French Ontario in the 17th and 18th Centuries: Detroit - Page Banner

Table of Contents


 

Few French lived permanently in the interior. The St. Lawrence Valley was far more attractive to farmers than the posts of the pays d’en haut because of their isolation and colonial policies that discouraged settlement west of the Montreal area.

However, some disbanded soldiers or retired voyageurs settled near the most important forts, such as Fort Frontenac, Michilimakinac and Fort Niagara. Although seigneuries were created, these communities had no more than a few families. Detroit was the exception.

Plan of the Town of Detroit and Fort Lernoult, situated on the strait between Lakes Erie and Huron. . . taken from actual survey, 1792
Click to see a larger image (303K)
Plan of the Town of Detroit and Fort Lernoult, situated on the strait between Lakes Erie and
Huron . . . taken from actual survey, 1792
Simcoe family fonds
Plan
Reference Code: F 47-5-1-0-11
Archives of Ontario, I0004756

The Beginnings - Title Graphic

The site of Detroit offered many benefits for the French from a strategic and commercial point of view. The commander of Michilimakinac, Antoine Laumet de Lamothe Cadillac, convinced the French government to establish a fort and settlement and, in 1701, he arrived at Detroit with a small group of settlers and soldiers. They built a small fort that Cadillac named Pontchartrain after the French minister responsible for colonies. The following year, the first French women in the interior joined the settlement. Another group of settlers arrived in 1706.

“We chose to situate it [the fort of Detroit] where the River was as narrow as a shotgun bullet will fly while everywhere else it is a good half of a quarter mile wide: and for those who choose to live in the Post, the land is very beautiful and appropriate to build a city later on. The various things one finds in this Land make it very pleasant; the Climate is temperate, like in Touraine ; and Winter (according to the Savages), lasts only six weeks. It is wonderful to see the banks of this River lined with an infinite number of apple trees, many plum trees of various kinds, chestnuts, walnut trees and hazelnut trees; and vines, which are one of its most beautiful ornaments …

If we continue this settlement, it will prevent the English from coming to take it so they can take from us the trade with the Nations of the north, harness the Iroquois and prevent our Allies from doing their duties, whom it will be much easier to Frenchify and introduce the Gospel to if they are in the proximity of the French.”

Relation du Détroit, extraite d’une lettre écrite à Monsieur De Pontchartrain, [1701],
Percy James Robinson fonds
Reference Code: F 1080, series III-F (Detroit), MU 2414.
Archives of Ontario

Relation du Détroit, extraite d’une lettre écrite à Monsieur De Pontchartrain, [1683?] - Page 2
Click to see a larger image (544K)
Relation du Détroit, extraite d’une lettre écrite à Monsieur De Pontchartrain, [1683?] - Page 3
Click to see a larger image (212K)
Relation du Détroit, extraite d’une lettre écrite à Monsieur De Pontchartrain, [1683?] - Page 4
Click to see a larger image ( 168K)

Life in Detroit was hard for the first few years and few settlers came. First Nations groups were invited to establish villages near the settlement, but this exacerbated ongoing conflicts and led to new ones. They were also encouraged to bring their furs to Detroit instead of using more northerly routes, but this inadvertently helped the British by making it easier for British merchants on the upper Ohio River and the Iroquois to trade with the western nations, which hurt the commerce in Detroit.

In New France authorities were concerned with these problems and thought the settlement would fail. But Detroit managed to survive its difficult beginnings and its importance as a trading and military post grew steadily, largely as a result of the increased strategic role of the French in the lower Great Lakes area and a stronger French military presence in the interior. Missions were established in neighbouring First Nations villages, which increased Detroit's importance.

Fur merchants and retired soldiers also contributed to the town’s population growth, and its farms produced enough food to supply some of the outlying posts. By mid-century, Detroit had become well established as one of the main fur trading posts in the interior and as an important base of operations for the French military.

The Second Birth - Title Graphic

In 1749, French authorities decided to increase the population of Detroit for strategic reasons: a large agricultural colony could supply all the posts of the interior, while a strong military presence would reinforce the French position in the Lower Great Lakes and Upper Mississippi. The Crown offered free land, farm equipment and transportation to families willing to move to Detroit.

Louis Gervais was one of the settlers who came from the Montreal area to Detroit in 1749. This certificate signed in 1766 by local notary Robert Navarre, states that Gervais was granted land by the King and had paid all annuities since.

Land certificate, Robert Navarre to Louis Gervais, 1766
Click to see a larger image (110K)
Land certificate, Robert Navarre to Louis Gervais, 1766
Hiram Walker Museum Collection
Reference Code: F 378, 20-95
Archives of Ontario


Map: La rivière du Détroit depuis le lac Sainte-Claire jusqu’au lac Érié, 1764
Click to see a larger image (560K)
Bellin, Charles-Nicholas. La rivière du Détroit depuis le lac Sainte-Claire jusqu’au lac Érié, 1764
Reference Code: C 78-06, AO 6699
Archives of Ontario

The white population increased from less than 500 in 1750 to more than 800 in 1765. Detroit had become the largest town between Montreal and New Orleans. Some of the new concessions were located at the “Petite côte”, on the south shore of the Detroit River, opposite Fort Pontchartrain. This site would eventually become part of Windsor, Ontario.

This 1764 map shows the Detroit River, the cultivated lands on both sides of the river, First Nations villages as well as a detailed view of the fort, which had in fact become a small town.

British Detroit - Title Graphic

The British acquisition of New France (1763) marked the beginning of three decades that would profoundly change the Detroit area.

First Nations of the interior opposed British rule and the end of French trading practices that had favoured them. In 1763, Detroit successfully resisted a siege by a coalition of First Nations led by Pontiac, a leader of the Ottawa nation . Over the following decades, First Nations which had settled in the missions near Detroit sold some of their lands and would eventually move to reservations.

Drawing: Plan of elevation for a building for the reception of Indians at Detroit submitted to His Excellency Lieutenant Governor Simcoe, [ca. 1790]
Click to see a larger image (64K)
Plan of elevation for a building for the reception
of Indians at Detroit submitted to His Excellency
Lieutenant Governor Simcoe, [ca. 1790]
Drawing
Creator unknown
Simcoe Family fonds
Reference Code: F 47-1-2-45
Archives of Ontario, I0005434

Land deed, Pottawatomi Nation to Jacques Godefroy, 1776 -  Page 1
Click to see a larger image (165K)

Land deed, Pottawatomi Nation to Jacques Godefroy, 1776 -  Page 2
Click to see a larger image (133K)

Land deed, Pottawatomi Nation to Jacques Godefroy, 1776
Hiram Walker Museum Collection
Reference Code: F 378, 20-100
Archives of Ontario


The Canadiens had to contend with a foreign administration and system of laws. As well, British administrators, farmers and traders moved to Detroit and competed for local dominance. However, the Canadiens continued to play an important role in trade and in local administration thanks to their relationship with the First Nations and alliances with prominent British families.

The American Revolution (1775-1783) and the Second Treaty of Paris, which ended it, had tremendous effects on Detroit. A new border separated Detroit, now an American city though still occupied by British troops, from the settlement at Petite côte (renamed Sandwich) which remained British.

Loyalists moved to British possessions, including Sandwich, leading to the creation of Upper Canada in 1791.

By then, the land situation was complex. British land grants to Loyalists were not always properly documented, and the terms of some of the land transactions with First Nations were unclear.

Some Canadien farmers could not produce written proof of their legal entitlement to their land. The Hesse District Land Board, which was appointed in 1789 to handle land issues in an area including Sandwich and Detroit, obtained in 1791 a copy of a register of French regime grants, which it included in its records. This register, reproduced to the right and below, enabled many farmers to prove ownership.

Register, Land Board, District of Hesse, No. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264 [Page 258]
Click to see a larger image (178K)

Register, Land Board, District of Hesse, No. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264 [Page 259-60]
Click to see a larger image (K)

Register, Land Board, District of Hesse, No. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264 [Pages 261-62]
Click to see a larger image (359K)

Register, Land Board, District of Hesse, No. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264 [Pages 263-64]
Click to see a larger image (324K)

Register, Land Board, District of Hesse, No. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264
Hesse District Land Board Records
Reference Code: RG 1-178, Ms 693, reel 180


These two surveyor plans show land ownership in parts of Sandwich at the time.

Canadien and British farmers were neighbours, and lots were the long, narrow, river-fronted strips characteristic of the St. Lawrence Valley instead of the square British lots found elsewhere in Upper Canada.

McNiff, P. Township plan, Sandwich, [179-]
Click to see a larger image (335K)
McNiff, P. Township plan, Sandwich, [179-]
Township plans
Reference Code: RG 1-470-0-223, AO 6701
Archives of Ontario

Smith, T. Township plan, Sandwich West, 1794
Click to see a larger image (339K)
Smith, T. Township plan, Sandwich West, 1794
Township plans collection
Reference Code: C 277-1-368-0-1, AO 6700
Archives of Ontario

The Jay's Treaty (1794) formally ended British occupation of Detroit and other forts of the interior. The Americans took possession of the town in 1796. Many of the prominent families of Detroit moved across the river to Sandwich.


Previous | Home | Next
Explorations | Detroit
Making Contact | Transitions | Resources and Trade
People, Places and Times | War and Defence | To Learn More

L'Ontario français durant les 17e et 18e siècles Détroit - bannière

Table des matières


Peu de Français vivaient dans l’intérieur. La vallée du Saint-Laurent attirait les fermiers beaucoup plus que les comptoirs de l’intérieur, en raison de l’isolement de ceux-ci et des politiques coloniales décourageant le peuplement à l’ouest de la région de Montréal.

Cependant, des soldats démobilisés et des voyageurs à la retraite s’établirent près des forts les plus importants, comme Fort Frontenac, Michilimakinac et Fort Niagara. Malgré la création de seigneuries, ces collectivités ne comptaient que quelques familles. Détroit était l’exception à la règle.

Carte : Plan of the Town of Détroit and Fort Lernoult, situated on the strait between Lakes Erie and Huron. . . taken from actual survey, 1792

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (303ko)
Plan of the Town of Détroit and Fort Lerncult,
situated on the strait between Lakes Erie and
Huron, 1 août 1792
Elizabeth Simcoe
Fonds Famille Simcoe
Carte
Code de référence : F 47-5-1-0-11
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0004756

Les débuts - bannière

Le site de Détroit offrait de nombreux avantages aux Français sur les plans stratégique et commercial. Le commandant de Michilimakinac, Antoine Laumet de Lamothe Cadillac, convainquit le gouvernement français d’établir un fort et une colonie à Détroit et il y arriva en 1701 avec un petit groupe de colons et de soldats. Ils bâtirent un petit fort nommé Pontchartrain en l’honneur du ministre français responsable des colonies. L’année suivante, les premières femmes françaises dans l’intérieur se joignirent à la colonie. Un autre groupe de colons vint s'établir en 1706.

« On a observé de le mettre [le fort de Détroit] dans le plus êtroit de la Riviere, qui est d’une portée de fusil, ayant par tout ailleurs un bon demy quart de lieue: et si on habite le Poste le terrain y est tres beau pour y bâtir dans les suites une grande ville. Les différentes choses qui se rencontrent en ce Pays la rendent tout a fait agreeable; le Climat y est aussi temperé qu’en Touraine; et l’Hyver (au dire des Sauvages) ne dure que six semaines. C’est un charme de voir cette Riviere bordé d’un nombre infiny de pommiers, de quantité de pruniers de plusieurs especes, de Chateigniers, de Noyers et de Noisetiers de France; et d’y rencontrer la vigne qui en fait un des plus beaux ornaments (…)

Si l’on continue cet etablissement, ce sera le moyen d’empescher l’Anglois de venir s’en emparer, pour nous enlever le Commerce des Nations d’en haut, de brider les Iroquois et de contenir nos Alliés dans leurs devoir, lesquels il sera bien plus aisé de franciser et de leur annoncer l’Evangile par la proximité des François. »

Relation du Détroit, extraite d’une lettre écrite à Monsieur De Pontchartrain, [1701]
Fonds Percy James Robinson
Code de référence : F 1080, série III-F (Détroit), MU 2414
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Relation du Détroit, extraite d’une lettre écrite à Monsieur De Pontchartrain, [1683?] - Page 1

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (108ko)

Relation du Détroit, extraite d’une lettre écrite à Monsieur De Pontchartrain, [1683?] - Page 2
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (544ko)
Relation du Détroit, extraite d’une lettre écrite à Monsieur De Pontchartrain, [1683?] - Page 3
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (212ko)
Relation du Détroit, extraite d’une lettre écrite à Monsieur De Pontchartrain, [1683?] - Page 4
Cliquer pour un agrandissement ( 168ko)

Les premières années, la vie était difficile à Détroit, et peu de colons vinrent s'y établir. Des Premières Nations furent invitées à établir des villages près de la colonie, mais des conflits déjà existants furent exacerbés et d'autres surgirent. Les Premières Nations furent également encouragées à amener leurs fourrures à Détroit au lieu d'emprunter des routes plus au nord. Toutefois, cette décision profita par inadvertance aux Britanniques en facilitant le commerce avec les nations de l'Ouest pour les marchands britanniques sur le haut-Ohio et pour les Iroquois, ce qui nuisait au commerce à Détroit.

Les autorités de la Nouvelle-France étaient inquiètes en raison de ces problèmes et pensaient que la colonie serait un échec. Mais Détroit réussit à survivre ses débuts difficiles et son importance à titre de comptoir de traite et de poste militaire grandit, en grande partie en raison de la croissance du rôle stratégique des Grands Lacs inférieurs et d'une présence militaire francaise plus forte dans l'intérieur. Des missions furent établies dans les villages des Premières Nations près de Détroit, ce qui accrut l'importance de la ville.

Des marchands de fourrures et des soldats à la retraite contribuèrent à la croissance de la population de la ville, et les fermes produisaient assez de nourriture pour ravitailler certains des comptoirs. Au milieu du siècle, Détroit était devenu un des principaux comptoir de traites de l'intérieur et une importante base d'opérations pour les forces françaises.

La renaissance - bannière

En 1749, les autorités françaises décidèrent d’accroître la population de Détroit pour des raisons d’ordre stratégique : une vaste colonie agricole pourrait approvisionner tous les comptoirs de l’intérieur et une forte présence militaire renforcerait la position française sur les Grands Lacs inférieurs et le haut-Mississippi. La Couronne offrait gratuitement des terres, des instruments agricoles et le transport aux familles désireuses de s’établir à Détroit.

Louis Gervais était un des colons venus de la région de Montréal pour s’établir à Détroit en 1749. Ce certificat signé en 1766 par le notaire local Robert Navarre indique que Gervais s’était vu concéder une terre et s’était depuis acquitté de toutes ses redevances annuelles.

Certificat foncier, Robert Navarre à Louis Gervais, 1766

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (110ko)
Certificat foncier, Robert Navarre à Louis Gervais, 1766
Collection Musée historique Hiram Walker
Code de référence : F 378, 20-95
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


 
Carte : La rivière du Détroit depuis le lac Sainte-Claire jusqu’au lac Érié, 1764

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (560ko)
La rivière du Détroit depuis le lac Sainte-Claire
jusqu’au lac Érié, 1764
Bellin, Charles-Nicholas
Code de référence : C 78-06, AO 6699
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

La population blanche passa de moins de 500 en 1748 à plus de 800 en 1765. Détroit était devenu le plus important établissement entre Montréal et la Nouvelle-Orléans. Certaines des nouvelles concessions se situaient à la Petite côte, sur la rive sud de la Détroit face au fort Pontchartrain. Ce site allait plus tard faire partie de la ville de Windsor.

Cette carte de 1764 montre la Détroit, les terres cultivées sur ses deux rives, les villages des Premières nations et une vue plus en détail du fort, qui était en fait devenu une petite ville.

 

La période britannique - bannière

L’acquisition de la Nouvelle-France par les Britanniques, en 1763, fut le point de départ de trois décennies qui allaient profondément changer la région de Détroit.

Les Premières nations de l’intérieur s’opposèrent à la domination britannique et à la fin des pratiques commerciales françaises qui les favorisaient. En 1763, Détroit résista avec succès à un siège par une coalition de Premières nations menée par Pontiac, un membre influent du peuple Outaouais. Au cours des décennies suivantes, les Premières nations établies dans les missions près de Détroit vendirent une partie de leurs terres et allèrent s’établir dans des réserves.

Dessin : Plan of elevation for a building for the reception of Indians at Détroit submitted to His Excellency Lieutenant Governor Simcoe, [vers 1790]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (64ko)
Plan of elevation for a building for the reception
of Indians at Détroit submitted to His Excellency
Lieutenant Governor Simcoe, [vers 1790]
Dessin
Créateur inconnu
Fonds Famille Simcoe
Code de référence : F 47-1-2-45
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005434

Instrument de cession de terres, nation pottawatomi à Jacques Godefroy, 1776 -  Page 1

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (165ko)

Instrument de cession de terres, nation pottawatomi à Jacques Godefroy, 1776 -  Page 2
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (133ko)

Instrument de cession de terres, nation pottawatomi à Jacques Godefroy, 1776
Collection Musée historique Hiram Walker
Code de référence : F 378, 20-100
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Les Canadiens devaient composer avec une administration et un système légal étrangers. De plus, des administrateurs, des fermiers et des marchands britanniques vinrent s’établir à Détroit et leur disputèrent la suprématie locale. Les Canadiens continuèrent toutefois à jouer un rôle important dans le secteur commercial et l’administration locale, grâce à leurs relations avec les Premières nations et des alliances avec d’importantes familles britanniques.

La Révolution américaine (1775-1783) et le traité de Versailles qui y mit fin, eurent d’énormes conséquences pour Détroit. Une nouvelle frontière sépara la ville, devenue américaine mais toujours occupée par les Britanniques, de la Petite côte (renommée Sandwich) qui demeurait britannique.

Les Loyalistes s'installèrent dans les possessions britanniques, y compris Sandwich, ce qui mena à la formation du Haut-Canada en 1791.

Le statut des terres était alors confus. Les concessions britanniques aux Loyalistes n’étaient toujours bien documentées, et les dispositions de certaines transactions foncières avec les Premières nations étaient peu claires.

Certains fermiers canadiens ne pouvaient pas fournir des preuves écrites de leurs droits fonciers. Le comité de gestion des terres du district de Hesse, nommé en 1789 pour s’occuper des questions relatives aux terres dans un territoire incluant Sandwich et Détroit, obtint en 1791 une copie d’un registre des concessions de terres sous le régime français et l’inclut dans ses propres documents. Le registre en question, reproduit à droite et ci-dessous, permit à de nombreux fermiers de prouver qu’ils étaient propriétaires.

Registre, Comité de gestion des terres du district de Hesse, no. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264 [Page 258]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (178ko)
Registre, Comité de gestion des terres du district de Hesse, no. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264 [Page 259-60]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (295ko)

Registre, Comité de gestion des terres du district de Hesse, no. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264 [Pages 261-62]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (359ko)
Registre, Comité de gestion des terres du district de Hesse, no. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264 [Pages 263-64]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (324ko)

Registre, Comité de gestion des terres du district de Hesse, no. 2 (1790-1792), p. 258-264
Dossiers du Comité de gestion des terres du district de Hesse
Code de référence : RG 1-178, MS 693, bobine 180
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Ces deux plans d’arpenteurs illustrent la propriété des terres dans deux parties différentes de Sandwich à l’époque.

Les fermiers canadiens et britanniques étaient voisins et les lots étaient des bandes de terre longues et étroites caractéristiques des terres de la vallée du Saint-Laurent au lieu des lots carrés que l’on trouvait ailleurs au Haut-Canada.

McNiff, P. Plan de canton, Sandwich, [179-]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (335ko)
McNiff, P. Plan de canton, Sandwich, [179-]
Plans de cantons
Code de référence : RG 1-470-0-223, AO 6701
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Smith, T. Plan de canton, Sandwich West, 1794

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (339ko)
Smith, T. Plan de canton, Sandwich West, 1794
Collection des plans de canton
Code de référence : C 277-1-368-0-1, AO 6700
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Le traité de Jay (1794) mit officiellement fin à l’occupation britannique de Détroit et des autres forts de l’intérieur. Les Américains prirent possession de la ville en 1796. De nombreuses familles importantes de Détroit déménagèrent de l’autre côté de la rivière, à Sandwich.


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
Explorations | Détroit
Contact | Transitions | Ressources et commerce
Personnes, places et dates | Guerre et défense | Pour en savoir plus