Yours to Discover: Tourism in Ontario through Time: A Wilderness Paradise - Page Banner

Table of Contents


Samuel de Champlain and other French explorers were the first to map the land that later became Ontario. As they travelled they noted the diversity of plant and animal life. This map of New France from 1719 has been embellished with the names of animals, insects, fish, birds, trees and fruits of the region.

Carte particulière du Fleuve Saint Louis dressée sur les lieux avec les noms des sauvages du païs, des marchandises qu'on y porte & qu'on en reçoit & des animaux, insectes, poissons, oiseaux, arbres & fruits des parties septentrionales et méridionales de ce païs, [ca. 1719]
Click to see a larger image (492K)

Carte particulière du Fleuve Saint Louis dressée sur les lieux avec les noms des sauvages du païs,
des marchandises qu'on y porte & qu'on en reçoit & des animaux, insectes, poissons, oiseaux,
arbres & fruits des parties septentrionales et méridionales de ce païs, [ca. 1719]
Henri Chatelain, cartographer L'Honore et Chatelain, publishers
Reference Code: C 279-0-0-0-16
Archives of Ontario, I0004754

<

After the American Revolution, many Loyalists crossed into British North America and settled in the lands along Lake Ontario and Lake Erie. Many more emigrated from the British Isles in the early 1800s. While these settlers didn't come to see the sights, they could not but be impressed with the magnificence of the St Lawrence River and the great natural wonder of Niagara Falls.

Mrs. Elizabeth Simcoe, accompanied her husband John Graves Simcoe on many of his travels through Upper Canada during his years as the lieutenant governor. She described the Falls in her diary as the “grandest sight imaginable” (July 30, 1792). Fortunately, she did not limit her recording of the beauty of Niagara to her diary but camped nearby and painted numerous watercolours that vividly depict the grandeur of the falls.

Watercolour: Niagara Falls, Ontario, July 30, 1792
Click to see a larger image (151K)

Niagara Falls, Ontario, July 30, 1792
Elizabeth Simcoe
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-7
Archives of Ontario, I0006923


Transportation at that time was most easily done by boat. Most early travellers to Upper Canada came by bateaux, canoe, or Durham boat up the St. Lawrence River from Montreal. After canals were built to bypass the Lachine Rapids, more newcomers arrived by steam-powered vessels. All would be awed by the beauty of the richly wooded and rocky Thousand Islands where the St. Lawrence joins with Lake Ontario.  Elizabeth Simcoe passed through the area and drew this scene of islands and bateau near Brockville.

Watercolour: Thousand Islands, July 26, [ca. 1796]
Click to see a larger image (208K)

Thousand Islands, July 26, [ca. 1796]
Elizabeth Simcoe
Simcoe Family fonds
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-247
Archives of Ontario, I0007099

Thomas Burrowes was responsible for overseeing the construction of the first canals in Upper Canada. He also documented in watercolours many scenes along the St. Lawrence River including this view of the Islands.

Click to see a larger image (80K)
View of the St. Lawrence River, with the
Thousand Islands and Brockville, 1830
Thomas Burrowes
Reference Code: C 1-0-0-0-84
Archives of Ontario, I0002203

Watercolour: View of the St. Lawrence River, with the Thousand Islands and Brockville, 1830

Within a few years, Niagara Falls was attracting many tourists. Hotels with a panoramic view of the Falls were built in a strip in the area that is now Queen Victoria Park.

Photo: The Majesty and Beauty of Niagara No. 644. The American Falls from the museum grounds, Canada side.

When Charles Dickens visited in 1841 he stayed on the Canadian side for “ten memorable days” looking at the cataracts from all points of view, including from that of a small ferry boat at the foot of the Falls.



Click to see a larger image (113K)
The Majesty and Beauty of Niagara No. 644. The American Falls from the museum grounds, Canada side.
Reference Code: Acc. 4038 ST 711
Archives of Ontario, I0027690

Photo: Maid of the Mist approaching the landing on the Canadian side, [ca. 1880]
Click to see a larger image (194K)

Maid of the Mist approaching the landing on the Canadian side, [ca. 1880]
Reference Code: Acc. 15676 S17674
Archives of Ontario

However, true tourism – the practice of travelling for pleasure – could not take place in Ontario until there were substantial improvements in transportation.

Un paradis de faune et de flore - bannière

Table des matières


Samuel de Champlain et d’autres explorateurs français furent les premiers à dresser la carte de la Huronie et d’autres régions du sud de l’Ontario pendant les années 1600. Au cours de leurs périples, ils constatèrent la diversité de la vie végétale et animale. Cette carte de la Nouvelle-France datant de 1719 a été enrichie avec les noms d’animaux, d’insectes, de poissons, d’oiseaux, d’arbres et de fruits de la région.

Carte particuliere du Fleuve Saint Louis dresse sur les lieuxs

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (492ko)
« Carte particulière du Fleuve Saint Louis dressée sur les lieux
avec les noms des sauvages du pays, des marchandises
qu'on y porte & qu'on en reçoit & des animaux, insectes,
poissons, oiseaux, arbres & fruits... »
vers 1719
Henri Chatelain, cartographe; L'Honore et Chatelain, éditeurs
Code de référence : C 279-0-0-0-16
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0004754

<

Après la révolution américaine, beaucoup de Loyalistes traversèrent la frontière de l’Amérique du Nord britannique pour s’installer en bordure des lacs Ontario et Érié. Beaucoup d’autres émigrèrent des Îles britanniques au début des années 1800. Même si ces colons n’étaient pas venus admirer le paysage, ils ne purent faire autrement que de se laisser impressionner par la magnificence du fleuve Saint-Laurent et par la merveille naturelle que sont les chutes Niagara.

Mme Elizabeth Simcoe, a accompagné son époux, le lieutenant-gouverneur John Graves Simcoe, dans beaucoup de ses voyages dans le Haut Canada. Dans son journal, elle décrit ainsi les chutes : « la plus merveilleuse vue imaginable » (30 juillet 1792) qui lui a « causé le plus de plaisir, que ce soit par l'art ou la nature » (23 mars 1793). Heureusement, elle ne s’est pas bornée à consigner la beauté du Niagara dans son journal; elle s’est aussi installée dans les environs et a réalisé des aquarelles qui décrivent de manière très vivante la grandeur du côté canadien des chutes Niagara.

Aquarelle : Chutes Niagara (Niagara Falls), Ontario, 30 juillet 1792

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (151ko)
Chutes Niagara, Ontario, 30 juillet 1792
Elizabeth Simcoe
Aquarelle
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-7
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006923

<

À cette époque, le transport était plus facile par bateau. Les tout premiers voyageurs arrivèrent dans le Haut Canada par diverses embarcations, canots ou bateaux de Durham qui remontaient le fleuve Saint-Laurent depuis Montréal. D’autres arrivèrent sur les bateaux à vapeur qui empruntaient les canaux construits pour contourner les rapides de Lachine. Là où le Saint-Laurent se jette dans le lac Ontario, tous allaient être stupéfaits par la beauté des Mille Îles richement boisées et rocheuses. Elizabeth Simcoe a traversé cette région et dessiné cette scène montrant des îles et des embarcations près de Brockville.

Aquarelle : Mille Îles, 26 juillet (Thousand Islands), [vers 1796]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (208ko)
Mille Îles, 26 juillet, [vers 1796]
Elizabeth Simcoe
Aquarelle
Fonds de la famille Simcoe
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-247
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007099

Thomas Burrows avait la responsabilité de superviser la construction des premiers canaux dans le Haut Canada. Il a aussi documenté à l’aquarelle de nombreux paysages le long du fleuve Saint-Laurent, y compris cette vue des îles.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (80ko)
Vue du fleuve Saint Laurent, avec les
Mille Îles et Brockville,1830
Thomas Burrowes
Fonds Thomas Burrowes
Aquarelle
Code de référence : C 1-0-0-0-84
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0002203

Aquarelle : Vue du fleuve Saint Laurent, avec les Mille Îles et Brockville, 1830
<
En quelques années, les chutes Niagara attirèrent de nombreux touristes. Des hôtels avec vue panoramique sur les chutes se construisirent dans une partie de la zone qui est aujourd’hui le parc Queen Victoria.
Photographie : The Majesty and Beauty of Niagara No. 644. The American Falls from the museum grounds, Canada side.

Quand Charles Dickens y vint en 1841, il resta pendant « dix jours mémorables » sur la rive canadienne à regarder les cataractes sous tous leurs angles, y compris du petit traversier qui passe au pied des chutes.

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (113ko)
The Majesty and Beauty of Niagara No. 644. The American Falls from the museum grounds, Canada side.
Code de référence : Acc. 4038 ST 711
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0027690

Photographie : Le Maid of the Mist se préparant à accoster sur la rive canadienne (Maid of the Mist approaching the landing on the Canadian side), [ca. 1880]

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (194ko)
Le Maid of the Mist se préparant à accoster sur la rive canadienne, [vers 1880]
Code de référence : Acc. 15676 S17674
Archives publiques de l'Ontario

Cependant, le vrai tourisme - c'est à dire le voyage pour le plaisir - n’a pas pu commencer avant que les modes de transport se soient beaucoup améliorés.