
Champlain, Samuel de.
Œuvres de Champlain / 2nd edition. Quebec : G.-É. Desbarats, 1870. vol. 4, facing page 81.
Archives of Ontario Library, 971.011 CHB

The Europeans’ perception of First Nations was conditioned by their belief in the superiority of their culture and faith. Often, Aboriginals were depicted as uncivilized “Savages” and their religions as “devil-worshipping.”

More positive views, such as those of the French Jesuit Charlevoix in the early 18th century, sometimes emphasized the “natural” qualities of Aboriginals, in contrast to European “civilization” with its moral failings and quest for money.

“Most of them have a nobleness and an equanimity which we seldom reach despite all the help we can get from philosophy and religion. Always in control of themselves even in the most unexpected situations, one cannot notice the slight alteration of their expression (…) However, what is most surprising for men whose entire appearance is that of barbarians, is to see them treat each other with a kindness and a consideration that one cannot find in the people of the most civilized nations.”

Pierre-François-Xavier de Charlevoix.
Journal d’un voyage fait par l’ordre du roi dans l’Amérique septentrionale.
Paris : P. F. Giffart, 1744, vol. 6, p 8-12,.
Archives of Ontario library, 919 CHB

The Missions - Title Graphic

Converting “pagans” to the Christian faith was, with trade, the most important motive for French expansion in the interior. Missionaries attempted not only to convert the populations they encountered, but also to replace local cultures with French “civilization”.

One of the first historians of New France, Gabriel Sagard, wrote in 1636:

“There are others who travel the whole world (…) carrying the torch of the Gospel, following the commandment that the Saviour gave his Apostles. Go into all the world and preach the Gospel. It is for this last reason that of obedience to what is holy we took the trip to the Hurons and the Canadians (…) to come to the aid of our brothers in Canada, take the torch of the knowledge of the Son of God to them and chase away the darkness of barbarism and faithlessness.”

Sagard, Gabriel. Histoire du Canada et voyages que les frères mineurs
recollects y on faicts pour la conversion des infideles depuis l’an 1615.
Nouvelle édition/Paris: Librairie Tross, 1866. vol. 1, p. 22,
Archives of Ontario Library, 971.01 SAG 1 (translation)

One of the most important missions was to the Huron (Wendat) of the Georgian Bay area, an agricultural nation with strong ties to the French.


Recollets first came to Huronia in 1615, followed by the Jesuits in 1626. By 1648, the Jesuits had 25 missionaries living among the Huron people.

Sainte-Marie Among the Hurons, a small settlement built in 1639 in the heart of Huron country, served as a base for the missionaries, and was home to a small group of donnés, hired servants and soldiers.

Sainte-Marie thus became the first French settlement in the interior. It was comprised of a fortified European compound surrounded by a walled village servicing the needs of Huron converts to Christianity.

The photograph to the right shows canoes on the Wye River passing by a modern-day reconstruction of Sainte-Marie Among the Hurons.

Photo: Canoes on the Wye River, passing by Sainte-Marie among-the-Hurons, 1968
Click to see a larger image (104K)
Canoes on the Wye River, passing by
Sainte-Marie among-the-Hurons, 1968
Black and white photograph
Tourism promotion photographs
Reference Code RG 65-35-1, 5-C-1468
Archives of Ontario, I0017253

“This house is not meant to welcome our people only. It is a permanent meeting place for the neighbouring nations, particularly Christians, who come from everywhere with various needs, even to die in peace and in the true spirit of the Faith we had to build a hospital for the sick, a cemetery for the dead, a Church for the devotions of the public, a retreat for pilgrims, as well as a more isolated building where the infidels who pass through are allowed only during the day but may nevertheless receive a few good words for their salvation.”

Relation de ce qui s’est passé de plus remarquable en la
Mission des Pères de la Compagnie de Jésus, aux Hurons pais de la Nouvelle-France;
Depuis le mois de Juin de l’année 1642, jusqu’au mois de Juin de l’année 1643,
in The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites,
ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 26, p. 200 and 202
Archives of Ontario Library, 271.5 THW. (translation)


Photo: Church, Sainte-Marie-among-the-Hurons, 1968
Click to see a larger image (98K)
Church, Sainte-Marie-among-the-Hurons, 1968
Black and white photograph
Tourism promotion photographs
Reference Code RG 65-35-1, 3-E-0268
Archives of Ontario, I0017255

Despite efforts by the Jesuits to integrate Christian faith and native culture, their mission had mixed results, and only a minority – mostly the young and elderly – became Christians.

The Huron were divided between traditionalists hostile to the Jesuits and a minority “Christian party” supported by the French.

Both the Huron nation and the Jesuit mission were destroyed by the Iroquois between 1648 and 1650. A few hundred Huron took permanent refuge near Quebec and smaller groups scattered throughout the Great Lakes area, but most of the population was either killed or assimilated within the Iroquois Confederacy.


The Jesuits abandoned Sainte-Marie, then a second mission (Sainte-Marie II) built on an island in Georgian Bay. Eight Jesuits and donnés, killed between 1642 and 1649, were later canonized by the Catholic Church as the “Canadian Martyrs”.

The church to the right was built in 1926 in Midland, near Sainte-Marie among the Hurons to honour the martyrs.

Other missionary efforts were later undertaken, primarily near the most important trading posts. They met with mixed results and none had the same importance or impact as the Huronia mission.

Photo: The Martyr's Shrine, Midland, 1953
Click to see a larger image (198K)
The Martyr's Shrine, Midland, 1953
Department of Travel and Publicity, Publicity Branch
Transparency
Reference Code: RG 65-35-3, 11764-X2826
Archives of Ontario, I0005552


The Ontario government rebuilt Sainte Marie Among-the-Hurons during the 1960s as an interpretative tourist attraction. The photographs below show the reconstructed site.

Photo: Plan of Sainte-Marie-among-the-Hurons, 1964
Click to see a larger image (198K)
Plan of Sainte-Marie-among-the-Hurons, 1964
Black and white photograph
Tourism promotion photographs
Reference Code RG 65-35-1, 7-D-0664
Archives of Ontario, I0017254

Photo: Interior of the residence, Sainte-Marie among the Hurons, 1968
Click to see a larger image (105K)
Interior of the residence, Sainte-Marie
among the Hurons, 1968
Black and white photograph
Tourism promotion photographs
Reference Code: RG 65-35-1, 6-L-2568
Archives of Ontario, I0017256

Epidemics - Title Graphic

In addition to trade goods and their religion, Europeans brought diseases with them that were previously unknown to the New World. Previous isolation made First Nations extremely vulnerable to diseases, such as smallpox, to which Europeans were relatively immune.

Lethal epidemics first attacked coastal nations, the first to come into contact with Europeans. From them, the diseases moved to the interior, affecting local populations sometimes even before they came into contact with Europeans themselves.

The first reported epidemics in the Great Lakes area occurred in 1634, followed by four more in thirteen years. Some villages lost up to half of their population, at a time when European trade and missionary efforts were changing their world. A Jesuit missionary described the impact of the epidemics:

“It was so devastating for the Savages we knew that I do not know if any escaped its effects. All these poor people were greatly inconvenienced particularly in the fall, during the fishing season and the harvest. Several villages were buried under the snow and people died in great numbers; there are still some who have not recovered yet.”

Relation of Father Le Jeune, 1635,
in The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites,
ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company,
vol. 8, p. 88
Archives of Ontario Library, 271.5 THW. (translation)

The epidemics also affected relations between French and the First Nations, the latter blaming the diseases on the Europeans and their religion:

“The Algonquin and the Huron, followed by the Iroquois, enticed by their prisoners, feel great hate and horror towards our doctrine, saying that it causes their death and that it contains spells that cause the destruction of their villages and bring contagious, spreading diseases that are beginning to afflict the Iroquois.”

Relation de ce qui s’est passé en la Nouvelle-France sur le grand fleuve de
Saint-Laurens en l’année 1647,
in The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites,
ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 31, p. 120
Archives of Ontario Library, 271.5 THW. (translation)


Previous | Home | Next
Explorations | Detroit
Making Contact | Transitions | Resources and Trade
People, Places and Times | War and Defence | To Learn More

L'Ontario français durant les 17e et 18e siècles : Contact - bannière

Table des matières


L’Amérique du Nord était peuplée depuis des milliers d’années lorsque les premier Européens sont arrivés. Les contacts entre les Premières nations et les nouveaux venus eurent un profond impact sur les deux cultures. La traite des fourrures alimenta le commerce transatlantique, et les Européens apprirent des techniques qui facilitèrent leur adaptation à ces nouveaux territoires.

Aux premiers habitants du continent, le contact amena des produits inconnus jusque là, mais les maladies européennes et les effets d’un peuplement blanc toujours croissant disloquèrent leurs sociétés, et les décimèrent même dans certains cas. Les tentatives européennes de conversion des Premières nations laissèrent elles aussi leurs marques.

Pour les Européens comme pour les Autochtones, cette rencontre en était une avec l’inconnu, et l’impression que chaque groupe retint de l’autre influença grandement leurs relations.

Champlain, Samuel de. Œuvres de Champlain / 2e édition. Québec : G.-É. p. 513

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (196ko)
Champlain, Samuel de.
Œuvres de Champlain / 2e édition. Québec : G.-É.
Desbarats, 1870. vol. 4, face à la page 25.
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 971.011 CHB

Champlain, Samuel de. Œuvres de Champlain / 2e édition. Québec : G.-É. p. 569

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (164ko)
Champlain, Samuel de.
Œuvres de Champlain / 2e édition. Québec : G.-É. Desbarats, 1870. vol. 4, face à la page 81.
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 971.011 CHB

L’idée que les Européens se faisaient des Premières nations fut conditionnée par leur croyance en la supériorité de leur propre culture et de leur religion. Souvent, les Autochtones étaient représentés comme des « sauvages » adorateurs du Diable.

Une vision plus positive, comme celle du jésuite français Charlevoix au début du 18e siècle, mettait parfois l’accent sur les qualités « naturelles » des Autochtones, en contraste avec la « civilisation » européenne avec ses faiblesses morales et son appât du gain.

« La plupart ont véritablement une noblesse, & une égalité d’âme à laquelle nous parvenons rarement avec tous les secours que nous pouvons tirer de la Philosophie et de la Religion. Toujours maîtres d’eux-mêmes, dans les disgraces les plus subites, on n’aperçoit pas même sur leur visage la moindre altération (…) Mais ce qui surprend infiniment dans des Hommes, dont tout l’extérieur n’annonce rien que de Barbare, c’est de les voir se traiter entr’eux avec une douceur & des égards que l’on ne trouve point parmi le Peuple dans les Nations les plus civilisées »

Pierre-François-Xavier de Charlevoix.
Journal d’un voyage fait par l’ordre du roi dans l’Amérique septentrionale.
Paris : P. F. Giffart, 1744, vol. 6, p 8-12,.
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 919 CHB

Les Missions - bannière

La conversion des « païens » au christianisme était, avec le commerce, le principal objectif de l’expansion française dans l’intérieur. Les missionnaires cherchaient non seulement à convertir les populations qu’ils rencontraient, mais aussi à remplacer les cultures locales par la « civilisation » française.

Un des premiers historiens de la Nouvelle-France, Gabriel Sagard, écrivait en 1636 :

« Il y en a d’autres qui voyagent (…) pour porter le flambeau de l’Evangile par tout le monde suivant le commandement que le Sauveur donna à ses Apostres. Allez par tout le monde, & preschez l’Evangile à toute creature. C’est ce dernier motif qui sous la saincte obéissance nous a fait entreprendre le voyage des Hurons & des Canadiens (…) pour en secourant nos frères du Canada, y porter le flambeau de la cognoissance du fils de Dieu & en chasser les ténèbres de la barbarie et infidelité. »

Sagard, Gabriel. Histoire du Canada et voyages que les frères mineurs
recollects y on faicts pour la conversion des infideles depuis l’an 1615.
Nouvelle édition/Paris: Librairie Tross, 1866. vol. 1, p. 22,
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 971.01 SAG 1

Une des missions les plus importantes fut celle menée auprès des Hurons (Wendats) de la baie Georgienne, un peuple sédentaire fortement lié aux Français.


Les Récollets arrivèrent en Huronie en 1615, suivis des Jésuites en 1626. En 1648, 25 missionnaires jésuites vivaient parmi les Hurons.

Sainte-Marie-au-Pays-des-Hurons, un petit établissement fondé en 1639 au cœur du pays huron, servait de base aux missionnaires et abritait un petit groupe de donnés, de serviteurs et de soldats.

Sainte-Marie devint donc le premier établissement français de l’intérieur. Il était constitué d’une enceinte européenne fortifiée, entourée d’un village à palissade qui servait les Hurons convertis.

La photographie à droite montre des canots naviguant sur la rivière Wye, près d’une reconstitution moderne de Sainte-Marie-au-Pays-des-Hurons.

Photographie : Canots sur la Wye, passant près de Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, 1968

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (104ko)
Canots sur la Wye, passant près de
Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons , 1968
Photographie noir et blanc
Photographies de promotion touristique
Code de référence : RG 65-35-1, 5-C-1468
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0017253

« Cette maison n’étant pas seulement pour recevoir les nostres mais estant un abord continuel de toutes les nations voisines, & plus encore des Chrestiens qui y viennent de toutes parts pour diverses necessitez, mesme pour y mourir avec plus de repos d’esprit, & dans les veritables sentiments de la Foy, nous nous sommes vous obligez d’y faire un hospital pour les maladies, un cemetiere pour les morts, une Eglise pour les devotions du public, une retraite pour les pelerins, enfin un lieu plus separé où les infidels qui n’y sont admis que de jour au passage y puissent toutefois recevoir quelques bons mots pour leur salut. »

Relation de ce qui s’est passé de plus remarquable en la Mission des Pères
de la Compagnie de Jésus, aux Hurons pais de la Nouvelle-France;
Depuis le mois de Juin de l’année 1642, jusqu’au mois de Juin de l’année 1643,
dans The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites, ed.
Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 26, p. 200 et 202,
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 271.5 THW.


Photographie : Église, Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, 1968

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (98ko)
Église, Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, 1968
Photographie noir et blanc
Photographies de promotion touristique
Code de référence : RG 65-35-1, 3-E-0268
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0017255

Malgré les efforts des Jésuites pour intégrer le christianisme à la culture autochtone, leur mission eut un succès mitigé et seulement une minorité de Hurons – surtout les jeunes et les aînés – se convertirent.

Les Hurons étaient divisés entre traditionalistes hostiles aux Jésuites et un « parti chrétien » supporté par les Français.

La nation huronne et la mission jésuite furent toutes deux détruites par les Iroquois entre 1648 et 1650. Quelques centaines de Hurons se réfugièrent de façon permanente près de Québec et d’autres furent dispersés en petits groupes dans la région des Grands Lacs, mais la majorité de la population fut tuée ou assimilée par la confédération iroquoise.


Les Jésuites abandonnèrent Sainte-Marie, puis une seconde mission (Sainte-Marie II) située sur une île de la baie Géorgienne. Huit Jésuites et donnés, tués entre 1642 et 1649, furent plus tard canonisés par l’église catholique sous le vocable de « saints martyrs canadiens ».

L’église à droite fut construite en 1926 à Midland, près de Sainte-Marie-au-Pays-des-Hurons.

D’autres missions furent établies plus tard, habituellement près des principaux postes de traite. Leur succès fut mitigé, et aucune n’atteignit l’importance de la mission en Huronie.

Photographie : Le sanctuaire des martyrs, 1953

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (198ko)
Le sanctuaire des martyrs, 1953
Ministère du Tourisme et de la publicité,
Direction de la publicité
Diapositive
Code de référence : RG 65-35-3, 11764-X2826
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005552


Le gouvernement de l’Ontario a reconstruit Sainte-Marie-au-Pays-des-Hurons durant les années 1960 comme attraction touristique et site interprétatif. Les photographies ci-dessous montrent le site reconstruit.

Photographie : Plan de Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, 1964

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (199ko)
Plan de Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, 1964
Photographie noir et blanc
Photographies de promotion touristique
Code de référence : RG 65-35-1, 7-D-0664
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0017254

Photographie : Interior of the residence, Sainte-Marie among the Hurons, 1968

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (105ko)
Intérieur de la résidence,
Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, 1968
Photographie noir et blanc
Photographies de promotion touristique
Code de référence : RG 65-35-1, 6-L-2568
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0017256

Les épidémies - bannière

Les Européens amenaient avec eux non seulement des produits et leur religion, mais aussi des maladies jusqu’alors inconnues des Premières nations, comme la variole, contre lesquelles ils possédaient une relative immunité.

Des épidémies mortelles attaquèrent d’abord les nations côtières, les premières à entrer en contact avec les Européens. Les maladies se répandirent ensuite dans l’intérieur, affectant les populations locales, parfois avant même leur rencontre avec les Européens.

La première épidémie rapportée dans la région des Grands Lacs eut lieu en 1634, et fut suivie de huit autres sur une période de treize ans. Certains villages perdirent jusqu’à la moitié de leur population, au moment même où les missions et le commerce européens changeaient leur monde. Un missionnaire jésuite décrivit les effets des épidémies :

« Elle a été si universelle parmy les Sauvages de nostre cognoissance que je ne sçay si aucun en a quitté les atteintes. Toutes ces pauvres gens en ont été fort incommodez, notamment pendant l’Automne, tant en leurs pesches qu’en leurs moissons. Plusieurs bleds sont demeurez sous les neiges, grands nombres de personnes en sont mortes; il y en a encore à présent qui ne sont pas gueris. »

Relation du père Le Jeune, 1635,
dans The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites, ed. Cleveland:
Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 8, p. 88,
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 271.5 THW.

Les épidémies affectèrent les relations entre les Français et les Premières nations, ces dernières blâmant les Européens et leur religion pour les maladies dont elles étaient les victimes.

« Les Algonquins & les Hurons & ensuite les Hiroquois, à la solicitation de leurs captifs ont eu, & quelques-uns ont encore une haine & une horreur extrême de notre doctrine, disant qu’elle les fait mourir, & qu’elle contient des sorts et charmes qui causent la destruction de leurs bleds, & qui engendrent des maladies contagieuses et populaires dont maintenant les Hiroquois commencent d’être affligés. »

Relation de ce qui s’est passé en la Nouvelle-France sur
le grand fleuve de Saint-Laurens en l’année 1647,
dans The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites,
ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 31, p. 120,
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 271.5 THW.


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
Explorations | Détroit
Contact | Transitions | Ressources et commerce
Personnes, places et dates | Guerre et défense | Pour en savoir plus