Dear Sadie – Love, Lives & Remembrance from Ontario’s First World War - Page Banner

When Harry Met Sadie


Harry Mason was born in Denver, Colorado in 1892, and when he was 13, he and his family moved to Canada, a short distance from Toronto. At 16, he was hired at the Bank of Toronto, and was subsequently transferred to the Sudbury and then the Winnipeg branch.

On October 28, 1913, when he was 21, Harry wrote a letter to Sadie Arbuckle, a woman he had never met.

Harry was no longer working for the bank. He was living in the new settlement of Compeer, Alberta, working to open the town’s first store. His business partner Jack Wulff was a friend of Sadie’s and spoke of her often. Sadie kept in touch with Jack, and sent a card to Harry as well, as a courtesy. Harry, overwhelmed by the loneliness and hardship of homesteading in the West, took the opportunity to start a correspondence that would change both of their lives.

Portrait of Harry Mason wearing a Royal Flying Corps
Click to see a larger image

Portrait of Harry Mason wearing a Royal Flying Corps
uniform with Observer pin, March 1917
Black and white print
Sadie Arbuckle fonds
Reference Code: F 848
Archives of Ontario, I0050212

First letter, October 28, 1913
Click to see a larger image

First letter from Harry Mason to Sadie Arbuckle,
October 28, 1913
Sadie Arbuckle fonds
Reference Code: F 848
Archives of Ontario, I0070087

In his first letter to Sadie, Harry explains that their store would eventually be situated along a planned CPR branch line between Lacombe, Alberta and Kerrobert, Saskatchewan, but in the meantime, “business isn’t very brisk.” He also apologizes for taking the liberty of writing to her, “some one I never met personally.”

Sadie forgave the breach of etiquette and wrote back to Harry, to his immense pleasure and relief. (Unfortunately, Sadie’s first letters do not survive in the collection.) In his earliest correspondence, he tells Sadie about living in the wilds of the Canadian West, and the shocking behaviour of the other settlers. At social nights, for example, he admits that “total strangers will ask others for dances without even knowing each other’s names.” He reassures Sadie, “I for one do not believe it at all proper and I never practice it myself.”

Letter from Harry to Sadie
Click to see a larger image

Letter from Harry Mason to Sadie Arbuckle, January 19, 1914
Sadie Arbuckle fonds
Reference Code: F 848
Archives of Ontario, I0070095


Even without Sadie’s letters from this time, we know that her life was very different from Harry’s. While he was settling new lands, Sadie was living in the heart of one of Canada’s largest cities.

In 1914, Toronto had a population of nearly 500,000. Living at 930 Queen Street East, Sadie was in a densely populated upper-middle class neighbourhood served by a robust streetcar system. Her letters describe a busy urban life. She worked in an office in the city, visited often with family and friends, attended church, and frequently went to the movies. Her social life was a stark contrast to Harry’s occasional community dances.

View of the Crystal Palace on Yonge Street opposite Temperance Street, Toronto, [ca. 1915]
Click to see a larger image

View of the Crystal Palace on Yonge Street opposite
Temperance Street, Toronto, [ca. 1915]
Ernest Hoch
Lantern Slide
William H. Hammond fonds
Reference Code: F 4436-0-0-0-171
Archives of Ontario, I0021973
Women at an Eaton's Company mail order office picnic, [ca. 1910]
Click to see a larger image

Women at an Eaton's Company mail order
office picnic, [ca. 1910]
Marion Owsten
Black and white print
Archives of Ontario photograph collection
Reference Code: F 2170-0-0-0-22
Archives of Ontario, I0014279


Queen and Yonge streets, [ca. 1920]
Click to see a larger image

Queen and Yonge streets, [ca. 1920]
Ministry of Education
Black and white print
Photographs of the Audio-Visual Education Branch
Reference Code: RG 2-71, Item COT-138
Archives of Ontario, I0012494

Dear Sadie – Love, Lives & Remembrance from Ontario’s First World War - Page Banner

Quand Harry « rencontre » Sadie


Harry Mason est né à Denver, au Colorado, en 1892. Il déménage avec sa famille au Canada, non loin de Toronto, à l’âge de 13 ans. À 16 ans, il est engagé à la Banque de Toronto, pour ensuite être transféré à Sudbury, puis à Winnipeg.

Le 28 octobre 1913, alors âgé de 21 ans, Harry écrit une lettre à Sadie Arbuckle, qu’il n’a encore jamais rencontrée.

Il ne travaille plus dans une banque. Il vit dans le nouvel établissement de Compeer, en Alberta, où il œuvre à l’ouverture du premier magasin de la ville. Son associé, Jack Wulff, est un ami de Sadie et lui en parle souvent. Sadie avait gardé contact avec Jack. Par courtoisie, elle avait aussi envoyé une carte à Harry. Aux prises avec la solitude et les épreuves de l’implantation dans l’Ouest, Harry profite de l’occasion pour amorcer une correspondance qui transformera sa vie et celle de Sadie.

Portrait de Harry Mason en l’uniforme de l’Aviation royale canadienne avec la broche d'observateur, mars 1917
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Portrait de Harry Mason en l’uniforme de
l’Aviation royale canadienne avec la broche
d'observateur, mars 1917
Photographie noir et blanc
fonds Sadie Arbuckle
Code de référence : F 848
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0050212

La première lettre de Harry Mason à Sadie Arbuckle, le 28 octobre 1913
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

La première lettre de Harry Mason à
Sadie Arbuckle, le 28 octobre 1913
fonds Sadie Arbuckle
Code de référence : F 848
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0070087

Dans sa première lettre à Sadie, Harry explique que le magasin ouvert avec Jack se trouvera le long de la voie que prévoit construire le Canadien Pacifique entre Lacombe, en Alberta, et Kerrobert, en Saskatchewan, mais que, entre-temps, « les affaires ne sont pas très florissantes ». Il s’excuse d’avoir la hardiesse de lui écrire, à elle, « jamais rencontrée personnellement ».

Sadie ne s’offusque pas de la faille à l’étiquette et répond à Harry, à l’immense plaisir et au soulagement de celui-ci. (Malheureusement, les premières lettres de Sadie ont disparu et ne figurent donc pas dans la collection.) Au début de la correspondance, Harry décrit le mode de vie dans les régions sauvages de l’Ouest canadien, de même que le comportement scandaleux des autres colons. Il fait remarquer que dans les soirées sociales, par exemple, de parfaits inconnus invitent des femmes à danser sans même connaître leur nom. Il tient à rassurer Sadie : « Pour ma part, je ne juge pas cela convenable et je me garde bien de le faire. »

Lettre de Harry Mason à Sadie Arbuckle, le 19 janvier 1914
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Lettre de Harry Mason à Sadie Arbuckle, le 19 janvier 1914
fonds Sadie Arbuckle
Code de référence : F 848
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0070095


Même si nous n’avons aucune lettre de Sadie qui date de cette période, nous savons que sa vie était très différente. Alors que Harry s’installe dans des terres nouvelles, Sadie vit au cœur de l’une des plus grandes villes du Canada.

En 1914, Toronto compte près de 500 000 habitants. Habitant au 930 de la rue Queen Est, Sadie vit dans un quartier de classe moyenne supérieure, densément peuplé et desservi par un solide réseau de tramways. Ses lettres décrivent un quotidien urbain chargé. Sadie travaille dans un bureau en ville, reçoit la visite de proches et d’amis, fréquente l’église et va souvent au cinéma. Sa vie sociale contraste vivement avec celle de Harry, à peine rehaussée par quelques danses communautaires.

Vue du Crystal Palace sur la rue Yonge, en face de la rue Temperance, Toronto [vers 1915]]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Vue du Crystal Palace sur la rue Yonge, en face
de la rue Temperance, Toronto [vers 1915]]
Ernest Hoch
Négatif noir et blanc sur plaque de verre
Fonds William H. Hammond
Code de référence : F 4436-0-0-0-171
Archives publiques de l'Ontario,I0021973
Des femmes cassent la croûte au comptoir de vente par correspondance d’Eaton [vers 1910]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Des femmes cassent la croûte au comptoir de vente
par correspondance d’Eaton [vers 1910]
Marion Owsten
Photographie noir et blanc
Archives publiques de l’Ontario photograph collection
Code de référence : F 2170-0-0-0-22
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0014279


Les rues Queen et Yonge [vers 1920]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement

Les rues Queen et Yonge [vers 1920]
Ministère de l'Éducation
Photographie noir et blanc
Photographies de le Direction de l'éducation audio-visuelle
Code de référence : RG 2-71, Item COT-138
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0012494