Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

The Final Year


The Simcoes would spend another year in Upper Canada, during which time Elizabeth painted and wrote in her diaries extensively.

In November 1795 the family sailed to York on board the schooner "Governor Simcoe" for a prolonged visit. They would winter there, returning to Niagara in April to open the legislature. However, it was to be a short visit. The Assembly was prorogued on the 3rd of June and, 4 days later, the Simcoe family left Niagara again, to take a leisurely trip back to York. Col. Simcoe was fulfilling his promise to show Elizabeth the western end of Lake Ontario.

“I sent the children and servants to the "Head of the Lake" in the canoe. Mrs. Green went as a guide to conduct us on horseback across the mountain. Green has lately, at the Governor's request and expense, cut a road thro' the wood, making it passable for me to ride. The Governor thinks the country will derive great benefit by opening a road on the top of the mountain (where it is quite dry) from Niagara to the "Head of the Lake", instead of going a most terrible road below, full of swamps, fallen trees, etc. . . .”

- June 10th, 1796



Watercolour: View from Mrs. Simcoe's road heading up to the lake, June 10, 1796 (detail)
Click to see a larger version (175K)

View from Mrs. Simcoe's road heading up to the lake,
June 10, 1796 (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
pen/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-188
Archives of Ontario, I0007040

“Further west of this terrace we saw Coote's Paradise, so called from a Capt. Coote, [of the 8th Regiment of Foot] who spent a great deal of time shooting ducks in this marshy tract of land below the hill we are upon. It abounds with wild fowl and tortoises; from hence it appears more like a river or lake than a marsh . . . I was so pleased with this place that the Governor stay'd and dined at Beasley's. A strong east wind prevented our sailing back. We therefore arrived late, and found a salmon and tortoise dressed for our dinner.”

- June 11th, 1796



Watercolour: Cootes paradise from hill, June 11, 1796 (detail)
Click to see a larger version (153K)

Cootes paradise from hill, June 11, 1796 (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
pen/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-214
Archives of Ontario, I0007066

“This part of the mountain is said to abound with rattlesnakes, and why I did not meet them in these unfrequented places I do not know. I gathered a great many plants. Green gave them all names, and I stopped at his house to write them down. Ginseng, a root highly valued as a tonic, which the merchants tell me they send to England, and in some years has sold at a guinea a pound; sarsaparilla; consumption vine, a pretty creeper. Green's daughter was cured of consumption by drinking a tea made of it.”

- Sunday June 12, 1796

“Here Walbekanine and a number of his tribe, who are encamped a mile distant, were assembled to compliment the Governor, and fired muskets in our horses' faces, their usual mark of respect, which frightened me and my horse very much; he startled and I shrieked, but the sound was lost in the whoop of the Indians. They gave us the largest land tortoise I ever saw.”

- June 11th, 1796



Watercolour: Head of the Lake [Ontario], June 11, 1796 (detail)
Click to see a larger version (157K)

Head of the Lake [Ontario], June 11, 1796, (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
pen/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-221
Archives of Ontario, I0007073

Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

La dernière année


Les Simcoe passèrent encore une année dans le Haut-Canada, qu'Elizabeth consacra à la peinture et à son journal.

En novembre 1795, la famille se rendit à York, à bord de la goélette « Governor Simcoe » pour une visite prolongée. Ils y passèrent l'hiver, retournant à Niagara en avril pour ouvrir la législature. Pourtant, ce fut une brève visite. La prorogation de l'Assemblée ayant été décidée le 3 juin, la famille Simcoe quitta à nouveau Niagara quatre jours plus tard pour un voyage de plaisance vers York. Le colonel Simcoe voulait remplir sa promesse de montrer à Elizabeth l'extrémité ouest du lac Ontario.

« J'ai envoyé les enfants et les servantes vers la « tête du lac » en canoë. Mme Green nous a servi de guide, nous conduisant à dos de cheval à travers la montagne. M. Green avait récemment, à la demande du gouverneur, préparé une route à travers le bois, pour me permettre de monter. Le gouverneur pense qu'il serait très bénéfique pour le pays d'ouvrir une route au sommet de la montagne (où la terre est assez sèche), de Niagara à la « tête du lac », pour éviter d'avoir à suivre un horrible chemin, coupant des marais et entrecoupé d'arbres abattus, etc.… »

- 10 juin 1796



Dessin : View from Mrs. Simcoe's road heading up to the lake,  juin 1796 (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (175ko)

View from Mrs. Simcoe's road heading up to the lake,
10 juin 1796 (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Dessin à la plume sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-188
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007040

Plus à l'ouest de cette terrasse, nous avons aperçu Coote's Paradise, ainsi surnommé par le capitaine Coote [du 8e régiment de fantassins], qui passait le plus clair de son temps à chasser le canard dans les marais au-dessous de la colline où nous nous trouvons. Il est rempli de volaille sauvage et de tortues; de là, il ressemble davantage à une rivière ou un lac qu'à un marais … J'ai tellement aimé cet endroit que le gouverneur est resté manger chez Beasley. Un fort vent d'est nous a empêché de reprendre le bateau pour rentrer et nous sommes repartis tard. À notre retour, nous avons trouvé un saumon et une tortue habillés pour notre dîner.

- 11 juin 1796



Dessin : Cootes paradise from hill, 11 juin 1796 (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (153ko)

Cootes paradise from hill, 11 juin 1796 (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Dessin à la plume sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-214
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007066

« On dit que cette partie de la montagne est infestée de serpents à sonnette, et je ne sais pas pourquoi je n'en ai pas vus dans ces endroits non fréquentés. J'ai ramassé un grand nombre de plantes. Green leur a donné des noms à toutes et je me suis arrêté à sa maison pour les écrire. Le ginseng, une racine à propriété tonique que les marchands me disent envoyer en Angleterre, et certaines années, il s'est vendu à une guinée la livre; la salsepareille; la vigne phtisique, une jolie plante rampante. La fille de Green a été guérie de la phtisie en buvant du thé de cette plante. »

- 12 juin 1796

« Ici, Walbekanine et un certain nombre d'hommes de sa tribu, qui campent à un mille, s'étaient réunis pour complimenter le gouverneur; puis ils tirèrent des coups de feu en face de nos chevaux, ce qui est leur marque habituelle de respect, mais j'ai eu très peur, et mon cheval aussi; il a sursauté et j'ai crié, mais mon cri s'est perdu dans le brouhaha des Indiens. Ils nous ont donné la tortue de terre la plus grande que j'ai jamais vue. »

- - 11 juin 1796



Dessin : Head of the Lake [Ontario], 11 juin 1796 (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (157ko)

Head of the Lake [Ontario], 11 juin 1796 (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Dessin à la plume sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-221
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007073