French Ontario in the 17th and 18th Centuries: Transitions - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Letter The Ohio Valley and the Great Lakes were strategically important areas during the Seven Years War (1756-1763). After initial French success, the British destroyed Fort Frontenac in 1758 and captured Fort Niagara in 1759; other French posts in the interior were then either destroyed by French troops or surrendered with little resistance. By the First Treaty of Paris (1763), France ceded all its possessions east of the Mississippi (except the island of Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon) to Great Britain, while the area west of the Mississippi became Spanish.

For the Canadiens (as the descendants of the first French settlers were then called), the Conquest meant foreign rule, new criminal (and at first) civil law, and loss of access to part of the interior. The Great Lakes area was first (1763) designated as “Indian Territory”. It was then (1774) joined to the Province of Quebec and French civil law was re-introduced.

The American Revolution brought other changes. The Second Treaty of Paris (1783) acknowledged the independence of the United States and placed the new frontier along the centre of the Great Lakes. Loyalists migrated to the British colonies, resulting in the creation of Upper Canada (1791), which had an English-speaking majority and British Common Law.

Print: Quebec from the [Bason] [ca. 1780]
Click to see a larger image (601K)
A View of Quebec from the [Bason], [ca. 1780]
Engraver Unknown
Ontario Legislative Library print collection
Print
Reference Code: RG 49-33-0-0-33
Archives of Ontario, I0009136

Through those changes, some Canadiens continued to play a role in the economic and political life of what became Upper Canada. Here are some of their stories.

The Baby Family - Title Graphic

Letter AMontreal-born merchant by the name of Jacques Duperon Baby (1731-1789) settled in Detroit at the time of the Conquest. In partnership with his brothers in Montreal, he maintained a Canadien presence in the fur trade. Jacques’ role in Detroit was not limited to business. He also became a landowner and local official. He was appointed to the position of officer and interpreter in the Indian Department in 1777, and then militia captain and judge (1788).

Certificate appointing Jacques Duperon Baby to the rank of Militia Captain, 1788
Click to see a larger image (396K)
Certificate appointing Jacques Duperon
Baby to the rank of Militia Captain, 1788
Jacques Duperon Baby family fonds
Reference Code: F 2128, MU 18
Archives of Ontario

The Babys consolidated their economic position with alliances, both commercial and matrimonial, with Canadien and British families in Detroit and Montreal. Their descendants would continue to play a role in the political and economic life of both Upper and Lower Canada throughout the late 18th and 19th century; one of them was Jacques’ son, Jacques (James) (1763-1833).

The painting below depicts the opening of the first session of Upper Canada's Legislative Assembly. James Baby is the man identified by the yellow circle.

Painting: The First Legislature of Upper Canada, 1955
Click to see a larger image (427K)
The First Legislature of Upper Canada, 1955
F. S. Challener (1869-1959)
oil on canvas, 188.0 cm x 274.3 cm
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 619857

The first Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada, John Graves Simcoe, appointed James Baby to the first Executive and Legislative Councils in 1792. Between 1792 and 1830, he held more than 115 positions within the colonial administration, including those of militia captain, Justice of the Peace and Inspector General. Baby was also part of the Family Compact, the conservative-minded group that controlled Upper Canada’s political life during the first half of the 19th century .

Appointment of Jacques (James) Duperon Baby to the Legislative Council for Upper Canada, 1792
Click to see a larger image (387K)
Appointment of Jacques (James) Duperon Baby to the
Legislative Council for Upper Canada, 1792
Jacques Duperon Baby family fonds
Reference Code: F 2128, MU 18
Archives of Ontario

James’ success was not limited to politics. Despite losses when the British left Detroit in 1796 and again during the War of 1812, as well as the decline of the fur trade in the Great Lakes area, he maintained a solid financial position. At the time of his death, he owned lands in various parts of Upper Canada, mostly in the south-east and in York (Toronto).

Jean Baptiste Rousseau - Title Graphic

Letter Jean Baptiste Rousseau (1758-1812) was the son of a Montreal-born merchant, Jean-Bonaventure, who had built a trading post on the site of one of the old French forts of Toronto, in 1770 and served as an interpreter for the Indian Department.

Jean Baptiste too served as an interpreter, and then a merchant. He soon traded with the Mississaugas and the Six-Nations (Iroquois), in an area stretching from the Bay of Quinte to the Grand River. His marriage to Margaret Clyne, the white adopted daughter of Mohawk leader Thayendanegea (Joseph Brant), benefited Rousseau in his dealings with both the First Nations and the colonial authorities. Also to facilitate his dealings with authorities, Rousseau sometimes used an anglicized version of his name, John Baptist.

Marriage certificate, John Baptist Rousseau and Margaret Clyne, 1795
Click to see a larger image (182K)
Marriage certificate, John Baptist Rousseau and
Margaret Clyne, 1795
Jean Baptiste Rousseau family fonds
Reference Code: F 493, MS 7294
Archives of Ontario

Print: Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea), Chief of the Six Nations, [1780] (detail)
Click to see a larger image (163K)
Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea),
Chief of the Six Nations, [1780] (détail)
Print
Reference Code: S2076 Archives of Ontario, I0013621


Rousseau settled with his family on the site of his father’s store at Toronto, in 1792.

Drawing: York Harbour, [ca. 1796], Toronto, Ontario
Click to see a larger image (91K)ge (91K)
York Harbour, [ca. 1796], Toronto, Ontario
Elizabeth Simcoe
Drawing
Simcoe Family fonds
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-235
Archives of Ontario, I0007087

“When I found myself in the harbour of Toronto, we had gone under sail all night for as no person on board had never been at Toronto, Mr. Bouchette was afraid to enter the harbour till day height when St. John Rousseau, an Indian trader who lives near, came in a Boat to Pilot us.”

Entry for July 30 and 31, 1793, in
Elizabeth Simcoe diaries.
Simcoe family Fonds.
Reference Code: F 47-8-0-13, p. 19, MS 1810.

Two years later, Rousseau moved to Ancaster, where he built a general store and a mill. As well as owning properties in Ancaster, Rousseau owned properties on the Thames River. He continued to serve as an interpreter and became a tax collector and, as a militia officer, rose to the rank of lieutenant-colonel. Rousseau served in that capacity at the start of the War of 1812, but fell ill and died in November, 1812.

Laurent Quetton St. George - Title Graphic

Letter Laurent Quetton (1771-1821) was born in southern France. Opposed to the French Revolution, he fled France in 1791 and fought in émigrés regiments in Germany, the Netherlands and Brittany, rising to the rank of major. In 1795, he came to Great Britain, where he added St-George to his name.

In 1798, he joined a group of French royalists, led by the Comte de Puisaye, who had been authorized by the British government to settle in York County, Upper Canada. The choice of that site by the British served two purposes: locating the new settlers, who had military experience, near York (Toronto), and keeping them away from French-speaking populations in Lower Canada and Sandwich (Windsor). The settlement, named Windham after the British minister responsible for colonies, was a failure, as the French aristocrats who formed the core of the group of settlers could not adjust to their new life. By 1802, most had returned to Britain or turned their attention to other activities.

Certificate of service in the French Royalist Army, Laurent Quetton St. George, 1798
Click to see a larger image (353K)
Certificate of service in the French Royalist Army,
Laurent Quetton St. George, 1798
William Baldwin family fonds
Reference Code: F 17, MS 88
Archives of Ontario

The map below shows the site proposed for the French Royalist settlement of York County (circled). The inscription immediately below appears on the back of the map.

Map of Yonge Street Inscription

Map: [Yonge Street L. Ontario shewing the communications from York to Lake Simcoe with a project for settling the French Royalists] [Sgd]
Click to see a larger image (898K)
[Yonge Street L. Ontario shewing the communications from York to Lake Simcoe
with a project for settling the French Royalists] [Sgd]
D. W. Smith, Act. Sur. Gen.
Reference Code: A-15. AO 1406
Archives of Ontario

Quetton St. George moved to York and became a merchant. His business, specializing in imported goods, was soon one of the most important of Upper Canada, with branches in Amhertsburg, Dundas, Kingston and Niagara. He also acquired land in various parts of the colony. Although he was never integrated in York’s elite, he was well considered.

Certificate of good character for Laurent Quetton St. George, 1815 (seal)
Click to see a larger image
and a text version (226K)

Certificate of good character for Laurent Quetton St. George, 1815
Click to see a larger image
and a text version (258K)

Certificate of good character for Laurent Quetton St. George, 1815
William Baldwin family fonds
Reference Code: F 17, MS 88
Archives of Ontario

Quetton St. George traveled to France when the Monarchy was restored in 1815, entrusting his financial interests in Upper Canada to his associates William and John Baldwin and Jules-Maurice Quesnel. He had intended to return to York but finally settled in France. In 1820, he sold his shares in his business to his partners. His lands in Upper Canada, which he had willed to his son Henry, were confiscated by the government in 1831 as foreign-owned property.


Previous | Home | Next
Explorations | Detroit
Making Contact | Transitions | Resources and Trade
People, Places and Times | War and Defence | To Learn More

L'Ontario français durant les 17e et 18e siècles : Transitions - bannière

Table des matières


La vallée de l’Ohio et les Grands Lacs furent des régions stratégiquement importantes durant la guerre de Sept Ans (1756-1763). Après des succès français initiaux, les Britanniques détruisirent le fort Frontenac en 1758 et capturèrent le fort Niagara en 1759; les autres forts furent alors détruits par les troupes françaises ou se rendirent après un minimum de résistance. Par le traité de Paris (1763), la France céda à la Grande-Bretagne toutes ses possessions à l’est du Mississippi (sauf Saint-Pierre-et-Miquelon) et les territoires à l’ouest du Mississippi devinrent espagnols.

Pour les Canadiens, comme on appelait alors les descendants des premiers colons français, la Conquête signifiait une domination et des lois criminelles et (au début) civiles étrangères; elle représentait aussi la perte de l’accès à certaines parties de l’intérieur. La région des Grands Lacs fut d’abord désignée « territoire indien » (1763). Elle fut par la suite rattachée à la Province de Québec et le code civil français y fut restauré.

La Révolution américaine apporta d’autres changements. Le traité de Versailles vit la reconnaissance de l’indépendance des États-Unis et fixa la nouvelle frontière sur les Grands Lacs. Les Loyalistes émigrèrent vers les colonies britanniques, ce qui amena la création du Haut-Canada, avec une population majoritairement anglophone et la « Common Law » britannique.

Gravure : A View of Québec from the [Bason] [vers 1780]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (601ko)
A View of Québec from the [Bason] [vers 1780]
Graveur inconnu
Collection de gravures de la bibliothèque de l'Assemblée législative de l'Ontario
Gravure
Code de référence : RG 49-33-0-0-33
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0009136

À travers ces changements, des Canadiens continuèrent à jouer un rôle dans la vie économique et politique de ce qui devint le Haut-Canada. Voici l’histoire de quelques-uns d’entre eux.

 
La famille Baby - bannière

Un marchand montréalais nommé Jacques Duperon Baby (1731-1789) s’installa à Détroit à l’époque de la Conquête. En partenariat avec ses frères à Montréal, il maintint une présence canadienne dans le commerce des fourrures. Le rôle joué par Jacques à Détroit ne fut pas limité au commerce. Il devint également un propriétaire foncier et un fonctionnaire. Il fut nommé officier et interprète du département des Affaires indiennes en 1777, puis capitaine de milice et juge (1788).

Certificat d'attribution du rang de capitaine de milice à Jacques Duperon, 1788

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (396ko)
Certificat d'attribution du rang de capitaine de milice à Jacques Duperon Baby, 1788
Fonds Famille Jacques Duperon Baby
Code de référence : F 2128, MU 18
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Les Baby consolidèrent leur position économique par des alliances, tant commerciales que matrimoniales, avec des familles canadiennes et britanniques de Détroit et de Montréal. Leurs descendants continuèrent à jouer un rôle important dans la vie politique et économique du Haut comme du Bas-Canada à la fin du 18e siècle et tout au long du 19e; un d’entre eux était le fils de Jacques, Jacques (James) (1763-1833).

Le tableau ci-dessous dépeint l’ouverture de la première session de l’Assemblée législative du Haut-Canada. James Baby est l’homme dont la tête est encerclée.

Huile sur toile : Le premier Parlement du Haut-Canada

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (427ko)
Le premier Parlement du Haut-Canada, 1955
F.S. Challener (1869-1959)
huile sur toile, 188,0 cm x 274,3 cm
Collection d'oeuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario, 619857

Le premier lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada, John Graves Simcoe, nomma James Baby un des premiers membres des conseils exécutif et législatif en 1792. Entre 1792 et 1830, James détint plus de 115 postes au sein de l’administration coloniale, y compris ceux de capitaine de milice, juge de paix et inspecteur général des finances. Il faisait aussi partie du « Family Compact », le groupe conservateur qui contrôlait la vie politique du Haut-Canada durant la première moitié du 19e siècle.

Nomination de Jacques (James) Duperon Baby au sein du Conseil législatif du Haut-Canada, 1792

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (387ko)
Nomination de Jacques (James) Duperon Baby au sein du
Conseil législatif du Haut-Canada, 1792
Fonds Famille Jacques Duperon Baby
Code de référence : F 2128, MU 18
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Les succès de James ne furent pas limités à la politique. Malgré des pertes encourues lors de l’évacuation de Détroit par les Britanniques en 1796 puis durant la guerre de 1812, ainsi que le déclin du commerce des fourrures dans la région des Grands Lacs, Baby conserva une solide position financière. À sa mort, il possédait des terres dans diverses parties du Haut-Canada, notamment le sud-est et York (Toronto).

Jean Baptiste Rousseau - bannière

Jean Baptiste Rousseau (1758-1812) était le fils d’un marchand originaire de Montréal, Jean-Bonaventure, qui avait établit un comptoir de traite sur le site d’un des anciens forts français de Toronto, en 1770, et avait servi à titre d’interprète au sein du département des Affaires indiennes.

Jean Baptiste fut lui aussi un interprète et un marchand. Il commerça bientôt avec les Mississaugas et les Six-Nations (Iroquois), sur un territoire s'étendant de la baie de Quinte à la Grand. Son mariage avec Margaret Clyne, une femme blanche adoptée par le chef mohawk Thayendanegea (Joseph Brant) facilita ses relations tant avec les Premières nations qu’avec les autorités coloniales. C’est également afin de faciliter ses rapports avec les autorités que Rousseau utilisa occasionnellement une forme anglicisée de son prénom, John Baptist.

Certificat de mariage, John Baptist Rousseau et Margaret Clyne, 1795
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (182ko)

Certificat de mariage, John Baptist Rousseau
et Margaret Clyne, 1795
Fonds Famille Jean Baptiste Rousseau
Code de référence : F 493, MS 7294
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Gravure : Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea), Chief of the Six Nations, [1780] (détail)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (163ko)
Joseph Brant (Thayendanegea),
Chief of the Six Nations, [1780] (détail)
Gravure
Code de référence : S2076
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0013621


Rousseau s’installa avec sa famille sur le site du magasin de son père à Toronto, en 1792.

Dessin : York Harbour [July], [vers 1796], Toronto, Ontario

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (91ko)
York Harbour, [vers 1796], Toronto, Ontario
Elizabeth Simcoe
Dessin
Fonds Famille Simcoe
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-235
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007087

Quand je me rendis compte que nous étions dans le port de Toronto, nous avions navigué toute la nuit. Puisque personne à bord n’avait jamais été à Toronto, M. Bouchette avait peur d’entrer dans le port; cela dura jusqu’à midi, quand St. John Rousseau, un marchand des environs, vint en chaloupe pour nous piloter.

Inscription pour les 30 et 31 juillet 1793.
Journaux d’Elizabeth Simcoe
Fonds Famille Simcoe
Code de référence: F 47-8-0-13, p. 19, MS 1810
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Deux ans plus tard, Rousseau s’établit à Ancaster, où il bâtit un magasin général et un moulin. Il possédait des terres à Ancaster et sur la Thames. Rousseau continua à servir à titre d’interprète; il devint un collecteur d’impôt et, à titre d’officier de milice, accéda au rang de lieutenant-colonel. Rousseau servit à ce rang au début de la guerre de 1812, mais il tomba malade et mourut en novembre 1812.

 

Laurent Quetton St. George - bannière

Laurent Quetton (1771-1821) naquit dans le sud de la France. Opposé à la Révolution française, il quitta son pays en 1791 et combattit dans les rangs de régiments d’émigrés en Allemagne, aux Pays-Bas et en Bretagne, atteignant le grade de major. En 1795, il vint en Angleterre, où il ajouta St. George à son nom.

En 1798, il se joignit à un groupe de royalistes français, dirigés par le comte de Puisaye, qui avaient été autorisés par le gouvernement britannique à s’établir dans le comté de York, au Haut-Canada. Les Britanniques visaient un double objectif en choisissant cet emplacement : installer les nouveaux colons, des soldats d’expérience, près de York (Toronto) et les garder à distance des populations francophones du Bas-Canada et de Sandwich (Windsor). La colonie, nommée Windham en l’honneur du ministre britannique responsable des colonies, fut un échec, les aristocrates français qui formaient le noyau du groupe de colons ne parvenant pas à s’ajuster à leur nouvelle existence. En 1802, la plupart d’entre eux étaient retournés en Grande-Bretagne ou s’étaient tournés vers d’autres activités.

Certificat de service dans l'armée royaliste française, Laurent Quetton St. George, 1798

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (353ko)
Certificat de service dans l'armée royaliste française, Laurent Quetton St. George, 1798
Fonds Famille William Baldwin
Code de référence : F 17, MS 88
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

La carte ci-dessous montre le site proposé pour la colonie de royalistes français du comté de York (encerclé). L’inscription reproduite ici apparaît au verso de la carte.

L’inscription reproduite ici apparaît au verso de la carte

Carte : [Yonge Street L. Ontario shewing the communications from York to Lake Simcoe with a project for settling the French Royalists] [Sgd]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (88ko)
[Yonge Street L. Ontario shewing the communications from York to Lake Simcoe
with a project for settling the French Royalists] [Sgd]
D. W. Smith, Act. Sur. Gen.
Code de référence : A-15. AO 1406
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Quetton St. George s’établit à York et devint un marchand. Son commerce, spécialisé dans l’importation, devint bientôt l’un des plus importants du Haut-Canada, avec des succursales à Amhertsburg, Dundas, Kingston et Niagara. Il acquit également des terres dans diverses parties de la colonie. Même s’il ne fit pas partie de l’élite de York, il était tenu en estime.

Certificat de bon caractère émis pour Laurent Quetton St. George, 1815 (1)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement
et une traduction (226ko)

Certificat de bon caractère émis pour Laurent Quetton St. George, 1815 (2)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement
et une traduction (258ko)

Certificat de bon caractère émis pour Laurent Quetton St. George, 1815
Fonds Famille William Baldwin
Code de référence : F 17, MS 88
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Quetton St. George se rendit en France lorsque la monarchie y fut restaurée en 1815, confiant ses intérêts financiers à ses associés, William et John Baldwin et Jules-Maurice Quesnel. Il avait prévu retourner au Haut-Canada mais demeura finalement en France. En 1820, il vendit ses intérêts dans son commerce à ses partenaires. Ses terres dans le Haut-Canada, qu’il avait léguées à son fils Henry, furent confisquées par le gouvernement en 1831 comme propriétés étrangères.


Précédante | Page d'accueil| Suivante
Explorations | Détroit
Contact | Transitions | Ressources et commerce
Personnes, places et dates | Guerre et défense | Pour en savoir plus