French Ontario in the 17th and 18th Centuries: Explorations - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Right from the beginning of New France, merchants, missionaries and soldiers came to the pays d’en haut (Upper Country), as they called the Great Lakes area. Together, these explorers opened the interior of the continent to French trade and military presence. Their writings would also contribute to Western knowledge of the continent, its people and its resources. Theirs is a story of both explorations and false expectations.

Early Exploration - Title Graphic

In 1610, Samuel de Champlain sent young Étienne Brûlé to live among the Algonquin. The first white man to see the Great Lakes, during the next two decades Brûlé would explore most of what is now southern Ontario. Champlain himself travelled up the Ottawa River in 1613, and to Huron country in 1615.

Champlain’s route, up the Ottawa River through Lake Nipissing and the French River to Georgian Bay, became one of the two main exploration routes. Another route followed the St. Lawrence River to Lake Ontario and from there to the other lakes.

As the First Nations controlled trade, bringing fur to French posts on the St. Lawrence, few merchants travelled to the interior. Consequently, over the next forty years, the French presence in the Great Lakes area was comprised predominantly of missionaries and interpreters such as Brûlé and Jean Nicollet (also spelled Nicolet) who were sent to live among First Nations.

Painting: Étienne Brûlé at the mouth of the Humber
Click to see a larger image (139K)
Étienne Brûlé at the mouth of the Humber
F. S. Challener
Oil on canvas 166.4 cm x 135.9 cm
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 619849


The second half of the 17th century saw more fur traders and explorers venturing further into the interior. In 1659, Médart Chouart des Groseilliers and Pierre-Esprit Radisson travelled to Lake Superior. Colonial authorities sponsored explorations such as Simon Daumier de Saint-Lusson’s to the upper Ottawa River (1670-1671) and Daniel Greysolon Duluth to Lake Superior and the Upper Mississippi (1679-1686).

Nicolas Sanson’s map of New France was one of the first to show the five Great Lakes. Its representation of the lakes was based on Champlain’s writings and earlier maps as well as The Jesuit Relations (annual reports).

Map: Sanson, Nicolas. Le Canada ou Nouvelle France, &c. Tirée de diverses Relations des François, Anglois, Hollandois, &c. [ca. 1660]
Click to see a larger image (471K)
Sanson, Nicolas. Le Canada ou Nouvelle France, &c.
Tirée de diverses Relations des François, Anglois, Hollandois, &c. [ca. 1660]
Reference Code: C 78, A0 4943
Archives of Ontario

In turn, explorations by Daumier de Saint-Lusson, Duluth, René-Robert Cavelier de La Salle and others would provide information for 18th century cartographers leading to more detailed and accurate maps of the area.

The Road to China - Title Graphic

One of the main aims of the exploration of North America was to discover a route to China. From the 16th to 18th centuries, English, Dutch and Danish sailors tried to find the North-West passage vis the Arctic Ocean. For the French, the road to the riches of China and Japan went through the rivers of the North American continent. But their goal would elude them. The map below, created in 1578, is one of the earliest to depict the Americas. The detailed section of the map on the right mistakenly shows the St. Lawrence River extending mid-way across the continent.

Map: Americae Siva Novo Orbis, Nova Descriptio.
Click to see a larger image (700K)

Map: Americae Siva Novo Orbis, Nova Descriptio. (Detail)
Click to see a larger image (178K)

Ortellius, Abraham. Americae Siva Novo Orbis Nova Descriptio, 1578
Reference Code: B-40, A0 5964
Archives of Ontario

In the 17th century, there were many who, like Jesuit Paul Le Jeune, thought there was a “Grande eau” (Big Water”) leading south or west to the Pacific.

“(...) it is highly probable one can descend through the second great lake of the Hurons [Lake Michigan], and through the tribes that we have named, into this sea that he was seeking. Sieur Nicolet, who has advanced farthest into these so distant countries, has assured me that, if he had sailed three days’ journey farther upon a great river which issues from this lake, he would have found the sea. Now I have strong suspicions that this is the sea which answers to that North of new Mexico, and that from this sea there would be an outlet towards Japan and China, Nevertheless, as we do not know whither this great lake tends, or this fresh-water sea, it would be a bold undertaking to go and explore those countries.”

Paul Le Jeune, Relation de ce qui s’est passé en la Nouvelle-France en l’année 1640, in The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites,
ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 18, p. 237
Archives of Ontario Library, 271.7 THW (translation)

Nicollet himself had been so sure of his success that six years before Le Jeune's text, in 1634, he had arrived at Green Bay (Wisconsin) dressed for an audience with the Chinese Emperor!

Gateway to the Continent - Title Graphic

The pays d’en haut did not lead to Asia, but it did provide the French with a route to the interior of the continent. Explorers had travelled north from Ottawa River to Hudson Bay by the 1680’s. Travelling south from the Great Lakes, Louis Jolliet and Jacques Marquette navigated the Mississippi to the Arkansas River in 1673, and René-Robert Cavelier de La Salle reached the mouth of the river in 1682.

Photo: An historic reconstruction of the ship the "Griffon", 1905
Click to see a larger image (78K)
The ship-yard of the Griffon.  Buffalo, 1891
Pemington, Cyrus Kingsbury. 
Archives of Ontario Library. PAMPH 1891/29
Archives of Ontario, I0047449

1679, Cavelier de La Salle had built the Griffon, the first sail ship on Lake Erie, which he intended to use both for exploration and commerce. However, the Griffon sank during its maiden trip, returning from Lake Michigan. This image is a reproduction of a 17th century representation of the building of the ship.

In the 18th century, Pierre Gauthier de la Vérendrye used Fort Kaministiquia (now Thunder Bay) as a base for explorations that would lead him to the Upper Missouri and the Saskatchewan River. By the time of the Conquest, the French and Canadiens had explored large portions of modern-day Central Canada and United States.

Chronicling the Land - Title Graphic

European missionaries, explorers or soldiers, such as the Baron de Lahontan, wrote about the land they visited and the First Nations they encountered. Their published accounts spurred interest in North America, helped in raising funds for exploration and missionary work, and contributed to European knowledge of the New World. The activities of the Jesuits were chronicled in their annual reports, The Jesuit Relations, which received wide distribution.

Lahontan’s Nouveaux voyages (title page reproduced to the right) and his others books were at the time among the most popular written about North America. A military officer, Lahontan was also a keen observer of the local population and nature, and his writings reflected his military life, his observations and how Europeans viewed the continent and its First Nations.

Click to see a larger image (188K)
Nouveaux voyages de Mr Le baron de Lahontan
dans l’Amérique septentrionale (…).
La Haye, Frères Honoré, 1704, title page.
Archives of Ontario Library, 971.01 LAH.
Image reproduced with permission from
Early Canadiana Online (www.canadiana.org),
produced by the Canadian Institute for
Historical Microreproduction

Nouveaux voyages de Mr Le baron de Lahontan dans l’Amérique septentrionale (…).

Natural features and landforms of North America that we now take for granted were sources of wonder for visiting Europeans.

The text below as well as the drawing to the right are first impressions of Niagara Falls as documented by three early visitors.

“(,,,) we find a great Lake nearly two hundred leagues [800 kilometres] ; it is formed by the discharge of the Fresh-water Sea and throws itself over a waterfall of a dreadful height into a third Lake, named Ontario, which we call Lake Saint-Louis”

Paul Reguenau, Relation de ce qui... c’est passé en la Nouvelle-France, ès année 1647-1648, in The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites, ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 38, p. 63, Archives of Ontario Library, 271.7 THW (translation)

Illustration: Niagara Falls
Click to see a larger image (180K)
Niagara Falls
Father Louis Hennepin.
In Spencer, Joseph William Winthrop.
The Falls of Niagara (…).
Ottawa, King’s Printer, 1907, p. 430.
Archives of Ontario Library. 971.339 SPE


Home | Next
Explorations | Detroit
Making Contact | Transitions | Resources and Trade
People, Places and Times | War and Defence | To Learn More

L'Ontario français durant les 17e et 18e siècles : Explorations - bannière

Table des matières


Dès la naissance de la Nouvelle-France, marchands, marins et soldats se rendirent jusque dans le pays d’en haut, le nom qu’ils donnaient à la région des Grands Lacs. Ensemble, ces explorateurs ouvrirent l’intérieur du continent à la présence militaire et au commerce français. Leurs écrits contribuèrent aussi à la connaissance qu’avaient les Occidentaux du continent, de ses populations et de ses ressources. Leur histoire en est une d’explorations et de vaines espérances.

Les premières explorations - bannière

En 1610, Samuel de Champlain envoya le jeune Étienne Brûlé vivre parmi les Algonquins. Le premier homme blanc à voir les Grands Lacs, Brûlé allait explorer la majeure partie du sud de l’Ontario actuel au cours des deux décennies suivantes. Champlain lui-même remonta le cours de l’Outaouais en 1613 et se rendit chez les Hurons en 1615.

La route suivie par Champlain, via l’Outaouais, le lac Nipissing et la rivière des Outaouais jusqu’à la baie Géorgienne, devint une des deux principales routes d’exploration. L’autre route suivait le Saint-Laurent jusqu’au lac Ontario et les autres lacs.

Comme les Premières nations contrôlaient le commerce et amenaient les fourrures jusqu’aux postes français situés sur le Saint-Laurent, peu de marchands se rendaient dans l’intérieur. Pour cette raison, pendant les quarante ans qui suivirent le premier voyage de Brulé, la présence française dans la région des Grands Lacs était surtout composée de missionnaires et d’interprètes commes Brûlé et Jean Nicollet (Nicolet) qui avaient été envoyés vivre parmi les Premières nations.

Huile sur toile : Étienne Brûlé at the mouth of the Humber

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (139ko)
Étienne Brûlé at the mouth of the Humber
F. S. Challener
huile sur toile, 166,4 cm x 135,9 cm
Collection d'oeuvres d'art du
gouvernement de l'Ontario, 619849


La seconde moitié du 17e siècle vit plus de trafiquants de fourrures et de marchands s’aventurer plus avant dans l’intérieur. En 1659, Médart Chouart des Groseillers et Pierre-Esprit Radisson se rendirent jusqu’au lac Supérieur. Les autorités coloniales commanditèrent des explorations comme celles de Simon Daumier de Saint-Lusson sur le cours supérieur de l’Outaouais (1670-1671) et de Daniel Greysolon Duluth au lac Supérieur et dans le haut-Mississippi (1679-1685).

La carte de la Nouvelle-France de Nicolas Sanson est une des premières montrant les cinq Grands Lacs; sa représentation des lacs est basée sur les écrits de Champlain et sur les Relations des Jésuites (rapports annuels).

Carte : Sanson, Nicolas. Le Canada ou Nouvelle France, &c. Tirée de diverses Relations des François, Anglois, Hollandois, &c. [vers 1660]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (471ko)
Sanson, Nicolas. Le Canada ou Nouvelle France, &c.
Tirée de diverses Relations des François, Anglois, Hollandois, &c. [vers 1660]
Code de référence : C 78, A0 4943
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

De même, les explorations de Daumier de Saint-Lusson, Duluth, René-Robert Cavelier de La Salle et d'autres explorateurs fournirent aux cartographes du 18e siècle des renseignements qui leur permirent de dresser des cartes plus exactes et plus détaillées de la région.

 

La route de la Chine - bannière

Un des buts principaux de l’exploration de l’Amérique du Nord était la découverte d’une route vers la Chine. Du 16e au 17e siècle, les marins anglais, néerlandais et danois tentèrent de découvrir le passage du Nord-Ouest. Pour les Français, la clé des richesses de la Chine et du Japon se trouvait à l’intérieur du continent nord-américain. Mais cet objectif allait leur échapper.

La carte ci-dessous, parue en 1578, est une des premières montrant les Amériques. Comme le montre l’image à droite, on y montrait un Saint-Laurent qui coulait depuis le cœur du continent.

Carte : Ortellius, Abraham. Americae Siva Novo Orbis, Nova Descriptio., 1578

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (700ko)


Carte : Ortellius, Abraham. Americae Siva Novo Orbis, Nova Descriptio., 1578 (détail)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (178ko)

Ortellius, Abraham. Americae Siva Novo Orbis, Nova Descriptio., 1578
Code de référence : B-40, A0 5964
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Au 17e siècle, certains, comme le Jésuite Paul Le Jeune, croyaient en l’existence d’une « Grande eau » coulant vers le sud ou l’ouest jusqu’au Pacifique.

« (...) On peut descendre par le second grand lac des Hurons [lac Michigan], & par les peuples que nous avons nômés dans cette mer qu’il cherchoit, le ieur Nicolet, qui a le plus avant penetré dedans ces pays si esloignés, m’a sseuré qui s’il eust vogué trois jours plus avant sur un grand fleuve qui sort de ce lac, qu’il auroit trouvé la mer, or j’ay de fortes conjectures que c’est la mer qui respond au Nord de la nouvelle Mexique, & que de cette mer, on auroit entrée vers le Japon & vers la Chine, néammoins comme on se sçait pas ou tire ce grand lac, ou cette mer douce, ce seroit une entreprise genereuse d’aller descouvrir ces contrées. »

Paul Le Jeune, Relation de ce qui s’est passé en la Nouvelle-France en l’année 1640,
in The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites,
ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 18, p. 237
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 271.7 THW

Nicollet lui-même était tellement sûr de son succès que six ans avant le texte de Le Jeune, en 1634, il s’était rendu à la Baie Verte (Green Bay, Wisconsin) vêtu en vue d’une audience auprès de l’empereur de Chine!


 

La porte du continent - bannière

Le pays d'en haut ne menait pas à la Chine, mais il constituait pour les Français une route vers l'intérieur du continent. Des exploreurs s'étaient rendus de l'Outaouais à la Baie d’Hudson avant 1680. Voyageant des grands lacs en direction sud, Louis Jolliet et Jacques Marquette naviguèrent sur le Mississippi jusqu'à l’Arkansas en 1673 et René-Robert Cavelier de La Salle parvint jusqu’à son embouchure en 1682.

Photographie : An historic reconstruction of the ship the « Griffon », 1905

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (78ko)
The ship-yard of the Griffon.  Buffalo, 1891
Pemington, Cyrus Kingsbury
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l’Ontario
PAMPH 1891/29
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0047449

En 1679, Cavelier de La Salle avait bâti le Griffon, le premier navire à voiles sur le lac Érié, aux fins de commerce et d’exploration. Le Griffon coula toutefois pendant son voyage inaugural, au retour du lac Michigan. Cette image reproduit une représentation de la construction du Griffon, datant du 17e siècle.

Au 18e siècle, Pierre Gauthier de la Vérendrye se servit du fort Kaministiquia (maintenant Thunder Bay) comme base de départ pour ses voyages d’explorations qui le menèrent au haut-Missouri et à la Saskatchewan. Au moment de la Conquête, Français et Canadiens avaient exploré de vastes portions du centre du Canada et des Etats-Unis.

 

Les chroniqueurs - bannière

Des missionnaires, explorateurs et soldats européens comme le baron de Lahontan, écrivaient au sujet des territoires qu’ils avaient visités et des Premières nations qu’ils avaient rencontrés. Leurs récits alimentaient l’intérêt envers l’Amérique du Nord, aidaient la levée de fonds pour les explorations et l’effort missionnaire et contribuaient à une connaissance accrue du Nouveau Monde en Europe. Les activités des Jésuites étaient racontées dans les Relations des Jésuites, qui connaissaient une large distribution.

Les Nouveaux voyages de Lahontan (dont la page titre est reproduite à droite) et ses autres livres étaient à l’époque parmi les plus populaires écrits au sujet de l’Amérique du Nord. Un officier, Lahontan était de plus un fin observateur des populations et de la nature locales, et ses écrits reflétaient sa vie de militaire, ses observations et la façon dont les Européens voyaient le continent et les Premières nations.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (188ko)
Nouveaux voyages de Mr Le baron de
Lahontan dans l’Amérique septentrionale (…).
La Haye, Frères Honoré, 1704, page titre.
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 971.01 LAH.
Image reproduite avec la permission de Notre mémoire en ligne (www.canadiana.org), un projet de l'Institut canadien de microreproduction historique.

Nouveaux voyages de Mr Le baron de Lahontan dans l’Amérique septentrionale (…).

Les attraits naturels de l’Amérique du Nord dont l’existence semble aller de soi aujourd’hui émerveillèrent les premiers visiteurs européens.

Le texte ci-dessous et le dessin représentent l’impression qu’ont eue des chutes Niagara deux de ces premiers visiteurs.

« (,,,) on trouve un grand Lac, quasi de deux cent lieues [800 kilomètres] de tour, nommé Érié, qui se forme de la descharge de la Mer douce, et qui va précipiter par une chute d’eaux d’une effroyable hauteur, dans un troisième Lac, nommé Ontario, que nous appelons Saint-Louys »

Paul Reguenau, Relation de ce qui... c’est passé en la Nouvelle-France, ès année 1647-1648,
dans The Jesuit Relations and Allied Documents/ Ruben Gold Twaites, ed. Cleveland: Burrows Brothers Company, vol. 38, p. 63,
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario, 271.7 THW

Illustration : Chutes Niagara

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (180ko)
Chutes Niagara
Père Louis Hennepin.
Dans Spencer, Joseph William Winthrop.
The Falls of Niagara (…).
Ottawa, King’s Printer, 1907, p. 430.
Bibliothèque des Archives publiques de l'Ontario. 971.339 SPE


Page d'accueil | Suivante
Explorations | Détroit
Contact | Transitions | Ressources et commerce
Personnes, places et dates | Guerre et défense | Pour en savoir plus