Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministry of Government and Consumer Services




A diary uncovered banner

Growing awareness of the importance of treaty commissioner Daniel G. MacMartin’s diary at Queen’s University Archives has led to a new chapter in the James Bay Treaty story. The diary records the thoughts and experiences of the provincial government’s representative during the 1905 treaty expedition, including significant passages documenting the oral promises that the commissioners made to Indigenous signatories.

“Henry Reuben says he was sitting there and saw them [the treaty commission party] writing the important things. There was someone there that did the writing. So this is what is lost. Maybe one day it will show up. I believe in the Bible. It says in the Bible that the things that were told in darkness will also be told in light. That’s how I understand it. … It will be told yet one day.”

-James (Jeemis) Wesley, Omushkegowuk Elder
Treaty Promises Conference, Kashechewan, November 17, 1987


Like many archival records, the MacMartin diary has had a complicated journey. Following MacMartin’s death in 1923, the diary came into the possession of his son, who gave it to poet Wallace H. Robb in the 1950s. Robb donated the diary to Queen’s in 1968. For many years, the diary was mislabelled (possibly by the donor), which clouded the record’s importance. Not until the 1990s did researchers begin to realize its full significance to the interpretation of Treaty No. 9.


Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

[Daniel MacMartin, detail from photo of Commissioners Stewart, MacMartin and treaty party, ca. 1905]
Duncan Campbell Scott fonds
C 275-2-0-1 (S 7680)
Archives of Ontario, I0010638


Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Photo of pages from the MacMartin diary
Image courtesy of Queen’s University Archives

The MacMartin diary contains information, written in pencil, about different aspects of the 1905 trip, including the route, the weather, and opinions on the mineral potential of the territory. Yet it is his passages about the treaty ceremonies that may be of greatest importance: documentary evidence that the commissioners promised Indigenous signatories that their communities could hunt and fish as they always had. Of note, the diary is silent on any explanation of the so-called “Taken Up Clause.”

Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Diary of Daniel G. MacMartin [page 30], 1905
Daniel George W. MacMartin Collection
CA ON00239 F00149
Queen’s University Archives

“When it was explained to them that they could hunt and fish as of old and they were not restricted as to territory, the Reserve merely being a home for them where in which no white man could interfere or trespass upon, that the land was theirs forever, they gladly accepted the situation, and said they would settle the reserve question later on ”

-Marten Falls, July 25, 1905
(emphasis added)




Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Diary of Daniel G. MacMartin [page 44-45], 1905
Daniel George W. MacMartin Collection
CA ON00239 F00149
Queen’s University Archives





“…that a Reservation would be set aside for them, giving each family of 5 a square mile, that they were not obliged to live on it until they felt inclined, that they could follow their custom of hunting where they pleased; the area of land simply being set aside as their own on which no white man could trespass or enter upon, without their permission …”

-Moose Factory, August 9, 1905
(emphasis added)



Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Diary of Daniel G. MacMartin [page 53-54], 1905
Daniel George W. MacMartin Collection
CA ON00239 F00149
Queen’s University Archives



“This morning three representative Indians of the band assembled in Council and had terms of Treaty explained to them …. a reserve or tract of land would be set aside and surveyed in the near future for their sole use and benefit that they were not obliged to live on same, were also allowed as of yore to hunt and fish where they pleased …”

-New Post, August 21, 1905
(emphasis added)

Why did MacMartin write these passages in his diary? Since he records more details of the ceremonies as the 1905 trip progressed, some scholars believe MacMartin had grown skeptical of how the commissioners were explaining the treaty to Indigenous signatories compared to the words on the written document.

Documents written by the others in the treaty delegation also record similar passages.  

Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Diary of Samuel Stewart, 1905
Library and Archives Canada, RG 10, volume 11399, pages 126-127, microfilm reel T-6924, MIKAN no. 2099559

“As usual, the point on which the Indians desired full information was as to the effect the treaty would have on their hunting and fishing rights. On being assured that these would not be taken from them, they expressed much pleasure and their willingness to sign the treaty, which was accordingly done, and the signatures duly witnessed.”

-New Post, August 21, 1905
(emphasis added)

Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Duncan Campbell Scott, “The Last of the Indian Treaties”, Scribner’s Magazine (November 1906), Page 578
Miscellaneous collection
F 775
Archives of Ontario, F-775_MU2128_006
[Article also available online]



“… they were assured that they were not expected to give up their hunting-grounds, that they might hunt and fish throughout all the country just as they had done in the past, but they were to be good subjects of the King, their great father, whose messengers we were.”

-Duncan Campbell Scott describing treaty signing at Fort Hope
(emphasis added)

“Ontario … has purchased almost all its lands with a price, and still conceded the Indians all the hunting and trading privileges which they have ever possessed.”

-Pelham Edgar, 1906 treaty commission expedition secretary, November 1906



Since the 1990s, the Supreme Court of Canada has ruled in R v Marshall, R v Morris, and other cases that oral promises made during negotiation are part of the treaty. Indigenous signatories of the James Bay Treaty have begun to include the MacMartin diary as foundational evidence in court proceedings related to treaty issues. As research continues, more information about the ceremonies, promises and other aspects of the treaty are bound to be uncovered.

How could the MacMartin diary change our understanding of the James Bay Treaty?

MacMartin diary


Share this Page
Share  it on Twitter Share it on Facebook Share it on Pinterest Share it on Tumblr

In this Exhibit -

Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministère des
Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs




Un journal découvert

La compréhension croissante de l’importance qu’a eue le journal intime de Daniel G. MacMartin, conservé aux Archives de l’Université Queen’s a mené à un nouveau chapitre dans l’histoire du Traité de la baie James. Le journal documente les réflexions et expériences du représentant du gouvernement provincial durant l’expédition menant à la signature du traité de 1905, y compris des passages importants qui documentent les promesses orales faites par les commissaires aux signataires autochtones.

« Henry Reuben affirme qu’il était assis là et qu’il les a vus [le groupe des commissaires du traité] écrire les choses importantes. Quelqu’un s’occupait d’écrire. Alors voilà ce qui est perdu. Peut-être refera-t-il surface un jour. Je crois en la Bible. La Bible dit que les choses énoncées dans les ténèbres seront également énoncées dans la lumière. C’est comme cela que je le comprends. …Cela sera dit un jour. » (traduction libre)

-James (Jeemis) Wesley, aîné Omushkegowuk
Conférence sur les promesses du traité, Kashechewan, 17 novembre 1987


À l’instar de nombreux documents d’archives, le journal intime de MacMartin a eu un parcours compliqué. À la suite du décès de MacMartin en 1923, le journal est revenu à son fils, qui l’a offert au poète Wallace H. Robb dans les années 1950. Robb a fait don du journal à l’Université Queen’s en 1968. Pendant de nombreuses années, le journal a été mal étiqueté (possiblement par le donateur), ce qui obscurcit l’importance du document. Il fallut attendre les années 1990 avant que les chercheurs commencent à saisir toute son importance pour l’interprétation du Traité no 9.


[Daniel MacMartin, détail d’une photo des commissaires Stewart, MacMartin et le groupe du traité, vers 1905]
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

[Daniel MacMartin, détail d’une photo des commissaires Stewart, MacMartin et le groupe du traité], [vers 1905]
Fonds Duncan Campbell Scott
C 275-2-0-1 (S 7680)
Archives publiques de l’Ontario, I0010638


Photo de pages tirées du journal de MacMartin
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Photo de pages tirées du journal de MacMartin
Avec la permission des Archives de l’Université Queen’s

Le journal de MacMartin contient des renseignements, écrits au crayon, concernant différents aspects du voyage de 1905, y compris le trajet, la météo et les points de vue sur le potentiel minier du territoire. Pourtant, ce sont ses passages sur les cérémonies de signature du traité qui pourraient revêtir la plus grande importance : une preuve documentaire que les commissaires ont promis aux signataires autochtones que leurs collectivités pouvaient chasser et pêcher comme elles l’avaient toujours fait. Il est à noter que le journal est muet quant à toute explication de ladite « clause de prise des terres ».

Journal de Daniel G. MacMartin [page 30], 1905
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Journal de Daniel G. MacMartin [page 30], 1905
Collection Daniel George W. MacMartin
CA ON00239 F00149
Archives de l’Université Queen’s


« Lorsqu’il leur a été expliqué qu’ils pouvaient chasser et pêcher comme ils l’ont toujours fait et qu’ils n’étaient pas restreints quant au territoire, la réserve constituant simplement un lieu de résidence pour eux où aucun homme blanc ne pouvait s’immiscer ou s’introduire, que la terre était à eux pour toujours, ils ont volontiers accepté la situation, et déclarèrent qu’ils régleraient la question de la réserve plus tard... » (traduction libre)

Marten Falls, 25 juillet 1905 (emphase ajoutée)




Diary of Daniel G. MacMartin, 1905
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Journal de Daniel G. MacMartin [pages 44-45], 1905
Daniel George W. MacMartin Collection
CA ON00239 F00149





« (...) qu’une réserve serait mise de côté pour eux, attribuant à chaque famille de 5 personnes un mille carré, qu’ils n’étaient pas obligés de vivre sur cette terre tant qu’ils n’en auraient pas envie, qu’ils pourraient suivre leurs coutumes de chasse là où il leur plairait; cette superficie serait simplement mise de côté comme leur appartenant, sur laquelle aucun homme blanc ne pourrait s’immiscer ou s’introduire sans leur permission… » (traduction libre)

-Moose Factory, 9 août 1905 (emphase ajoutée)



Journal de Daniel G. MacMartin [pages 44-45], 1905
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Journal de Daniel G. MacMartin [pages 53-54], 1905
Collection Daniel George W. MacMartin
CA ON00239 F00149
Archives de l’Université Queen’s



« Ce matin, trois représentants des Indiens de la bande se sont réunis en conseil et se sont fait expliquer les conditions du Traité (...) une réserve ou un lopin de terre serait mis de côté et arpenté dans un avenir rapproché pour leur usage et avantage exclusifs et sur lequel ils ne seraient pas obligés d’habiter, et ils ont également été autorisés comme jadis à chasser et à pêcher là où bon leur semble (...) » (traduction libre)

-New Post, 21 août 1905 (emphase ajoutée)

Pourquoi MacMartin a-t-il rédigé ces passages dans son journal? Puisqu’il documente de plus en plus de détails sur les cérémonies à mesure que le voyage de 1905 progresse, certains universitaires croient que MacMartin était devenu sceptique à propos de la façon dont les commissaires expliquaient le traité aux signataires autochtones comparativement aux mots contenus dans le document écrit.

Des documents rédigés par d’autres membres de la délégation du traité contiennent également des passages similaires. 

Journal de Samuel Stewart, 1905
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Journal de Samuel Stewart, 1905
Bibliothèques et Archives Canada, RG 10, volume 11399, pages 126-127, bobine de microfilm T-6924, MIKAN no 2099559

« Comme d’habitude, le point sur lequel les Indiens désiraient des renseignements complets concernait les conséquences que le traité aurait sur leurs droits de chasse et pêche. Une fois rassurés que ces droits ne leur seraient pas enlevés, ils exprimèrent une grande joie et leur volonté de signer le traité, ce qui fut fait par conséquent, et les signatures dûment certifiées. » (traduction libre)

-New Post, 21 août 1905 (emphase ajoutée)



Duncan Campbell Scott, « The Last of the Indian Treatie
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Duncan Campbell Scott, « The Last of the Indian Treaties », Scribner’s Magazine (novembre 1906), page 578
Collection diverse
F 775
Archives publiques de l'Ontario,
F-775_MU2128_006
[Article également accessible en ligne]



« (...) on leur a assuré qu’on ne s’attendait pas à ce qu’ils renoncent à leurs territoires de chasse, qu’ils pourraient chasser et pêcher dans tout le pays comme ils l’avaient fait par le passé, mais qu’ils devaient être de bons sujets du Roi, leur grand père, dont ils étaient les messagers. » (traduction libre)

-Duncan Campbell Scott décrivant la signature du traité à Fort Hope (emphase ajoutée)

« L’Ontario (...) a fait l’acquisition de presque toutes ses terres à un prix, et a tout de même concédé aux Indiens tous les privilèges de chasse et de commerce qu’ils ont toujours possédés. » (traduction libre)

-Pelham Edgar, secrétaire de l’expédition de la commission
pour la signature du traité de 1906, novembre 1906



Depuis les années 1990, la Cour suprême du Canada s’est prononcée dans l’affaire R. c. Marshall, l’affaire R. c. Morris et d’autres affaires et a jugé que les promesses orales faites au cours des négociations font partie du traité. Les signataires autochtones du Traité de la baie James Bay Treaty ont commencé à inclure le journal de MacMartin à titre de preuve fondamentale dans les actions en justice sur des questions liées au traité. À mesure que les recherches se poursuivent, de plus amples renseignements à propos des cérémonies, promesses et autres aspects du traité seront forcément découverts.

En quoi le journal de MacMartin change-t-il notre compréhension du Traité de la baie James?

En quoi le journal de MacMartin change-t-il


Partagez cette page
Partagez-le sur Twitter Partagez-le sur Facebook Partagez-le sur Pinterest Partagez-le sur Tumblr

Dans cette exposition -