Dear Sadie – Love, Lives & Remembrance from Ontario’s First World War - Page Banner

Harry Leaves Canada (and Sadie) Behind


"The English are proud of Canadians, as are all the other allies, and I’m proud too to wear Canada on my shoulders and the maple leaf on my cap and collar."

Harry, 13 Jul 1916

The first contingent of 33,000 Canadian soldiers landed in Britain on October 16, 1914. From there, they were soon transported to France, and were fighting at the front lines. Harry arrived at the front as part of the 4th Canadian Division, nearly a year later. After training in England, he was deployed to France in August 1916.

Letter from Harry Mason to Sadie Arbuckle, July 13, 1916
Click to see a larger image

Letter from Harry Mason to Sadie Arbuckle,
July 13, 1916
Sadie Arbuckle fonds
Reference Code: F 848
Archives of Ontario, I0070753

In Harry’s first letters from Europe, it is clear that his enthusiasm and that of his fellow soldiers was as strong as ever.

"[W]e don’t mind these little hardships and inconveniences so long as we further our training and promote the cause of Canada – you would be surprised Dear to see how cheerfully the men – every one accepts the varied conditions and how absolutely anxious they are to become thoroughly fit for the supreme test which they all hope some day to experience... "

Harry, 25 Jun 1916



Canada’s soldiers were not alone in their zeal. Back home in Canada, posters were being put up across the country, and these showed the same optimism and excitement. Canadian men were called to enlist by smiling faces in clean, comfortable uniforms. There were few hints at the danger involved, and victory seemed assured.

Here's your chance - It's men we want [Canada], [between 1914 and 1918]
Click to see a larger image

Here's your chance - It's men we want
[Canada], [between 1914 and 1918]
Black and white print
Archives of Ontario poster collection
Reference Code: C 233-2-4-0-200
Archives of Ontario, I0016180
Canadiens français, enrolez-vous au 150ième Carabiniers Mont Royal, sous le commandement du Lieutenant Colonel H. Barré [French Canadians, enlist with the 150th Mont Royal Carabiniers, under the command of Lieutenant Colonel H. Barré], [between 1914 and 1918]
Click to see a larger image

Canadiens français, enrolez-vous au 150ième Carabiniers Mont Royal, sous le commandement du Lieutenant Colonel H. Barré [French Canadians, enlist with the 150th Mont Royal Carabiniers, under the command of Lieutenant Colonel H. Barré],
[between 1914 and 1918]
Colour print
Archives of Ontario poster collection
Reference Code: C 233-2-4-0-197
Archives of Ontario, I0016177

Come and Do Your Bit. Join Now, [between 1914 and 1918]
Click to see a larger image

Come and Do Your Bit. Join Now, [between 1914 and 1918]
Colour print
Archives of Ontario poster collection
Reference Code: C 233-2-7-0-308
Archives of Ontario, I0022019


But this cheerfulness did not mean that the soldiers did not know the dangers they would be facing. Harry shared these thoughts with Sadie, too, but always acknowledging that he should take care not to tell her too many upsetting details.

After the 80th Battalion sailed to England, it was absorbed into other units and Harry found himself part of the 67th Battalion, known as the Western Scots. He was deployed to France on August 9, 1916, and was in the trenches of Belgium by August 19.

"[S]ome of us must be killed and wounded because this is war we all hope for the less severe but we know that some must pay the great sacrifice and I believe that everyone if necessary is willing – but Dear this isn’t cheerful and everyone must realize this part of modern war."

Harry, 25 Jun 1916


His letters provide detailed accounts of the life of a CEF soldier in France waiting to be deployed to the trenches.

" It seems Sweetheart almost impossible that I am so near the activity of the greatest and most awful war the world has ever known, everyone is so cheerful and bright but at the same time ever prepared for any emergency. "

Harry, 19 Aug 1916

" [T]he lumber in these board floors [in billets] is the hardest wood in the world but we are tired and sleep like logs but our poor bones are very tired and sore in the morning, but we are quite cheerful nevertheless, in fact Dear it is hard for you to imagine such abandon cheerfulness when so soon for some of us it will be quite the reverse, it is good Sweetheart to see such a spirit, because that is what wins our battles and makes our work much easier and more pleasant. "

Harry, 15 Aug 1916



The 67th was a pioneer battalion, which meant it was primarily responsible for engineering tasks such as construction and repair work. For Harry this meant digging and fortifying trenches, building sandbag blockades, and providing supply routes for other units, all while under enemy fire.


" [O]ur tour here has been a very long one, much longer than usual, we as pioneers don’t do so badly our work is very hard and dangerous but at least we return after each tour to billets where we can get dry and warm before going out again... The infantry admire and pity the pioneers in their work because we must defy Fritz and go on with the work no matter how intense the fire, they wouldn’t transfer into the pioneers if they could help it... "

Harry, 7 Nov 1916



Canadian Pioneers carrying trench material to Passchendaele quiting work while German prisoners carrying wounded pass by, 1917
Click to see a larger image

Canadian Pioneers carrying trench material to Passchendaele
quitting work while German prisoners carrying wounded pass by, 1917
Unknown photographer
Black and white print
Canadian Expeditionary Force albums
Reference Code: C 224-0-0-10-19
Archives of Ontario, I0004829


Harry’s first letters from the front lines sounded less enthusiastic about the experience of war. He was also careful not to reveal details that could prove dangerous in enemy hands.

" I have been under schrapnel [sic], machine gun and rifle fire already and though at first it started little shivers chasing each other down my spine, I am now used to it and I’m glad because we are bombarded some time during each day and night and yesterday a sniper took two shots at me which luckily didn’t register, but I didn’t stay around that place very long, it is quite thrilling to hear the whistle as they sing past and hear them slap into the mud... "

Harry, 21 Aug 1916




" [T]he best part of it is Dearest I really like it, it’s dangerous almost any minute a sniper may take a shot or a shell drop but I really do like it so far... I wish I could safely name the place but I must not it is very very well known, and famous for previous battles fought by Canadians earlier in the war and the place is quite covered in the rear with little wooden crosses marking the graves of our heroes. "

Harry, 21 Aug 1916



graphic of speaker

Click below to hear a portion of the letter above

A Canadian soldier badly wounded in his shoulder  and leg drinking hot coffee at a soup kitchen  100 yards from the German lines at Hill 70, [ca. 1918]
Click to see a larger image

A Canadian soldier badly wounded in his shoulder
and leg drinking hot coffee at a soup kitchen
100 yards from the German lines at
Hill 70, [ca. 1918]
Unknown photographer
Canadian Expeditionary Force albums
Black and white print
Reference CodeC 224-0-0-10-10
Archives of Ontario, I0004820


A Canadian sentry at his post composed of ammunition boxes and bricks from old houses,[ca. 1918]
Click to see a larger image

A Canadian sentry at his post composed of ammunition
boxes and bricks from old houses,[ca. 1918]
Unknown photographer
Canadian Expeditionary Force albums
Black and white print
Reference Code: C 224-0-0-10-11
Archives of Ontario, I0004821

" [T]he trees at least quite a few have been literally blown up by the roots or every bit of their limbs have gone by shell fire leaving only a scarred trunk which presents in a ghostly way the once beautiful Belgium and the villages and towns are a heap of debris over run with rats – the fields once very fertile are now a barren shell pitted ruin through which run trenches... "

Harry, 12 Sep 1916



The castle at Ham [Belgium] in ruins after having been destroyed by the Germans on their  retreat, [ca. 1918]
Click to see a larger image

The castle at Ham [Belgium] in ruins after
having been destroyed by the Germans on
their retreat, [ca. 1918]
Black and white print
Photograph albums of the First World War
Reference Code: C 224-8, Item C 224-0-0-9-42
Archives of Ontario, I0004801

Even in these early days, while dealing with the overwhelming action taking place all around him, Harry was captivated by the soldiers who fought from the air.



" It is very interesting to watch our aeroplanes sail over Fritz... first you see the flash then the smoke and afterward the report just now they fired 135 shells at one aeroplane and they are still firing and he is still sailing blissfully on so you can see how daring our airmen are and how Fritz wastes his ammunition. "

Harry, 25 Aug 1916




Click to see a larger image (395K)

The War In the Air, 1917
After C. R. W. Nevinson
Reference Code: C 334-2-0-0-9
Archives of Ontario, I0013656



As the war progressed, Harry’s battalion saw heavy losses and as an officer, Harry felt a strong sense of responsibility. He respected his troops and often spoke highly of them to Sadie. Their deaths weighed heavily on him and his sense of enthusiasm seemed to be waning.

“The rawest raw recruits,” from left to right: Lieutenant Coward, Lieutenant Bertrand, Captain Lockett, Lieutenant Harry Mason (seated), Captain Nichols, and Lieutenant Winslow, [ca. 1914-1917]
Click to see a larger image

“The rawest raw recruits,” from left to right:
Lieutenant Coward, Lieutenant Bertrand, Captain Lockett, Lieutenant Harry Mason (seated),
Captain Nichols, and Lieutenant Winslow, [ca. 1914-1917]
Black and white print
Sadie Arbuckle fonds
Reference Code: F 848
Archives of Ontario, I0050211

Letter from Harry Mason to Sadie Arbuckle, September 8, 1916
Click to see a larger image

Letter from Harry Mason to Sadie Arbuckle,
September 8, 1916
Sadie Arbuckle fonds
Reference Code: F 848
Archives of Ontario, I0071018

" [O]ne of my men, one of the best was shot down beside me last night – I will not describe the scene Sadie it was too awful, the bullet entered the back of his neck and come out in front and as soon as he fell – after telling the other men to go on with their work – I went to him and helped to bandage the terrible wound but he only lived a few minutes and was not conscious, he had been building sandbags and was comparatively safe but was thirsty and had gotten a drink and was just coming back when he was hit – I am writing a letter to his wife – poor woman and will try as best I can to make it a little easier if possible for her and their two little children – I will bury him to-morrow and after a while when we move from here will send the location and description of his grave... "

Harry, 8 Sep 1916


graphic of speaker

Click below to hear a portion of the letter above


The letter he wrote to that fallen soldier’s wife provided her with some much-needed empathy and she responded:

Letter from E.M. Anderson to Harry Mason, October 14, 1916
Click to see a larger image

Letter from E.M. Anderson to Harry Mason, October 14, 1916
Sadie Arbuckle fonds
Reference Code: F 848
Archives of Ontario, I0071144

"Dear Lieut. Mason,

Your letter of praise for my husband & sympathy for me came when life seemed very dark indeed, & helped to cheer me & I wish to thank you for your kindness in writing. We like to know that those who are very dear to us are also thought well of by others. I try to take comfort in knowing that he did not suffer, & I shall know where he is buried, & surely if there is Justice & Mercy in Heaven, my Boy, & all the others who have given their brave young lives, are safe & happy. Yours most sincerely, "

E.M. Anderson, 14 Oct 1916


graphic of speaker

Click below to hear a portion of the letter above

Dear Sadie – Love, Lives & Remembrance from Ontario’s First World War - Page Banner

Harry laisse le Canada (et Sadie) derrière lui


« Les Anglais, ainsi que tous les autres Alliés, sont fiers des Canadiens. Et je suis fier aussi de porter le nom du Canada à mes épaulettes, de même que la feuille d’érable sur mon béret et mon col. »

Harry, le 13 juillet 1916

Le premier contingent de 33 000 soldats canadiens a débarqué en Bretagne le 16 octobre 1914. Les hommes ont vite été transportés en France, où ils combattaient sur les lignes de front. Harry est arrivé au front au sein de la 4e Division canadienne près d’un an plus tard. Après un entraînement en Angleterre, il est déployé en France en août 1916.

Lettre de Harry Mason à Sadie Arbuckle, le 13 juillet 1916
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Lettre de Harry Mason à Sadie Arbuckle,
le 13 juillet 1916
Fonds Sadie Arbuckle
Code de référence : F 848
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0070753

À la lecture des premières lettres de Harry en Europe, il est clair que son enthousiasme et celui de ses compagnons d’armes sont plus forts que jamais.

« Les petites épreuves et les inconvénients nous importent peu tant que nous poussons plus loin notre entraînement et défendons la cause du Canada. Vous seriez surprise, ma chère, de voir l’entrain avec lequel les hommes – chacun d’entre eux – acceptent les diverses conditions auxquelles ils sont soumis et comme ils s’impatientent d’être parfaitement aptes pour l’épreuve ultime, que tous espèrent vivre tôt ou tard. »

Harry, le 25 juin 1916



Les soldats canadiens ne sont pas les seuls animés d’un tel zèle. Au pays, des affiches sont posées sur les murs, et leurs messages font foi du même optimisme, de la même ferveur. Les hommes canadiens sont invités à s’enrôler par des troupes au visage souriant et arborant des uniformes propres et confortables. Rarement évoquait-on le danger qui les attendait, et la victoire apparaissait certaine.

Here's your chance - It's men we want, [entre 1914 et 1918]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Here's your chance - It's men we want,
[entre 1914 et 1918]
Affiche noir et blanc
Collection d’affiches des Archives
publiques de l’Ontario
Code de référence : C 233-2-4-0-200
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0016180
Canadiens français, enrolez-vous au 150ième Carabiniers Mont Royal, [entre 1914 et 1918]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Canadiens français, enrolez-vous au 150ième Carabiniers Mont Royal, [entre 1914 et 1918]
Affiche couleur
Collection d’affiches des Archives
publiques de l’Ontario
Code de référence : C 233-2-4-0-197
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0016177

Come and do your bit. Join now, [entre 1914 et 1918]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Come and do your bit. Join now, [entre 1914 et 1918]
Affiche couleur
Collection d’affiches des Archives publiques de l’Ontario
Code de référence : C 233-2-7-0-308
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0022019


Mais cette gaieté ne signifie pas que les hommes ignoraient les dangers auxquels ils seraient confrontés. Harry partageait aussi ses craintes avec Sadie, mais veillait toujours à ne pas trop entrer dans les détails bouleversants.

Après avoir navigué jusqu’en Angleterre, le 80e Bataillon est intégré à d’autres unités. Harry se retrouve ainsi membre du 67e Bataillon, celui des « Western Scots » (Écossais de l’Ouest). Déployé en France le 9 août 1916, il est dans les tranchées de la Belgique une dizaine de jours plus tard.

« Certains d’entre nous seront tués et blessés parce que c’est la guerre. Nous espérons tous le moins de ravages possible, mais nous savons que certains feront le sacrifice le plus grand et je crois que tous y consentent s’il le faut. Ma chère, cela n’est guère réjouissant et il faut reconnaître cette réalité de la guerre moderne. »

Harry, le 25 juin 1916


Ses lettres offrent un récit détaillé de la vie d’un soldat du CEC en France avant son déploiement dans les tranchées.

« Ma bonne amie, j’ai peine à croire que, dans un avenir si proche, je plongerai dans la guerre la plus grande et la plus terrible que le monde ait jamais connue. Tous gardent leur entrain et leur vivacité, tout en restant parés à toute éventualité. »

Harry, le 19 août 1916

« Le bois dont ces planches sont faites [en rondins] est le plus dur au monde, mais nous sommes fatigués et nous dormons comme des bûches. Nos pauvres os nous font souffrir le matin, mais nous restons plutôt enjoués. Peut-être aurez-vous du mal à concevoir cette joyeuse aisance, ma chère, alors que tout le contraire s’annonce pour certains d’entre nous, mais il est bon de sentir cet esprit, celui qui nous fait remporter nos batailles et rend notre travail beaucoup plus facile et plaisant. »

Harry, le 15 août 1916



Le 67e était un bataillon de pionniers, ce qui signifie qu’il était principalement affecté aux tâches de sapeur, comme la construction et les travaux de réparation. Harry était donc appelé à creuser et à fortifier les tranchées, à édifier des barricades à l’aide de sacs de sable et à assurer des voies de ravitaillement pour d’autres unités, le tout sous le feu ennemi.


« Notre circuit ici a été très long et rude, beaucoup plus que ceux que nous avons l’habitude de faire, nous pionniers. Notre travail est très difficile et dangereux, mais, au moins, nous revenons au logement après chaque circuit, où nous pouvons nous sécher et nous réchauffer en attendant de sortir à nouveau... L’infanterie admire et plaint les pionniers pour les tâches qui leur sont dévolues. Nous devons défier Fritz et poursuivre le travail, quelle que soit l’intensité des feux. Beaucoup ne voudraient jamais être mutés à notre poste... »

Harry, le 7 novembre 1916



Des pionniers canadiens amenant du matériel de tranchées à Passchendaele retournent du travail, et croisent des prisonniers allemands transportant des blesses, 1917
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Des pionniers canadiens amenant du matériel de tranchées à Passchendaele retournent du travail, et croisent des prisonniers allemands transportant des blesses, 1917
Photographe inconnu
Photographie noir et blanc
Albums du corps expéditionnaire canadien
Code de référence : C 224-0-0-10-19
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0004829


Les premières lettres de Harry en provenance des premières lignes semblent moins enthousiastes au sujet de l’expérience de la guerre. Harry prend soin de ne pas révéler trop de détails qui auraient pu s’avérer dangereux entre des mains ennemies.

« J’ai déjà été sous les obus et subi l’assaut des mitrailleuses et des tirs au fusil. Si j’en frissonnais au début, j’en ai maintenant l’habitude et il le faut parce que nous sommes bombardés chaque jour, même la nuit. Hier, un tireur m’a visé deux fois, sans succès heureusement. Je ne suis pas resté au même endroit très longtemps. Il est saisissant d’entendre le sifflement des balles qui nous frôlent avant de sauter dans la boue. »

Harry, le 21 août 1916




« Ma chérie, le danger me guette à tous les instants, un tireur peut me prendre pour cible, on peut me lancer un obus, mais, voilà le meilleur, j’aime vraiment ce que je fais jusqu’ici... J’aurais aimé dire exactement où je me trouve, mais c’est impossible. L’endroit est très connu et célèbre pour d’anciennes batailles menées par des Canadiens plus tôt pendant la guerre. Et nous pouvons apercevoir derrière nous de nombreuses petites croix de bois marquant les lieux où reposent nos héros. »

Harry, le 21 août 1916


graphic of speaker

Cliquez ci-dessous pour entendre une portion de la lettre à droite

A Canadian soldier badly wounded in his shoulder  and leg drinking hot coffee at a soup kitchen  100 yards from the German lines at Hill 70, [ca. 1918]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Soldat canadien grièvement blessé à l'épaule et à la
jambe buvant un café chaud, dans une soupe populaire,
à environ 100 mètres des lignes allemandes, à Colline 70, [vers 1918]
Photographe inconnu
Albums du corps expéditionnaire canadien
Photographie noir et blanc
Reference CodeC 224-0-0-10-10
Archives of Ontario, I0004820


Une sentinelle canadienne à son poste composé de caisses de munitions et de briques de vieilles maisons, [vers 1918] 

]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Une sentinelle canadienne à son poste composé de
caisses de munitions et de briques de vieilles
maisons, [vers 1918]
Photographe inconnu
Albums du corps expéditionnaire canadien
Photographie noir et blanc
Reference Code: C 224-0-0-10-11
Archives of Ontario, I0004821

« Bien des arbres ont été littéralement soufflés par les racines. D’autres sont dégarnis de chacune de leurs branches par la force des obus et ne montrent plus qu’un tronc meurtri. Voilà une vision macabre de la Belgique autrefois si belle. Des villes et villages sont réduits à l’état de cendres et de débris où abondent les rats. Des champs autrefois très fertiles sont maintenant nus, ruinés et troués de tranchées... »

Harry, le 12 septembre 1916



Le château de Ham [Belgique] en ruines, après avoir été détruit par les Allemands à leur retraite, [vers 1918]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Le château de Ham [Belgique] en ruines, après
avoir été détruit par les Allemands
à leur retraite, [vers 1918]
Photographie noir et blanc
Photograph albums of the First World War
Code de référence : C 224-8, Item C 224-0-0-9-42
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0004801

Dès les premiers jours sur le front, alors qu’il devait s’adapter à l’effervescence constante tout autour de lui, Harry était fasciné par les soldats qui combattaient à partir du ciel.



« Il est captivant de voir nos avions survoler les « Fritz »... On aperçoit d’abord les éclairs, puis la fumée. On nous rapporte ensuite qu’ils ont lancé 135 obus à partir d’un seul avion, et on les voit continuer de faire feu et de naviguer parfaitement. Nos aviateurs sont audacieux et on comprend pourquoi Fritz perd des munitions. »

Harry, le 25 août 1916




Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Les artistes de la Première Guerre mondiale : The War In the Air
d'après C.R.W. Nevinson
Code de référence : C 334-2-0-0-9
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0013656

À mesure que la guerre progresse, le bataillon dont fait partie Harry subit de lourdes pertes. Le sentiment de responsabilité est grand pour Harry, à titre d’officier. Il respecte ses troupes et en fait souvent l’éloge à Sadie. Les morts pèsent sur sa conscience et son enthousiasme semble s’étioler.

“The rawest raw recruits,” de gauche à droite: le lieutenant Coward, le lieutenant Bertrand, le capitaine Lockett, le lieutenant Harry Mason, le capitaine Nichols, et le lieutenant Winslow, [vers 1914-1917]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

“The rawest raw recruits,” de gauche à droite: le lieutenant Coward,
le lieutenant Bertrand, le capitaine Lockett, le lieutenant Harry Mason,
le capitaine Nichols, et le lieutenant Winslow, [vers 1914-1917]
Photographie noir et blanc
Fonds Sadie Arbuckle
Code de référence : F 848
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0050211

Lettre de Harry Mason à Sadie Arbuckle, le 8 septembre 1916
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Lettre de Harry Mason à Sadie Arbuckle,
le 8 septembre 1916
Fonds Sadie Arbuckle
Code de référence : F 848
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0071018

graphic of speaker

Cliquez ci-dessous pour entendre une portion de la lettre à droite



« L’un de mes hommes, l’un des meilleurs, a été atteint tout près de moi hier soir. Je ne te décrirai pas la scène Sadie, mais c’était atroce. La balle a pénétré sa nuque et l’a traversée. Dès qu’il est tombé, j’ai dit aux autres hommes de ne pas lâcher, j’ai couru vers lui et j’ai tenté de bander la terrible blessure. Le pauvre, inconscient, n’a survécu que quelques minutes. Il montait des sacs de sable et était plutôt en lieu sûr, comparativement à d’autres, mais, ayant soif, il est allé boire et c’est à son retour qu’il a été touché. J’écris maintenant une lettre à son épouse, la pauvre femme, et je ferai tout mon possible pour lui faciliter la vie, à elle et à ses deux jeunes enfants. Je vais l’enterrer demain et, lorsque le temps sera venu, après être parti d’ici, j’enverrai une description de l’endroit et de sa tombe... »

Harry, le 8 septembre 1916



La lettre écrite à la femme du soldat mort au combat était empreinte de compassion. Cette femme, qui en avait tant besoin, lui répondit :

Lettre de E.M. Anderson à Harry Mason, le 14 octobre 1916
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Lettre de E.M. Anderson à Harry Mason,
le 14 octobre 1916
Fonds Sadie Arbuckle
Code de référence : F 848
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0071144

Cher lieutenant Mason,

Votre lettre pleine d’éloges pour mon époux et de sympathie pour moi m’est parvenue à un moment où la vie me paraissait très sombre. Elle m’a aidée à reprendre courage et je tiens à vous remercier de votre bonté à mon égard. Il est doux de savoir que ceux que nous chérissons le plus sont aussi estimés par d’autres. J’essaie de me consoler en pensant qu’il n’a pas souffert et que je saurai un jour où on l’a enterré. Dieu est juste et miséricordieux et je sais que mon homme et tous les autres qui ont sacrifié leur jeune vie sont maintenant heureux et en sécurité.

Votre toute dévouée,
E.M. Anderson, le 14 octobre 1916


graphic of speaker

Cliquez ci-dessous pour entendre une portion de la lettre ci-dessus