Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

Return to Niagara



“ . . . we coasted to the forty (forty miles from Niagara) & passed in at 3 o'clock - the mouth of this Creek forms a very fine scene - a very bold spur of the Allegany appears beautiful as the distance it is about 3 miles off.”

- May 10th, 1794



“The mouth of this creek forms a very fine scene. Some cottages are prettily placed on the banks of the River, & a Saw Mill affords a quantity of boards which piled up in a wood makes a varied fore ground - It was almost 6 before we reached the 20 Mile Pond the mouth of another Creek.”

- May 10th, 1794



Watercolour: 40 Mile Creek, [ca. 1794] (detail)
Click to see a larger version (141K)

40 Mile Creek, [ca. 1794] (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Wash/card, grey
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-122
Archives of Ontario, I0006974

Watercolour: 40 Mile Creek [May], [ca. 1794], (detail)
Click to see a larger version (150K)

40 Mile Creek [May], [ca. 1794] (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Wash/card, full
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-119
Archives of Ontario, I0006971

Watercolour: Near the 40 Mile Creek rocks where the wolves descend to the plain below, June 9, 1796 (detail)
Click to see a larger version (161K)

Near the 40 Mile Creek rocks where
the wolves descend to the plain below,
June 9, 1796 (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Wash/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-210
Archives of Ontario, I0007062

“The Governor was walking on the hill this evening when his shoulder and finger were struck by a shot fired by a soldier belonging to the guard tent, who had fired at an Indian dog which had taken away some pork. A shot remained in the Governor's finger and was very painful. A gentleman walking with him was struck and the dog severely wounded. An Indian was also struck by the shot. The Governor immediately gave him the soldier's gun to appease him and reprimanded the soldier.”

- Thursday July 17, 1794


“We dined on the beach at the Twenty-Mile Creek and went across the great pond to one of Col. Butler's houses, where we slept, after taking great pains to smoke the house and fix the mosquito net well; for this place abounds so much with mosquitoes that the farmer does not sleep in his house from June til September, but sleeps in his barn to avoid them. The pond is full of wild rice, a marshy weed.”

- July 27th, 1794



Watercolour: 20 Mile Creek, Ontario, May 10, 1794 (detail)

Click to see a larger version (165K)

20 Mile Creek, Ontario, May 10, 1794, (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Wash/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-130
Archives of Ontario, I0006982

“We rose at six and left for the Forty-Mile Creek. We walked through the village and beyond Green's Mills a little way up the mountain . . . Green [a Loyalist from New Jersey who had settled in the area around 1788 and accompanied Simcoe on many of his trips) ground the corn for all the military posts in Upper Canada. His mill stood five miles east of Hamilton on the Stoney Creek Road. A mile further is a mill and a small waterfall, and at a season when the water is higher the scenery must be wonderfully fine. I drank tea at Green's and unwillingly left this fine scenery. Mrs. Green advised me to give Francis crow's foot boiled in milk until it becomes red and thick, which she said would cure the present complaint in his stomach. There are 100 people settled at the Forty, and there have been but seven graves in five years. The Governor promises that I shall ride on the mountain above the Forty this season.”

- July 28, 1794



Watercolour: Near the 40 Mile Creek L. Ontario, [ca. 1794] (detail)
Click to see a larger version (154K)

Near the 40 Mile Creek L. Ontario, [ca. 1794], (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Wash/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-121
Archives of Ontario, I0006973

The family wasn't back in Niagara very long before it was decided that Elizabeth should take the children to Quebec. There were developing fears of an American invasion and so in September of 1794, they departed by ship to visit friends in Quebec.

Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

Retour à Niagara



« . . . nous avons accosté à 40 milles de Niagara et avons passé à trois heures, l'embouchure de cette crique forme un très beau tableau; un bouleau jaune apparaît dans toute sa beauté à une distance d'environ trois milles. »

- 10 mai 1794



« L'embouchure de cette crique forme un très beau tableau. Quelques chalets ont été construits avec goût sur les rives de la rivière et une scierie produit des planches qui sont empilées, formant ainsi un décor varié. Il était presque six heures lorsque nous avons atteint le 20 Mile Pond, l'embouchure d'une autre crique. »

- 10 mai 1794



Lavis sur carton : 40 Mile Creek, [vers 1794]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (141ko)

40 Mile Creek, [vers 1794] (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Lavis sur carton, gris
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-122
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006974

Lavis sur carton : 40 Mile Creek [mai], [vers 1794]
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (150ko)

40 Mile Creek [mai], [vers 1794] (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Lavis sur carton, gris
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-119
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006971

Lavis sur papier : Near the 40 Mile Creek rocks where the wolves descend to the plain below, 9 juin 1796 (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (161ko)

Near the 40 Mile Creek rocks where
the wolves descend to the plain below,
9 iuin 1796 (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Lavis sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-210
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007062

« Le gouverneur se promenait sur la colline ce soir, lorsque son épaule et son doigt ont été touchés par un coup de feu tiré par un soldat, appartenant à la tente de garde, qui avait tiré sur un chien d'Indiens aperçu en train de voler un cochon. Une balle est restée dans le doigt du gouverneur, qui souffre beaucoup. Un homme qui l'accompagnait a été touché et le chien a été grièvement blessé. Un Indien a également été blessé par le tir. Le gouverneur lui a immédiatement donné l'arme du soldat pour le calmer et a réprimandé le soldat. »

- 17 juillet 1794


« Nous avons dîné sur la plage de la Twenty-Mile Creek, et avons traversé l'étang pour nous rendre dans une des maisons du colonel Butler, où nous avons dormi, après avoir travaillé dur pour enfumer la maison et installer correctement la moustiquaire; cet endroit est tellement infesté de moustiques que le fermier ne dort pas dans sa maison depuis le mois de juin jusqu'au mois de septembre, préférant dormir dans sa grange pour éviter les moustiques. L'étang est plein de riz sauvage, une plante marécageuse. »

- 27 juillet 1794



Lavis sur papier : 20 Mile Creek, Ontario, 10 mai 1794 (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (165ko)

20 Mile Creek, Ontario, 10 mai 1794 (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Lavis sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-130
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006982

« Nous nous sommes levés à six heures pour nous rendre à la Forty-Mile Creek. Nous avons traversé le village à pied et, après le moulin de Green, avons suivi un sentier dans la montagne. Green (un loyaliste de New Jersey qui s'est installé dans la région autour de 1788 et a accompagné M. Simcoe dans un grand nombre de ses voyages) concassait le maïs pour tous les postes militaires du Haut-Canada. Son moulin était situé à cinq milles à l'est de Hamilton, sur le chemin de Stoney Creek. Un mille plus loin, on trouve un moulin et une petite chute d'eau, et lorsque les eaux montent, la scène doit être magnifique. J'ai bu du thé chez les Green et ai quitté ce paysage à contre-coeur. Mrs Green m'a conseillé de donner à Francis des pattes d'oie bouillies dans du lait jusqu'à ce qu'elles deviennent rouges et épaisses, ce qui devrait selon elle le guérir de ses maux de ventre. Il y a 100 colons à Forty et seulement sept tombes en cinq ans. Le gouverneur a promis que je pourrai monter mon cheval sur la montagne, au-dessus de Forty, cette saison. »

- 28 juillet 1794



Lavis sur papier : Near the 40 Mile Creek L. Ontario, [vers 1794] (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (154ko)

Near the 40 Mile Creek L. Ontario, [vers 1794] (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Lavis sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-121
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006973

La famille était à peine revenue à Niagara, qu'il décida qu'Elizabeth ramènerait les enfants à Québec, par crainte d'une invasion américaine. Ainsi, en septembre 1794, ils repartirent en bateau visiter des amis à Québec.