French Ontario in the 17th and 18th Centuries: War and Defense - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Much of the history of New France was marked by war or the threat of war with First Nations or the British. The need to prevent attacks by hostile First Nations and to check British expansion, combined with commercial interests, resulted in the building of forts throughout the interior.

By the mid-18th century, the entrances to New France were in British hands, but the French presence was still felt throughout the Great Lakes area, the Ohio Valley and along the Mississippi River.

A Colony at War -  Title Graphic

When Champlain originally founded Quebec, he became involved in wars between First Nations. In 1609, he joined the Algonquin and other nations in their alliance against the Iroquois. The battle illustrated below, which took place in 1609 at Lake Champlain, was the precursor to wars in which the Iroquois fought the French and their First Nations allies for most of the 17th century.

Drawing: Deffaite des Yroquois au lac Champlain. (Detail)

Click to see a larger image (718K)
Deffaite des Yroquois au lac Champlain. (Detail)
In Champlain, Samuel de. Œuvres de Champlain / 2nd edition.
Quebec : G.-É. Desbarats, 1870. vol. 3, facing page 196.
Archives of Ontario Library, 971.011 CHB

These wars caused the weakening or destruction of most First Nations of the Great Lakes and Upper Ohio areas. French settlers lived in fear of the next Iroquois attack.

French offensives against the Iroquois could be devastating as well, as shown in this account of a 1687 campaign:

“...we marched straight to the first villages, which are only half a league away [2 kilometres]. We found them abandoned and almost reduced to cinders, as the enemy had set them on fire before leaving. Since we found no one to fight, we began to destroy the Indian corn in the field and to burn the corn in the village and that stored in a fort made of large posts, build on a very well-placed hill, where the enemy had wanted to organize their defence . Then we moved on to other villages, 4 leagues [16 kilometres] beyond the first ones. We found them abandoned, but not reduced to cinders ... The destruction of the Indian corn will probably inconvenience the Iroquois greatly and it is possible that many will die of starvation …”

Letter from Reverend Father Bechefer (Quebec) to Monsieur Cabart de Villermont,
September 19, 1687,
in The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites,
ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 63, p. 274 and 276,
Archives of Ontario Library, 271.5 THW (translation).


The Great Peace of Montreal (1701) ended the French-Iroquois war. The expansion of French trade and alliances during the 18th century would result in wars with some First Nations west and south of the Great Lakes, but their impact would be mostly limited to the interior.

The British Conflict - Title Graphic

France’s other great enemy in North America was Great Britain and for most of the 18th century the two nations were at war either directly or indirectly through their allies.

Alliances with First Nations, conflicting economic interests, and European rivalry would contribute to the tension.

The Hudson Bay area, because of its importance as a route to the interior, was one of the first areas of direct conflict. In 1686, a French expedition sent overland from Montreal attacked British forts on Hudson and James Bays. One of the posts captured was Moose Factory, shown here as it appeared in the 19th century.

Photo: Old Factory House in the winter in Moose Factory, [ca. 1967]
Click to see a larger image (212K)
Old Factory House in the winter in
Moose Factory, [ca. 1867]
Photographer unknown, possibly Bernard Rogan
Ross or Charles George Horetzky
Captain Traill Smith photograph collection
Black and white photograph
Reference Code: F 2179-2-0-0-18
Archives of Ontario, I0005074

Print: Moose Factory, 1854
Click to see a larger image (208K)
Moose Factory, 1854
William Trask, artist
Ford and West, lithographers
Print
Archives of Ontario documentary art collection
Reference Code: C 281-0-0-0-31
Archives of Ontario, I0003085


The commander of the expedition, the Chevalier de Troyes, left a colourful account of it. Here is how he described the capture of Fort Rupert on July 3rd, 1686.

“I gave the order ... to march, and it was executed in the best possible order. We followed the edge of the water in total silence until, having arrived very close, I ordered the detachment to stop and ordered the canoes to go take the ship… My men kept firing and to add to the din, I wanted to add my two canons which with a loud boom, pierced through the gate of the redoubt towards which I had aimed them. On the other hand, the sapper was ready to give them a taste of his trade, when the English called for mercy.”

Journal de l’expédition du Chevalier de Troyes à la Baie d’Hudson en 1686/édité
et annoté par Ivanhoé Caron. Beauceville, Quebec, L’Éclaireur, 1918, p. 75-76,
Archives of Ontario Library, 971.03 TRO (translation)

Hudson Bay forts would change hands a number of times during the wars of the League of Augsburg (1689-1697) and Spanish Succession (1701-1713). The Treaty of Utrecht (1713) awarded them, along with Acadia (current day Nova Scotia) and Newfoundland, to Great Britain. French and British would fight two other wars, the War of Austrian Succession (1741-1748) and the Seven Years War (1756-1763), the latter resulting in France’s loss of its North American colonies.

Forts and Trading Posts - Title Graphic

Commercial and strategic imperatives led the French to build a network of forts and trading posts throughout the interior. The aims were to control the fur trade, assist allied First Nations and threaten hostile ones, provide support to explorers and missionaries, and prevent English trade and influence.

The first forts, built between the 1660’s and the end of the century, were for the most part abandoned as a result of the Iroquois wars and French attempts to redirect trade towards Montreal. After the Treaty of Utrecht, the need for expansion to counter the growing British presence in the interior led to more forts and posts being built or re-built.

Photograph: Midland - Ste. Marie Among the Hurons - remain of old canon.
Click to see a larger image (45K)
Midland - Ste. Marie Among the Hurons -
remain of old canon.
Black and white negative
Tourism promotion photographs
Reference Code: RG 65-35-1, 29-I-2568
Archives of Ontario

By 1755, there were French forts and trading posts as far west as today’s Saskatchewan and Kansas. On the Great Lakes, Forts Frontenac (now Kingston), Niagara, Michilimakinac, Detroit and, to a lesser degree, Rouillé (Toronto), were important transit points for merchants, soldiers and administrators. The lower Great Lakes and Ohio Valley were a strategic area, linking New France and Louisiana, and which could block British expansion.

Map: Mid 18th Century French, British and Spanish Forts and Settlement

Note: The map legend refers to the settlements as the existed in the mid-1750s. Click on the map to learn more about the forts and settlements.


French forts and settlements

  1 - Louisbourg
  2 - Quebec
  3 - Trois-Rivières
  4 - Montreal
  5 - Fort Chambly
  6 - Fort Carillon
  7 - Fort Frontenac
  8 - Fort Rouillé
  9 - Sainte-Marie Among
      the Hurons (1639-1648)
10 - Fort Niagara
11 - Détroit
12 - Michilimakinac
13 - Sault Ste. Marie
14 - Fort Kaministiquia
15 - Fort Duquesne
16 - Fort Miami
17 - Fort Vincennes
18 - Kaskaskia
19 - Mobile
20 - New Orleans

French Flag

British forts and settlements

A - Halifax
B - Annapolis
C - Boston
D - Fort William-Henry
E - Albany
F - New York
G - Oswego
H - Philadelphia
I  - Fort Cumberland
J - Jamestown
K - Williamsburg
L - Charleston
M - Savannah
N - Pickawillany
O -Moose Factory

Spanish settlement

SA - St. Augustine

Union Jack Spanish Flag


To see an animated map that details the territorial evolution of North America though the 17th and 18th centuries, click here.

Map: Territorial Evolution of North America in the 17th and 18th Centuries


Fort Frontenac, first built in 1673 and re-built in 1693, was originally a trading post, military outpost against the Iroquois and exploration base. Its location at the entrance of the St. Lawrence made it a key transit point between Montreal, Detroit and the Ohio Valley. This 1784 plan shows the site of the fort, still in use by the British after the Conquest.

Plan of Old Fort Frontenac and Town Plot of Kingston, October 15, 1784
Plan of Old Fort Frontenac and Town Plot of Kingston, October 15, 1784
Surveyed by John Frederick Holland
Town and city plan collection
Reference Code: C 295-1-75-0-1, AO 1380
Archives of Ontario


Previous | Home | Next
Home | Explorations | Detroit
Making Contact | Transitions | Resources and Trade
People, Places and Times | War and Defence | To Learn More

Next: Detroit Previous: Transitions See St. Augustine See Moose Factory See Pickawillany See Savannah See Charleston See Jamestown See Williamsburg See Fort Cumberland See Philadelphia See Oswego See New York See Albany See Fort William-Henry See Boston See Annapolis See Halifax See New Orleans See Mobile See Kaskaskia See Fort Vincennes See Fort Miami See Fort Duquesne See Fort Kaministiquia See Sault Ste. Marie See Michilimakinac See Détroit See Fort Niagara See Sainte-Marie Among the Hurons (1639-1648) See Fort Rouillé See Fort Frontenac See Fort Carillon See Fort Chambly See Montreal See Trois-Rivières See Quebec See Louisbourg

L'Ontario français durant les 17e et 18e siècles : Guerre et défense - bannière

Table des matières


Pendant la majeure partie de son histoire, la Nouvelle-France fut en guerre ou sous la menace d’une guerre avec les Premières nations ou avec les Britanniques. Le besoin de prévenir des attaques par des Premières nations hostiles et de contenir l’expansion britannique, combinée avec les intérêts commerciaux, eurent pour résultat la construction de forts sur divers sites de l’intérieur.

Au milieu du 18e siècle, les entrées du continent étaient aux mains des Britanniques mais la présence française se faisait toujours sentir dans la région des Grands Lacs, la vallée de l'Ohio et le long du Mississippi.

Une colonie en guerre - bannière

Quand Champlain fonda Québec, il se retrouva au milieu des guerres entre Premières nations. En 1609, il se joignit à l’alliance unissant les Algonquins et d’autres nations contre les Iroquois. La bataille illustrée ci-dessous, qui eut lieu cette année-là au lac Champlain, fut à l’origine des guerres que les Iroquois allaient livrer au Français et à leurs alliés pendant la majeure partie du 17e siècle.

Dessin : Deffaite des Yroquois au lac Champlain. (Détail)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (718ko)
Deffaite des Yroquois au lac Champlain. (Détail)
Dans Champlain, Samuel de. Œuvres de Champlain / 2e édition.
Québec : G.-É. Desbarats, 1870. vol. 3, face à la page 196.
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 971.011 CHB

Ces guerres entraînèrent l’affaiblissement ou la destruction de la plupart des Premières nations de la région des Grands Lacs et de la haute vallée de l’Ohio. Les colons français vivaient dans la crainte de la prochaine attaque iroquoise.

Les offensives françaises pouvaient être tout aussi dévastatrices, comme l’illustre ce compte-rendu d’une campagne en 1687 :

« (...) on marcha en bataille droit aux premieres bourgades, qui n’en sont éloignées que d’une demi lieue [2 kilomètres]. On les trouva abandonées et presque reduites en cendres, les ennemis y ayant mis le feu avant que de les quitter villages, Comme on y en trouva point a combattre, on se mit a faire le degast des bles d’Inde dans les champs et a bruler celui qui etoit dans les bourgades et celui qui avoit été transporté dans un fort de gros pieux, bati sur une hauteur fort avantageuse, ou les ennemis avoient eu envie de se defendre. On passa ensuite aux autres bourgades, éloignées des premieres de 4 lieues [16 kilomètres], on les trouva abandonées mais non réduites en cendres (...) Le degast qu’on a fait des bles d’Inde est capable de beaucoup incommoder les.Iroquois, et il ne se peut pas que la faim n’en fasse perir plusieurs (…) »

Lettre du Révérend frère Bechefer (Québec) à Monsieur Cabart de Villermont,
19 septembre 1687,
dans The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/Ruben Gold Twaites,
ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 63, p. 274 et 276,
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 271.5 THW.

La grande paix de Montréal (1701) mit fin aux guerres franco-iroquoises. L’expansion du commerce et des alliances françaises au cours du 18e siècle mena à des guerres avec certaines des Premières nations à l’ouest et au sud des Grands Lacs, mais leur impact fut surtout limité à l’intérieur.

 

Le conflit avec les Britanniques - bannière

L’autre adversaire majeur de la France en Amérique du Nord était la Grande-Bretagne et les deux pays furent en guerre pendant la majeure partie du 18e siècle, soit directement soit par l’intermédiaire de leurs alliés.

Les alliances avec les Premières nations, les intérêts économiques rivaux et les rivalités européennes contribuèrent à la tenson entre les deux pays.

La région de la baie d’Hudson, en raison de son importance comme voie d’accès vers l’intérieur, fut l’une des premières régions à connaître un conflit direct entre les deux nations. En 1686, une expédition partie de Montréal se rendit par voie terrestre attaquer les forts anglais de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James. Un des comptoirs capturés était Moose Factory, que l’on voit ici tel qu’il était au 19e siècle.

Photograhie : Old Factory House in the winter in Moose Factory, [vers 1967]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (212ko)
Old Factory House in the winter in
Moose Factory, [vers 1867]
Photographe inconnu, probablement Bernard Rogan
Ross ou Charles George Horetzky
Collection photographique CapitaineTraill Smith
Photographie noir et blanc
Code de référence : F 2179-2-0-0-18
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0005074

Gravure : Moose Factory, 1854

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (208ko)
Moose Factory, 1854
William Trask, artiste
Ford and West, graveurs
Gravure
Collection d'art documentaire des Archives publiques des Ontario
Code de référence : C 281-0-0-0-31
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0003085


Le commandant de l’expédition, le chevalier de Troyes, a laissé un récit haut en couleurs de la capture de Fort Rupert, le 3 juillet 1686.

« J’ordonnai (...) que l’on marchast, ce qui fut fait avec tout l’ordre imaginable. Nous suivions le bord de l’eau dans un profond silence jusques à ce qu’estant arrivez tout proche, je fis faire halte au détachement de terre pour commander aux canots d’aller prendre le bastiment (…)

Mes gens tiroient continuellement et pour rendre la musique meilleure je voulus y mesler mes deux canons qui, faisant la basse, percèrent à jour la porte de la redoute, contre laquelle je les avois fait pointer. Le mineur d’un autre costé estoit prest de donner un plat de son métier, lorsque les anglois crièrent cartier. »

Journal de l’expédition du Chevalier de Troyes à la Baie d’Hudson en 1686/édité
et annoté par Ivanhoé Caron. Beauceville, Québec, L’Éclaireur, 1918, p. 75-76,
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 971.03 TRO

Les forts de la Baie d’Hudson changèrent de mains à diverses reprises pendant les guerres de la Ligue d’Augsbourg (1689-1797) et de la Succession d’Espagne (1701-1713). Le traité d’Utrecht confirma leur possession, et celle de l’Acadie (la Nouvelle-Écosse actuelle) et de Terre-Neuve, à la Grande-Bretagne. Les Français et les Britanniques se livrèrent deux autres guerres, celles de la Succession d’Autriche (1741-1748) et de Sept Ans (1756-1763), la seconde se terminant avec la perte par la France de ses possessions nord-américaines.

 

Les forts et les comptoirs de traite - bannière

Des impératifs commerciaux et stratégiques amenèrent les Français à construire un réseau de forts et de comptoirs de traite à travers l’intérieur. Les Français cherchaient ainsi à contrôler le commerce des fourrures, à assister les Premières nations alliées et à menacer les nations hostiles, et à contrecarrer l’influence et le commerce anglais.

La plupart des premiers forts, construits entre 1660 et la fin du 17e siècle, furent abandonnés en raison des guerres iroquoises et des tentatives françaises pour rediriger le commerce vers Montréal. Après le traité d’Utrecht, le besoin d’une expansion pour contrecarrer la présence britannique croissante dans l’intérieur mena à la construction ou la reconstruction d’un plus grand nombre de forts et de comptoirs.

Photograhie : Midland - Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, restes d'un vieux canon

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (45ko)
Midland - Sainte-Marie-au-pays-des-Hurons, restes d'un vieux canon
Photographie noir et blanc
Tourism promotion photographs
Code de référence : RG 65-35-1, 29-I-2568
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

En 1755, il y avait des forts et des comptoirs français aussi loin à l’ouest que la Saskatchewan et le Kansas. Sur les Grands Lacs, ls forts Frontenac (maintenant Kingston), Niagara, Michilimakinac, Détroit et, à un moindre degré, Rouillé (Toronto), étaient d’importants points de transit pour les marchands, les soldats et les administrateurs. Les Grands Lacs inférieurs et la vallée de l’Ohio constituaient des régions stratégiques, reliant la Nouvelle-France et la Louisiane et où on pouvait bloquer l’expansion britannique.

Carte : Forts et établissements français, britanniques et espagnols au milieu du 18e siècle

La légende de cette carte fait référence aux établissements tels qu'ils existaient au milieu du 18e siècle. Cliquez sur la carte pour en savoir plus sur les forts et les villes.

Les noms sur la carte sont ceux qui existaient au milieu des années 1750.

FrançaisForts et établissements français

  1 - Louisbourg
  2 - Québec
  3 - Trois-Rivières
  4 - Montréal
  5 - Fort Chambly
  6 - Fort Carillon
  7 - Fort Frontenac
  8 - Fort Rouillé
  9 - Sainte-Marie-au-Pays-des-Hurons (1639-1648)
10 - Fort Niagara
11 - Détroit
12 - Michilimakinac
13 - Sault Sainte-Marie
14 - Fort Kaministiquia
15 - Fort Duquesne
16 - Fort Miami
17 - Fort Vincennes
18 - Kaskaskia
19 - Mobile
20 - La Nouvelle-Orléans

/

BritanniquesForts et établissements britanniques

A - Halifax
B - Annapolis
C - Boston
D - Fort William-Henry
E - Albany
F - New York
G - Oswego
H - Philadelphie
I  - Fort Cumberland
J - Jamestown
K - Williamsburg
L - Charleston
M - Savannah
N - Pickawillany
O -Moose Factory

EspagnolÉtablissement espagnol

SA - St. Augustine

Pour voir une animation présentant l'évolution territoriale de l'Amérique de Nord aux 17e et 18esiècles, cliquez ici.

Carte : Évolution territoriale de l’Amérique du Nord aux 17e et 18e siècles

Le fort Frontenac, construit pour la première fois en 1673 puis re-construit en 1693, était à l’origine un comptoir de traite, un avant-poste militaire face aux Iroquois et une base de départ pour les explorations. Sa location à l’entrée du Saint-Laurent en faisait un important point de passage entre Montréal, Détroit et la vallée de l’Ohio. Ce plan de 1784 montre le site du fort, toujours utilisé par les Britanniques après la Conquête.

Plan of Old Fort Frontenac and Town Plot of Kingston, October 15, 1784

Plan of Old Fort Frontenac and Town Plot of Kingston, October 15, 1784
Surveyed by John Frederick Holland
Collection des plans des villes
Code de référence : C 295-1-75-0-1, AO 1380
Archives publiques de l'Ontario


Précédante | Page d'accueil | Suivante
Explorations | Détroit
Contact | Transitions | Ressources et commerce
Personnes, places et dates | Guerre et défense | Pour en savoir plus

voir St. Augustine voir Moose Factory voir Pickawillany voir Savannah voir Charleston voir Williamsburg voir Jamestown voir Fort Cumberland voir Philadelphie voir Oswego voir New York voir Albany voir Fort William-Henry voir Boston voir Annapolis voir Halifax voir La Nouvelle-Orléans voir Mobile voir Kaskaskia voir Fort Vincennes voir Fort Miami voir Fort Duquesne voir Fort Kaministiquia voir Sault Sainte-Marie voir Michilimakinac voir Détroit voir Fort Niagara voir Sainte-Marie-au-Pays-des-Hurons (1639-1648) voir Fort Rouillé voir Fort Frontenac voir Fort Carillon voir Fort Chambly voir Montréal voir Trois-Rivières voir Québec voir Louisbourg