Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministry of
Government and Consumer Services




A Living Document banner

The Omushkegowuk people and other Indigenous signatories see the James Bay Treaty’s written document as one part of the agreement, and so it is sacred to their communities. With this significance, the Archives of Ontario has gladly fulfilled requests to display the original copy of the document in its collections at public events in the treaty territory.

“These are very, very historic documents that we have here. And having the Treaty document with us, to be able to honour and respect what our forefathers did in terms of the Treaty, in regard to their vision and their dream, and their aspirations for the future, I think it’s very, very special. … It’s a special moment for me, as well, as a grandson of a signator to the Treaty. That my own grandfather, my own blood, Andrew Wesley … put his mark … signifying his agreement to what he had heard from the commissioners. They did all for this for us.”

-Dr. Stan Louttit, during the display of the Archives of Ontario’s copy of the written document at the James Bay Treaty – Treaty No. 9 Conference, Moose Cree First Nation, August 2013


Displaying the written document requires the expertise of the Archives’ Preservation Services. The document is made of parchment (animal skin, typically calf, sheep or goat), a reactive material that wants to draw in moisture from the air. Changes in humidity can cause expansion and contraction, rippling, loss of media (i.e. writing), and other problems. A stable surrounding environment is essential for document’s longevity.

That’s why the Archives of Ontario takes great care to prepare the treaty pages for shipping, handling, and display. The Archives uses a mounting method that monitors humidity changes inside the display frames. Thin Japanese paper strips are adhered to the parchment and conservation mat board, allowing for the parchment to naturally expand and contract and avoiding damage. In addition, silica controls the presence of too much or too little moisture. The document travels in three custom-made moving crates, and humidity and temperature are constantly monitored with dataloggers.

Slideshow: Preservation Treatments

Click below to learn more about the preservation treatments required for display of the treaty’s written document:

The Archives’ copy of the written document has been on display at the following events:


Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Miyopin Cheechoo, looking at the first page of the written treaty document at the Treaties 1 - 11 National Gathering at Taykwa Tagamou Nation, August 2017
Photo courtesy of Christina Nielsen

Letter from David Ciglen
Click to see a larger image

Written treaty pages on display at Kishay Pisim Mamawihitowin - Great Moon Gathering, Northern College, Timmins, February 2019

Is there a document or heirloom that is particularly special to you and your community? What measures do you take so it will last for future generations?

MacMartin diary


Share this Page
Share  it on Twitter Share it on Facebook Share it on Pinterest Share it on Tumblr

In this Exhibit -

Government of Ontario

Ontario.ca     |    


Ministère des
Services gouvernementaux et des Services aux consommateurs




Un document en évolution

Le peuple Omushkegowuk et autres signataires autochtones perçoivent le document écrit du Traité de la baie James comme une partie de l’accord. Il est donc sacré pour leurs collectivités. Compte tenu de cette importance, les Archives publiques de l'Ontario ont répondu avec joie aux demandes visant à exposer l’exemplaire original du document de leurs collections à l’occasion d’événements publics sur le territoire couvert par le traité.

« Ce sont des documents historiques très importants que nous avons ici. En ayant le Traité en main, nous sommes en mesure d’honorer et de respect ce que nos ancêtres ont voulu faire en signant le Traité, c’est-à-dire ce qu’était leur vision, leur rêve et leur espoir pour l’avenir. Je crois que c’est assez exceptionnel. (...) C’est un moment unique pour moi aussi, en tant que petit-fils de l’un des signataires du Traité. Le fait que mon grand-père, mon propre sang, Andrew Wesley, a apposé sa marque pour signifier son accord à ce qu’il avait entendu des commissaires. Nos ancêtres ont fait tout ça pour nous. »

-Dr Stan Louttit, durant l’exposition de la copie détenue par les Archives publiques de l'Ontario du document écrit à la Conférence sur le Traité de la baie James – Traité no 9, Première Nation crie de la Moose, août 2013


L’exposition du document écrit nécessite l’expertise des services de préservation des Archives. Le document est fait de parchemin (peau d’animal, habituellement de veau, de mouton ou de chèvre), un matériel réactif qui veut aspirer l’humidité de l’air. Les variations d’humidité peuvent provoquer l’expansion et la contraction, l’ondulation, la perte de média (c.-à-d., l’écriture) et d’autres problèmes. Un milieu ambiant stable est essentiel pour assurer la longévité du document.

C’est pourquoi les Archives publiques de l'Ontario prennent soin de préparer les pages du traité pour l’expédition, la manutention et l’exposition. Les Archives utilisent une méthode de montage qui contrôle les variations d’humidité à l’intérieur des cadres d’exposition. De minces bandes de papier Japon sont collées sur le parchemin et le carton de conservation, permettant ainsi au parchemin de prendre de l’expansion et de se contracter naturellement, ce qui évite de lui causer des dommages. En outre, la silice contrôle la présence d’un excès ou d’un manque d’humidité. Le document voyage dans trois caisses mobiles faites sur mesure, et des enregistreurs de données contrôlent constamment l’humidité et la température.

Diaporama: Traitements de préservation

Cliquez ici pour en savoir plus sur les traitements de préservation nécessaires pour exposer le document écrit du traité. 

L’exemplaire du document écrit que possèdent les Archives a été exposé aux événements suivants :


iyopin Cheechoo, regardant la première page du document écrit du traité au Rassemblement national
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Miyopin Cheechoo, regardant la première page du document écrit du traité au Rassemblement national des traités 1 à 11 chez la Première Nation Taykwa Tagamou, août 2017
Avec la permission de Christina Nielsen

Written treaty pages on display at Kishay Pisim Mamawihitowin
Cliquez pour un agrandissement

Pages du traité écrit exposées au Kishay Pisim Mamawihitowin - Great Moon Gathering, Collège Northern, Timmins, février 2019

Existe-t-il un document ou un bien patrimonial particulièrement cher à vos yeux et pour votre collectivité? Quelles mesures prenez-vous pour assurer sa viabilité pour les générations futures?

Existe-t-il un document ou un bien patrimonial particulièrement

Image du bandeau reproduite avec la permission de Christina Nielsen.


Partagez cette page
Partagez-le sur Twitter Partagez-le sur Facebook Partagez-le sur Pinterest Partagez-le sur Tumblr

Dans cette exposition -