Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

The Simcoe Collection Fonds F 47


The Simcoe family fonds documents the lives of several members of the Simcoe family in the United Kingdom and Canada. They have been divided into five sous-fonds relating to the work of John Graves Simcoe, Elizabeth Posthuma (nee Gwillim) Simcoe, their son Francis Gwillim Simcoe, the eldest daughter, Eliza Simcoe and a general section covering various other members of their extended family.

  • The John Graves Simcoe sous-fonds includes documentation of his service in the British army in North America and England, his five years as the first Lieutenant-Governor of Upper Canada and his unofficial pursuits as a land owner.

  • Elizabeth Simcoe's activities are documented through a number of diaries, journals and personal accounts of her life. Her correspondence with relatives and friends is also available. Mrs. Simcoe's skill as an artist and draft person are well documented through the watercolours and maps found in the Reading Room of the Archives.

  • Francis Gwillim Simcoe is represented by a single series of correspondence and a journal documenting his military service in the early 19th century.

  • The Simcoe's eldest daughter Elizabeth, Eliza, maintained a correspondence with her friends and relatives that is well documented in an additional series.

  • The final section consists of miscellaneous documents relating to a variety of Simcoe ancestors and descendants.

Dates of Creation

- 1665-[195-?]; predominant 1750-[195-?]

Physical Description

4.5 m of textual records
100 maps
595 drawings and watercolours
3 photographs

Restrictions on Access

No restrictions on access.

Terms For Use and Reproduction

Copyright varies. See Inventory F 47. Where reproductions exist, they must be consulted for research and reference. Permission to use original documents must be obtained from an archivist. Reproduction of maps, drawings, and watercolours may be restricted due to conservation problems. Please consult the reference archivist. Reproduction of textual records on microfilm are subject to no restrictions.

Custodial History


The Simcoe Family papers were held by descendants of John Graves Simcoe until their final transfer to Ontario in the late 1940s. The eldest daughter, Eliza, of John and Elizabeth Simcoe, retained possession of the material until her death in 1865. Between 1859 and 1861, a portion of the records were loaned to the Canadian Library of Parliament for arrangement and partial copying.

On the death of Eliza, the records passed to the children of the Reverend Henry Addington Simcoe, Eliza's only surviving brother. At this time part of the records came into the possession of the Vowler family and the Coles family, each through marriage to a daughter or grand daughter of Henry Addington Simcoe, Elizabeth Simcoe Vowler and Lidia Simcoe Coles. The latter may have been the daughter of John K. Simcoe, R.N., one of Henry Addington Simcoe's children. Dr. S. McLaughlan purchased the records held by the Coles family in the late 1940s and donated the whole to the Library of the University of Toronto.

In 1951 the University and the Department of Archives and Records opened negotiations to transfer the custody of non-University records to the province. In 1952, an agreement was signed in which the Simcoe Papers, plus three other fonds, would be transferred to the Archives of Ontario.

In 1993, a small quantity of correspondence from Elizabeth Simcoe was accessioned (24765). This material has been incorporated into the listing for Series F 47-9, Correspondence. ; The Archives of Ontario acquired a quantity of Simcoe Family records and artifacts in the spring of 1993. These include items that had been on long term loan to the Devon Record Office and items that had remained in the physical possession of Simcoe's heirs. The series which include materials from this accession include descriptions of the units and their numbers.

For more information consult the Archives Descriptive Database.

Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

La collection Simcoe Fonds F 47


Les fonds de la famille Simcoe documentent la vie de plusieurs membres de la famille Simcoe, au Royaume-Uni et au Canada. Ils sont répartis en cinq sous-fonds portant sur le travail de John Graves Simcoe, Elizabeth Posthuma (née Gwillim) Simcoe, leur fils Francis Gwillim Simcoe, leur fille aînée, Eliza Simcoe, ainsi qu'une section générale couvrant d'autres membres de la famille élargie.

  • Le sous-fonds de John Graves Simcoe comprend des documents sur son service dans l'armée britannique, en Amérique du Nord et en Angleterre, ses cinq années en qualité de premier Lieutenant-gouverneur du Haut-Canada et ses entreprises non officielles de propriétaire terrien.

  • Les activités d'Elizabeth Simcoe sont documentées par un certain nombre de journaux intimes et de comptes-rendus personnels de sa vie. Sa correspondance avec des membres de la famille et des amis existe également. Le don d'artiste et dessinatrice de Mme Simcoe est bien documenté par les aquarelles et les cartes qui se trouvent dans la salle de lecture des collections spéciales des Archives publiques.

  • Francis Gwillim Simcoe est représenté par une série de lettres et un journal documentant son service militaire au début du 19e siècle.

  • La fille aînée des Simcoe, Elizabeth, ou Eliza, a tenu une correspondance avec ses amis et sa famille, qui est bien documentée dans une autre série.

  • La section finale consiste en divers documents sur différents ancêtres et descendants des Simcoe.

Dates de création

- 1665-[195-?]; prédominant 1750-[195-?]

Description physique

4,5 m de textes
100 cartes
595 dessins et aquarelles
3 photographies

Restrictions d'accès

Pas de restrictions d'accès

Modalités d'utilisation et de reproduction

Le droit d'auteur varie. Voir l'instrument de recherche F 47. Lorsque des reproductions existent, il faut les consulter aux fins de recherche et référence. La permission d'utiliser les documents originaux doit être obtenue de l'archiviste responsable de ce fonds. La reproduction de cartes, dessins et aquarelles peut être limitée pour des raisons de problèmes de conservation. Veuillez consulter un archiviste. La reproduction de documents textuels sur microfilm n'est assujettie à aucune restriction.

Histoire de la conservation


Les documents de la famille Simcoe étaient détenus par des descendants de John Graves Simcoe jusqu'à leur transfert final en Ontario vers la fin des années 1940. La fille aînée de John et Elizabeth Simcoe, Eliza, a gardé les documents en sa possession jusqu'à sa mort en 1865. Entre 1859 et 1861, une partie des documents fut prêtée à la bibliothèque canadienne du Parlement aux fins d'arrangement et de copie partielle.

À la mort d'Eliza, les documents furent transférés aux enfants du Révérend Henry Addington Simcoe, le seul frère survivant d'Eliza. À cette époque, une partie des documents passa en la possession de la famille Vowler et de la famille Coles, par mariage à une fille ou une petite-fille d'Henry Addington Simcoe, Elizabeth Simcoe Vowler et Lidia Simcoe Coles. Cette dernière était peut-être la fille de John K. Simcoe, R.N., l'un des enfants de Henry Addington Simcoe. Le Dr S. McLaughlan acheta les documents détenus par la famille Coles, à la fin des années 1940, et en fit don à la bibliothèque de l'Université de Toronto.

En 1951, l'université et le département des archives et des documents ouvrirent des négociations en vue de transférer la garde des documents non-universitaires à la province. En 1952, une entente fut signée, dans le cadre de laquelle le fonds Simcoe, plus trois autres fonds, furent transférés aux Archives publiques de l'Ontario.

En 1993, une petite quantité de la correspondance d'Elizabeth Simcoe a été acquise (24765). Ces documents ont été incorporés à la liste du contenu de la série F 47-9, Correspondance. Au printemps 1993, les Archives publiques de l'Ontario ont acquis certains documents et objets de la famille Simcoe, dont certains se trouvaient en prêt à long terme aux archives du Devon et d'autres entre les mains des héritiers Simcoe. Les séries qui contiennent des documents de cette acquisition contiennent des descriptions des unités et leurs numéros.

Pour de plus amples renseignements, consultez la Base de donnée des descriptives des documents d'archives.