Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministry of Government and Consumer Services




Before the Treaty banner

“We had treaty relationships with our neighbours. We had treaties with the land and the creatures we share the land with. Our word for treaty is naskumituwin (an oral agreement). A person’s word, or promise, was considered sacred.”

-Omushkego Education


Indigenous peoples have called the lands of the James Bay Treaty home since time immemorial. The Omushkegowuk live mainly in the James Bay and Hudson Bay lowlands, while the Anishinaabe traditionally live mainly in the interior, closer to the height of land that divides the James Bay and Hudson Bay watershed with those to the south.

Ways of Life

The Omushkegowuk have traditionally viewed themselves as guardians of their homelands, and continue to see themselves as such. At the root of their society is the land—something they believe is given by the Creator and can neither be bought nor sold.

“So we were the first people to inhabit these lands and waters, the vast region that we call our homeland. … We don’t own the land, and we never did. We were placed here to look after it. It is ours to look after and use. It is ours to bequeath to future generations. We were always willing to share, as long as our survival and wellbeing were not threatened.”

-Mushkegowuk Council


Animals are vital to the Omushkegowuk worldview. They provide resources, including food, housing, clothing, and tools.

Generations passed down traditional knowledge about hunting and fishing, and other skills through practical training.

Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

[Anishinaabe Elder] Henry Kechebra calling a moose, Mattagami Reserve, 1959
John Macfie fonds
C 330-14-0-0-22
Archives of Ontario, I0012427


“We showed respect to the animals who provided for us. We drummed and sang to them. We danced and celebrated, as we still do today. We had, and still have, spiritual relationships with all living things.”

-Omushkego Education


The Omushkegowuk relied on their knowledge of the cycles of the seasons and the land. Oral histories attest that they were a strong and healthy people with a rich history, language, and culture since time immemorial.

“Our specialized hunting skills helped us to observe, adapt, understand and predict the timeless cycles of wildlife in relation to the recurring seasons [spring (sikwan), blooming of the earth (miloskamin), summer (nipin), autumn (takwakin), freezing-up (mikiskaw), and winter (pipon)], climates, and temperatures that affected all life forms and our lives as well.  It took us many thousands of years to develop and accumulate all our knowledge, to respect and use it in living well [(milo pimatisiwin)].” 

- On the Path of the Elders







The territory of the James Bay Treaty is home to the Abitibi, Moose, Albany and other powerful rivers, streams, and lakes north of the height of land that all eventually flow into Hudson Bay or James Bay. Traditionally, these waterways provided clean drinking water, sources of food, transportation, and cultural and spiritual value.

Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Joe Carpenter and family, [ca. 1905]
Duncan Campbell Scott fonds
C 275-2-0-1 (S 7685)
Archives of Ontario, I0010713

Slideshow: Aerial Photographs

Click below to view a slideshow of aerial photographs of important rivers and lakes in the James Bay Treaty territory:

Tides of Change


Starting in the late 1600s, contact took place between Indigenous peoples in the James Bay watershed and European newcomers (explorers and traders). Indigenous peoples, managing their own resources, traded berries, plants, medicines and other renewable natural goods with the Europeans and provided hunting expertise for the fur trade in exchange for goods new to their societies. They helped the European traders survive, but much of their way of life carried on. They hunted and fished in their family territories, spoke their languages, raised their families, and practiced their traditions.

In 1670, King Charles II of England signed a royal charter that established the Hudson’s Bay Company (HBC) and gave it exclusive rights to colonize and trade in “all the lands draining into the Hudson’s Bay and Straight.” Charles named this territory “Rupert’s Land” after his cousin. It comprised of much of what is today northern Canada and even small parts of the northern United States.

The charter created no political or legal rights over Omushkegowuk and other Indigenous peoples living in the vast territory. And the Omushkegowuk continued to call the land what they always had: nitaskiinan.

Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

John Cary, “A new map of Upper & Lower Canada, from the latest authorities”, 1807
Library and Archives Canada,
R11981-667-7-E, MIKAN no. 4145477

In the late 1600s, the French and English vied for control of the trading posts around Hudson and James Bay. The HBC established posts at Moose Factory in 1673 and Fort Albany in 1679, and posts further inland starting in the late 1700s. By 1870, the HBC had 97 posts in Rupert’s Land. These posts became the centre of trade relationships and social gatherings during summertime. Pacts between Indigenous peoples living in the territory and the HBC—using protocols that involved entering kin relationships—made commerce possible.

The HBC merged with another trading company, the North West Company, in 1821. With this, the HBC’s fur trade monopoly extended to the Pacific Ocean.

"At first life was good for our peoples as trappers saw the rewards of their labours and the new technology offered by the Europeans. Instead of bow and arrows, we now traded for steel guns. Instead of wooden deadfall traps, we now acquired steel traps. We also traded our furs for steel pots, pans, knives, axes and other utensils. We even watched the Europeans dance to fiddle tunes and we liked it so much that we learned their dances and songs on fiddles of our own. We even incorporated foods of the Europeans like bannock, tea, sugar and lard into our traditional diets."

- On the Path of the Elders



Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

View of the old Factory House in Moose Factory, [ca. 1867]
Captain Traill Smith photograph collection
F 2179-2-0-0-22
Archives of Ontario, I0005078

Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

View of the port and fort in Moose Factory during the summer, [ca. 1869]
Captain Traill Smith photograph collection
F 2179-2-0-0-16
Archives of Ontario, I0005072

Following Confederation of Canada in 1867, Prime Minister John A. Macdonald and other politicians sought to acquire Rupert’s Land for westward expansion. The HBC, for its part, no longer wanted responsibility for the high financial costs of administering the territory. Britain, wary of plans of the United States to annex the territory, convinced the HBC to transfer the deed for Rupert’s Land to the Crown in 1869 for $1.5 million, after Canada had agreed to a “Protection Pledge” that ensured it would protect the interests of Indigenous peoples living in the territory. The Crown then ceded the area—along with the North-Western Territory—to Canada the following year. The transfer took place without the consultation of the Omushkegowuk, who had never believed the Crown or the HBC had sovereignty over the land in the first place.

Canada’s annexation of Rupert’s Land foreshadowed further changes. By the late 1800s, many Indigenous peoples of the James Bay watershed—particularly those living near the height of land—faced declining animal resources, hunger, and sickness brought by Europeans, as well as unwelcome poachers and mining prospectors arriving via the new railroad on their traditional territories. As problems worsened, Indigenous peoples began to press Canada to make treaty.

When outside pressures bring change to your community, how do you respond?

utside pressures bring change to your community



Share this Page
Share  it on Twitter Share it on Facebook Share it on Pinterest Share it on Tumblr

In this Exhibit -

Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministère des
Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs




Avant le traité

« Nous avions des rapports établis par traité avec nos voisins. Nous avions des traités avec le territoire et les créatures avec qui nous partageons le territoire. Dans notre langue, le terme qui signifie traité est naskumituwin (un accord verbal). Le mot ou la promesse d’une personne étaient considérés sacrés. »

-Omushkego Education


Les peuples autochtones habitent sur les territoires couverts par le Traité de la baie James depuis des temps immémoriaux. Les Omushkegowuks habitent principalement dans les basses terres de la baie James et de la baie d’Hudson, tandis que les Anishinaabes habitent traditionnellement dans l’intérieur des terres principalement, plus près de la ligne de partage qui divise les bassins versants de la baie James et de la baie d’Hudson de ceux au sud.

Modes de vie

Traditionnellement, les Omushkegowuks se percevaient comme étant les gardiens de leur terre natale, et continuent de se percevoir ainsi. Le territoire constitue la base de leur société - quelque chose qui, selon eux, leur est offert par le Créateur et qui ne peut s’acheter ou se vendre.

« Ainsi, nous étions le premier peuple à habiter ces terres et ces eaux, la vaste région que nous appelons notre terre natale. (…) Le territoire ne nous appartient pas et ne nous a jamais appartenu. Nous avons été placés ici pour veiller sur lui. Il nous revient de veiller sur lui et de l’utiliser. Il nous revient de le léguer aux générations futures. Nous étions toujours disposés à partager, tant que notre survie et notre bien-être ne s’en trouvaient pas menacés. » (traduction libre)

-Mushkegowuk Council


Les animaux sont essentiels à la vision omushkegowuk du monde. Ils fournissent des ressources, incluant la nourriture, le logement, les vêtements et les outils.

Les générations ont transmis les connaissances traditionnelles à propos de la chasse et de la pêche ainsi que d’autres compétences au moyen de la formation pratique.

[Aîné anishinaabe] Henry Kechebra appelant l’orignal, réserve de Mattagami, 1959
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

[Aîné anishinaabe] Henry Kechebra appelant l’orignal, réserve de Mattagami, 1959
John Macfie fonds
C 330-14-0-0-22
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0012427



« Nous avons fait preuve de respect envers les animaux qui nous ont permis de subvenir à nos besoins. Nous avons joué du tambour et chanté pour eux. Nous avons dansé et célébré, et nous le faisons encore aujourd’hui. Nous avions, et avons toujours, des liens spirituels avec tous les organismes vivants. » (traduction libre)

-Omushkego Education


Les Omushkegowuk se fiaient à leur connaissance des cycles des saisons et du territoire. Les récits oraux témoignent du fait qu’ils formaient un peuple fort et en santé avec une histoire, une langue et une culture riches, depuis des temps immémoriaux.

« Nos techniques de chasse spécialisées nous ont permis d’observer, de nous adapter, de comprendre et de prévoir les cycles intemporels de la faune en relation avec les saisons récurrentes [le printemps (sikwan), l’éclosion de la terre (miloskamin), l’été (nipin), l’automne (takwakin), le gel (mikiskaw) et l’hiver (pipon)], les climats et les températures qui avaient une incidence sur toutes les formes de vie ainsi que sur nos propres vies.  Il nous a fallu des milliers d’années pour acquérir et accumuler toutes nos connaissances, pour les respecter et les utiliser pour bien vivre [(milo pimatisiwin)]. » (traduction libre)

- On the Path of the Elders







Le territoire couvert par le Traité de la baie James abrite les rivières Abitibi, Moose, Albany et d’autres rivières puissantes, ruisseaux et lacs au nord de la ligne de partage qui finissent tous par se jeter dans la baie d’Hudson ou la baie James. Traditionnellement, ces cours d’eau fournissaient de l’eau potable, des sources de nourriture, un moyen de transport et une valeur culturelle et spirituelle.

Joe Carpenter et sa famille [vers 1905]
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Joe Carpenter et sa famille [vers 1905]
Duncan Campbell Scott fonds
C 275-2-0-1 (S 7685)
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0010713

Visionner un diaporama de photographies

Cliquez ci-dessous pour visionner un diaporama de photographies aériennes des rivières et lacs importants compris sur le territoire couvert par le Traité de la baie James

Vagues de changement


À compter de la fin des années 1600, des contacts ont lieu entre les peuples autochtones du bassin versant de la baie James et les nouveaux arrivants européens (explorateurs et commerçants). Les peuples autochtones, qui gèrent leurs propres ressources, échangent des baies, des plantes, des médicaments et d'autres biens naturels renouvelables avec les Européens. Ils fournissent une expertise de chasse pour le commerce des fourrures en échange de biens nouveaux pour leurs sociétés. Ils aident les commerçants européens à survivre, mais maintiennent en grande partie leur mode de vie. Ils chassent et pêchent sur leurs territoires familiaux, parlent leurs langues, élèvent leurs familles et pratiquent leurs traditions.

En 1670, le roi Charles II d’Angleterre signe une charte royale qui établit la Compagnie de la Baie d’Hudson (CBH) et lui confère les droits exclusifs de coloniser et de commercer dans « tous les territoires se jetant dans la baie et le détroit d’Hudson. » Charles nomme ce territoire « Terre de Rupert » en l’honneur de son cousin. Ce territoire comprend une bonne partie de ce qu’on appelle le Nord du Canada et même de petites parcelles du Nord des États-Unis.

La charte ne créait aucuns droits politiques ou juridiques sur les Omushkegowuks et les autres peuples autochtones qui résidaient sur le vaste territoire. Et les Omushkegowuks continuèrent d’appeler le territoire de la même manière qu’ils l’avaient toujours fait : nitaskiinan.

John Cary, « A new map of Upper & Lower Canada, from the latest authorities », 1807
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

John Cary, « A new map of Upper & Lower Canada, from the latest authorities », 1807
Bibliothèque et Archives Canada, R11981-667-7-E, MIKAN no 4145477

À la fin des années 1600, les Anglais et les Français rivalisent pour le contrôle des postes de traite autour de la baie d’Hudson et de la baie James. La CBH établit des postes à Moose Factory en 1673 et à Fort Albany en 1679, et des postes plus à l’intérieur des terres à la fin des années 1700. Dès 1870, la CBH compte 97 postes sur la Terre de Rupert. Ces postes deviennent le cœur de relations commerciales et de rassemblements sociaux en été. Des pactes conclus entre les peuples autochtones habitant sur le territoire et la CBH — à l’aide de protocoles qui faisaient en sorte de conclure des espèces d’alliances — rendent le commerce possible.

En 1821, la CBH fusionne avec une autre société commerciale, la Compagnie-du-Nord-Ouest. Avec cette fusion, le monopole qu’exerce la CBH sur le commerce des fourrures s’étend jusqu’à l’océan Pacifique.

« Au début, la vie était bonne pour nos populations, alors que les trappeurs voyaient leurs efforts récompensés et profitaient de la nouvelle technologie offerte par les Européens. Au lieu des arcs et des flèches, nous troquions maintenant contre des armes en acier. Au lieu des assommoirs en bois, nous faisions maintenant l’acquisition de pièges en acier. Nous troquions également nos fourrures contre des chaudrons, poêles, couteaux, haches et autres ustensiles en acier. Nous avons même observé les Européens danser sur des airs de violon et nous avons tellement aimé cela que nous avons appris leurs danses et leurs chansons sur nos propres violons. Nous avons même intégré des aliments des Européens comme la bannique, le thé, le sucre et le lard à nos régimes alimentaires traditionnels. » (traduction libre)

- On the Path of the Elders



Vue de l’ancienne fabrique à Moose Factory [vers 1867]
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Vue de l’ancienne fabrique à Moose Factory [vers 1867]
Collection de photographies du capitaine Traill Smith
F 2179-2-0-0-22
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0005078

Vue du port et du fort à Moose Factory durant l’été [vers 1869]
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Vue du port et du fort à Moose Factory durant l’été [vers 1869]
Collection de photographies du capitaine Traill Smith
F 2179-2-0-0-16
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0005072

À la suite de la Confédération du Canada en 1867, le premier ministre John A. Macdonald et d’autres politiciens cherchent à acquérir la Terre de Rupert pour une expansion vers l’ouest. Pour sa part, la CBH ne souhaite plus assumer la responsabilité des coûts financiers élevés de l’administration du territoire. La Grande-Bretagne, qui se méfie des projets des États-Unis d’annexer le territoire, convainc la CBH de transférer les titres de la Terre de Rupert à la Couronne en 1869 pour la somme de 1,5 million de dollars. Le Canada avait consenti à une « promesse de protection » garantissant qu’il protégerait les intérêts des peuples autochtones résidant sur le territoire.

L’annexion par le Canada de la Terre de Rupert laisse présager d’autres changements. À la fin des années 1800, de nombreux Autochtones du bassin versant de la baie James — en particulier ceux vivant près de la ligne de partage — sont confrontés à un déclin des ressources animalières, à la faim et aux maladies amenées par les Européens, ainsi qu’à des braconniers et prospecteurs miniers indésirables arrivant par le biais du nouveau chemin de fer sur leurs territoires traditionnels. À mesure que les problèmes s’aggravent, les peuples autochtones commencent à presser le Canada de conclure un traité.

Lorsque des pressions extérieures apportent des changements à votre collectivité, comment réagissez-vous?

Lorsque des pressions extérieures apportent des changements à votre collectivité



Partagez cette page
Partagez-le sur Twitter Partagez-le sur Facebook Partagez-le sur Pinterest Partagez-le sur Tumblr

Dans cette exposition -