Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministry of
Government and Consumer Services




The James Bay Treaty  banner

The James Bay Treaty - (Treaty No. 9) is an agreement between Ojibway (Anishinaabe), Cree (including the Omushkegowuk) and other Indigenous Nations (Algonquin) and the Crown (represented by two commissioners appointed by Canada and one commissioner appointed by Ontario). The treaty, first entered into in 1905-1906, covers the James Bay and Hudson Bay watersheds in Ontario, about two thirds of the province’s total landmass. The treaty embodies the nation-to-nation relationship between First Nations and the Crown.

This exhibit explores different interpretations of the James Bay Treaty, the background behind the treaty’s creation and its impact on Indigenous communities, and the role that archival records and other forms of memory have come to play in the story of Treaty No. 9.

A treaty is a formal agreement between two or more nations about sharing the land and resources, and living together in peace and in friendship. Treaties between Indigenous peoples and the Crown are solemn agreements that set out promises, obligations, and benefits for both parties. Treaty and Indigenous rights that flow from such agreements are constitutionally recognized in Canada.



Ontario is covered by more than 40 treaties and agreements with Indigenous communities.

What treaty land do you live on? Click here to find out!

40 treaties and agreements with Indigenous communities




Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Map of the Province of Ontario: Dominion of Canada, including notes on treaties by J.L Morris, 1930-1931
J.L. Morris family fonds
F 1060-1-0-51
Archives of Ontario, I0030958

The Archives of Ontario holds one of two original copies of the James Bay Treaty document from 1905-1906, and the signed document for adhesions made to the treaty in 1929-1930. Along with the written agreement, treaty commissioners made oral promises to the Anishinaabe and Omushkegowuk.

This exhibit replaces an older exhibit created for the centennial of the treaty in 2005 by incorporating Omushkegowuk perspectives on the treaty, integrating recent archival developments, and showcasing how the Archives of Ontario has made the written treaty document accessible to signatory communities. It is part of a larger mission of reconciliation and de-colonization of Euro-Canadian institutions within the archival profession and the heritage sector across Ontario and Canadian society in response to the 2015 Calls to Action of the Truth and Reconciliation Commission (TRC).

The Archives of Ontario has also created education resources that complement the exhibit.

The Archives of Ontario is grateful to Mushkegowuk Council and Queen’s University Archives for their collaboration on this exhibit. 


Moushkegowuk council logo
queen;s university archives
Banner image courtesy of Stan Wesley.

This exhibit has been prepared for the general public for informational and educational purposes only, and does not necessarily represent the views of the Government of Ontario. It is not intended to reflect the Government of Ontario’s legal interpretation of the treaty, nor constitute a limitation on Ontario’s rights.



Share this Page
Share  it on Twitter Share it on Facebook Share it on Pinterest Share it on Tumblr

In this Exhibit -

Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministère des
Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs




Le Traité de la baie James – (Traité no 9)

Le Traité de la baie James – (Traité no 9) est un accord Ojibwé (Anishinaabe), Cri (y compris les Omushkegowuk) et des autres nations autochtones (Algonquins) et la Couronne (représentée par deux commissaires nommés par le Canada et un commissaire nommé par l’Ontario).Le traité, conclu en 1905-1906, couvre les bassins versants de la baie James et de la baie d’Hudson en Ontario, soit environ deux tiers de la masse continentale totale de la province. Le traité représente le lien nation à nation entre les Premières Nations et la Couronne.

L’exposition explore différentes interprétations du Traité de la baie James, le contexte derrière la création du traité et ses conséquences sur les collectivités autochtones, ainsi que le rôle qu’en sont venus à jouer les documents d’archives et d’autres formes de souvenirs dans l’histoire du Traité no 9.

Un traité est un accord officiel entre deux ou plusieurs nations portant sur le partage du territoire et des ressources, ainsi que sur le vivre ensemble en paix et en amitié. Les traités entre les populations autochtones et la Couronne sont des accords solennels qui énoncent des promesses, obligations et avantages pour les deux parties. Les droits ancestraux et issus de traités qui découlent de ces accords sont reconnus dans la Constitution du Canada.



L’Ontario est visé par plus de 40 traités et accords conclus avec les collectivités autochtones.

Quel est le traité qui couvre le lieu où vous habitez? Cliquez ici pour le découvrir!

40 traités et accords conclus avec les collectivités autochtones.




Carte de la province de l’Ontario
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Carte de la province de l’Ontario : Dominion du Canada, incluant des remarques sur les traités faites par J.L Morris, 1930-1931
Fonds de la famille J.L. Morris
F 1060-1-0-51
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0030958

Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario détiennent l’un des deux copies écrites originales du document du Traité de la baie James de 1905-1906, et le document signé pour les adhésions faites au traité en 1929-1930. En plus de l’accord écrit, les commissaires au traité ont fait des promesses orales aux Anishinaabes et aux Omushkegowuks.

La présente exposition remplace une exposition plus ancienne créée pour le centenaire du traité en 2005 en intégrant le point de vue des Omushkegowuks concernant le traité, en intégrant des découvertes archivistiques récentes et en mettant en valeur la manière dont les Archives publiques de l'Ontario ont mis le document écrit du traité à la disposition des collectivités signataires. Elle s’inscrit dans le cadre d’une mission plus vaste de réconciliation et de décolonisation des institutions eurocanadiennes au sein de la profession archivistique et du secteur patrimonial à l’échelle de l'Ontario et de la société canadienne, en réponse à l’ Appel à l’action de 2015 fait par la Commission de vérité et réconciliation (CVR).

Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario ont également créé des ressources éducatives qui viennent compléter l’exposition.

Les Archives publiques de l'Ontario sont reconnaissantes envers le conseil Mushkegowuk et les Archives de l’Université Queen’s pour leur collaboration à cette exposition. 


Moushkegowuk council logo
queen;s university archives
L’image du bandeau est reproduite avec la permission de Stan Wesley.

Cette exposition a été préparée à l’intention du grand public à des fins informatives et éducatives uniquement, et ne représente pas nécessairement l’opinion du gouvernement de l'Ontario. Elle n’a pas pour but de représenter l’interprétation juridique que fait le gouvernement de l'Ontario du traité, ni ne constitue une limitation des droits de l'Ontario. 



Partagez cette page
Partagez-le sur Twitter Partagez-le sur Facebook Partagez-le sur Pinterest Partagez-le sur Tumblr

Dans cette exposition -