Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

John Graves Simcoe


Portrait of Colonel John Graves Simcoe, [ca. 1881]
Click to see a larger version (250K)

Colonel John Graves Simcoe, [ca. 1881]
Lieutenant Governor of Upper Canada, 1791-96
George Theodore Berthon (1806-1892)
Oil on canvas
Government of Ontario Art Collection, 694156

John Graves Simcoe was born at Cotterstock, England in 1752, the only son of John and Katherine Simcoe. He was educated at Oxford and entered the army as a ensign of the 35th Foot in 1770.

He was posted to Boston at the beginning of the American Revolution in 1775. His agitation for the creation of a special formation of light troops designed to fight the Americans on equal terms led to the creation of the Queen's Rangers in 1777, a loyalist unit under the command of the newly appointed Major Simcoe.

He took part in several operations in New York and Virginia before being invalided home as a Lieutenant-Colonel in 1781.

Simcoe's personal fortunes improved when he married Elizabeth Posthuma Gwillim the following year. She provided a significant financial support for his career, enabling Simcoe to purchase and restore Wolford Lodge as a major estate.

His nine years as a half-pay officer were spent managing his estate, pursuing military promotion and appointments and corresponding with members of his former command about land claims and problems faced by loyalists.

He entered Parliament in 1790 but took little part in debates. At about the same time he was notified that his campaign for preferment had been answered through the commission as first Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada.

In this capacity, Simcoe was instrumental in organizing the first civil government in what is now Ontario. Following the instructions of the Home Secretary, he organized the legislative and executive bodies which were to govern the province for the next fifty years.

The Simcoe Family was part of the landed gentry of Great Britain which provided the administrators, military officers and clerics of that society.

The family first came to prominence during the 1750s when Captain John Simcoe commanded one of the British vessels during the sieges of Louisbourg and Quebec where he was killed.

During his career he established connections with leading naval officers including Admiral Samuel Graves, who served as the godfather for his eldest son, John Graves Simcoe.

Simcoe began the process of road construction and the survey of town and rural lots on which organized settlement were to be based. A major part of Simcoe's duties in Upper Canada included the maintenance of good relations with the Indians in the territory ceded to the United States in 1783. During the negotiation of Jay's Treaty in 1793 Simcoe devoted much of his time to retaining the alliance with the western tribes while stopping short of openly supporting the resistance to American authority.

In 1796 Simcoe returned to England on leave but his command was changed from Upper Canada to Santa Domingo where he was expected to restore order by coping with a French invasion and slave revolt. He spent only eight months on the island and returned to England in 1797. In 1799 he was promoted to the rank of Major-General in command of the garrison at Plymouth and his rank was increased again two years later to Lieutenant-General in command of coastal defence in Devonshire. Most of his time in this period was spent organizing and planning defensive measures against the expected invasion from France. In 1806 Simcoe was appointed to the command of British forces in India, but during a diplomatic mission to Portugal he became seriously ill and died shortly after returning to England.

Under the Constitutional Act, 1791, the western portion of the Province of Quebec was established as a separate entity with its own Lieutenant-Governor and Assembly. As the first incumbent in the office, Simcoe established the basis of government that was to endure in the province for the next fifty years. He stamped it with his view of a strong executive, composed of the Lieutenant-Governor and an appointed Executive Council, which would establish policies with an Assembly largely confined to the approval of money bills to meet these policies.

Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

John Graves Simcoe


Colonel John Graves Simcoe, [vers 1881]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (250ko)

Colonel John Graves Simcoe, [vers 1881]
Lieutenant -gouverneur du Haut-Canada, 1791-96
George Theodore Berthon (1806-1892)
Huile sur toile
Collection d'œuvres d'art du gouvernement de l'Ontario, 694156

John Graves Simcoe naquit à Cotterstock, en Angleterre, en 1752, le fils unique de John et Katherine Simcoe. Il fit ses études à Oxford et s'engagea à l'armée comme enseigne du 35e régiment de fantassins, en 1770.

Il fut affecté à Boston, au début de la révolution américaine, en 1775. Sa lutte pour obtenir la création d'une formation spéciale de troupes légères conçues pour combattre les Américains dans des conditions égales conduisit à la mise sur pied des Queen's Rangers (brigadiers de la Reine), en 1777 : une unité loyaliste sous le commandement du major Simcoe, nouvellement nommé.

Il participa à plusieurs opérations à New York et en Virginie avant d'être blessé et renvoyé au bercail comme lieutenant-colonel, en 1781.

Le destin personnel de Simcoe s'améliora après son mariage à Elizabeth Posthuma Gwillim, l'année suivante. Elle lui apporta un soutien financier important pour sa carrière, lui permettant d'acheter et de restaurer Wolford Lodge, un grand domaine.

Il passa ses neuf années en tant qu'officier disponible à gérer son domaine, tenter d'obtenir des promotions et des nominations miliaires, et correspondre avec des membres de son ancien commandement au sujet de revendications territoriales et des problèmes touchant les Loyalistes.

Il entra au parlement en 1790, mais ne participa pas beaucoup aux débats. Vers la même époque, il apprit que sa campagne en vue d'obtenir une promotion avait porté fruits et qu'il était nommé premier Lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada.

À ce titre, Simcoe joua un rôle essentiel dans l'organisation du premier gouvernement civil dans ce qui est aujourd'hui l'Ontario. Suivant les instructions du Secrétaire de l'Intérieur, il organisa les organes législatif et exécutif qui allaient gouverner la province au cours des cinquante prochaines années.

La famille Simcoe faisait partie des grands propriétaires fonciers de la Grande-Bretagne, d'où étaient issus les administrateurs, les officiers militaires et les membres du clergé de cette société.

La famille accéda à la notoriété au cours des années 1750, lorsque le capitaine John Simcoe commanda les vaisseaux britanniques pendant les sièges de Louisbourg et de Québec, où il fut tué.

Au cours de sa carrière, il établit des liens avec des officiers de marine importants, dont l'amiral Samuel Graves, qui devint le parrain de son fils aîné, John Graves Simcoe.

Simcoe lança le mouvement de construction des routes et d'arpentage des villes et des lots ruraux que devaient occuper des colonies organisées. Une grande partie des fonctions de Simcoe dans le Haut-Canada fut affectée au maintien de bonnes relations avec les Indiens dans le territoire cédé aux États-Unis en 1783. Pendant les négociations du traité de Jay, en 1793, Simcoe consacra beaucoup d'efforts en vue de maintenir l'alliance avec les tribus de l'ouest tout en veillant à ne pas soutenir ouvertement la résistance à l'autorité américaine.

En 1796, Simcoe retourna en Angleterre en congé, mais son commandement fut transféré du Haut-Canada à Saint-Domingue, où il devait rétablir l'ordre en maîtrisant une invasion française et une révolte d'esclaves. Après huit mois seulement sur l'île, il retourna en Angleterre en 1797. En 1799, il fut promu au rang de major-général commandant la garnison de Plymouth. Deux ans plus tard, il devint lieutenant général commandant la défense côtière à Devonshire. Durant cette période, il passa la majorité de son temps à organiser et planifier des mesures défensives contre l'invasion française attendue. En 1806, Simcoe fut nommé au commandement des forces britanniques en Inde, mais au cours d'une mission diplomatique au Portugal, il tomba gravement malade et meurt peu de temps après son retour en Angleterre.

En vertu de l'Acte constitutionnel de 1791, la partie occidentale de la province du Québec fut constituée en entité distincte, bénéficiant de son propre Lieutenant-gouverneur et d'une assemblée. En sa qualité de premier titulaire des fonctions, Simcoe posa les bases du gouvernement qui devait diriger la province pour les cinquante prochaines années. Il le dota d'un solide organe exécutif, composé du Lieutenant-gouverneur et d'un conseil exécutif nommé, qui établirait des politiques avec une assemblée limitée à l'approbation des projets de loi monétaires afin de se conformer à ces politiques.