Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

The Trip to York


Arrival in Toronto

In early May 1793, Colonel Simcoe set off for his first brief visit to Toronto, travelling around the head of the lake by boat. He returned a fortnight later:

“Coll. Simcoe returned from Toronto & speaks in praise of the harbour, & fine spot near it covered large Oak which he intends to fix upon as a site for a Town.”

- May 13th, 1793



Then, in early August, Simcoe returned to Toronto accompanied by Elizabeth and the children.

Drawing: York Harbour [July], [ca. 1796] (detail)

Click to see a larger version (143K)

York Harbour [July], [ca. 1796], (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Pen/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-235
Archives of Ontario, I0007087


“We rode on the peninsula opposite Toronto, so I called it the spit of land, for it is united to the mainland by a very narrow neck of ground. We crossed the bay opposite the camp, and rode by the lake side to the end of the peninsula. We met with some good natural meadows and several ponds. The trees are mostly of the poplar kind, covered with wild vines, and there are some fir. On the ground were everlasting peas creeping in abundance, of a purple colour. I am told they are good to eat when boiled, and some pretty, white flowers like lilies of the valley. We continued our ride beyond the peninsula on the sands of the north shore of Lake Ontario till we were impeded by large trees on the beach...

...We then walked some distance till we met with Mr. Grant's (Lewis Grant, the surveyor's) boat. It was not much larger than a canoe, but we ventured into it, and after rowing a mile we came within site of, what is named on a government map, the highlands of Toronto. The shore is extremely bold and has the appearance of chalk cliffs, but I believe they are only white sand. They appeared so well that we talked of building a summer residence there and calling it Scarborough.”

- August 4th, 1793



On the 23rd of August, a proclamation was published, officially renaming the town "York" in honour of the Duke of York who had recently saved Holland from invasion by the French. The name Toronto would be restored in 1834.

“I liked it very much, being without the noise of Oars is a great gratification... a man usually paddles at one end of it & a woman at the other but in smooth water little exertion is wanting & they sit quietly as if to take the air the Canoe appears to move as if by clock work - I always wish to conduct a Canoe myself when I see them manage it with such dexterity & grace. A European usually looks awkward & in a bustle compared with the Indian's quiet skill in a canoe.”

- September 14, 1793



Watercolour: View From York Barracks, 1796 (detail)
Click to see a larger version (144K)

View From York Barracks, 1796, (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Watercolour
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-236
Archives of Ontario, I0006353

Castle Frank

At first, the family slept in a "canvas house" -- one of three or four large tents that Simcoe had bought in London at the sale of the effects of Captain Cook, the explorer. Eventually, the Simcoes would build, not at the Scarborough Heights, but a couple of miles up the Don River.



“The Governor having determined to take a Lot of 200 acres upon the River Donn for Francis, & the Law obliges persons having Lots of land to build a House upon them within the year we went today to fix upon the spot for building his House.”

- September 29th, 1793

Watercolour: Castle Frank, 1796 (detail) (1)
Click to see a larger version (170K)

Castle Frank, 1796, (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Watercolour paper, full
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-231
Archives of Ontario, I0006538

In the spring of 1794, construction began on Castle Frank, the Simcoe summer residence. It stood on a steep hill overlooking the Don Valley and was named after the Simcoes' then five-year-old son Francis who was to inherit the residence. The house was still under construction when they returned to England in 1796. Castle Frank would burn down in 1829.



“...we walked on the Ice to the House which is building on Francis' 200 acre Lot of Land. It is called Castle Frank built on the plan of a Grecian Temple...”

- January 23rd, 1796



Watercolour: Castle Frank, 1796 (detail) (2)
Click to see a larger version (203K)

Castle Frank, 1796, (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Watercolour paper, full
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-228
Archives of Ontario, I0006352

River Don

While Simcoe was engaged directing the laying out of the town plot of York, Elizabeth busied herself by exploring the area and visiting neighbours such as John Scadding, the former manager of the Wolford Estate, who had emigrated to Canada in 1792.

He lived just over the Don River at the Queen Street Crossing (later the site of the Toronto Jail). Elizabeth did a watercolour of Scadding's in the autumn of 1793. Shortly after that it was destroyed by fire.



Drawing: River Don near York and John Scadding's Cabin, Autumn, 1793 (detail)
Click to see a larger version (153K)

River Don near York and John Scadding's Cabin,
Autumn, 1793 (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
pen/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-107
Archives of Ontario, I0006959

“I rode on the peninsula. My horse has spirit enough to wish to get their before others. I rode a race with Mr. Talbot to keep myself warm. I gathered wild grapes. They were pleasant but not sweet.

Mr. Smith has gone to open a road, to be called Dundas Street, from the Head of the Lake to the River La Tranche (the Thames). He has 100 men with him.”

- Tuesday Sept 23, 1793

“We went 6 miles by water & landed, climbed up an exceedingly steep hill or rather a series of sugerloafed Hills & approved of the highest spot from whence we looked down on the tops of Large Trees & seeing Eagles near I suppose they build there.”

- September 29th, 1793



Watercolour: Lake Ontario shore, [ca. 1793]  (detail)

Click to see a larger version (136K)

Lake Ontario shore, [ca. 1793], (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
pen/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-106
Archives of Ontario, I0006958

“...we walked on the Ice to the House which is building on Francis' 200 acre Lot of Land. It is called Castle Frank built on the plan of a Grecian Temple...”

- January 23rd, 1796



“The weather damp, mild and dirty. When will the end of March arrive? I am quite impatient to set out for Detroit.&”

- February 9th, 1794



Watercolour: Playter's bridge near York, June 6th, [ca. 1796] (detail)
Click to see a larger version (182K)

Playter's bridge near York, June 6th, [ca. 1796], (detail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
pen/paper
Reference Code: F 47-11-1-0-233
Archives of Ontario, I0007085

In the end, Simcoe would travel to Detroit without Elizabeth. She remained in York where, in mid-April, with both Simcoe and the family doctor absent in the west, Katherine, her youngest daughter died.

In May 1794, Elizabeth returned to Niagara where Governor Simcoe had re-established himself in Navy Hall.

Travels with Elizabeth Simcoe: A Visual Journey Through Upper and Lower Canada - Page Banner

Le voyage vers York


Arrivée à Toronto

Au début mai 1793, le colonel Simcoe entreprit sa première brève visite de Toronto, faisant le tour du lac en bateau. Il rentra une quinzaine de jours plus tard :

« Le colonel Simcoe est rentré de Toronto et parle avec admiration du port et de ses alentours recouverts de grands chênes, où il a l'intention d'établir le centre d'une ville. »

- 13 mai 1793



Puis, au début Août , Simcoe est retourné à Toronto accompagné d' Elizabeth et les enfants.

Dessin : York Harbour [juillet], [vers 1796] (détail)

Cliquer pour un agrandissement (143ko)

York Harbour [juillet], [vers 1796] (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Dessin à la plume sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-235
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007087


« Nous sommes montés à cheval sur la péninsule, en face de Toronto, que j'appelle un bout de terre, parce qu'il est rattaché au pays par un étroit passage. Nous avons traversé la baie de l'autre côté du camp, et avons continué le long du lac jusqu'au bout de la péninsule. En route, nous avons vu plusieurs clairières et étangs. Les arbres étaient pour la plupart des peupliers, recouverts de vignes sauvages. Il y avait aussi quelques sapins. Au sol, nous avons vu des pois vivaces rampant en abondance, d'une couleur violette. On me dit qu'ils sont bons à manger une fois bouillis. IL y avait aussi quelques jolies fleurs blanches qui ressemblent à du muguet. Nous avons poursuivi notre route au-delà de la péninsule, sur le sable, sur la rive nord du lac Ontario, jusqu'à ce que de gros arbres sur la plage nous bloquent le passage....

...Nous avons ensuite marché un peu jusqu'au bateau de M. Grant (Lewis Grant, l'arpenteur). Le bateau n'était pas plus grand qu'un canoë, mais nous y avons embarqué, et après avoir pagayé un mille, nous avons aperçu, ce qui s'appelle sur une carte du gouvernement, les hauteurs de Toronto. Le rivage est plat et uni et ressemble à des falaises de craie, mais je crois qu'il s'agit seulement de sable blanc. On les voyait si bien, que nous avons envisagé de construire une résidence d'été à cet endroit et de l'appeler Scarborough. »

- 4 août 1793



Le 23 août, une proclamation fut publiée, renommant officiellement la ville « York », en honneur au Duc de York, qui avait récemment sauvé la Hollande d'une invasion française. Le nom de Toronto sera restauré en 1834.

« C'était un véritable soulagement de vivre loin du bruit des pagaies... un homme pagaie généralement à une extrémité et une femme à l'autre, mais dans des eaux calmes, peu d'efforts sont nécessaires, et ils restent assis tranquillement comme poussés par l'air que déplace le canoë. Lorsque je les vois les manier avec tant de dextérité et de grâce, ça me donne envie de conduire un canoë moi-même. Un Européen a toujours l'air déplacé et gauche comparé aux Indiens, si habiles et tranquilles dans un canoë. »

- 14 septembre 1793



Dessin : View From York Barracks, 1796 (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (144ko)

View From York Barracks, 1796 (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Dessin à la plume sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-236
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006353

Castle Frank

Au début, la famille dormit dans une « maison de tissu », une des trois ou quatre tentes que M. Simcoe avait achetées à Londres, lors de la vente des effets du capitaine Cook, l'explorateur. Finalement, les Simcoe construisirent une maison, pas dans les hauteurs de Scarborough, mais à environ deux milles de l'embouchure de la rivière Don.



« Le gouverneur a décidé de prendre un lot de 200 acres sur la rivière Don pour Francis, et comme la loi oblige les personnes possédant des lots de terre à y construire une maison dans un délai d'un an, nous sommes allés là-bas aujourd'hui pour décider de l'endroit où l'on construirait la maison. »

- 29 septembre 1793

Aquarelle : Castle Frank, 1796 (détail) (1)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (170ko)

Castle Frank, 1796 (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Aquarelle papier, full
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-231
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006538

Au printemps 1794, les travaux débutèrent pour la construction de Castle Frank, la résidence d'été des Simcoe. La résidence se tenait sur une colline raide, surplombant la vallée de la Don et portait le nom du fils de M. Simcoe, Francis, alors âgé de cinq ans, qui devait hériter de la résidence. La maison était encore en construction lorsqu'ils sont retournés en Angleterre en 1796. Castle Frank sera détruit par le feu en 1829.



« ...Nous avons marché sur la glace jusqu'à la maison qui se construit sur le lot de 200 acres de Francis. Portant le nom de Castle Frank, elle est construite sur le modèle d'un temple grec. »

- 23 janvier 1796



Aquarelle : Castle Frank, 1796 (détail) (2)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (203ko)

Castle Frank, 1796 (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Aquarelle papier, full
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-228
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007080

Rivière Don

Pendant que M. Simcoe dirigeait la disposition de la future ville de York, Elizabeth s'occupa en explorant la région et en visitant leurs voisins, comme John Scadding, l'ancien directeur de Wolford Estate, qui avait émigré au Canada, en 1792.

Il vivait juste au-dessus de la rivière Don, au carrefour de la rue Queen (qui deviendra plus tard l'emplacement de la prison de Toronto). Elizabeth peignit une aquarelle de la demeure de Scadding, en automne 1793. Peu de temps après, elle fut détruite par le feu.



Dessin : River Don near York and John Scadding's Cabin, Autumn, 1793 (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (153ko)

River Don near York and John Scadding's Cabin,
Autumn, 1793 (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Dessin à la plume sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-107
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006959

« Je me suis promenée à cheval sur la péninsule. Mon cheval a suffisamment d'entrain pour vouloir arriver avant les autres. J'ai fait une course avec Mr. Talbot pour me réchauffer. J'ai ramassé des raisins sauvages. Ils étaient bons, mais pas sucrés. Mr. Smith est parti ouvrir une route, qui s'appellera Dundas Street, du lac à la rivière La Tranche. Il a pris 100 hommes avec lui. »

23 septembre 1793

« Nous avons parcouru six milles, par eau et par terre, et grimpé une colline très raide ou plutôt une série de pains de sucre; nous sommes parvenus à un endroit très élevé d'où nous avons pu regarder, plus bas, les sommets des arbres et des aigles près de là. »

- 29 septembre 1793



Dessin : Lake Ontario shore, [vers 1793] (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (136ko)

Lake Ontario shore, [vers 1793] (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Dessin à la plume sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-106
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0006958

« Je suis de très bonne humeur aujourd'hui, car le gouverneur parle de se rendre à Détroit en mars et d'y passer un mois de plaisance, mais la meilleure partie sera le voyage. Nous irons à cheval jusqu'à la rivière Grand, puis nous nous rendrons à La Tranche, où des canoës seront construits, pour nous conduire jusqu'à Detroit en quelques jours. Au retour nous passerons par le lac Erie …. »

- 31 janvier 1794



« Le temps est humide, doux et sale. Quant arrivera la fin mars? J'ai assez hâte de partir pour Détroit. »

- 9 février 1794



Dessin : Playter's bridge near York, 6 juin, [vers 1796] (détail)
Cliquer pour un agrandissement (182ko)

Playter's bridge near York, 6 juin, [vers 1796] (détail)
Elizabeth Simcoe, (1766-1850)
Dessin à la plume sur papier
Code de référence : F 47-11-1-0-233
Archives publiques de l'Ontario, I0007085

En fin de compte, M. Simcoe se rendra à Détroit sans Elizabeth. Elle demeura à York où, vers la mi-avril, en l'absence de M. Simcoe et de leur médecin de famille, Katherine, leur plus jeune fille, décéda.

En mai 1794, Elizabeth retourna à Niagara, le gouverneur Simcoe s'étant réinstallé à Navy Hall.